Gone Home: Console Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here? Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person gameThe eldest daughter of the Greenbriar family returns after a year abroad. She expects her parents and sister to greet her. Instead she finds only a deserted house, filled with secrets. Where is everyone? And what's happened here? Find out for yourself in Gone Home, a first-person game entirely about exploration, mystery and discovery. The house is yours to explore as you see fit. Open any drawer or door to investigate what's inside. Piece together the mysteries from notes and clues woven into the house itself. Discover the story of a year in the life of the Greenbriar family. Dig deeper. Go home again. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gone Home - Console Edition Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 26, 2016
    100
    That's how it usually is with the very best works of art, of course: they take the mundane and ordinary, and make them seem deep and meaningful. It's something Gone Home excels at, and it's what makes it worth picking up now that it's finally arrived on consoles.
  2. Jan 19, 2016
    100
    One of the best games of 2013 is finally out on consoles. If you haven’t done so already, you owe it to yourself to experience a beautiful story and some very clever, but understated, game design.
  3. Feb 24, 2016
    91
    Not much has changed in the console versions of this extraordinary storytelling experience: The added audio commentary is nice while the visuals are a little more defined.
  4. Jan 20, 2016
    90
    It's one of the finest, most relatable examples of the instant, incredible empathy that video games are capable of inspiring.
  5. Feb 17, 2016
    90
    Devil is in the details, and Gone Home is filled with very well-crafted tiny nuances. As far as "walking simulators" go, this is the one you shouldn't miss.
  6. Apr 21, 2016
    80
    Gone home is a beautiful story told with talent. The total immersion and storytelling brings a sense of renewal in the world of video games. Unfortunately, its lifespan is too short: two hours are enough to see the end. This console port is, by the way, excellent.
  7. Apr 9, 2016
    60
    It’s a shame that Gone Home is a bit of a non-starter. It has a lot of potential; the game is genuinely captivating whilst you’re playing it – it’s just unfortunate that it leaves you so disappointed once you’ve reached its conclusion. The human story it tries to tell is relatable, but it’s a story that’s so ordinary it’s barely even worth telling. By all means, play Gone Home for the exploration; for the 90’s nostalgia and for its down-to-Earth quirks, but don’t go into it expecting anything mindblowing. Expect a grounded story about a typical family and you won’t be disappointed, but anything else will leave you feeling rather underwhelmed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 119
  2. Negative: 59 out of 119
  1. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Go in blind, play the game. You won't regret it.
    Should I tell you anymore? No.
    Should you play Gone Home? Yes. Does this review have to be
    Go in blind, play the game. You won't regret it.
    Should I tell you anymore? No.
    Should you play Gone Home? Yes.
    Does this review have to be any longer? No.
    Should you play Gone Home? Yes.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2017
    10
    This game was truly an amazing experience. One of the few games (the souls games come to mind) able to tell so much about their story simplyThis game was truly an amazing experience. One of the few games (the souls games come to mind) able to tell so much about their story simply through their environments. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2016
    8
    "the only reason why it got good reviews from Critics was because Social Justice Warriors wanting to promote themselves".. Jesus... the BS you"the only reason why it got good reviews from Critics was because Social Justice Warriors wanting to promote themselves".. Jesus... the BS you read on the internet... Good game. Trust the critic reviews on this one. Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2016
    5
    LOL i got this for free so i won't complain but i felt bad for the people who bought this at launch for 20$. Story is so simple. gameplay isLOL i got this for free so i won't complain but i felt bad for the people who bought this at launch for 20$. Story is so simple. gameplay is simple. I felt it was a demo really. they should just have made a horror game where Oscar is the ghost lol. Collapse
  5. Jun 7, 2016
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not much to say about this "game". It is not a game, it is a story. A 20 minute story. Not worth your money. Basically, you have to find 24 objects triggering a story. The story is so cliché that you will probably give up before the end. You can finish the game without finding all the clues, just find 2 keys and you're done.

    I understand that the 85 Metascore from critics and the hype comes from the fact that it's about lesbian love and parents not understanding, and the military not accepting homos. Blah Blah Blah. The usual stuff. Even if I agree that it is a important subject to fight for, this "game" was not a good way to do it. I'm happy I didn't pay for it.

    The whole game can be solved in 10 minutes, or 2 hours maximum if you really want to click on every piece of wall/tissue box and read everything (most of it is extremely boring stuff about their parent's jobs).

    Gone home is gone deleted.
    Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shame on the makers of this game for lying about the premise to push an agenda. This "game" has all the trappings of a horror/exploration game. It couldn't be further from the truth. You are coming home after a European trip, and everyone leaves just before you get there? Your family is a bunch of selfish jerks. And the whole point of the "game" is your sister is a lesbian, that ran away to be with her partner. Welcome home. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2016
    0
    I can't stress this enough - if you have never played this game - DON'T. It is possibly the highest rated piece of garbage ever released.I can't stress this enough - if you have never played this game - DON'T. It is possibly the highest rated piece of garbage ever released. The professional critics are dead wrong - under two hours of 'game play' which would be forgiveable if it was awesome, it however is an uneventful shi+ show. Seriously, watch a play through on you tube if you don't believe me. I do this as a public service - this game is trash. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews