Final Fantasy VII Remake Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 126 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7627 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Long ago, we looked upon a foreboding sky. The memory of the star that threatened all burns eternal in our hearts. In its wake came an age of silence. Yet with each fond remembrance, we knew those encountered were not forgotten, that some day we would see them again. Perhaps it was no moreLong ago, we looked upon a foreboding sky. The memory of the star that threatened all burns eternal in our hearts. In its wake came an age of silence. Yet with each fond remembrance, we knew those encountered were not forgotten, that some day we would see them again. Perhaps it was no more than wishful thinking. But after the long calm, there are the beginnings of a stir. The reunion at hand may bring joy, it may bring fear, but let us embrace whatever it brings. For they are coming back. At last the promise has been made. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy 7 Remake - Crazy Combos
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 126
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 23, 2020
    100
    The legacy of the legend created a new legend. A Final Fantasy for the current generation of players from the veterans of video game history with an eternal glint of exceptionality. [Issue#303]
  2. Apr 6, 2020
    100
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is the best JRPG from Square since Final Fantasy VII. It takes a classic, carefully builds on it, and although certain changes made to the story may not be as well-received by all players, overall there's no denying that it's a massive success.
  3. Apr 6, 2020
    95
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is the piece that knew to blend the past with the present. What Square Enix has done is cause for celebration, as it has been able to fabricate everything we imagined and the vision we had of the original more than two decades ago. Easily, Final Fantasy VII Remake can give modern makers a lecture on how a remake should be done. The adventure that started in Midgar relives again and has surprised us again.
  4. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Final Fantasy VII is an ambitious retelling that updates its systems and story for the modern era. The new battle system is fantastic and does a superb job of blending strategy and action. Additional stories and character moments are appreciated, and the way each character is portrayed is perfect. Some technical aspects could be better, but if future installments maintain this trajectory, we can all rest easy.
  5. Apr 6, 2020
    88
    Final Fantasy VII Remake is a great game, excellent, even, for today's standards. And for the most part, it is exactly what fans have been asking for during the past ten years. But the truth is that this isn't it; this isn't the game that was promised.
  6. Apr 6, 2020
    83
    A staggering reimagining of a genre touchstone, FFVIIR makes improvements upon the original in many areas but is similarly harmed by some uneven additions
  7. Apr 6, 2020
    60
    Final Fantasy VII Remake manages to balance the introduction of new concepts with faithfully recreations of the original game’s most memorable aspects, but it also unnecessarily pads out this first installment in a larger story with too much downtime between its most striking moments.

See all 135 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 16, 2020
    10
    Pretty fun and I actually really like the new story elements
    music is excellent and the voice acting is perfect. Then the overall gameplay,
    Pretty fun and I actually really like the new story elements
    music is excellent and the voice acting is perfect. Then the overall gameplay, the fan service, the atmosphere of the game and the nostalgia trip is just a jaw dropping experience for all fans of FFVII, only derailed by small "filler" material and the controversial ending.
    Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2020
    10
    I never rated a game in my life, but this remake has made me in such a way that I had to come here, create an account and rate it 10.

    I
    I never rated a game in my life, but this remake has made me in such a way that I had to come here, create an account and rate it 10.

    I immediately and rate the original Final Fantasy VII game 10 also. (Something that I've done a long time ago.)

    By the way, I used to not to trust metacritic "Critic Reviews", but not anymore. Holy cow they rate this remake 88? Excellent choice
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    All the 0 rated reviews so far are people who failed to even understand what this remake project was. The remake is the first portion of theAll the 0 rated reviews so far are people who failed to even understand what this remake project was. The remake is the first portion of the original game due to how big the original game was. The developers really wanted to add to the experience that's why they've added so much more lore and events!

    The Remake has genuinely improved on the original by fleshing out the story and the characters especially! The music is something else too... some of the best arrangement I've heard in a long time!
    Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    Excelente muestra de que cuando las cosas se hacen con amor se ven y se sienten por el jugador, excelente remake!!!!
  5. Apr 13, 2020
    8
    My main concern is the new combat system.

    Overall its a good game, but it has some design decisions that make it really annoying. Although
    My main concern is the new combat system.

    Overall its a good game, but it has some design decisions that make it really annoying. Although the combat is a nice change, I can't help but feel like they didn't really know what they were trying to go for. On the one hand, they set up the combat to be fast-paced, where you instinctively button mash to try and pull off the combos, while at the same time, they punish you for doing so because you can't block or dodge in the middle of a combat animation. Games with combat systems like these, usually make it possible for you to interrupt your attack animation to block or dodge. There were so many instances where I could see an attack coming and held down the block button. But because the attack animation was still resetting, my character took the full brunt of the blow.

    Critiques & Suggestions:

    Blocking
    An easy fix for the blocking issue, as mentioned earlier, is to simply allow an interrupt for the combat animation. Other games with similar combat systems such as Batman, Spiderman, Witcher 3, and Shadow of Mordor have shown how this system can be put in place to make the combat more seamless.

    Dodging
    Another is that they need to either add I-frames to dodge or make enemy attacks physics-based. It was almost comical seeing enemies who were the size of tanks or small buildings making 90-degree turns while charging at you because you dodged a millisecond too early. If you dodge and don't fully get out of their path, I get it you get hit. But if you clearly are no longer in their way, and this behemoth going about 80 mph suddenly makes a 90-degree turn to still hit you. Then that just raises an eyebrow.

    Interrupts
    Player interrupts need to be massively toned down as well. It's annoyingly easy to disrupt the player and cancel your spell. This is especially made worse by the aggro system the game currently has in place. As it stands, the enemy simply goes pop goes the player, making playing ranged characters a chore more than anything else. It boils down to you, kiting the enemy as they relentlessly hound you and ignore the rest of your party.

    Limit Breaks
    Limit Breaks should have priority over everything so that enemies can't just walk out of it while being hit. The way some enemies can sonic the hedgehog to and fro is also super annoying. Oddly enough, your attacks are physics-based. If you swing and miss, you swing and miss. The enemy, on the other hand, as I mentioned earlier, does not have this limitation.

    ATB meters
    The ATB meters should have been for Abilities, and that's it. You already have MP and the cast time to balance Spells, and you've got money and limited quantity to balance Items.
    All the system really made me do was run in circles through the last fourth of the game, so I could charge my meter at all.

    Items
    This is tied in with the ATB system critique. Towards the middle and end of the game, some items simply become obsolete. There is very little reason to waste an ATB charge and use a Potion that only heals you for 350 hp when you can simply cast a healing spell. A traditional item menu would have made things more seamless, as well allowed you more utility in being able to use the items to heal up party members in between fights.
    Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2020
    6
    Un juego para los fans, no es un juego complejo es lineal, no esperes un RPG, este juego es fuerte en sus gráficos, y te hace recordar bien laUn juego para los fans, no es un juego complejo es lineal, no esperes un RPG, este juego es fuerte en sus gráficos, y te hace recordar bien la nostalgia del clásico, pero comprarlo en trozos y extensiones para alargar más las ventas, perder la base de un RPG lo mata, te recomiendo mejor verlo con tu stream favorito. Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2022
    0
    Great story, graphics, characters and gameplay. But the experience is completely ruined by terrible mini-games that are just there toGreat story, graphics, characters and gameplay. But the experience is completely ruined by terrible mini-games that are just there to frustrate players. The pull up game is the absolute worst. This shows a clear lack of standards by Square Enix. I have to give a low rating because this is unacceptable. Expand

See all 3145 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far

    The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far Image
    Published: July 10, 2020
    We rank the 20 highest-scoring videogames (for any platform) released during the first half of 2020.
  2. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).
  3. 2020 Games Preview: 40 Notable Releases Including Cyberpunk 2077, The Last of Us Part II, and More

    2020 Games Preview: 40 Notable Releases Including Cyberpunk 2077, The Last of Us Part II, and More Image
    Published: January 22, 2020
    Get details on the most anticipated games headed to PlayStation, Xbox, Switch, and PC in 2020. We also look at the year's most intriguing indie games.