Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 109 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 109
  2. Negative: 0 out of 109
Buy On
  1. 100
    This is one of my favourite games of the year and it's one I'd encourage any previous Final Fantasy fan to consider. Besides the brilliant nods to the series past — adorable retro touches like pixel art character menus and classic game soundtracks you can buy in servos and listen to in the Regalia — this is a game that's doing something new and great with what's come before. It's the fondest I've felt about the series since VIII.
  2. 100
    This simply isn't true. The thematic depth and cultural context of the game make for a wonderful, complex, and meaningful narrative, and FFXV is every bit as worthy as a narrative work as Stand By Me, from which it draws so much inspiration. Couple this with the fact that it's a surprisingly traditional Final Fantasy game in the ways that count, and I've got to say I haven’t loved a Final Fantasy game with such raw passion in many years.
  3. Nov 29, 2016
    100
    Final Fantasy XV is a challenge to modern game design and traditional masculine gaming narratives, on top of being a truly phenomenal, enriching experience. Square Enix has reclaimed its throne.
  4. Dec 25, 2016
    95
    Final Fantasy XV is a return to form for Square Enix, a showcase of their willingness to adapt more Western approaches in their game development whilst also keeping what gave the series it’s charm, flair and personality.
  5. Nov 28, 2016
    95
    Final Fantasy XV is going to be the most remembered game of 2016. It is really different from anything we've seen in the series so far, but really traditional at the same time. It has an obsessive respect for the fan that goes along with state-of-the-art audio-visual aspects able to bring life to a humongous map with so many things to do, so many secrets to discover and yes, some lineal, but logic parts. Controversial issues, like combat or summon mechanics are really solid once you get to the endgame, where the experience has already blossomed. Embrace its changes, the JRPG King is back.
  6. Dec 8, 2016
    92
    The story provides a mature narrative that brings with it a bonding experience that is a joy to share with its memorable characters, and the open world gameplay and combat offer a host of gripping mechanics I am clamouring to return to. Final Fantasy XV is a glorious return for one of gaming’s most beloved series. It’s quality is proof positive that good things take time.
  7. Nov 28, 2016
    92
    We can see the shortcomings of Final Fantasy from far away: a bad camera, some outdated textures and some non exploited gameplay mechanics, like driving. However, we can see the virtues from more distance: touching characters, gameplay freedom, a really beautiful graphical show and the best combat system for the saga in years.
  8. Jan 30, 2017
    90
    I couldn’t ask for better virtual friends than Ignis, Gladio and Prompto. I laughed with them, cried with them, and I really love them.
  9. 90
    It can at times be weak on overall narrative strength, but it excels at interpersonal stories about a believable group of twenty something guys driving their car down long unending stretches or road.
  10. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    Graphically gorgeous, audibly impressive (except in a few places where the music and sound design decisions are absolutely confounding) and totally immersive sums up Final Fantasy XV in one sentence. Is it a perfect entry into the series? Hell no. There’s some serious downtime and the car mechanics needed a lot more time to bake, but all in all the entire experience is worthy of its place and, most of all, worthy of your time and money.
  11. Dec 12, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV is the rare game that transcends its genre to become an appealing product to anyone who is a fan of gaming. While a few issues keep it from being considered “perfect,” Final Fantasy XV is one of the “must-play” games of 2016 and is an incredibly enjoyable experience from beginning to end.
  12. Dec 12, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV is a game that chooses to leave its mythology disjointed and its emotions real.
  13. Dec 12, 2016
    90
    A vast, emotional experience that offers many hours of gameplay. Would benefit from more storytelling in the actual game instead of outside media, as well as a few other minor tweaks, but still a fantastic journey that is lingering with me days after watching the credits roll.
  14. Dec 9, 2016
    90
    While it occasionally buckles under its own ambition and the game falters somewhat as the plot ramps up, overall Final Fantasy XV is a beautiful, exciting game that I dearly loved. It may not be the best game I've played this year, but it is almost certainly my favorite, and Square Enix has built an incredible, extremely unique open-world.
  15. Dec 9, 2016
    90
    The fifteenth part of the Final fantasy saga marks the long awaited return of the series to the group of the best RPG games. Here you'll find all the things you love about FF and even more. The developers have created a world that will keep you engaged for many hours and the stories of all the characters will stay with you long after the end credits roll. Sure, there are some minor issues, but they won't make me love this game any less.
  16. Dec 8, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV does things quite differently and it is up to you to love it or not. The game seems to be a bit scattered, but somehow it all fits together and makes for an amazing game.
  17. Dec 8, 2016
    90
    The relationship between the four friends is the heart of an amazing adventure. The beautiful world with all its exciting secrets is so lovely to explore. The story might often be difficult to understand, the old-school Final Fantasy touch is back and that is awesome.
  18. Dec 8, 2016
    90
    The magic of the franchise is still there and I emotionally connected with this game the same now as I did with some of the other great entries at different points through my life. I may have ended up skipping a few along the way but XV definitely brought the allure and luster back. This really is a Final Fantasy for both new and old hats to the franchise alike.
  19. Dec 7, 2016
    90
    Worth the wait, Final Fantasy XV turns out to be the anti-Duke Nukem Forever, in that it actually delivers on most - if not all - of its promises.
  20. Dec 4, 2016
    90
    Some great character depth as well as an overhaul to both the Final Fantasy formula and battle system makes Final Fantasy XV a delight for existing fans and new players.The title is a huge step in the right direction for a franchise that has staggered in recent years.
  21. Dec 4, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV is a true next-generation game of this longstanding and entertaining franchise with new mechanics to give both fans and first-timers a thoroughly enjoyable Japanese RPG experience.
  22. Dec 1, 2016
    90
    The burden of expectation weighs heavy and in that sense Final Fantasy XV is not a cure-all that will please everyone. At the same time, the game feels like a leap in the right direction. At its end, we aren’t thinking about story inconsistencies or derivative side quests. We’ve found ourselves attached to a group of four friends and we’re thankful for the adventure.
  23. 90
    Final Fantasy XV's long, troubled development cycle is evident in some of its rougher elements, but ultimately, none of that really matters. Like many of its predecessors, this Final Fantasy's best elements — great characters, fun combat and a beautiful soundtrack — make its goofier shortcomings blend in as part of the endearing charm.
  24. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    The wait was worth it. Final Fantasy XV is one of the best games in the series since the PS2 era. Its graphical quality is impeccable, character design is also terrific. The battle system, despite some camera issues, is fun and enjoyable. Thanks to Yoko Shimomura, the music feels great, dramatic and fun. The game has a lot of content and very high standards when it comes to animations. FFXV may have some glitches here and there, but that does not affect the overall experience. Final Fantasy XV is a game that veteran and new fans will enjoy from beginning to end.
  25. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Something wonderful and improbable must have happened towards the end of the topsy-turvy decade it’s taken Square Enix to finally produce a Final Fantasy worth crowing about. Thank director Hajime Tabata for somehow righting the ship. How he did so could presumably fill a book. How many games get 10 years to simmer? Change captains mid-journey? Have lord knows how many investment dollars (to say nothing of franchise esteem) on the line? And how often does vaporware materialize, after years of elliptical studio messaging, this lively and focused and fully realized?
  26. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV is an amazing JRPG. A great story, amazing gameplay mechanics, powerful graphics and more than 100 hours of pure fun. A couple of annoying bugs ruined our long run, but the overall result is still stunning.
  27. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV hides a convoluted, 10 year-long development behind every corner and desperately struggles with its own identity. Fans of the franchise might find the new open world structure a bit disappointing especially because it hurts a narrative that finds some coherence in the second half of the game and goes straight to an emotional and very divisive ending.
  28. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    The best open-world game of the year. The map is huge and the battle-system is dynamic and engaging, the art directions is satisfying. Despite some minor problems, this XV chapter of Final Fantasy sets a new road for the future of the series.
  29. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV has its problems, but it’s filled with enough special moments that you can forgive the issues. The combat is fluid, thoughtful, and cinematic while the open world gives you a ton to do. If you hated Final Fantasy XIII because of its linearity and lack of anything to do outside of the main story, you’ll dig just how much stuff Final Fantasy XV has to offer.
  30. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV was quite different from everything I had ever expected an entry to be, but it turned out to be exactly what I had been looking for.
  31. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Even if you don't buy into it, most will admit that Square Enix has master-crafted this world to the point where it feels like anything can happen out in the world map. Whereas a lot of JRPGs have stilted transitions between exploration and combat, XV does it effortlessly. One moment you're in an abandoned building talking about a quest, and the next a seamless conversation pops up and you're in the thick of a battle. The same goes for setting up future events -- just like how a Pokémon game might hint at future legendary additions early in the game, so does XV.
  32. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Even when it stumbles, Final Fantasy 15's ambitious open-world, fast-paced combat, and the humanity of its four leads make it a fascinating adventure to behold.
  33. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    The game contains pieces sure to disappoint players in both camps, but it also provides a refreshingly human take on the classic RPG journey that I hope will inspire future games in the franchise. Final Fantasy 15 can be baffling in some of its questionable choices, but across the board, it hits more than it misses. It hums with an energy and compassion that I loved, a sense of camaraderie, friendship and adventure that fills an old and struggling formula with new relevance.
  34. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV is a really impressive game with a simple, yet deep story and gameplay, great attention to details, a rich cast of characters and an immense and gorgeous world map; it simple looks outstanding in every way. Ironically, its enormous world map and excessive amount of things affects it in many bad ways, some of them that even end up damaging its graphics, bugging or even braking your sessions. Albeit it is great, its own filse-size and dimension ended up messing with it.
  35. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Final Fantasy XV carries within it the stigma of a chaotic project. Its open-world is huge but quite empty. Its fights dynamic but sometimes confusing. Its story grandiloquent, but somewhat bumped. Often, the spectacular meets the frustrating, making it a resolutely cleaving title. But if underlining all this is legitimate, do not forget the essentials: the four heroes of FFXV are among the most human characters in the history of video games, the last shot of the game making them immortal. Noctis, Gladio, Prompto, Ignis, thank you for this trip. Thanks to you, Final Fantasy is standing up again!
  36. Dec 15, 2016
    88
    Ten long years have culminated in a game that's a bit rough around the edges, but enjoyable. Kudos to Hajime Tabata for getting this thing done. For me it was enjoyable throughout, and I'll be seeing this one through until I have the platinum trophy, but I think that feat is reserved for only the most dedicated franchise fans.
  37. It may not be the very masterpiece we were waiting for, but despite all its flaws, FINAL FANTASY XV manages to be the ultimate JRPG we've needed for a long time.
  38. Dec 6, 2016
    88
    With a fresh combat system and a lovable cast, Final Fantasy XV excels at its goal of being a title for both fans and newcomers alike.

  39. Dec 5, 2016
    88
    Ambitious RPG with good battles, a great world and some new ideas, some of which don't always work.
  40. Jan 3, 2017
    85
    Possibly the best FF game in the past 15 years. There's more action while still retaining a deep character experience with an utterly charming cast of protagonists.
  41. I ended up having a fantastic time with Final Fantasy XV. I’m not blind to its many problems and faults, but they didn’t keep me from eagerly playing through to its conclusion, and they won’t keep me from heading back in and maybe one day levelling up my crew to the point that it can take on that mountainous level 99 monster lurking in the desert outside the Crown City...All of which is to say that, at least from my perspective, Final Fantasy has finally returned. It has reinserted itself as a relevant topic in the modern video game conversation.
  42. Dec 9, 2016
    85
    Most of all, this is the story of four friends. The story of a ten-year development cycle and the payoff from that, warts and all. Welcome to Eos and welcome to Final Fantasy XV, a great game and a return to form for the series.
  43. Dec 8, 2016
    85
    Camera issues notwithstanding, Final Fantasy XV was worth every second of that 10 year wait. The story pulled me in despite not giving me all of the backstory I craved, the four heroes were charming, witty, and fun to pal around with, the locales were gorgeous and a delight to look at, and the battle system was fast and frenetic.
  44. 85
    A strong-willed effort to update the series, Final Fantasy XV rises above its myriad flaws to deliver an odd, beautiful adventure that harnesses the power of friendship to maximum effect. A pleasing return to form for a much beloved series.
  45. 85
    Square Enix has taken quite a few risks with Final Fantasy XV to make it different from past installments or even JRPGs overall. Despite some graphical issues, they have pulled off an amazing experience, and it’s one that veterans and newcomers alike can immensely enjoy. This road trip has been well worth the wait.
  46. Nov 30, 2016
    85
    You played Final Fantasy and wanted this new installment in hopes of nostalgic experiences? Well forget about that, because Final Fantasy XV is one completely different kind of game in a positive way. It definitely is a great experience.
  47. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    It hurts to say it, but Final Fantasy XV is not the masterpiece we've been waiting a decade for. It is a title that possesses many virtues, but it is far from achieving the perfection of which we all dreamed.
  48. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    Fantasy comes true, emotions triumph over reality. Final Fantasy XV is a game with the best and the worst design ideas, but it has something that never gives up: courage, love and work. You will be able to love it, to hate it, but it's someway different, brave and special. Play it and feel it. More words are not necessary.
  49. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    Final Fantasy XV is a product that perfectly combines two opposing and irreconcilable souls. On the one hand there is the desire to revive a once great saga, an RPG focuses on the value of exploration, and on the amount of secondary activities and diversions. On the other hand there is a murky "dark side", made of an ineffective and bleak narrative. Considering the number of hours spent in the Lucis kingdom, you can not help but think that this narrative hitch represents after all a small part of the overall game experience.
  50. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    A great game that succeeds in transforming the formula into an open-world, real-time action game. It has its flaws, but it will engage thanks to its graphics and spectacular combats. A new path for a series that is still relevant after 30 years.
  51. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    While I may not think of this personally as a true Final Fantasy title, that doesn’t make it any less of a good game. Despite all my above quibbles, I still haven’t been able to put the controller down for any longer than it takes to visit the bathroom or refuel my needy human body.
  52. Nov 28, 2016
    85
    Final Fantasy XV is unlike any RPG or open-world experience I’ve played before. It succeeds and struggles in finding its unique stance, but a few problematic designs don’t hold it back from being a hell of a journey. Just days after playing it, I find myself reflecting on it fondly. The thoughts of that damn car are recessed and blanketed by Noctis’ journey and some of the stunning moments that unfolded within it. I wasn’t a fan of Final Fantasy XIII’s sequels, but I hope Square returns with another XV or a similarly designed sequel to iron out the rough spots. There’s a solid foundation here that begs to be explored further.
  53. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 19, 2016
    84
    Sometimes, water turns a weird shade of pink, or disappears entirely, leaving fish to “fly” through the air (you can still catch them, by the way). Characters can get stuck. AI may glitch out, causing enemies to just stand around, waiting to be killed. Not to mention the camera, which may take a sudden liking to hero’s back and show nothing but it in the middle of the combat. But even with all these technical problems, there’s no doubt that Final Fantasy XV is a success. [Issue#215, p.48]
  54. Feb 7, 2017
    83
    Despite a divided feel, torn between what it was and what it plans to be, Final Fantasy XV has a lot to offer. If you're a diehard JRPG fan, then it's a positive sign that the series can cross over to a new format. And if you're just looking for an open world adventure, Final Fantasy XV certainly has that in spades, while doing just enough things differently to separate it from the likes of Dragon Age and Elder Scrolls.
  55. Nov 28, 2016
    82
    There is so much good here, so much heart - especially in the relationships between Noctis and his sworn brothers. It just comes with some changes and compromises that were, at times, difficult for this long-time Final Fantasy fan to come to grips with.
  56. Jan 27, 2017
    80
    It’s the game that makes the entire franchise as relevant as it was in Nineties and early Noughties and it has fulfilled the destiny Square Enix wanted for it in that it has created a new platform from which even better things can be expected from it in the future. Without question, Final Fantasy is once again a giant within the RPG world.
  57. Jan 17, 2017
    80
    Final Fantasy XV is both a massive triumph and a let down. The world is great, the gameplay is spectacular, but the story falls through.
  58. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    80
    Wonderful world, monumental opponents ... and the story that only runs somewhere on background and to which you will return only when you get tired of one in a million things that you can do in the game. [Issue #270]
  59. Jan 4, 2017
    80
    You wouldn’t say Final Fantasy XV was ten years in. The game is in many aspects breathtaking and offers details worth waiting for. Everyone finds its thing in this game – at least every slightly JRPG-positive player. Croakers will see hundred-and-one little thing that went wrong, but these marginals are lost in the absurd size and content richness the game offers.
  60. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 3, 2017
    80
    Despite a "Miss" in the story slots, series staples and modern-day mechanics converge to create a seamless spectacle. Cue that famous victory fanfare. [Jan 2016, p.109]
  61. Dec 19, 2016
    80
    It's still messy and there are problems, but Final Fantasy XV is appealing to most, fascinating and, most of all, the new approaches make a great recipe.
  62. Dec 13, 2016
    80
    This is why Final Fantasy XV, despite significant and glaring problems, is still a lovely time that managed to make me like Final Fantasy again. It’s a character piece, and the characters we spend our time with are fully realized and play off each other so well. It’s a lighter journey that nonetheless knows when to get serious, spurred by a charismatic nemesis and a quartet of lovable, beautiful boys...And good God is it weird.
  63. Dec 10, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy will likely never recapture its former glory, but Final Fantasy XV fills us with hope that the series can still carve out its own path, even after all these years.
  64. Dec 9, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV takes a lot of chances, with combat, story, characters, and its open world setting. More often than not it manages to hit that sweet spot nexus of innovation and familiarity: the game world is immense but not overwhelming, the combat is chaotic but manageable and exciting, and the story and characters equally endearing and unfathomable. Assuming that Final Fantasy XV is a template for future installments and not simply a one-off, ten-years-in-the-making experiment, the game may cry out for refinement but hints at an exciting direction as well. It definitely breathes new life into a franchise that was on the verge of irrelevance for many gamers.
  65. Dec 9, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV might not give you the same experience as when you played Final Fantasy VII in the 90's, but it takes you on a journey that succeeds in delivering the atmosphere you want from the series. Final Fantasy is officially back.
  66. Dec 8, 2016
    80
    Even though I’m relatively pleased with the outcome as the four friends carry the moment to moment gameplay with grace, the disjointed and lackluster storyline leaves an indelible mark on what is otherwise an incredibly well crafted RPG well worth experiencing.
  67. Dec 8, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV offered a lot of surprises, some good, some bad. As you make progress, it eventually feels like you're playing through two different games merged into one. Some will be more forgiving than others, though it never ruined the experience for me.
  68. Dec 6, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV is a unique offering, both for the franchise and RPGs in general. Placing the onus on the relationships of your party, rather than the narrative, has meant that this is a game that strikes not just an emotional chord, but a personal one. While Final Fantasy stalwarts will likely balk at the action-heavy combat, the spirit of the franchise remains, and is better served here than it has been in many years.
  69. Dec 6, 2016
    80
    When it’s at its best, generally during the latter third of the game, the results are often phenomenal. At its worst, you’ll wonder how it can pass as a Final Fantasy game. On the whole though, the good far outweighs the bad, making Final Fantasy XV a flawed but essential title for fans of the long-running series.
  70. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    It bears all the scars of troubled development, and it has a list of nagging issues a mile long, but it's more than the sum of its parts. It's fun to play and has plenty of charming and likeable moments that balance out the frustrating time-wasting elements and weak plot. FF15 is a solid entry into the franchise and is as accessible to newcomers as it is to longtime fans. It might have some rough patches, but FF15 shows that it cares about the most important thing of all: fun.
  71. Dec 2, 2016
    80
    What Final Fantasy XV succeeds at more than anything is providing an unpredictable and memorable adventure. Captivating story and characters were sacrificed along the way, but more than anything this game needed to prove that Final Fantasy can still execute greatness while taking risks. Its combat system and world design carry most of the weight, supported by attractive secondary activities and a great progression system.
  72. Dec 2, 2016
    80
    Not without it's flaws, but Final Fantasy XV is a fantastic comeback for the series and a beautiful love letter to the fans of the series. With a mix of open world, hectic combat and engaging characters – this is the Final Fantasy we have been waiting for.
  73. Dec 1, 2016
    80
    For all its flaws – the dodgy camera, the lack of dungeon save points, the magic system, the bitty, oddly-structured plot – Final Fantasy 15 is the best single-player Final Fantasy in a decade. The new combat system is more action-oriented, but still surprisingly tactical, while the new focus on open-world exploration brings the game and its world to life. Crammed with character, choice and interest, it’s an RPG where the good times keep on rolling down the road.
  74. Nov 30, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV is imperfect, but the high points of this journey outweigh the messy bits. I recommend you learn to go with the flow, spend some time with your bros, and really get lost in the game. Don't try too hard to be a completionist, but don't forsake the open-world adventures and cling too much to the main storyline. It's in the balance between the two that this tale is at its absolute best.
  75. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV brings back some of what made FF special to begin with - it's bold and brave, throwing caution to the wind to try to make a statement about what big budget Japanese RPGs can be going forwards. It's rough around the edges, but that's okay: where it counts, it's got plenty of heart.
  76. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV overcomes its narrative lows with gameplay highs that consume the player's time with engrossing optional quests and frenetic battles. As a whole, it does not represent the best in the series, but it delivers just enough to deserve a place in the mainline series, which is an achievement for a game that originated as a Final Fantasy XIII spin-off.
  77. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Certainly a different Final Fantasy, a mix of good, bad and puzzling decisions in a very fine production which makes for an interesting package.
  78. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    I was really skeptical that Final Fantasy XV could ever be successful; but despite some real flaws, it ultimately won me over. I warmed to the characters over the course of many camping trips, found more than I was expecting in the open world, and even enjoyed the bombastic set-pieces. I have no doubt that it will be harshly criticized in some circles, but it also has some real merit. Stick with it even if you find yourself rolling your eyes at the opening hours: You may be surprised by how much you end up enjoying yourself.
  79. VideoGamer
    Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Final Fantasy XV is about adventure and excitement. There are oddities, and it's not the FF you're used to, but it's a good time with some good boys, and has an unexpected emotional resonance to it. Sometimes it seems like it shouldn't work, but it does.
  80. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Where its characters fail to impress, Final Fantasy XV's beautiful world and exciting challenges save the day.
  81. Nov 30, 2016
    79
    This isn't probably the Final Fantasy you were expecting, nevertheless it's one worth your time. it is far from being a perfect game, mainly because of a terrible second half, but it succeeds where other Final Fantasy have failed: bringing the saga into the modern era.
  82. Jan 15, 2017
    75
    Some parts of this game will shine more than others for many gamers, and people will remember this game differently. This is a big adventure on the usual scale of a Final Fantasy game and we can see the great production value behind it. But the game lacks the vision to bring its best parts together to make it the great overall experience that we all wanted.
  83. CD-Action
    Jan 13, 2017
    75
    If it were a book it would be missing its first chapter and every other page. The game’s story is a chaotic patchwork of ideas collected over the years and characters who appear out of the blue and disappear without a word of explanation. On the other hand it’s the first game to imitate road movies so well. The journey has a very satisfying pace, friendship between main characters is depicted splendidly, the views are spectacular and there’s a lot of optional content. [01/2017, p.44]
  84. Jan 9, 2017
    75
    Still, despite the flaws, Final Fantasy XV is worth checking out. You can easily get lost in the open world and side quest portion of the game, which you’ll gain access to pretty early. There’s a lot of stuff to fight, the combat system is fun, and the game looks pretty amazing for the most part. And despite the last quarter of the game being lackluster, you’re not locked out of the side content or open world areas, so if you need a break from that stuff you can easily put the story on pause and move on to something else for a bit. Is Final Fantasy XV my favorite in the series? Not hardly. But it’s a much better game than I expected it would be, and certainly something I’ll play again in the future.
  85. Dec 20, 2016
    75
    The world is gorgeous, the characters are well written, and there are some grand moments throughout, but there are some significant issues with pacing and linearity.
  86. Dec 7, 2016
    75
    Final Fantasy XV is like a road trip in which you will encounter beautiful challenges and will discover beautiful places, but in the end of the trip you may even forget the characters you've met. And that is not how a Final Fantasy should make you feel.
  87. Dec 6, 2016
    75
    Final Fantasy XV is nowhere close to the game that we should have received after 10 years of waiting—but it also isn’t anywhere close to the trainwreck that it easily could have been. While the storytelling is a mess and the game feels incomplete far too often, there’s enough to love here—from combat, to exploration, to the four Japanese pretty boys that make up your main party—to make FFXV a road trip worth going on.
  88. Nov 29, 2016
    75
    Square Enix has not been able to claim the throne with Final Fantasy XV. This videogame has lights but also shadows, like having the name of Final Fantasy, which is a huge responsibility, and also shows why not every videogame is meant to have an open world.
  89. Nov 29, 2016
    75
    It would have been very surprising if Final Fantasy XV were a wonderful game, when everybody knows what it came through. And each of its positives seems to have a counterpart that prevent this new entry from being a masterpiece.
  90. Nov 30, 2016
    73
    The scars of a long and difficult development are clearly visible in the confusing plot and in the poor battle system. The game is spectacular and the open world area is well built, but it's not enough to bring FF XV to the top of JRPGs.
  91. Games Master UK
    Jan 26, 2017
    71
    It's an epic, flawed, weird, and endearing experience. [Jan 2016, p.68]
  92. Feb 14, 2017
    70
    After so many years of development, Final Fantasy XV is not what I expected it to be. The universe is immense and beautiful and the characters are just fine. But the story is short and disappointing and the gameplay suffers from lack of depth. FFXV is a good game, but it can never bring the former glories back to the series.
  93. Edge Magazine
    Feb 14, 2017
    70
    Even as you reflect on the rarity of a blockbuster that's willing to take real risks, you'll be left with the uncomfortable realisation that ten years wasn't quite long enough, after all. Those jagged edges are, in the end, just a little too sharp. [Feb 2017, p.110]
  94. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2017
    70
    And on that bombshell, may the next fledgling Final Fantasy fly fans to a realm that values a clear plot and strong characters over pinball machines. [February 2016, p74]
  95. Dec 22, 2016
    70
    Final Fantasy XV's decade-long maelstrom of doubt, chaos, and suspense has somehow wrought an effective tale from the bonds of brotherhood and an engaging game from coordinated monster obliteration. The embroiled project is not sacrosanct; an incongruous plot, mechanical quest lines, and a haphazard world constitute a jet impacting the ground at dangerous speed. Pieces are everywhere, but Final Fantasy XV ultimately survives its crash landing through an impressive force of will.
  96. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    Considering its development history, it's unsurprising that Final Fantasy 15 lacks crucial focus and depth when it comes to its largely stodgy tale of Oracles and Crystals or its unspectacular combat, with both found particularly at fault during the game's dour concluding chapters. Yet like Prompto's incessant nagging to go ride Chocobos, it's easy to give in to the breezy charm of the game's luscious open-world and the whimsical antics of its Tumblr-baiting bro-tagonists.
  97. 70
    Final Fantasy XV is a great open world game. The combat has its flaws and the final few chapters are upsettingly poor but that didn’t stop me having tens of hours of fun exploring and ticking off side quests.
  98. Dec 12, 2016
    70
    Final Fantasy XV’s seems to be confused as to what it wants to be, and it makes one game feel like several, none of which execute upon their ideas well enough to stand above its modern contemporaries.
  99. Dec 6, 2016
    70
    Final Fantasy XV is a good game, suffering after years of chaotic development. It's definitely worth checking out, but bare in mind That Square Enix have not managed to make a "Final Fantasy for everyone", like the company claims. All we get is an approach to find the golden mean, not always a successful one.
  100. Dec 5, 2016
    70
    It may have problems, but Final Fantasy XV is bursting with personality and it's hard to dislike. Like any true friend, you'll learn to love it despite its flaws.
  101. Dec 1, 2016
    70
    There are moments of brilliance spread across the campaign, but with it comes a frustratingly disheartening story.
  102. Dec 24, 2016
    63
    FF15 looks like a huge patchwork quilt made out of dozens shoddily sewn little pieces. Sometimes you can't help but marvel at the incredible attention to detail, some ideas (like photos, for example) are a stroke of genius, but then it comes to the crux of the matter… and the hair stands up on the back of your neck.
  103. Dec 19, 2016
    60
    FFXV's ambition is laudable, but it's flaws are too big to fully cast aside. The result is an interesting and spectacular-looking title likely hampered by a protracted and unfocussed development.
  104. Dec 14, 2016
    60
    Cindy’s design is laughable, but she draws attention to a broader problem with the game: its overwhelming maleness.
  105. Dec 12, 2016
    60
    It’s gratingly intrusive when it tries to keep you busy, and transcendentally comforting when it settles for just keeping you company.
  106. Dec 12, 2016
    60
    Where it stumbles is in delivering a believable, human world.
  107. Dec 5, 2016
    60
    A laughably awkward ten-year jump forward and a climactic showdown against a foe whose motives utterly escape me. The project’s original director was Kingdom Hearts creator Tetsuya Nomura, and it seems some of his influence remains embedded in the final product — FFXV’s latter half feels like a different game entirely, and it’s a mess. FFXV’s inability to live up to its early promise might rank as 2016’s biggest gaming disappointment.
  108. Nov 28, 2016
    60
    Destined to be as divisive as all modern Final Fantasy games, but it’s the story and characters that disappoint more than the capable combat and exploration.
  109. Jan 17, 2017
    59
    Final Fantasy XV is definitely a memorable tale told with impressive production values. However, it's plagued by gameplay that basically plays itself, insufferable wait times, and a story that fails to establish itself before thrusting you into its world.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Ars Technica
    Nov 29, 2016
    For now, I'm finding that FFXV is mechanically sound but fundamentally missing the point. There's no Midgar-like push of momentum anywhere in the first 10 hours. The game meanders and sputters in terms of making me care about the plot or its primary characters. Even the cheeseball JRPG plot staples of angst, love, and angsty love are in short supply. [Review-in-Progress]
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    In chasing that scale the bigger picture can sometimes get a little obscured, but importantly Final Fantasy 15 retains that love of smaller stories, the ones that often prove to be so much more memorable.
  3. Jan 12, 2017
    It's a game full of glimmers of the new, things that gesture toward what Final Fantasy XV might have become – had it not spent ten years battling its own history – only to let them drown, half-finished in a muddy stew of missteps and throwbacks, inexcusable omissions and baffling inclusions. Far from being for everyone, there are hours where you wonder if the game knows what it's become, let alone who it's for.
  4. Nov 28, 2016
    I don’t know how Final Fantasy XV will be remembered when held up to the rest of the Final Fantasy pantheon. But I do know that it’s got everything I want from a Final Fantasy game. I know that it’ll be yet another snapshot in a life filled with Final Fantasy. Another grand adventure, another gang of worthy heroes; another tale of crystals and magic and betrayal and love, all beautiful melodies and lush scenery and the finely honed complexity of carefully choreographed combat. Onward to secrets beyond the horizon, and don’t forget the Phoenix Down. If that’s not Final Fantasy, I don’t know what is.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4570 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    FINAL FANTASY XV is a game that has everything to make you happy. It has a open world, but also, has many linear moments due to story, and theFINAL FANTASY XV is a game that has everything to make you happy. It has a open world, but also, has many linear moments due to story, and the story is VERY good at all. Escaping the flames of war, Noctis epic journey with his best friends is very real and deep. The battle system is so good and the game has the best dungeons in all FF series. I loved Princess Luna, she is so cute and strong. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2016
    9
    + Great atmosphere
    + Awesome characters
    + I dig the combat when set to Wait mode + Fishing :D + Roadtrip feeling - Long travel / Loading
    + Great atmosphere
    + Awesome characters
    + I dig the combat when set to Wait mode
    + Fishing :D
    + Roadtrip feeling
    - Long travel / Loading
    - Sometimes bugs when accepting quests or characters being stuck
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    awesome game all round. very polished and the combat has a flow that i didnt think it had watching the streams of the judgement disc. veryawesome game all round. very polished and the combat has a flow that i didnt think it had watching the streams of the judgement disc. very easy to get the grove of but hard to master. the game is also quite funny in the small talk and banter.

    ignis is balthier 2.0 and i LOVE IT

    p.s. please note that there are a number of trolls coordinating on online message sites for a deliberate attack against this game by rating it poorly and down voting positive reviews. please take this idiocy into consideration when making your decisions about this game.
    Full Review »