Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Apr 12, 2019
    45
    Although the gameplay and the audio design are nicely done, we didn't walk away with a very positive feeling with regards to Generation Zero. The world around you is dull and uninspired and hardly offers any variation. The amount of graphical bugs and glitches is enormous. The way the story is presented left us feeling cold and that's a shame really because the game definitely has potential.
  2. Mar 31, 2019
    45
    Generation Zero stumbles on its own concept et never achieves to find balance between shooter and survival. Repetitive and dull, it does have some ideas but they don’t have enough impact to hide all the flaws.
  3. 40
    When I first read the premise of Generation Zero I was intrigued and before I even loaded the game up for the first time I was excited. I wanted to like this game. Unfortunately, the game quickly falls into a beautiful void of its own making. With weak storytelling and empty gameplay, Generation Zero sinks into the mud and collapses like so many tents at the festival that day, gripping to weak foundations.
  4. Apr 3, 2019
    36
    I wanted to like this so badly and was truly excited for it. I hate to say this but it is a waste of your time and money. Give this one a miss.
  5. Mar 29, 2019
    35
    If we thought that Generation Zero's Concept was worthy, we made a big mistake as nothing makes us want to play this game apart from the nice graphics and the tense atmosphere. Everything else is a true mess, from the repetitive action to the truckloads of bugs.
  6. Apr 29, 2019
    33
    If you’re the sort of person who enjoys aimless wandering but doesn’t like the idea of getting up off the couch and actually doing it, then you might be in luck here. Otherwise, don’t bother, because it’s absolutely not worth it.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Apr 25, 2019
    30
    So sparse is the experience that it takes about four or five bewildered hours for the reality to sink in that yes, this is all there is. [Issue#332, p.114]
  8. Apr 12, 2019
    30
    Periodically beautiful yet consistently broken, Generation Zero’s brand of monotonous, sterile and bug-riddled open-world first-person shooting is something that you should avoid at all costs.
  9. 30
    Generation Zero holds plenty of promise, but its current state makes it impossible to recommend. From the painful inventory management to the lifeless open world to the haphazard multiplayer, there's little positive to be found here.
  10. Apr 3, 2019
    30
    Generation zero is an experience that came out from nothingness just to return to it, even if the developers manage to fix all the numerous bugs and glitches miraculously, it will remain as a perfect example for game with no purpose, no meaning and no essence.
  11. Mar 27, 2019
    30
    Even if you’re in love with its concept, Generation Zero is an experience you should avoid at all costs. Thanks to archaic co-operative design, an open world that feels sparse at even the best of times, and an inventory system that routinely works against you, disappointment takes centre stage here. You may catch one or two beautiful vistas along the way, but as the framerate drops into the single digits, you’ll wish you never bothered.
  12. May 10, 2019
    20
    Coming from seasoned developers who’ve turned out great games like Just Cause and Mad Max, the quality of this brand-new IP is incredibly disappointing. I hope that it continues to be patched and improved, because the current state of affairs can’t possibly showcase the vision Avalanche must have originally intended.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 48
  2. Negative: 21 out of 48
  1. Apr 2, 2019
    8
    Metabashing ? A critic is aimed at having the scrutinized object to meet its potential happy audience .. Bashing is aimed at pleasing oneselfMetabashing ? A critic is aimed at having the scrutinized object to meet its potential happy audience .. Bashing is aimed at pleasing oneself by throwing bullyish and at times pretty unfair arguments - I hate, hence I exist.
    You can hate a game and yet, by your truly critical eye, have it to meet its audience - bashing is low passion, critic is deconstruction .. at the service of others passion (making you a saint in the process, wings and all).
    I understand the urge to warn our fellow gamers about what we take as a waste of time and money - but again, please give those strangers a honest and complete overview, so that they can make their own minds, according to their own inclinations - and yes ! masochism can be one of those .. Amen.

    "Generation zero", then.

    Graphics : it's visually stunning, no less, vibrant with atmosphere. The copy-paste argument stands for the most common buildings (houses, barn, shed) - but you won't spend much time in them, unless you use them to fight (in which case you won't give a damn, busy at surviving).

    Difficulty : it is real - you charge headlong, you die on the spot or waste precious ammo. The game is about tactics, and mastering them (fireworks to saturate captors, tape recorders to attract, gas cans initially placed to be blasted from a distance, etc). Sometimes evading combat is the best option .. if you can !

    Combat : the choice of ammo is crucial, depending on the target .. and your skill (aiming at soft spots in the heat of the battle can be tricky ! - shotguns deliver ..)
    It's a demanding game, and a rewarding one too - kill an enemy without blasting him to smithereens, and you might get very useful spare parts ..

    Mission structure : the developers won't take you too blatantly by the hand. You start by finding (or not) a clue in the environment, and then you unroll it all (for instance, the headlights of a crashed car leads to its trunk leads to a written note leads to a place somewhere on the map).
    You see a dirt road that leads apparently nowhere ? - take your time, follow it, there might (just might) be something there ..
    The overall investigation stands - what the hell happened ?

    Walking simulator, they say : the rythm is not that of an all-out war (at least initially, I'm 25 slow hours into the game), it's more a matter of picking your own fights. Getting the right gear, setting an ambush (a lot more so in coop, but guerrilla tactics do work in solo thanks to the generous array of gizmos), enjoying a sunset, waiting for the night to fall so as to pick up the whereabouts ot your enemies .. More like "Slow and furious", if I were to describe it.
    But again, when you manage to unlock a safe haven, your character is then free to teleport back to it. And characters do run, at that, at a pace clearly higher than in many AAA fps I've been experiencing ..

    Inventory : a lot of possibilities implies a lot of different gear .. yet space is limited (though it can be upgraded, as many other things). You are forced to choose, as if you were actually carrying all this silly stuff ! Those choices, as irritating as they may be, contribute to the atmosphere and the construction of your character - you are what you do, and how you do it. Lean and mean, you prowl ..

    Make up your mind, then - Sweden looks great, by the way.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2019
    2
    I gotta say, this game is horrible and I am from Sweden. So figured I'd enjoy the recognisable environment a bit. But the combat is by far theI gotta say, this game is horrible and I am from Sweden. So figured I'd enjoy the recognisable environment a bit. But the combat is by far the worst I've ever seen (there even is zero feedback wether you hit or not), the graphics are like an impressive early 2000 game, everything is just flat and repeated textures and the missions is just guess your way. And if you play with a friend, he's gotta restart from the beginning every single time (keeps his loot though). And the inventory management is beyond horrible. Everything in the inventory is beyond understanding. You can also click a button like switch weapon and it does though between 1st to 5th try. It's broken, boring and horrible. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! If I as a Swede and part of the culture can't make it last past 15 minutes you're screwed. Those who love this game really have very low expectations or are payed of. 2/10. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2019
    1
    Absolutely awful, one of the worst games I've played in a long time

    The mission structure is almost non existent. The the enemy AI is
    Absolutely awful, one of the worst games I've played in a long time

    The mission structure is almost non existent. The the enemy AI is either super tough or super dumb, the map blatantly copy-pastes assets everywhere. I also experienced the game crashing on me quite a few times. I did play the game with some strangers in Co-op and the most fun we had was laughing at how broken the game is.
    Full Review »