Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Mar 27, 2019
    74
    This is a better game than The Umbral Star, although we feel like it doesn’t make the most of its combat system within the genre.
  2. May 6, 2019
    70
    Good old fashioned and accessible Warriors-style action wrapped in a story full of pre-established lore from the Fate series. Particularly great for those new to Musou.
  3. Mar 25, 2019
    70
    Fun and frenetic hack´n slash action adventure very close to the Dynasty Warriors series and the likes, but this time all the background and characters are set in the Fate / EXTELLA universe. A bit repetitive and not the most original entry in the franchise though.
  4. Mar 20, 2019
    70
    Fate/Extella Link improves upon Fate/Extella: The Umbral Star in nearly every way, even if it still struggles in many areas.
  5. Mar 19, 2019
    70
    As far as Warriors-style action games go, Fate Extella Link is near the top of the pile on PS4 -- it's a robust and refined sequel that fans of the genre shouldn't miss out on. The process of levelling up, collecting skills, and bonding with your favourite Fate characters is both satisfying and rewarding, and although repetition does become a factor later on, the flashy combat has enough kick to keep you engaged. While it could be argued that Link should do more to evolve beyond its predecessor, it's still hectic hack and slash fun from start to finish.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 10, 2019
    60
    More often than not you can mosey on over, scooping up power-ups and territories on the way. Servants’ special attacks are flashy and their character artwork lovingly rendered, but there’s little to recommend to those not already likely to stare longingly at Cú Chulainn’s ruddy great big spear. [Issue#161, p.83]
  7. Mar 25, 2019
    60
    It works best when there is a decent cast of characters that fans want to see more of, and Fate has that in spades. Even with 26 playable characters here, it's barely scratching the surface of the roster available. That being said, this doesn't feel like much of an improvement over the Umbral Star, feeling more like a DLC - More of the same, and something only for hardcore fans.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 44
  2. Negative: 12 out of 44
  1. Mar 24, 2019
    9
    Pretty good game, this episode is like the small continuation of a dream, after all the hardships the protagonist and his servants wentPretty good game, this episode is like the small continuation of a dream, after all the hardships the protagonist and his servants went through, they finally have a family, and a little girl to take care of. The little bits of interactions they had (not much though sadly) and the way they care for each other in this episode made me smile because I knew it was what they wanted through all three previous episodes (and particularly CCC). Anyway, it is stated to be a filler episode, here to give us some appetizers before the true sequel, and as such I will say that it's a pretty decent game, with better mechanics and graphics than previous games, it is also fun and gives you a way to just rush and destroy everything in your path with your favorite servant, and despite a simple story where you just beat a bad guy who wants to control SE.RA.PH, I think it's pretty ok, as we got a little something which is really fun to play while we wait for the true sequel for which I will have much much more expectations. Considering this game as it is and it's purpose, that's why I will give it a 9/10. Definitely a good game to kill time while enjoying a side story of the Extraverse. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2019
    3
    First and foremost, I'm an avid Fate fckboi, played the VN's, watched the anime shows, read the LN, you name it. I liked the first game, itFirst and foremost, I'm an avid Fate fckboi, played the VN's, watched the anime shows, read the LN, you name it. I liked the first game, it had an interesting plot, a lot of servants had a placement in the story. People hated it due to dodgy gameplay.

    Well, let me start this mini review-rant thingy with the story. Oh, my God, the story. If I say it's worse than Twilight, you can get an idea of how bad, dull and nonsensical it is. And 3 people wrote it. Yeah...
    The only positive; it's shorter than your bf's weewee, so the torture only lasts for a couple of hours.
    Without spoilers - again -, it's a generic "badguyshowsupwoahhgoodguyshowsupheeeykillkilldonegohomekthxbye" kind of story, and not in a good way. All in all, forget the story, it's dull, boring, servants has no real functions other than "woahhh, they are in the GAME, BOY!!!!".

    Graphics; same old, recycled from the first game, not good, not bad, it's adequate. Moving on.

    Gameplay; here, the devs tried to polish things up a bit, which they did. Gameplay more seamless, less frustrating, the AI now actually helps you a lot. The 1 point out of 3 comes here.

    Interaction / maps; a tad more user friendly, but still not quite. Though much better than the first game. 2nd good point comes here.

    Music/voices; the OST is friggin awesome! I always had that "messing with the turd game while listening to that amazing soundtrack" feeling. 3rd good point comes here.

    Extra content; copy+paste from the first game. You can do "side stories" (ie.: they say 1-2 line during the fight) for every servant. What else? Yeah, brainless grind up to lvl 150 if you hate yourself (story finishes on lvl 50 or so).

    And pretty much that's it. Humour is pretty much non-existent also, Astolfo can break the ice here and there, but not necessarily in a funny way. Bad guy is blander than my Tesco value coffee. Replay value 0, zero, nada.

    TL;DR: if you are a FATE fan, get it at with at least a 50% discount. If not, avoid it like the plague.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    This game offers a great hack and slash experience, along with beautiful scenarios and good animations.