Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
Buy On
  1. 90
    Although the satire doesn’t localise as well as I might have liked, the game’s not as straightforward in its perversions that a surface level analysis makes it seem, and I’ll be disappointed if there aren’t at least some people that recognise this.
  2. Jul 24, 2016
    80
    If you can overlook (or enjoy) the cringeworthy perverseness found here, you'll find an enjoyable little shooter.
  3. Jul 22, 2016
    80
    Gal*Gun Double Peace may simply be a juvenile story packaged with shallow gameplay, but for anyone that enters with an open mind, I think they’ll find it to be a heartily entertaining affair.
  4. Jul 22, 2016
    80
    It actually made me laugh out loud and manages to retain its charm even after the novelty of the weirdness wore off. Being a game that requires quick reflexes and a tolerance for sexually-charged humor sets it apart from the other titles that vie for gamer dollars.
  5. Sep 9, 2016
    76
    A funny game which replayablity and tons of content makes an interesting choice to play…if you can surpass its “fanservice” content.
  6. Aug 12, 2016
    75
    Don’t be fooled into thinking it’s just a smutty knock off of House of the Dead – this one has solid gameplay, an enthralling narrative and enough content to last you at least until your loved ones get home.
  7. Jul 22, 2016
    75
    The smoothness of the console edition makes up for some of the Vita's control enhancements. It plays just like a lot of other shooters for previous consoles did sans NES Zapper, sans Super Scope -- missing that little extra something, but fun so long as the gameplay and interesting world is there.
  8. Aug 8, 2016
    70
    The poor visuals and complicated story requirements are a shame, but they never truly soured my time with the title and as soon as I finish this review, I plan to play more.
  9. Aug 6, 2016
    70
    I personally had fun with it and was impressed with the overall presentation, however the repetitive gameplay leads me to feel that it is still quite overpriced.
  10. Aug 5, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Aug 31, 2016
    67
    It's clearly not for most people, whether it controls more smoothly on PS4 or not. But it's also a cut above a whole bunch of equally offensive games, and for that reason (if nothing else), it deserves its share of praise.
  12. Aug 13, 2016
    65
    A unique experience that gets tedious very quickly but also one that should be experienced by anyone craving some mindless (but perverse) fun.
  13. Aug 5, 2016
    65
    GalGun: Double Peace is an interesting videogame based on anime gal games, which also features the simplest plot ever. It’s as enjoyable as repetitive and absurd.
  14. Nov 23, 2016
    60
    We analyze one of those titles that could only come from Japan, Gal Gun Double Peace, one of those games that mixes two genres as diverse as can be visual novels and shooter on rails.
  15. May 27, 2016
    60
    Gal Gun Second Peace is of course a sexy game for otakus, but it is also quite a good rail shooter, even if it fails to renew the experience compared to the first episode.
  16. Jul 26, 2016
    50
    I liked the idea of a stylistically different railshooter. And I like the seriousness with which Gal Gun treats the sometimes awkward situations and dialogues. But overall the quirky action gets boring quite fast.
  17. Jul 22, 2016
    50
    Gal Gun is clearly aimed at the Japanese audience, so you probably know if it's a game you can enjoy. Its gameplay, no matter if you like the concept, is quite weak anyway.
  18. 45
    Gal*Gun: Double Peace has a surprising amount of heart for a game that has its head lodged firmly in a gutter full of panties. The characters are likable, the plot is goofy in its seriousness, and the premise is so over the top that I couldn’t help but laugh. Sadly, the gameplay simply doesn’t hold up its end of the bargain.
  19. Aug 9, 2016
    42
    Gal*Gun Double Peace is certainly a title that’s not for everyone, but if those titulating screenshots get your heart going ‘doki-doki,’ you’re exactly the kind of person that Double Peace was made for.
  20. 40
    For a game about a guy who shoots girls with “pheromone shots” until they climax, Gal Gun: Double Peace sure is boring.
  21. Jul 21, 2016
    30
    Shameless like a boob tube but about a billion times less interesting, Gal*Gun: Double Peace is a bad rails-shooter that tries tirelessly to get a raise, only to leave you feeling limp and agitated. If firing pheromones in the faces of overly appreciative schoolgirls is the kind of thing that turns you on, then consider giving Net Nanny her marching orders instead.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. Aug 3, 2016
    8
    Gal Gun: Double Peace is a game that is at its heart a on-rails shooter. You are a student at a school who has been hit by a super-love arrowGal Gun: Double Peace is a game that is at its heart a on-rails shooter. You are a student at a school who has been hit by a super-love arrow and have to shoot "pheromones" at girls that are either influenced by the "love angel" or a demon. In addition you can pick up little extras such as finding items that are tasks given by people in the school which appear in your cell phone. The shooting is mostly controlled by the left analog stick, sometimes with the D-Pad to switch directions and the square button for shooting and the right shoulder button for zooming. Personally I find that type of control not as intuitive as a move control, e.g. "Blue Estate" had an interesting idea to use the controller in a vertical position to hold it like a gun, but it works well enough.
    Typically a player will choose story mode to begin the game which essentially is a combination of shooting and visual novel elements, you will even have options that influence the story and thus, there are multiple endings. Besides there are some sections where the player has to touch the girls and raise a gauge. These sections resemble a little of "Dokidoki Majo Shinpan" or "Criminal Girls", I don't find those terribly interesting, but it makes for a change of pace, and sometimes the controller touch pad needs to be used which I find relatively hard to figure out how to do right. The story is cute and silly, though not particularly deep or original, but it does the job.

    I don't often play on-rails shooters and my favorites have been the "House of the Dead", "Typing of the Dead", and "Time Crisis". In my opinion the shooting sections are not quite as good as in those, but there still is quite a bit of variety and the graphics are quite clean and fluent. I deliberately chose the PS4 version, because from the Critic Reviews I could tell that the Vita version would not be quite as responsive.
    As for the replayability of the game, the story mode is rather short, you'll get through it in maybe 2, 3 hours, but with the branching story line and many unlockables there are enough incentives to play this again. There is also a Score Attack mode, so you can try to best your personal High Scores.

    My main critic points are the lack of move controls and the lack of sub titles for the voices, since they are in Japanese, it would be sometimes great to know what the characters are saying.

    I would give this a 7.5, but there are no half points on Metacritic, so I gave it an 8, this is with respect to it being an on-rails shooter.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 6, 2016
    8
    This game brings something new which we hasn't seen in a while, and delivers on what it tries to give. It's a bizarre adventure in the formatThis game brings something new which we hasn't seen in a while, and delivers on what it tries to give. It's a bizarre adventure in the format of a rail-shooter, where the innuendos fly rapidly, and fan-service aplenty, though it takes no damage on the gameplay which is solid as a standalone. Personally I love the puzzle parts where you do quests and try to find hidden objects admits all the havoc. Minigames like getting the schoolbook filled out (including the girls measurements and weak spots) and the dating sim elements + routes also give the game an RPG feel which keeps the overall progression going, where you always feel you get further despite if you mess up or not during some of the runs. It won't be game of the year, but if you are into fan-servicy games and bizarreness combined with an unique but functional gameplay, then this is defiantly worth your money. Full Review »
  3. Oct 31, 2016
    9
    This game actually isn't bad if you give it a chance. I know you're snickering but it's actually slightly tougher than even House of the Dead.This game actually isn't bad if you give it a chance. I know you're snickering but it's actually slightly tougher than even House of the Dead. You have to shoot a certain area to get points and sometimes that area may not be visible or it may be very hard to get to.

    But the game plays like a cross between House of the Dead and Time Crisis. You shoot girls with pheromone shots and they become euphoric. The mini-demons add a little more difficulty and if you think that it's too easy, remember that God-like rank is a challenge that requires you to know every level backwards and forwards. Also the game has over 70 endings, so there's something there every time you play.
    Full Review »