Farpoint Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A PlayStation VR exclusive, Farpoint is an unnerving space adventure set on a hostile alien world. After crash landing you must fight to survive as you explore and uncover the planet’s secrets. Your only hope of escape is to constantly keep moving and discover the fate of your team. [Impulse Gear]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Farpoint - Official E3 2016 Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. May 18, 2017
    87
    Farpoint is the perfect crossover between arcade light gun shooters à la The House of the Dead and old-school First Person Shooters. The result is a jaw-dropping experience that truly becomes unparalleled thanks to the power of VR and to the quality of the Aim Controller peripheral: this might be the first full blown traditional game 100% built around VR, and despite a few shortcomings you literally won't believe your eyes. In its own ways, Farpoint truly takes the shooter genre to a whole new level: if this is not a killer application, we're pretty close to that.
  2. May 16, 2017
    80
    Judged as a shooter, Farpoint is as generic as they get; thankfully, Impulse Gear’s effort has other things going for it. The side-story is rewarding, even if some of it goes without resolution, and its immersive visuals alone make it a treat to play.
  3. 80
    The most complete PlayStation VR title yet. If you play Farpoint, make sure to play with the Aim; don’t just play with the Move controller, because it’s not nearly as engaging.
  4. May 23, 2017
    72
    The single player campaign is a decent five to six hour haul, and considering most PSVR players will struggle to play solidly for more than a couple of hours, it feels longer than that overall. It’s well balanced too with moments of intense, nail-biting shooting, broken up with quiet sections where you can just survey your alien environment. Farpoint does an admirable job of delivering a sense of scale, and character models and animations are some of the better I’ve seen in the PSVR space to date. The game also includes some co-op levels where you can team up with another player online to wipe out waves of aliens together (thankfully there is friendly fire). For those who aren’t sure about which version of Farpoint to buy, I would strongly suggest you get the Aim Controller bundle. There’s around a $50 price difference, but I can’t help but feel that Farpoint is saved by the use of a proper gun controller.
  5. May 18, 2017
    70
    Farpoint is a basic shooter that we suggest only to the owners of PlayStation VR that are desperately looking for something to play.
  6. May 15, 2017
    70
    Farpoint leans on novelty to make up for its shortcomings elsewhere, but wielding the PlayStation VR Aim Controller is such a unique experience that it papers over some dated game design. The story is cheesy but has some nice moments, and the action really ramps up towards the tail of the campaign. With an arcade mode and co-op included, Impulse Gear’s inaugural outing is a fulfilling offering, and while there are obvious improvements that could be made, there’s enough here to prove that blockbuster first-person shooters could find a home on PlayStation VR yet.
  7. May 17, 2017
    40
    When set against the non-VR first-person shooters, a genre in which only those games that have benefitted persistent, focused iteration and a king’s ransom of investment can now compete, Farpoint seems embryonic and amateurish. Its thrills are short-lived, but the lessons that can be drawn from its struggles in trying to transpose the genre into VR will surely echo for a long time to come.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 80
  2. Negative: 5 out of 80
  1. May 16, 2017
    10
    very good game... I hope more games like this release in the next couple of months. It has a perfect Story (for VR). I really enjoyed it. Butvery good game... I hope more games like this release in the next couple of months. It has a perfect Story (for VR). I really enjoyed it. But u need to play this with the Aim Controller Expand
  2. May 19, 2017
    10
    VR done right! Developers take note. Personally for me this is a 10 considering the humble beginnings of gaming in general, if you had to tellVR done right! Developers take note. Personally for me this is a 10 considering the humble beginnings of gaming in general, if you had to tell a 10 year old me that I would be able to walk around on an alien planet holding a gun as if I were there... Secondly, play standing so you'll get some exercise too :) Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2017
    10
    Well that's it: flat "shooters" are no longer shooters, because you don't actually aim and shoot like you do in Farpoint with the AimWell that's it: flat "shooters" are no longer shooters, because you don't actually aim and shoot like you do in Farpoint with the Aim controller. From now on I'll be calling flat shooters "Crosshair Management Sims" instead. :)

    Farpoint is the kind of game I've wanted ever since the FPS genre was invented, and man does it deliver. Aim, shoot, one-hand shotgun to the side, duck, spin, aim down sights, hip fire, run one way while looking another while shooting in a third.....and gun-high-five your co-op buddy when the dust settles. This kind of gameplay has simply never been possible before on a gaming console. Ever. Ever. End of story.

    Oh wait, the story! My goodness, the story is way more amazing than I expected. Dark, touching, thought-provoking. A stunning example of what characters and narrative in VR can be. I am still vaguely haunted by one scene eye-to-eye with a life-sized character.

    Farpoint sets a new bar for PSVR and for shooters in general. All things are possible after this. Get it, get an Aim, and enjoy.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2017
    10
    Perfect VR shooter, better than ANYTHING ON XBOX. FACT................................................................................................
  5. May 17, 2017
    9
    This is definitely a must own for PSVR. I have been a long time fan of arcade light gun shooters and classic FPS games and if you are at allThis is definitely a must own for PSVR. I have been a long time fan of arcade light gun shooters and classic FPS games and if you are at all like me then you absolutely need this in your library ASAP. The aim controller just works amazingly well. When I first realized you could actually look down the sight of the gun and see a holographic crosshair I was freaking out. The immersive-ness is incredible and has me keep coming back for more. The nausea factor for me is slim to none. For reference for me, Scavengers Odyssey in VR Worlds almost made me puke, same with RIGS at first but I got used to that. Robinson was okay for the most part but I needed frequent breaks and RE: 7 was similar but way better than Robinson.

    Anyways, many review sites are kinda slamming it for being simple by 2d standards and I think its a fair criticism to some degree, but man are they really downplaying the fun of the simplicity of just romping around on a virtual planet blasting away at spiders, robots, and aliens. I genuinely thought the story was actually pretty decent too. Haven't tried multiplayer because I have yet to renew my PS Plus but most people who bought the game seem to be enjoying it immensely.

    Overall despite its main downfall being simplicity, it truly one of the most unique, one of a kind experiences I've had with gaming to date and for that, I give it a 9.
    Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2019
    8
    Great game and incredible introduction to the immersive experience VR brings. Walking on an alien planet and firing my weapon in everyGreat game and incredible introduction to the immersive experience VR brings. Walking on an alien planet and firing my weapon in every direction I looked towards was really fun. My gripes however would be that the difficulty would ramp up dramatically during certain sequences in the game and sometimes the graphics rendering wouldn't hold up. I also felt it was quite short. Definitely one to add to your PSVR library though! Expand
  7. May 18, 2017
    0
    And yet again, another short, uninspired VR game gets released for the PS4. I'd recommend purchasing it when it's in the bargain bin of yourAnd yet again, another short, uninspired VR game gets released for the PS4. I'd recommend purchasing it when it's in the bargain bin of your local game store or on sale in the PS store. Definitely not worth the full price admission. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews