User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 7516 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2018
    2
    El juego esta increíblemente sobrevalorado, es un juego con unos gráficos increíbles y ya esta, como película no esta mal pero como videojuego deja mucho que desear, por ejemplo:
    En las plataformas no te puedes caer. ¿¿¿¿¿????
    De hecho no te puedes caer de ningún sitio ni precipicios ni puentes... Los puzzles son ridiculamente faciles. Las muertes viscerales se repiten una barbaridad.
    El juego esta increíblemente sobrevalorado, es un juego con unos gráficos increíbles y ya esta, como película no esta mal pero como videojuego deja mucho que desear, por ejemplo:
    En las plataformas no te puedes caer. ¿¿¿¿¿????
    De hecho no te puedes caer de ningún sitio ni precipicios ni puentes...
    Los puzzles son ridiculamente faciles.
    Las muertes viscerales se repiten una barbaridad.
    Las cinematecas demasiado largas
    Las frases absurdas (sobretodo las de atreus)
    La historia no es nada original trillada a mas no poder.
    Pocos bosses y repetidos.
    No es nada regulable...
    Expand
  2. May 19, 2018
    1
    Ni la sombra de que lo eran las entregas pasadas... demasiado repetitiva y monótona la jugabilidad... la historia es muy predecible en todo momento.
  3. May 19, 2018
    0
    How could you downgrade this from the first game! I guess it could be due to repetetive gameplay but seriously I regret buying this stupid game. You've lost a fan, zombie labs.
  4. May 20, 2018
    1
    The game is full of errors, does not offer online multiplayer mode, does not meet the 35 hours promised in campaign mode, packed with QTE's, more than 50% of the game is cutscene and is a disappointment for fans of the franchise ...
  5. Apr 30, 2018
    4
    Horrible combat, repetitive boring puzzle and slow pacing. I gave up midway through my journey with God of War PS4. Most overhyped game I have played in years.
  6. May 2, 2018
    2
    Zeer eentonig spel. Ik verveelde me de hele tijd en ik ben boos dat Sony me voor zo'n 70 euro, een bodemloze schaamteloos!
  7. Apr 30, 2018
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel so bad for giving this a bad review but here goes. This review is written with the highest difficulty "Give me God of War" in mind. The sad truth about the game is that on paper its fantastic but a series of small but annoying gameplay decisions prevent it from being enjoyable on all difficulty settings. Now before my review gets the "git gud" response I'll go through everything that I found to be wrong with the game from start to finish.

    "Give me God of War" difficulty has a few gameplay changes that from what I had heard from my other friends that the previous difficulties did not. Enemies become enraged, gaining a level, regaining HP, dealing more damage, expanding their movesets and becoming unstaggerable. On its own this wouldn't be so bad but the game quickly devolves into a cluster of camera issues and being pinned by all sides by enemies that straight up ignore your hits. Most fights devolve into running away while Atreus fires minimally damaging arrows or throwing your axe over and over till the opposition is dead.

    Boss fights in this God of War feel like a chore. They have, for the most part (Sigrun) not included, telegraphed attacks that can be dodged, parried, etc. But the problem lies in the design of these fights. Most of them feel extremely gimmicky and for a certain halfway fight that requires you to use the "Stun" mechanic becomes a tedium of grinding the fight down over a period of several minutes. Stun on this difficulty builds up at a snails pace and makes it extremely hard to deal with said fight or any fight for that matter. Same can be said about the normal encounters.

    The RPG elements of level grinding feel completely off. You can tell that the developers have never really delved into RPGs because of the lack of being able to go do side quests. The first side quest you receive at level 2 takes you to fight enemies that are level 5 and above. For me, if I am struggling with a particular segment in an RPG the normal course of action would be to go explore, earn gear and XP then return to face the challenge. But sadly, any attempt to stray off the beaten path for a majority of the game is met with getting stomped to a pulp by anything and everything because you'll find yourself for the most part met with mobs of enemies that vastly out level you. Which brings me to question why the game even lets you wander around in the first place.

    The power fantasy is gone. Never have I felt powerful from start to finish in God of War 2018. From the start, I noticed that Kratos, even though still a god, had as much impact as a wet noodle. All throughout the game, upgrade after upgrade, I still found myself lacking any kind of meaningful damage tool. Even after finishing the game and having the best equipment available to the player, a talisman that suits my needs, yellow enchants poring out of my pockets, both weapons capped, all the skills in the skill trees. I still found myself wailing endless on enemies, bosses and everything else unless they happened to be 2-3 levels lower than me.

    The optional boss fight is what really tipped me off and made me get the last cutscene and shelf the game without going for 100% completion like I normally do for these kinds of games. It gains the abilities of 8 previous optional boss fights but neglects to gain their weaknesses. The boss just does whatever it wants and has a massive health pool. As mentioned previously, Kratos, even with the best gear, hits like a wet noodle. So for me the boss fight would devolve into trying my hardest to damage it while it only took 4 hits to outright kill me. This wouldn't be so different from other boss fights except that the boss has a half health damage grab that used to be telegraphed by an audio cue but no longer is, an unblockable, undodgeable blind that usually results in the boss using a room wide area of effect skill that outright kills you unless interrupted but you won't be able to see to prevent it. This particular instance cemented all the problems I had with the game throughout the journey. Some may ask why I picked the highest difficulty to begin with, and personally I enjoy a challenge but instead I just felt cheated all the way through.

    Another small nitpick is the recycling of enemies. There is very little the game has to offer in terms of enemy variety, most are reused all the way to the end and some bosses even show up upwards of 8 times and the executions were lackluster for the GoW series,

    To top it all off, the reward that you get for all your hard work, drudging through the swampy mechanics and all the grindy encounters is 2 measly skins for your shield that have no impact on gameplay whatsoever and in-game XP as if you'd need it once you reach the end. No trophy nothing.

    In short, save yourself the pain of a miserable experience and enjoy the game on a lower difficulty.

    TL:DR Bad mechanics make for a bad experience on the highest difficul
    Expand
  8. Apr 25, 2018
    3
    I've never been a fan of the God of War series but I figured I'd give it a chance. The trailers and reviews had me extremely excited to play the game. When I first put in the game engrossed me with its beautiful graphics, tight game play, and intriguing story. But as the hours wore on the game began to annoy me. The incredibly repetitive fighta began to wear thin on my patience. You fightI've never been a fan of the God of War series but I figured I'd give it a chance. The trailers and reviews had me extremely excited to play the game. When I first put in the game engrossed me with its beautiful graphics, tight game play, and intriguing story. But as the hours wore on the game began to annoy me. The incredibly repetitive fighta began to wear thin on my patience. You fight the same five or six enemy types and then they pallette swap them with new annoying gimmicks. The environmental puzzles are PS2 era garbage. It's 2018 why am I carrying around crystals to place in tedious places. But worst of all the story, while good, starts to hamper the gameplay by needlessly padding the games length. Everytime you accomplish your goal suddenly you need some new mcguffin Expand
  9. Apr 29, 2018
    3
    This game is beautiful but the gameplay is just terrible compared to the original. Horrible camera, crappy progression system, boring combat (just throwing axes and hiding behind shields). A MASSIVE disappointment.
  10. Apr 28, 2018
    4
    turned the game into a movie, looks like a script, "Kratos and his son the movie"
  11. Apr 29, 2018
    0
    Like pulling teeth, the God of War soft reboot suffers from the same issues as it's contemporaries such as Uncharted, which should explain it all. Lots of filler animations, lots of automatic gameplay, reduction in complexity from previous games, an emphasis on story that falls apart around sixty percent through, and everything interesting is front loaded to get people to buy more copiesLike pulling teeth, the God of War soft reboot suffers from the same issues as it's contemporaries such as Uncharted, which should explain it all. Lots of filler animations, lots of automatic gameplay, reduction in complexity from previous games, an emphasis on story that falls apart around sixty percent through, and everything interesting is front loaded to get people to buy more copies from watching just the first hour. Ignore until this is five dollars in a Mom and Pop store if you absolutely have to play it for whatever reason, but I promise you, it would not have been worth your time. Expand
  12. Apr 25, 2018
    4
    This game is actually just correct or not so good. Repetitive fights. Almosts no boss fights (1 boss declined 10 time ???? nah....).
    All the reviews giving this game 10/10 are pbly business/sellouts partnership.
    So be careful of that.
  13. May 1, 2018
    2
    Don't believe the hype.The game is average at best, not even a God Of War game if you ask me.For 1) the character of Kratos doesn't even look like nor sound like Kratos anymore with the beard or without the beard he doesn't remind me of Kratos in the slightest.2)The combat is really shallow and underwhelming compared to the firs 3 god of war games (don't even know why they say this is theDon't believe the hype.The game is average at best, not even a God Of War game if you ask me.For 1) the character of Kratos doesn't even look like nor sound like Kratos anymore with the beard or without the beard he doesn't remind me of Kratos in the slightest.2)The combat is really shallow and underwhelming compared to the firs 3 god of war games (don't even know why they say this is the best one yet...Bullshh)Probably paid of most the reviews. 3)Rehashes of boss fights and it gets very repetitive.4)Just because its Longer doesn't make it better.I finished the first 3 God Of Wars multiple times but im never touching this one again.Why is that?Could it be maybe because im a god of war fan and this isn't even a God Of War game?Probably.They should have just changed the name of the game and to stop milking real God Of War fans with your title.Because this isn't a God Of War game at all. Expand
  14. Apr 24, 2018
    2
    No customization other than some weapon and armor options, too many duplicate mobs, after a while it's get boring. Atreus is really annoying and really don't know who want to babysit a kid like that.
    Overall it's a overrated game for the asking price. Game is linear, no reason to play after you finish the game. It would be ok if it was $30.
  15. Apr 30, 2018
    2
    The game is straight terrible. You can go on and on about the story, but the gameplay is just bad. This has everything to do with the camera being way too close. Turning a series that was once known for its fast past action into a Dark Souls clone without any of it's depth. This game also lacks the brutality of the games that came before, to be honest I don't see why this game is evenThe game is straight terrible. You can go on and on about the story, but the gameplay is just bad. This has everything to do with the camera being way too close. Turning a series that was once known for its fast past action into a Dark Souls clone without any of it's depth. This game also lacks the brutality of the games that came before, to be honest I don't see why this game is even ratted M. It might have some swearing, but not enough to warrant this kind of ratting. The fact that the brutality was removed shows just how little the people who made this game understand the series. I don't play God of War for it's story, I play it for its gameplay, and its brutality. The fact that they are missing from this title really turns me off to this game.

    The "level" mechanic is too dynamic, there are way too many states that feel like they were tacked on to make the game feel deeper than it really is. Since when, in a God of War game, did I have to worry about Kratos' power level in order to harm certain enemies. Why is this even a thing? What happened to this series.

    This game is nothing more than a Dark Souls clone, only it lacks everything that made the Dark Souls series popular in the first place. This over the shoulder camera that makes it impossible to truly judge your footing; causing you to crash into the walls constantly. In Dark Souls, the camera is pulled back so you can see everything in front of your character and just enough behind you that you don't ever feel like you've been hit unfairly. In this game, you are constantly being hit from behind, and it is most certainty the games fault. The arrows around Kratos don't work because the dodge mechanic works only half the time. In the original series the dodging was easy, a simple flick of the right stick and you would roll in that direction. Here you have to hammer on a button three or four times before the game allows you to roll, only to have it fail anyway. What I'm trying to say is, Dark Souls doesn't use cheap mechanics to kill you off, this game does.

    At the end of the day, this just isn't a God of War game, it's a Dark Souls clone that holds no candle to Dark Souls, and I am not particularity a fan of Dark Souls.
    Expand
  16. May 2, 2018
    0
    I have always been a huge fan of the God of War series. I was so excited to play this game, only to find out they completely bastardized the series by changing it into RPG gameplay. This game is HORRIBLE!!! They have ruined one of the greatest series ever made with this rubbish. I will never understand why anyone likes these RPG games, but I want to put in an action game and just playI have always been a huge fan of the God of War series. I was so excited to play this game, only to find out they completely bastardized the series by changing it into RPG gameplay. This game is HORRIBLE!!! They have ruined one of the greatest series ever made with this rubbish. I will never understand why anyone likes these RPG games, but I want to put in an action game and just play through it. This was a complete waste of $65. After 20 minutes I was done with this piece of garbage. I will be returning it and getting back as much of my money as I can recover. If you were a fan of the series before, don't waste a second on this piece of crap game!!! Expand
  17. May 6, 2018
    0
    TOO many boss using same monster, and puzzles are borning. Just find and find and find the runes, then throw your axe.
  18. May 1, 2018
    0
    A very disappointing shallow game with shallow story and very plain and boring graphics. Playing on PS4 Pro and graphics nowhere near games like Horizon Zero Dawn , or other top games. Extremely linear. No depth whatsoever. Have played about 5 hours and all I can say is this is just another in a long line of dud games released lately. So far it’s a video with a bit of gaming in between.A very disappointing shallow game with shallow story and very plain and boring graphics. Playing on PS4 Pro and graphics nowhere near games like Horizon Zero Dawn , or other top games. Extremely linear. No depth whatsoever. Have played about 5 hours and all I can say is this is just another in a long line of dud games released lately. So far it’s a video with a bit of gaming in between. Fighting is just hack and slash. More like the Last of Us with a bit of fighting. Puzzles mediocre not challenging at all. I paid full price for this and I can’t understand the hype behind it all. Tomb Raider kills this easily for strategy and fighting, as well as graphics & story.

    Same monsters so far with a boss now and again. It’s just so boring. God of War should be continuous intense gameplay not stupid dialogue and cutscenes.

    Don’t know if I can play anymore of this. Nothing about it resembles God of War. It is an extremely watered down GOW with filler galore of rubbish and nonsensical dialogue. This is supposed to be an action game yet it is more like the Last of Us which I liked but I bought GOW and I expected immersion tension and non stop action not filler.
    Expand
  19. May 24, 2018
    2
    I stopped playing the game shortly after the "AMAZING FIRST BOSS" because I was too bored with the story and gameplay to go on. The game is very much clinging to the coattails of TLoU, which had the same cheap gimmick (hard-boiled action-dad and his spunky kid) but much, much better writing. I only gave the game a chance in the first place because critics claimed it did somethingI stopped playing the game shortly after the "AMAZING FIRST BOSS" because I was too bored with the story and gameplay to go on. The game is very much clinging to the coattails of TLoU, which had the same cheap gimmick (hard-boiled action-dad and his spunky kid) but much, much better writing. I only gave the game a chance in the first place because critics claimed it did something interesting with Norse mythology. However, I found Kratos' son, Atreus, to be an annoying dispenser of Cliff's Notes and the first boss (who WOULD NOT SHUT UP) to be just another in a long line of GoW pro-wrestlers. Seriously, the first boss was terribly-written.

    The fluid, button-mashing combat that the GoW series is known for is gone in this entry. The camera is too close, attacks too slow, and errors too costly. Combat is slow, walking is slow, everything about the game is just too slow. The game world is beautifully designed but could not save me from being bored by the story and combat. This entry of the series claims to be a mature reinvention of a notoriously campy (despite its subject matter) series. GoW (2018) takes itself much too seriously to still have WWE-reject bosses. Games writers need to push themselves harder to make the actions of their characters (even when motivations are concealed) more realistic. It is good to be different and I am always hopeful to be engaged by a great story and interesting characters, but this game doesn't have any of that for me. I hated the gameplay, was not inspired by the story, and was unmoved by the characters.
    Expand
  20. Apr 30, 2018
    0
    More confirmation that pretty much all highly rated games these days are complete trash in terms of gameplay. Wow, look at those beautiful cut scenes! A perfect 10! LOL Doesn't anybody rate games in terms of actual gameplay not pretty cut scenes?

    The only game reviews I trust these days are rated between 7 and 8.5 as anything higher is either SJW trash, a walking simulator, or
    More confirmation that pretty much all highly rated games these days are complete trash in terms of gameplay. Wow, look at those beautiful cut scenes! A perfect 10! LOL Doesn't anybody rate games in terms of actual gameplay not pretty cut scenes?

    The only game reviews I trust these days are rated between 7 and 8.5 as anything higher is either SJW trash, a walking simulator, or pretty cut scenes. Never good gameplay. Case in point: God of Cut Scenes err I mean God of War
    Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2018
    0
    Kratos has been neutered!!! He's no longer a badass who bangs hot girls and rips people apart. Plus he has this douchebag kid following him everywhere now. The combat feels like a cheap imitation of Dark Souls but way easier. The lame boomerang axe gets boring quickly, and even the Blades of Chaos aren't as fun anymore. I spend more time watching cutscenes and solving puzzles than actuallyKratos has been neutered!!! He's no longer a badass who bangs hot girls and rips people apart. Plus he has this douchebag kid following him everywhere now. The combat feels like a cheap imitation of Dark Souls but way easier. The lame boomerang axe gets boring quickly, and even the Blades of Chaos aren't as fun anymore. I spend more time watching cutscenes and solving puzzles than actually fighting!!! Most bosses are pushovers too, a complete joke compared to old GoW games. This is the most overrated & overhyped game I have ever seen. Just because fans of the original games are disappointed with this new version of God of War doesn't mean we're "X-Box fanboys", and calling people who disagree with you "salty" is one of the dumbest new trends of this century. I'm amazed by the herd mentality of the mindless masses that eat up whatever product the media tells them to. Expand
  22. Apr 29, 2018
    0
    They ruined the game with the updates.
    Terrible illumination
    Frame-rate at 15 constantly.
    Pixelated everywhere.
    Sometimes looks like a PS2 game.
  23. Apr 23, 2018
    2
    what happened to Kratos' fiery temper? why is he acting like a some sort of silent monk now...what happened to his arrogance and confidence. The story was horrible with no probability. almost felt like I was playing lesser dark soul 3
  24. Apr 26, 2018
    0
    I usually don't review games but today I am really upset. After beating the game on normal difficulty I feel a bit ripped off, I bought this game for 70 Euro in the PS-Store and only got roughly 15 hours of gameplay out of it. Don't trust people that tell you this game is long, if you don't do every sidequest you'll be finished within 15 hours easily. After that there is not really muchI usually don't review games but today I am really upset. After beating the game on normal difficulty I feel a bit ripped off, I bought this game for 70 Euro in the PS-Store and only got roughly 15 hours of gameplay out of it. Don't trust people that tell you this game is long, if you don't do every sidequest you'll be finished within 15 hours easily. After that there is not really much to make you play it again, sure you could always collect useless stuff for that shiny platinum trophy but that's not how I play my games. The value proposition with God of War is really bad, I can only recommend people to wait for a price drop that justifies the little play time you will get with this game. Expand
  25. Apr 22, 2018
    4
    Got this game yesterday after reading all the great reviews. Never liked the previous games, I hate quick time events. I played for about two hours. I found it very boring. Too automated, when I was in control of the character, it was very clunky. The combat was very bland and boring. The boss fights where not that exciting, the areas are too small. Some serious frame rate issues on theGot this game yesterday after reading all the great reviews. Never liked the previous games, I hate quick time events. I played for about two hours. I found it very boring. Too automated, when I was in control of the character, it was very clunky. The combat was very bland and boring. The boss fights where not that exciting, the areas are too small. Some serious frame rate issues on the standard PS4, It can't even hold 30fps and in some parts dips down to a stand still. The visuals are good, but nothing that great. I wouldn't expect any less as each set piece/area is very small. I was way more impressed with the visuals in uncharted 4 and horizon zero dawn. There where some cool moments but so far just not enough to keep me playing. I will push myself to play more but I have a feeling its going to be very rinse and repeat from here on. I want to play a game and be in control of the character all the time, not spend 50% of it watching cut scenes and pressing a button when promoted. I will most likely get a refund for this one. Expand
  26. Apr 26, 2018
    0
    This game has truly some of the worst storytelling in the history of gaming, it is a shame for all who expected a proper god of war
  27. Apr 30, 2018
    4
    Core Gameplay has been chanced to an interactive baby movie. Too much marketing and media attention went to this mediocre game. I don't understand that people call this the best game ever, the gameplay isn't that great.
  28. Apr 27, 2018
    4
    The downgrade is epic in this one and the game is kinda short for all the noise is has generated around. For a regular game is OK, but for a Sony exclusive and for a God Of War is a bit dissapointing.
  29. Apr 22, 2018
    2
    It tries to be everything that everything and is, therefore, itself, nothing. The industry is drowning in better alternatives.
  30. May 11, 2018
    4
    This an average game at best you fight the same boss like 15 times 2 different ones repeated the valks&trolls. Graphics look good but the gameplay is very repetitive cant skip past foes even if your back tracking to an old area which you do alot of, theres only like 4 real boss fights the rpg mechanics are basically useless cause no matter how much you upgrade your gear it wont get betterThis an average game at best you fight the same boss like 15 times 2 different ones repeated the valks&trolls. Graphics look good but the gameplay is very repetitive cant skip past foes even if your back tracking to an old area which you do alot of, theres only like 4 real boss fights the rpg mechanics are basically useless cause no matter how much you upgrade your gear it wont get better just grab high rarety with the highest number theres no skill its an easy game and simply a cash grab tried to rip off the last of us by trying to make you care about the boy as he is referred to by kratos over 9000 times, the story is honestly pretty lacking as well i didn't really care for it basically one long escort mission with good graphics. So yea 4 out of 10 average game not terrible but definitely does not deserve any prasie like it has been receiving but theres an honest review from a gamer who has been around since the n64/ps2 days Expand
  31. Apr 25, 2018
    1
    Not God of War anymore. I just see a fusion of The Last of Us and Dark Souls with less weapons. Why did they have to put Kratos in here? As a new Ip it would have been a decent game for me, but calling this GOD OF WAR? You can't even jump.
  32. Apr 23, 2018
    0
    god of war has lost a lot of things. let me list them.
    first, the character. previous series were driven by it's character of Kratos. GoW killed it's character. Kratos somehow became father figure.
    secondly, it doesn't have catchy soundtrack like notorious 'rage of sparta'. this game is colorless tasteless. thirdly whenever I'm getting into combat, conversation starts out of nowhere and
    god of war has lost a lot of things. let me list them.
    first, the character. previous series were driven by it's character of Kratos. GoW killed it's character. Kratos somehow became father figure.
    secondly, it doesn't have catchy soundtrack like notorious 'rage of sparta'. this game is colorless tasteless.
    thirdly whenever I'm getting into combat, conversation starts out of nowhere and it inturrupts the concentration. and it was very annoying.
    next up, degraded action elements. in last series kratos was crazy flies every where punishes every thing, like a real warrior. he is now just a normal human. that's what I don't really like
    moving on, there is no more emotional driver. previous season, enemies taunted the principal character, and actually made me really want to punish them. and it never failed to gift me with sweet revenge. there is no more such thing in this game.
    plus, the game has failed to balance the difficulty level.
    I mean I get that GoW franchise had a lot of hype. but tediously simillar monsters make me really want to quit.
    now it's just common aaa action game to be honest
    Expand
  33. Apr 21, 2018
    2
    I spent almost twice as long watching this play than i did playing the game. It tried really hard to make me care about the child but at the end of the day it wasn't that long nor engaging with the cut-scene breaks.
  34. Apr 26, 2018
    0
    After playing this game for 5 hours I lost interest in it, it's just not what god of war used to be, I can't understand all the hype about it, Sony you betrayed your biggest fan!
  35. Apr 22, 2018
    0
    The game has deviated from some important elements of a god of war game as well as having censorship compared to other titles. One of the elements being the jump mechanic they have now removed and another being the camera panning to far distances giving a idea the scale of the objects. The (CENSORSHIP) The game has no nudity which in Greek mythology theirs a lot of it like athletes wouldThe game has deviated from some important elements of a god of war game as well as having censorship compared to other titles. One of the elements being the jump mechanic they have now removed and another being the camera panning to far distances giving a idea the scale of the objects. The (CENSORSHIP) The game has no nudity which in Greek mythology theirs a lot of it like athletes would run nude because clothes are restraints or how every Greek statue has nudity. Expand
  36. Apr 24, 2018
    4
    Esse God Of War está péssimo em relação aos anteriores, perdeu sua essência de hack & slash, Moleque chato falando toda hora, estória +/-. Combate fraco, puzzles fracos, curto, e quando se acaba não tem mais nada para se fazer. Jogos incompletos deveriam ter valores inferiores também. Teve grande downgrade gráfico em relação ao que foi apresentado na E3. Só não é pior que o Ascension....Esse God Of War está péssimo em relação aos anteriores, perdeu sua essência de hack & slash, Moleque chato falando toda hora, estória +/-. Combate fraco, puzzles fracos, curto, e quando se acaba não tem mais nada para se fazer. Jogos incompletos deveriam ter valores inferiores também. Teve grande downgrade gráfico em relação ao que foi apresentado na E3. Só não é pior que o Ascension.... mas. Mesmo sendo divertido, não manteve seu engajamento. Declínio da franquia, infelizmente! Minha opinião de fã da IP é essa: decepicionado Expand
  37. Apr 23, 2018
    0
    A Dark Solul like ridiculous, trivial and with a gameplay for children. Art and poetry are somewhere else.
  38. Apr 26, 2018
    0
    The game has moved away from Hack'n'Slay for unknown reasons and is now just another Diablo (3) clone.
  39. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    solid game nice combat, story and graphics, there are frame drops on regular ps4, and it does not feel or is as good as a god of war game replace Kratos and it would be a generic action game. better than Ascension.
  40. Apr 21, 2018
    3
    Сейчас бы в 2018 году выпускать игры с геймплеем, где нужно искать артефакты, осматривая каждый угол локаций. С неудобной камерой осматривать каждый угол, всматриваясь в текстуры и искать, как попасть в закрытую область с сундуком. А если ты что-то пропустил и перешел в следующую локацию, то уже не имеешь возможности вернуться назад, хоть снова начинай. И после всего этого драться сСейчас бы в 2018 году выпускать игры с геймплеем, где нужно искать артефакты, осматривая каждый угол локаций. С неудобной камерой осматривать каждый угол, всматриваясь в текстуры и искать, как попасть в закрытую область с сундуком. А если ты что-то пропустил и перешел в следующую локацию, то уже не имеешь возможности вернуться назад, хоть снова начинай. И после всего этого драться с неудобным управлением, бросая кривой топор во врагов и возвращать его. Бои просто ужасные - кое-как прицелился, бросил топор, вернул топор, снова кое-как прицеливаться. Вся игра сводится к собирательству и однотипным боям с одними и теми же врагами. Радует в игре только картинка и отдельно поставленные сцены. Но в целом игра ужасна. Такое даже игрой не назовешь. Expand
  41. Apr 21, 2018
    4
    Its a gorgeous game no question however its repetitive and full of backtrack but the biggest issue is there is just not enough. Half the game time is puzzles or running back to places when you are able. Not my kind of game for sure. I would rather have more combat than 20 hours of puzzling or trying to figure out silly puzzles and backtracking all over the world.. They could have doneIts a gorgeous game no question however its repetitive and full of backtrack but the biggest issue is there is just not enough. Half the game time is puzzles or running back to places when you are able. Not my kind of game for sure. I would rather have more combat than 20 hours of puzzling or trying to figure out silly puzzles and backtracking all over the world.. They could have done so much more but they chose to make it pretty which I cant knock but pretty over substance never wins. Voice acting is fantastic. Combat is mediocre at best Expand
  42. May 4, 2018
    3
    I really wanted to like this game...but I don't. I don't like the lack of an open world. I have tried playing this game about 20 times and can't play for more than an hour without getting bored. I know that an open world doesn't equal a good game, but for me in 2018, the lack of an open world equals a not good game. I think it looks really nice but I really HATE being stuck on a path.I really wanted to like this game...but I don't. I don't like the lack of an open world. I have tried playing this game about 20 times and can't play for more than an hour without getting bored. I know that an open world doesn't equal a good game, but for me in 2018, the lack of an open world equals a not good game. I think it looks really nice but I really HATE being stuck on a path. I understand that a lot of people like this game, and more power to them, but for me you need an open map nowadays or I don't want to give you $60. Expand
  43. Apr 23, 2018
    0
    this is not what i was expecting from you Santa Monica. That was trully a disappointment. I've been waiting a long for this game but the games is not something interesting. I wanted to play GOD OF WAR not last of us or Tomb Raider.

    Story is not interesting, boy is not a good companion in the war, subtitles are very small and very difficult to read. And game is not fun to play. Games
    this is not what i was expecting from you Santa Monica. That was trully a disappointment. I've been waiting a long for this game but the games is not something interesting. I wanted to play GOD OF WAR not last of us or Tomb Raider.

    Story is not interesting, boy is not a good companion in the war, subtitles are very small and very difficult to read. And game is not fun to play. Games doesnot enguage a gamer. Not fun to play.
    Expand
  44. May 11, 2018
    1
    When compared to previous GOW games it is extremely boring, Main story is very short and mundane, Kratos is far from being a god, enemies are all the same only in different colors, and there are absolutely NO boss fights whatsoever. What happened to old good giant bosses? Fighting system is also a disaster, All in all, everything that made God of War different from other games have beenWhen compared to previous GOW games it is extremely boring, Main story is very short and mundane, Kratos is far from being a god, enemies are all the same only in different colors, and there are absolutely NO boss fights whatsoever. What happened to old good giant bosses? Fighting system is also a disaster, All in all, everything that made God of War different from other games have been ripped off and left us with only another mainstream game which has nothing new to offer. I am totally disappointed with what GOW has become. GOW is dead for me. Expand
  45. May 12, 2018
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mediocre game, because they gave up its originality and everything that made GOW and Kratos what they are. Important note: If you're still under the effect of the hype that was created on purpose as a marketing strategy to sell this game, you're not going to like this review. GOW games are my all time favorites, so I had high expectations for this one since it had large shoes to fill. Unfortunately, I ended up being disappointed, and for many reasons if you're patient enough to read on. I'm not saying the game is entirely bad, but for me there were many more cons than pros. I'm going to explain as best as I can:

    Pros:
    1. Good graphics that are highly detailed (even though there's a lack of impressive concepts compared to previous titles).
    2. I love how sassy Atreus and Mimir are.

    Cons:
    1. This game does NOT feel like GOW AT ALL. It seems like they've been trying so hard to copy The Last of US and other games that they ended up sacrificing the game's originality (and I assume for money and reviews). Nothing is unique about this GOW, and it offered absolutely NOTHING other games didn't already offer, so it ended up looking like a hybrid of The Last of Us, Dark Souls, The Witcher 3, and Lord of the Rings!! The game had lost its unique identity we all know and love because it has changed too much.
    2. Predictable, weak plot. I don't know why they gave up how angry Kratos was, wasn't his extreme rage what made him unique? Now that he's calm, what's so special about him? It feels like they tried to make a meaningful interaction between Kratos and his son, but anyone could tell from the beginning that it was gonna be a typical father and son story: they would have issues, but they would kiss and make up at the end. That was pretty much the message delivered. True, there are some interesting plot twists, like when Blades of Chaos came into the picture, or when Zeus and Athena appeared, but it seems they purposefully played on nostalgia to sell a story which would have been bleak otherwise. If you take a step back and look at the story as a whole, you'll notice that nothing of major importance happened. 3. The new "menu" system is unnecessarily overcomplicated. I think it was an attempt on their part to look smart by not making GOW look simple. IMO, simplicity isn't a bad thing. It can make things more enjoyable.
    4. Kratos feels very weak. Unlike previous titles, you will never feel powerful playing this one. He doesn't feel like a god at all. He feels like just an old man that anyone can kick his butt (seriously, ANYONE, including regular monsters!!) provided that they are 2 levels higher!! There are COUNTLESS enemies that can kill Kratos in ONE HIT, and if you've played the game you know I'm not exaggerating. He struggles with regular enemies almost as much as he struggles with bosses. This game forced me to play much more defensively simply because you'll lose over and over if you play aggressively like previous titles. I even shamefully ran away from many encounters!! Kratos is a lot less brutal than he used to be, evidenced by the way he killed Baldur (he snapped his neck which shows a much nicer Kratos than I'm used to). You'll never see a moment where you say "Damn!! Only Kratos can do that!!". Most of the fights will leave you with a sense of frustration rather than a sense of triumph and feeling like a powerful badass.
    5. The free camera makes you feel lost. I loved the guided camera in the past and how it makes everything look cinematic. Plus, the free camera is a huge pain during fights, especially that Kratos can't block from all directions like he used to. You'll find yourself losing focus on the actual fight and focusing instead on turning the camera so you can face your enemies, which takes away a lot from how enjoyable battles were in the past. Speaking of which, there's an extreme lack of epic music!! GOW was also known for its gripping music that gets you hooked, but this one feels like it's almost deafeningly silent from start to finish!!
    6. Lack of variety of monsters and bosses. They literally just change the colors and give them new names because their color is different!!
    7. Lack of challenging puzzles. There's basically one pattern of puzzles, once you get the hang of it, the remaining puzzles become very repetitive.
    All in all, this game was "ok" but not worth my high expectations and I definitely don't imagine myself having fun replaying it. Cory Barlog directed GOW II, which is my personal favorite in the series. I still prefer GOW II, so it can only mean that this one was disappointing to me. He had a huge opportunity to turn the tide without messing up the game so much, but he failed to do so because he let his personal life affect his work. It's hard for me to say that. I'm not just some casual player. I take this game very seriously and I never imagined myself saying all that about a game that belongs to the series that I love so much. Please stop being in denial.
    Expand
  46. Apr 29, 2018
    0
    아주그냥 게임이 아니라 영화를 만드려고 노력을 했구나. 그런데도 퀄리티는 영화보다 훨씬 떨어짐. 지루한 전투, 쉽게질리는 부메랑, 무기업글이 뭔소용? 그냥 darksoul3같다는 느낌이든다. 스토리를 진지빨고 과묵하게 하려다보니 어처구니 없게 늘어진다. 또다른 witcher3가 아닐지?

    아니 그리고 크레토스가 노잼 선비처럼 된것도 아쉬운데 적이나 npc 는 진짜 캐릭터가 특색이 없어졌다. 크레토스는 이건 전쟁의 신이 아니라 전쟁의 소녀가 되어버린느낌... god of war가 아니라 girl of war라 부르고싶다. 그리고 제발 잡보스 다른것좀 가져다 써라. 장난하냐? boring bosses. gow1, gow2 등 전작들 보스같은 다양함은 어데로 갔는교? 그래픽은 그래
    아주그냥 게임이 아니라 영화를 만드려고 노력을 했구나. 그런데도 퀄리티는 영화보다 훨씬 떨어짐. 지루한 전투, 쉽게질리는 부메랑, 무기업글이 뭔소용? 그냥 darksoul3같다는 느낌이든다. 스토리를 진지빨고 과묵하게 하려다보니 어처구니 없게 늘어진다. 또다른 witcher3가 아닐지?

    아니 그리고 크레토스가 노잼 선비처럼 된것도 아쉬운데 적이나 npc 는 진짜 캐릭터가 특색이 없어졌다. 크레토스는 이건 전쟁의 신이 아니라 전쟁의 소녀가 되어버린느낌... god of war가 아니라 girl of war라 부르고싶다.

    그리고 제발 잡보스 다른것좀 가져다 써라. 장난하냐? boring bosses. gow1, gow2 등 전작들 보스같은 다양함은 어데로 갔는교?

    그래픽은 그래 좋더라. 근데 왜 요즘겜은 전부 라스트오브어스처럼 만드려고 함? 왜 게임특색을 버리려고 하지? 전작들의 장점을 포기할만한 가치가 있는가? last of us 신작이라고하자 그냥

    전형적인 전작이름빨게임
    Expand
  47. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    16 hours to end, and 8 hours of cutscenes, this is a movie. It s very repetitive, the same enemies keep coming over and over again from the first stage to the last one. This make the game very repetitive. The Troll appeared so much time with every color possible. The Water Effects is terrible, there is a lot of blur in the distante graphics, there is a lot of fog to hide the lack of power16 hours to end, and 8 hours of cutscenes, this is a movie. It s very repetitive, the same enemies keep coming over and over again from the first stage to the last one. This make the game very repetitive. The Troll appeared so much time with every color possible. The Water Effects is terrible, there is a lot of blur in the distante graphics, there is a lot of fog to hide the lack of power to process everything. The game is not 4k, only 1080, 30 fps with a lot of downs below 22 fps. There is no co-op, no multiplayer, just finish and forget that this game. This is not a God of War. Expand
  48. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Самая обыкновенная бродилка всех подряд убвалка ни о чеё только зря потратил время не понимаю как можно раздуть слона из этой некчёмной мухи
  49. Apr 20, 2018
    1
    this is not a game as I expected. As a fan of GOD OF WAR I wanted to continue the great universe and this is a copy of THE LAST OF US and it is not successful. After 9 hours I went through the game and ending which is a disappointment. SONY why ????
  50. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    this is the last of kratos... i rly hate this change in the game and gameplay.
  51. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Mudaram completamente a dinâmica do jogo. Virou um jogo comum e sem muita graça.
  52. Apr 21, 2018
    0
    this game was such a disappointment . GOW 2018 doesnt made anything new its like santa monica just used every gameplay expample of every popular game copy/paste a kratos 3D model in the game.
    copy/paste on the story im getting bored about all this "companion" mecahanics every time they try to tell me a "deep" story.
    boring mechanics, every second i feel like ive already played this
    this game was such a disappointment . GOW 2018 doesnt made anything new its like santa monica just used every gameplay expample of every popular game copy/paste a kratos 3D model in the game.
    copy/paste on the story im getting bored about all this "companion" mecahanics every time they try to tell me a "deep" story.

    boring mechanics, every second i feel like ive already played this theres nothing new...

    when i buy a PS4 -Pro i was expecting 60FPS on every game this game cant reach even 50 bad optimisation.
    Expand
  53. Apr 21, 2018
    0
    This isn't even a game, this is a movie. The story is bad and has so many oscar bait moments, to give players the impression that the story is good. The combat is so boring and repetitive. There is lack of enemy variety. The graphics are amazing but the only reason it's amazing is because there is so much fog. The fog hides the bad pop-ins, performance issues and terrible draw distance.This isn't even a game, this is a movie. The story is bad and has so many oscar bait moments, to give players the impression that the story is good. The combat is so boring and repetitive. There is lack of enemy variety. The graphics are amazing but the only reason it's amazing is because there is so much fog. The fog hides the bad pop-ins, performance issues and terrible draw distance. They also lied that the story is 35 hours. I beat the story in just 15 hours.

    There is no multiplayer at all. So once you beat the story, this game will go back to the shelf and collect dust. $60 for a game with no replayability is a cashgrab. I recommend you wait for this game to drop to $10 before picking it up.
    Expand
  54. May 16, 2018
    0
    God of War is known for brutal over the top fluid combat, with a dark narrative. This has none of that. It's a sentimental journey to bury your dead wife and reconnect with your son with clunky combat, in an extremely linear experience with very repetitive encounters and a terrible camera. Your main weapon is an axe, it feels very heavy and cumbersome like an axe should, but not thatGod of War is known for brutal over the top fluid combat, with a dark narrative. This has none of that. It's a sentimental journey to bury your dead wife and reconnect with your son with clunky combat, in an extremely linear experience with very repetitive encounters and a terrible camera. Your main weapon is an axe, it feels very heavy and cumbersome like an axe should, but not that fun when you have to manually recall it every time you throw. All the money was spent on the pretty graphics, and none on gameplay. The level design is awful, it's pretty much a track-based game with the obligatory hidden treasure chests. The map bites off open-world games, but this is far from open world - you pretty much keep waking straight until the next cut-scene. The cut scenes are short and more action-packed than the actual game - sliding down the side of a mountain is much more fun when you can control your character. I'm very disappointed in both the game, and the obviously purchased before the game's release, fake reviews. This will be $20 by the holidays, if you must try this turd then at least wait until it's on clearance. Expand
  55. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Not God of War. Very poorly executed combat that reminds me of Hellblade: not a good reminder.
    Camera angles are a nightmare and enemies feel generic and boring, graphics are nice but I value gameplay over eye candy
  56. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Não gostei. O jogo repete a fórmula do The Last of Us, só que com skins do Kratos. Não há nada de inovador. Por isso, é comparado a outros jogos, como se fosse cópia de Dark Souls ou Ryse. A verdade nua e crua é que God of War abandonou o que era o diferencial da franquia, de ser ação-aventura hack and slash, para se tornar um Tomb Raider. A franquia mudou para atingir outro público, masNão gostei. O jogo repete a fórmula do The Last of Us, só que com skins do Kratos. Não há nada de inovador. Por isso, é comparado a outros jogos, como se fosse cópia de Dark Souls ou Ryse. A verdade nua e crua é que God of War abandonou o que era o diferencial da franquia, de ser ação-aventura hack and slash, para se tornar um Tomb Raider. A franquia mudou para atingir outro público, mas acabou traindo seus antigos fãs. Nota ZERO. Expand
  57. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    The story is less interesting, enemies are repetitive and also they killed God of War franchise. overall this game its so lackluster, and wait for the paid content lol
  58. Apr 20, 2018
    4
    Pay for a video game, get a movie, a boring and expensive movie. Everything a "specialized" media likes.
  59. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    This os not God of War!!! Is The new "Rise of The Tomb Raider" or "The Last of Us Part II", this is not GOTY!!!
  60. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Não comprem. GOW acabou em 2010. A Sony ressuscitou Kratos para arrancar seu dinheiro. Esse jogo é uma cópia descarada de Ryse Son of Rome, melhor hack n´slash da geração e gráficos de 2013 que ainda não foram superados até hoje. Esse novo God of War é chato, curto, repetitivo, lento, linear, enjoativo. Kratos virou um pai bundão, não pega as vadias mais, não pula, não nada, não escala,Não comprem. GOW acabou em 2010. A Sony ressuscitou Kratos para arrancar seu dinheiro. Esse jogo é uma cópia descarada de Ryse Son of Rome, melhor hack n´slash da geração e gráficos de 2013 que ainda não foram superados até hoje. Esse novo God of War é chato, curto, repetitivo, lento, linear, enjoativo. Kratos virou um pai bundão, não pega as vadias mais, não pula, não nada, não escala, não faz combo. Virou filminho de 6 horas, só vale comprar por R$ 30 reais, o preço atual do seu antecessor. Jogo hypado ao extremo, que se assiste em um final de semana. Segunda já vai estar na OLX baratin. Expand
  61. Apr 22, 2018
    0
    God of War?... Lo que tiene de God of War es el nombre y Kratos. La música está bien, los gráficos son aceptables, pero la cámara es bastante mala, los combates son muy repetitivos y te acaban aburriendo, poca variedad y poca cantidad de enemigos y la historia es bastante flojita.
    Sin duda se esperaba muchísimas más, no está a la altura de la saga y ni mejora ni innova en nada. No es un
    God of War?... Lo que tiene de God of War es el nombre y Kratos. La música está bien, los gráficos son aceptables, pero la cámara es bastante mala, los combates son muy repetitivos y te acaban aburriendo, poca variedad y poca cantidad de enemigos y la historia es bastante flojita.
    Sin duda se esperaba muchísimas más, no está a la altura de la saga y ni mejora ni innova en nada. No es un título que te llame la atención en algo específico ni destaca en nada en particular, no te invita a seguir jugando ni a rejugarlo una vez terminado.
    No vale la pena gastar dinero en este juego. Es el típico videojuego que una vez lo terminas quedará relegado en una estantería cogiendo polvo para el resto de tu vida.
    Mejor esperar a que esté por 10 o 20 euros si queréis jugarlo, así no tendrás la sensación de que has tirado tanto dinero. No es un juego que valga la pena comprar de salida por 60€-70€ según en que tiendas.
    Expand
  62. Apr 20, 2018
    4
    Lo único malo es que parece otro juego, le hacen falta más enemigos y esa brutalidad que distinguía a kratos.
  63. Apr 20, 2018
    3
    God of War become Last of Us. Same companion, same mechanics, same plot about great journey. Good game as something different, but not God of War.
  64. Apr 24, 2018
    0
    Rechaza la ideología de la saga God of war Mandarin a la mierda la historia y tradición del gran Kratos ahora lo convirtieron en un auténtico actor de cine buena producción cinematográfica mal videojuego en general.
  65. Jun 5, 2018
    4
    This game have less weapons, bunch of QTE(Quick Time Event) party, enemies are repetitive, the action is poor, people that give a 10 they are so full of lies and they killed the franchise. I want my old God of War back.
  66. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    The new over the shoulder camera angle eliminates the most distinctive element of the God of War franchise - the epic scale of grand environments and titanic enemies. Now it's just like every other third person action game, with repetitive scenery and puny enemies, even the dragons are shrimps. Despite this gross reduction in enemy size the close-in camera often takes in no more thanThe new over the shoulder camera angle eliminates the most distinctive element of the God of War franchise - the epic scale of grand environments and titanic enemies. Now it's just like every other third person action game, with repetitive scenery and puny enemies, even the dragons are shrimps. Despite this gross reduction in enemy size the close-in camera often takes in no more than nondescript patches of flesh. And whenever you are launching melee attacks on enemies slightly larger than yourself, such as the frequent trolls, your screen is likely to be centered on their nether regions. A complete betrayal of the franchise and a terrible game, zero stars. Expand
  67. Apr 20, 2018
    0
    Nothing new for a sony exclusive, and yet not a God of War game. pretty repetitive combat downgrade of what it was before. Story is simple and not that amusing. And of course a cliff hanger to continue the factory work of producing repetitive sony games. Disappointing
  68. May 19, 2018
    1
    Prueba de que Metacritic no sirve. Los Soniers usan esta herramienta que no sirve
  69. May 24, 2018
    0
    The overall story is amazing, but the Muspelheim and Niflheim content is boring, broken and needlessly excessive. Basically everything else but those two realms are really good, that's why it's even more sad that to get the best armor upgraded you have to grind these absolutely lackluster trials.
  70. Jun 12, 2018
    0
    A game that is very superrated. Don't deserve such a high score because it is not god of war. It is The last of us with kratos in the north. Where are the big battles that made god of war in the past? The bosses looks like the same every time, kratos don't look like the spartan we know, his relation with his son is very forced and it is the worst god of war that i ever played in my life.
  71. May 26, 2018
    3
    I was really hyped for this game and was left really disappointed. I spend £46 and i have to say the only thing good was the graphics. I found the game really boring and the same thing all the time. Pick up blue stones to reveal floating paths and throw an axe at bells. So many ridiculous things like enemies that come out of the floor and his axe that acts like a boomerang. Its like theyI was really hyped for this game and was left really disappointed. I spend £46 and i have to say the only thing good was the graphics. I found the game really boring and the same thing all the time. Pick up blue stones to reveal floating paths and throw an axe at bells. So many ridiculous things like enemies that come out of the floor and his axe that acts like a boomerang. Its like they made it up as they go along. Once you complete it then what ? No multiplayer, no edit mode no noting. Just a small story and that's it. I tried so hard to enjoy it but after 4 days i had to sell it. I bought Far Cry 5 instead which offers me much more for my money. God of war would be ok for £10 not £46. Expand
  72. May 26, 2018
    4
    Everyone who is a fan. And he went through all the previous parts of GOW, he boldly say that this is not God of War !!! Yes, the graphics sound cool. But nothing else. The mechanics of the game are fatal !!! I am a fan of GOW and not Darksouls or other crap of this type.
  73. Aug 20, 2018
    4
    Yes, the graphics are stunning and the storyline was promising. But the gameplay is not at all what I expected it to be. Very limited moveset and very little variety in the enemies you encounter. All around I was very disappointed with the result of the game.
  74. Jul 30, 2018
    4
    Look guys The Last of Us 2 is out and it's a Dark Souls clone!
    I mean, what happened to Kratos temper? Why is he acting like a some sort of silent monk now...what happened to his arrogance and confidence? Isn't that what made him popular to begin with?The combat is really shallow and underwhelming compared to the firs 3 God of War games(I would say even those two spin off games for PSP
    Look guys The Last of Us 2 is out and it's a Dark Souls clone!
    I mean, what happened to Kratos temper? Why is he acting like a some sort of silent monk now...what happened to his arrogance and confidence? Isn't that what made him popular to begin with?The combat is really shallow and underwhelming compared to the firs 3 God of War games(I would say even those two spin off games for PSP and God of War: Ascension had better).Rehashes of boss fights and it gets very repetitive..I finished all other God Of Wars multiple times but im never touching this one again.
    The game has moved away from Hack n Slash for unknown reasons and now is just another Dark Souls wannabe.
    Expand
  75. Aug 9, 2018
    4
    I believe Sony or Santa Monica is screwing the review system by paying people to review this better than it really is. Very overrated. Just look at most 10/10 reviews here, this is the only game the profiles rated and they can't even properly explain why, just saying generic one paragraph blabber.
    Back when I played the other entries in the God of War franchise, I was amazed from the
    I believe Sony or Santa Monica is screwing the review system by paying people to review this better than it really is. Very overrated. Just look at most 10/10 reviews here, this is the only game the profiles rated and they can't even properly explain why, just saying generic one paragraph blabber.
    Back when I played the other entries in the God of War franchise, I was amazed from the beginning to the end in every aspect of the games. A fresh new gameplay would be welcome, if properly executed. But this new "God of War" game is very very disappointing. the gameplay feels really clunky, you cant attack sideways or backwards, you can't easily move to parry enemies on your back, kratos only hits foward, this all adds up to a horrible gameplay when there are multiple enemies because of how the camera works in this game, so you have to rely on hud indicators. Also fighting is just not fun anymore, it feels like a boring repetitive chore. the bosses and enemies combat are very uninspired comparing to other exclusives like Bloodborne and Horizon: Zero Dawn. Even the attack animations and sounds feel repetitive. for some reason this old kratos has to bawl every time he rolls. Storywise I got really let down by this new Kratos. Even if he changed, It's pretty hard to imagine him as the same kratos from the other games. This doesn't get close deliver on it's promise to revitalize the franchise. Gameplay is so bad that it pretty much solely undermines the experience, this would be a better experience if this was a movie.
    Expand
  76. Jul 9, 2018
    3
    Most overrated game ever. Gave up half way through once I realised it wasn't going to live up to all of the hyperbole or even be fun. Metal Gear Survive is way better!!
  77. Sep 17, 2018
    0
    This is not God of war, it has 8 hours only of gameplay and 8 hours of movies, the downgrade in graphics are terrible, the background graphics are bery blurred or with a lot of fog to hide the lack of power for the Ps4 to process it. Very disappointing.
  78. Aug 28, 2018
    0
    For me this was a huge disappointment as my first PS4 game. It made me think I had made a bad console choice. However it turns out is was just a bad game choice. The lead character was really annoying and his actions to toughen up his son felt really forced. The camera and buttons were rubbish. The enemies kept repeating phrases over which got on my nerves. It was just no fun. If you areFor me this was a huge disappointment as my first PS4 game. It made me think I had made a bad console choice. However it turns out is was just a bad game choice. The lead character was really annoying and his actions to toughen up his son felt really forced. The camera and buttons were rubbish. The enemies kept repeating phrases over which got on my nerves. It was just no fun. If you are going to attempt life like graphics and try to make it like you are part of a film, you have to make it a good film. As the gameplay was no fun and if it was a film it would have been a huge flop, it fell at every hurdle for me. I played Beyond Two Souls shortly after this and although it was minimal on the gameplay side it was still immensely enjoyable with very good life like graphics and for the most part good voice acting. So my point OS instead of wasting 50 quid on this, get 3 months of PSNow for the same price and a whole ton of awesome games. Expand
  79. Jul 30, 2018
    3
    Very good story telling, nice touches during the entire game, excellent graphic/audio... everything else needs to be re-designed from scratch especially the combat system, which is pure crap. It doesn't allow me to feel Kratos as the God of war... I mean... in 2017 enemies could break my combo but I can't. I can perform my special moves but the enemy can go away... so different rules forVery good story telling, nice touches during the entire game, excellent graphic/audio... everything else needs to be re-designed from scratch especially the combat system, which is pure crap. It doesn't allow me to feel Kratos as the God of war... I mean... in 2017 enemies could break my combo but I can't. I can perform my special moves but the enemy can go away... so different rules for the player and the enemy. That's is not justifable in 2018 for a AAA game. Are you **** kidding me? What's this **** Santa Monics Studio, please listen.. put your combat in the trash then take inspiration from the batman arkham series or Doom or bayonetta/DMC. Don't make a copy of a souls game and do much more and focused playtesting session with the right players (of course).
    Useless skills tree/combos, abilities spells/potions/whatever, all the **** rpg elements and last but not least the main map which is not helpfull to guide the player to a destination. Even the compass is useless.. and why it doesn't work in the Ivaldi's fog level? This has no sense at all.. Who designed that?
    And ladies and gentlemen...the main feature of this generation.. the farming.. man... a God of war with a farming section to unlock something that potentially could be not helpfull for the player against this **** The guy who greenlighted this needs to be fired immediately. How is this can be possible to even thinking to add a farming section??? Who is thinking that farming is fun???
    And for what? Levelling up is totally useless... at certain point of the game; I should be stronger than when the story begin.. right? No, I am not. For an unknown reason your power goes "back in time" because enemy are cheating. And cheating is used to cover the lacks of a poor combat game design with the common and abused excuses of "the hardcore player likes that". I have a news for you.. no, this is not fun and this is not for an "hardcore player". This is for people which have not yet understood what is fun and what's not. Doing thousand of time the same thing until your execution is totally perfect (due to a poor game design) is not fun. What is fun is try to find a way to win even if you have done some mistakes by using the skills (and game abilities) you have acquired during the game. Here is only a question of do the right thing at the right time and repeat it hundred of time it untill your enemy life bar is empty.
    Please, give the game in the hand of its original creator David Jaffe or someone who know what God of War game is and how to do a compelling AAA game.

