Fat Princess Adventures Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new co-op adventure serves up the cheeky light-hearted humor that made the PlayStation 3 game what it was. Up to 4 friends can team up for a not-so-epic adventure to slay monsters, steal loot, rescue the princesses, gobble cake, and defeat the evil Bitter Queen. Your band of comradesThis new co-op adventure serves up the cheeky light-hearted humor that made the PlayStation 3 game what it was. Up to 4 friends can team up for a not-so-epic adventure to slay monsters, steal loot, rescue the princesses, gobble cake, and defeat the evil Bitter Queen. Your band of comrades will stab, smash, grab and grub your way through the land of Great Bitten with all the mischief that you would expect from a Fat Princess RPG. Collapse

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fat Princess Adventures Trailer - PSX 2015
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Dec 30, 2015
    83
    Despite being a complete departure from the original, Fat Princess Adventures is worthy of a look. Players who have never played the original games may find this a great way to get into the series.
  2. Dec 9, 2015
    80
    Fat Princess was subversive, politically incorrect and unexpectedly complex in its strategy and depth. Fat Princess Adventures trades a little of that depth for a more straightforward, action RPG-focused design.
  3. Dec 9, 2015
    75
    It is not the most varied nor ambitious production, but it does manage to entertain, especially when playing with friends.
  4. Dec 10, 2015
    70
    An interesting new twist for one of those "under the radar" Sony´s IPs. A definitive enjoyable experience when several players are in together.
  5. 60
    Fat Princess Adventures still has the same humor and charm of the original, but without the PvP multiplayer it feels like a step back. The campaign is interesting enough, but feels pretty shallow compared to other games, and doesn't do enough to draw players in for the entire time.
  6. Dec 16, 2015
    55
    The humour is still there and works fine, but when it comes to gameplay, the shift in the formula from team based multiplayer to cooperative hack'n'slash doesn't fully work.
  7. Games Master UK
    Feb 26, 2016
    39
    Too simple for grown-ups, yet full of 'humour' unsuitable for kids, this franchise resurrection finds itself stuck in a saccharine no man's land. [Feb 2016, p.87]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 31, 2015
    10
    This game gets me on so many levels. My girlfriend and I played through the entire thing in two nights and wish there was more content. TheThis game gets me on so many levels. My girlfriend and I played through the entire thing in two nights and wish there was more content. The game is beautiful with an amazing soundtrack, especially that epic final boss music. I feel the game is easily worth more than the $20 price tag and hope they release more installments in the future! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    This game is fun, funny, action packed and has a amazing cast of voice actors for $20 on the PS4 you can enjoy a Action RPG that have drop-inThis game is fun, funny, action packed and has a amazing cast of voice actors for $20 on the PS4 you can enjoy a Action RPG that have drop-in drop-out ,online and couch co-op with friends and family this Christmas. Level up Weapons and Armor, complete side-quest or just play grindhouse if you really want a great challenge but what ever you do don't skip this amazing $20 masterpiece. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    Best co-op game I have for PS4. The humor is also right up my alley! It took me about 7-8 hours to complete but there is a "grind house" modeBest co-op game I have for PS4. The humor is also right up my alley! It took me about 7-8 hours to complete but there is a "grind house" mode that changes up the game and allows you to replay some levels for more loot. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2016
    9
    This game is really fun and I would give it 10/10 were it not for all the little bugs. The possibility of combining sofa play with online andThis game is really fun and I would give it 10/10 were it not for all the little bugs. The possibility of combining sofa play with online and invitations is great and I wonder why there aren't more games doing this. The cute art stands in a nice comedic contrast to the hack and slash gameplay. The dialogue is funny and the one liners don't feel overused, at least not after one playthrough. The story mode is a bit short, but I feel like you can easily just add another run on a higher difficulty setting and I'm not entirely sure if there is any end game content. It seems you can only upgrade your gear after a certain point by spending gems, of which you get one after the first playthrough. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2017
    8
    This game was really fun and me and my friends have had a great time playing the game. It is a really good party game to just button smash andThis game was really fun and me and my friends have had a great time playing the game. It is a really good party game to just button smash and not really have to focus too much on the actual game. But you can really get into it if you want to. My only complaint is that the princess is way to fat and ugly. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2016
    7
    Fat Princess is one of those indie games that can make you fall in love for the genre, so of course I was very excited when they announcedFat Princess is one of those indie games that can make you fall in love for the genre, so of course I was very excited when they announced Adventures that would add a story in this universe, let's see how it end up.

    First the main disappointment of the game, no multiplayer versus mode like the original game (they did add some arena PvP in a update) it was the best thing of the original that allowed it to be played for years, and I was expecting at least a port of the maps on PS4 this will considerably lower the time spend on the game as the story is approximately 6 hours (acceptable length for the price) long and even if there is some replay value there's no much point to it even when the universe of the game is so original and funny and those 6 hours of discovery were a blast to play.

    Technically speaking the game is alright with nice visual quality for an indie game with lots of colours to match this apparently childish universe (there's a lot of blood too, don't buy it for your 5 year old child) and with a steady framerate even when there's a lot of characters on the screen. However there's also some bugs that will need you to re-launch the game.

    Concerning the gameplay Fat Princess Adventures is the most classic hack'n slash where you kill endless number of minions to reach more or less climatic bosses, maybe too simple as the game doesn't provide any challenge and it's best played with friends to maximize the fun (the game allows couch play which is always good in modern videogames), good point however to allow the player to change class at any checkpoints while collecting specific loot for every classes.

    All in all Fat Princess Adventures is nice PSN game with a very original and funny universe but a too simple gameplay and the absence of the famous multiplayer mode stop the game to be an unmissable PSN title, advisable for hack'n slash lovers or gamers looking for a nice coop game.
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2018
    6
    I bought this game thinking I was going to have a real blast with its 4-players couch-coop mode.
    The game can even be kid friendly if you
    I bought this game thinking I was going to have a real blast with its 4-players couch-coop mode.
    The game can even be kid friendly if you turn off blood&gore in the options.

    Unfortunately, it gets boring fast. Don't go buy it thinking that it will be like Diablo III only with bright and cartoonish graphics or you're up for a major disappointment.. No unlockable skills, no character progression, the combat is repetitive and the loot system is boring and overly simplistic.

    The game can be enjoyable in short bursts but its lack of depth makes it a forgettable experience.
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews