Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
Buy On
  1. 70
    All solid improvements over an already very good game that fans of the series will no doubt enjoy, but aside from the very generous (and not before time) inclusion of women, this one doesn't offer anything to be blown away by.
  2. Sep 27, 2015
    70
    The gameplay is more realistic than ever before, because EA finally listened to her community. The soccer feels slower, but winning by understanding how soccer works is finally easier than winning by understanding gameplay. However, the fact that EA still does not have its online features right is a big letdown.
  3. Sep 23, 2015
    70
    The worst FIFA game for over half a decade, and clearly inferior to PES 2016. And yet it’s still not a bad game in itself, with some welcome new features.
  4. Sep 22, 2015
    70
    I've consistently defended FIFA as the most well-rounded sports sim. But the series has felt like it's been standing still this generation, and that is felt more acutely than ever in FIFA 16. As always, it has its strengths, and the FUT Draft is a strong addition, but it's not enough to break the feeling of staleness that has descended upon the once undisputed king of sports games.
  5. Oct 8, 2015
    65
    FIFA 16 has a few nice additions, but failure to fix some of the franchise’s ongoing problems, along with a massive focus on FUT leaves it feeling stale; especially seeing as PES seems to be scoring highly in reviews.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 9, 2015
    FIFA 16 is as good as FIFA has ever been, but that's exactly the problem. While it offers the same vast array of content, PES 16 has it beat where it matters most: on the pitch. Suffice to say, the series now has a lot of catching up to do.
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1002 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 24, 2015
    0
    The worst experience ever. The only reason I buy FIFA anymore is because of the UT. The concept of the game mode is beautiful but EA hasThe worst experience ever. The only reason I buy FIFA anymore is because of the UT. The concept of the game mode is beautiful but EA has completely ruined it over the years. Nothing in it makes absolutely any sense anymore. It has been clear for few years now, that the actual stats of the player do not really determine how he is going to play on the field. Now, however, the chemistry of the team doesn't seem to matter either.

    Passing is so broken. Everytime you pass it feels like a roll of a dice. Power of the pass and stats of the player have nothing to do with the outcome. The movement of the players, on and off the ball is completely ridiculous. Runs do not make any sense, and it often feels like no team mate is trying to help you out. Possession, due to the passing and the movement is a utopic idea. The lock passing for the player in offside position still remains to be fixed. The gameplay itself is so broken it is so far beyond not fun. I honestly do not believe that anyone playing this game is having or will have any fun with it.

    Please, do not buy this game if you think:

    that, the demo was okay, because the final version is a lot worse

    if you think the UT is fixed,

    if you think the gameplay is fixed,

    if you are trying to have a good time.

    Also, look at the positive user reviews on this page. Same as last year, they sound way too much like paid reviews or something.

    ''This year's edition saw many changes in
    In particular, the addition of women's national team
    And accurate simulation dribble
    Celebrations after goals
    Better defenses
    Accurate simulation figures
    And many other features
    Thanks for FIFA''

    This is just one example. Commenting on the exactly same stuff that EA marketed FIFA with. And exactly same ''reviews'' can be found from the XBOXONE reviews as well.

    I am so pissed that you can not get a refund from PS store and I sincerely hope that EA is gonna get its ass kicked by PES this year.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2015
    0
    Unfortunately FIFA has stood still since FIFA 14 and we are beginning to see PES emerge as the better football once again. I have stuck withUnfortunately FIFA has stood still since FIFA 14 and we are beginning to see PES emerge as the better football once again. I have stuck with FIFA since FIFA 09 and avoided PES but reluctantly I had to go with PES this year and as many other people and critics now beleive, PES now offers better gameplay which is what matters to those who really love football. For those of us who preferred FIFA over PES over the last few years, it can only be a good thing that PES is finally back to it's best - it can only mean EA will take changes more seriously next time around.
    Personally i would prefer FIFA to remain on top as its overall the better package and includes all licences but this year I have jumped ship to PES. Hopefully FIFA can fight back strongly next year.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2015
    0
    EA have once again decided to exploit a loyal fanbase. No new "real" innovations in gameplay since FIFA 14. This approach worked wonders forEA have once again decided to exploit a loyal fanbase. No new "real" innovations in gameplay since FIFA 14. This approach worked wonders for them in the past because there was no competition. They are overestimating their appeal and I don't think they will wake up until they see a hit in sales. Fifa fans, vote with your wallet! Full Review »