Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 20 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Jul 16, 2016
    58
    Ghostbusters is one of those games that is completely forgettable.
  2. Jul 13, 2016
    56
    Ghostbusters will get you through a few levels of mildly pleasant action before you shrug and see what's new on Netflix. That's about all she's got in the ol' proton pack, but as far as movie tie-in games go, it could certainly be much worse.
  3. Jul 21, 2016
    40
    Ghosbusters is the perfect recipe for boredom. There is nothing wrong in its basic mechanics, but the pace is soporific, the level design is too linear, and the situations are the same over the entire course of the story. It is, in the end, a gaming monster to flee from, no matter what.
  4. Jul 18, 2016
    40
    The one saving grace is that Ghostbusters is dull rather than boring. Played in short bursts, a level or two at a time, it’s still rather fun, even more so when you have some friends in tow.
  5. Jul 15, 2016
    40
    Ghostbusters is a slog from start to finish.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 26, 2016
    30
    This installment lacks the humour, thrill and charm of any of its franchise's predecessors. [Oct 2016, p.94]
  7. Games Master UK
    Sep 6, 2016
    30
    A bland and uninteresting cash-in that's being peddled at a downright scary price point. [Sept 2016, p.70]
  8. Aug 24, 2016
    30
    Dull, repetitive and boring. Don't buy this. [Issue#177, p.81]
  9. Aug 5, 2016
    30
    If you search for "cash grab" on Google Images, chances are that you'll find a picture of Activision's Ghostbusters video game. Quickly made with no ambition nor budget, this game is a total waste of time. Ghostbusters fans, you're better off finding and playing Atari's 2009 Ghostbusters game instead.
  10. Aug 1, 2016
    30
    What we have here is the definition of cash-grabbing and at £40 you’ll be as braindead as the ghouls ingame to buy. The release is obscenely catered towards parents or grandparents who would buy this for their child/grandchild because, it’s all the kids are talking about these days.
  11. Jul 28, 2016
    30
    Ghostbusters is a pure merchandising product, made to be sold along with the movie, and without any interest on the videogame side of things. It boasts ugly graphics, a repetitive gameplay and a high retail price. Thanks Activision.
  12. Jul 17, 2016
    30
    This thing is so awful that it isn’t even worth the effort to cram in an obligatory reference to the original films. The real problem is that the likelihood of these criticisms being heard by the person responsible for releasing this mess is practically zero, seeing as how the complaints would be drowned by the deafening sounds of the giant metal clackers required to think this was okay.
  13. 30
    It captures none of the camaraderie or the imagination that’s seen in the films. There’s no personality here, and gamers are left with a $50 twin stick shooter that doesn’t have a single interesting idea in it.
  14. Jul 14, 2016
    30
    Ghostbusters has rare moments when it doesn't feel like an utter waste of time. But it's mostly a bizarre slog through mostly empty, overly cumbersome levels full of extreme repetition. Even for devoted fans of the films and four-player co-op shooters, Ghostbusters is a disappointment.
  15. Jul 18, 2016
    28
    It severely lacks in the fun department with its repetitive gameplay and bland characters. Expecting gamers to drop $50.00 dollars on this game is insulting. Yet, even if it were cheaper it would not make it any better.
  16. Aug 22, 2016
    25
    Ghostbusters is an abysmal piece of garbage. It runs poorly, it sounds terrible, it has awful writing and it’s just a drag to play.
  17. Jul 16, 2016
    25
    Ghostbusters as a couch co-op game is a dream on paper. Unfortunately, the execution from FireForge Games is so lackluster and devoid of quality that publisher Activision should be ashamed in having released it.
  18. Aug 2, 2016
    22
    The literal definition of a cash grab, this is a blatant attempt to take advantage of the hype surrounding the latest film and prey on the nostalgia of the franchise's fans.
  19. Jul 20, 2016
    20
    With no heart, soul, or even an ounce of genuine humor, Ghostbusters is a shameful cash-in for the new film. The scariest thing about Ghostbusters is that we have to pay actual money for this.
  20. Jul 18, 2016
    20
    Whatever controversy there might be about the movie, there can be little argument that this spiritless cash-in is one of the worst video games of 2016.
  21. Jul 17, 2016
    20
    Roger Ebert once famously opined that video games are not art, and Ghostbusters is Exhibit A for his case. This is not art. It barely qualifies as a game. Sure, it's not broken like some games are. It's functional. It works. But there's no risk, no ambition, and not a trace of anything resembling the personality of the Ghostbusters movies or cartoons. This is a game that seems like it was made with the specific purpose of tricking parents who don't know any better into buying it for their kids.
  22. Jul 13, 2016
    20
    Ghostbusters is a deplorable, cynical bit of licensed drivel that wouldn't be worth the $50 asking price if the instruction manual were printed on a $50 bill.
User Score
1.0

Overwhelming dislike- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 244
  1. Jul 12, 2016
    0
    I don't have any hate for the new movie, and that's partly why I even ventured playing this game.

    But it is BAD. Really bad. Especially at
    I don't have any hate for the new movie, and that's partly why I even ventured playing this game.

    But it is BAD. Really bad. Especially at a $50 MSRP. This should have been a download-only title for under $20, and even that would make me want to wait for a sale before thinking to purchase it.

    The game has nothing to do with the new movie in a sense. It works the same way a cheaply produced cartoon series would in the same universe. Ghostbusters in this focuses on a franchise in the Ghostbusters name, where you have four characters - two men, two women. They mention that they love and idolize the new Ghostbusters in the film, and you pick up collectables said to be left behind by the new movie's villain Rowan, and the first boss battle you have is with Gertrude, the ghost shown in the trailers spewing slime on Kristin Wiig.

    But the gameplay SUCKS. It's a top down shooter. There's no level maps to gain a sense of where you are, which isn't a problem in the first level but in the SECOND LEVEL of the game in the graveyard, I kept feeling like I took a wrong turn because it went on forever. And all the villains are the same - flying flaming skulls, zombies, inanimate objects, and then your boss/miniboss ghosts that you have to trap. It's tedious, it's boring, it's not all that challenging, and the cutscenes and voice interactions are lame even for the previously mentioned Saturday Morning cartoon standard.

    If there's people who think that the new movie is a soulless cash grab, then they have yet to play this game, as there are no redeeming factors. Also, the menu music is just Ray Parker Jr.'s theme song on loop so while typing this and leaving my game on the main menu, I've listened to it about three times. That is a LOT of times to listen to Ray Parker Jr.'s "Ghostbusters."

    Honestly, it feels a lot like that one game that came out on XBox 360 and PS3 - "Sanctum of Slime?" But there's no online play, so I can't load up and have friends join me. On top of that, it feels cheaper than that. It looks terrible. This is a next-gen only game and I don't see why, there's nothing here that looks like PS3 or 360 couldn't handle it.

    Just avoid this game. Avoid it like the plague. Even if you think it'll be easy trophies - unless you have four people willing to play with you couch co-op, forget about a platinum. Also, for a game with no online or microtransactions, I find it weird that before I was able to play the game I had to agree to a MASSIVE EULA agreement. That is the most bizarre thing I've ever seen, never has a game without online interaction told me that they can suspend me from playing it whenever they want. That's ridiculous.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2016
    0
    Worse than Cory In The House, and that's saying something! Do not support this horrific cash grab by Sony. This year has exposed us to manyWorse than Cory In The House, and that's saying something! Do not support this horrific cash grab by Sony. This year has exposed us to many stinkers, from Umbrella Corps to Homefront: Revolution, but this game absolutely takes the cake as the worst game I have ever had the fortune of playing. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2016
    0
    Worst game of its generation. Overpriced. Far too short. Broken game. Last gens ghostbuters was actually somewhat of a gem so this is a shame.Worst game of its generation. Overpriced. Far too short. Broken game. Last gens ghostbuters was actually somewhat of a gem so this is a shame. Please dont buy this game. Full Review »