    PS:
    for the first time, I sold my copy of a god of war game.
    Expand
  80. Sep 12, 2018
    0
    COmpletely destroyed the legend.It was a waste of money.Never ever again...
  81. Aug 4, 2018
    4
    This is my first entry into the GoW franchise, and I gotta say I'm not impressed at all. I'm not sure how the other GoW games fare, but if they're anything like this one, I'm genuinely surprised as to how this franchise has gotten so popular.

    This game is simply not worth 60 bucks. At its core, GoW is an average parent-child bonding experience that has been integrated far better in
    This is my first entry into the GoW franchise, and I gotta say I'm not impressed at all. I'm not sure how the other GoW games fare, but if they're anything like this one, I'm genuinely surprised as to how this franchise has gotten so popular.

    This game is simply not worth 60 bucks. At its core, GoW is an average parent-child bonding experience that has been integrated far better in other games. That being said, the story isn't necessarily bad, it just isn't as amazing as everyone is making it out to be: it's a serviceable narrative that you'll probably stop caring about halfway in.

    The combat mechanics of the game are actually pretty alright, but nothing to write home about. As you progress through the game, you unlock combos that make the game more fun and more intense, but unfortunately you won't fight any interesting foes that'll give you a challenge. Most of the time you fight small humanoid enemies and overgrown trolls; occasionally a good boss battle will pop up, but they are few and far between. Honestly, the combat system of GoW is wasted on horrible enemy design.

    The graphics of the game are impressive, and the scenery is truly mesmerizing, but as you explore you start to notice the world is pretty bland and for the most part not meant to be explored. As people have already mentioned, this game is a simple "go from point A to point B", with few detours along the way. Dungeon puzzles are rather simple and just put in to give the illusion of a well-designed world, when in actuality the extent of these puzzles are "throw your axe to freeze a bridge in place, walk on the bridge, recall your axe, rinse and repeat"

    So, GoW is basically a linear gameplay experience that offers nothing in the way of exploring its world or utilizing its combat system against challenging foes. If you want a game that actually offers a riveting experience filled with challenges and world exploration, try Bloodborne; if you want all that and an interesting narrative, try Witcher 3; if you want all that and the same parent-child bonding experience, play The Last of Us. Heck, I don't understand how GoW is getting so much praise when it does things that have already been done except much worse.
    Expand
  82. Aug 5, 2018
    3
    Nice graphics, but gameplay is the most important thing in a videogame and the gameplay here is just poor. Go pick up Devil May Cry , Ninja Gaiden , Bayonetta , Metal Gear Rising because those games are all 10/10s.
  83. Jul 19, 2018
    0
    All in all, this isn't a very good game.
    To start things off it's much, much slower paced than the other games in the series which in an action game can be a deathblow seeing as speed is the lifeblood of the genre. The enemy variety and difficulty really needed a boost as things are now even on the hardest difficulty the best method of dispatch is just mashing the basic combo.
    There's
    All in all, this isn't a very good game.
    To start things off it's much, much slower paced than the other games in the series which in an action game can be a deathblow seeing as speed is the lifeblood of the genre. The enemy variety and difficulty really needed a boost as things are now even on the hardest difficulty the best method of dispatch is just mashing the basic combo.
    There's way way too much dialogue as well, this is supposed to be God of War the main appeal was cutting things to pieces not talking to your son.

    All in all this isn't a very good game and not worth a purchase
    Expand
  84. Jul 28, 2018
    2
    One word: BORING. I suggest that it be played for an hour before going to bed, so it will help you relax and sleep well. Repetitive combats and poor graphics. Inexplicable hype. Certainly the disappointment of the year.
  85. Aug 22, 2018
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Игра заканчивается спустя час игрового времени. Вы знакомитесь с сюжетом, персонажами, проходите весьма недурственный босс файт и...все. Дальше только рутина. Бэктрекинг, искусственное увеличение сложности с помощью высокоуровневых врагов, которые убивают тебя с одного удара и прочие радости. Хочешь завалить этих ничем не отличающихся от предыдущих скелетов, с уровнем +2 выше твоего? Бегай по локациям, как в жопу ужаленный, и собирай, собирай, собирай...шмот, удары, амулеты и тд и тп...это нереально скучно. А если ты вдруг встречаешь хоть какой то уникальный контент (с освобождением дракона, например), то тебя сразу же обламывают репетативностью. 1) С каких пор Кратос освобождает драконов?! Кратос УБИВАЕТ драконов! Убивать весело! Искать и ломать печати по всей карте в течении 40 минут, чтобы его освободить - вот это НЕ весело! А когда ящер свободен, тебя добивают сообщением! Вы освободили дракона! Вам доступно новое испытание: освободи еще 2-х драконов! Что?!?! Еще минимум два раза пройти через это дерьмо?!?! Ну нееет, ребятки. Диск в коробку, коробку на авито. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 118 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 118
  2. Negative: 0 out of 118
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 13, 2018
    100
    The return of the furious Spartan warrior was made well. God of War is already a great contender for game of the year and you shouldn't miss it. [Issue#285]
  2. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2018
    100
    Cory Barlog and his team achieved what many thought impossible – despite having changed almost everything Santa Monica managed to preserve that elusive spark that makes God of War game feel like a God of War game. They created one of the defining titles of the current generation and a technical marvel whose stunning beauty in motion words cannot describe. And there’s one more thing. Barlog’s touching reaction to his masterpiece’s scores shows that even in the world of huge budgets, micropayments, loot boxes and sales forecasts there still is a place for artists who pour their hearts into their work. We need someone to remind us of that once in a while. [06/2018, p.38]
  3. Jun 7, 2018
    95
    Where most games excel in one single area, God of War manages to deliver on every front, providing players with one of the best experiences we’ve seen so far this generation.