User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 186

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2015
    10
    There are few times where games offer novel experiences anymore as the industry grows, but Hotline Miami 1 & 2 were both really fantastic, and Wrong Number is in my opinion the better half. It is, in my opinion, a necessity to first play the original because its sequel spikes in difficulty much faster and continues to ramp up, and because of story reasons. I personally adore the huge areasThere are few times where games offer novel experiences anymore as the industry grows, but Hotline Miami 1 & 2 were both really fantastic, and Wrong Number is in my opinion the better half. It is, in my opinion, a necessity to first play the original because its sequel spikes in difficulty much faster and continues to ramp up, and because of story reasons. I personally adore the huge areas with so many enemies because even though it can take an hour of retries, figuring out a path where you can get a 20x multiplier is really satisfying. The story is fantastic, I was kind of sour on the ending at first, but through more understanding of the story by the end of the second playthrough, I was thoroughly satisfied with everything, and adored and hated characters appropriately after everything was said and done because the game is well written. As for content, the game is 7-8 hours long with a Hard mode where the levels are mirrored, along with a level editor that will be coming soon. My only gripe is that I want more Hotline Miami through a sequel or by purchasing a full retail disk. I came for the gameplay, but ended up enjoying the narrative more. Hotline Miami 2 is the best game I've purchased on PS4, and that's saying something considering the small team that worked on it while triple A developers make lackluster titles such as the Order. If you liked Hotline Miami 1, give this a shot. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    Without any new fantastic features and without anything "new" added to the game, this is more of the same from where Hotline Miami 1 left it.
    The good thing about that is that the game is what it is and is still a massive challenge to complete and an even greater challenge to complete all levels with highest rating.
    The game deserves a massive thumbs up from here, the only reason it's
    Without any new fantastic features and without anything "new" added to the game, this is more of the same from where Hotline Miami 1 left it.
    The good thing about that is that the game is what it is and is still a massive challenge to complete and an even greater challenge to complete all levels with highest rating.

    The game deserves a massive thumbs up from here, the only reason it's not getting a 10 is the very same reason, that it's "just" the same as before.
    Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    The original game was amazing and edgy, and the sequel manages to build on that style with a similarly head-scratching story and over-the-top strategic murder-fests that will tickle your retro bone. More levels, more weapons and more masks (personas) than before, and much to this gamers delight the benefits from the masks were actually varied and useful in their own way. It definitely feltThe original game was amazing and edgy, and the sequel manages to build on that style with a similarly head-scratching story and over-the-top strategic murder-fests that will tickle your retro bone. More levels, more weapons and more masks (personas) than before, and much to this gamers delight the benefits from the masks were actually varied and useful in their own way. It definitely felt that the first title had several garbage masks that served more as a filler for game variety than a well thought out gameplay mechanic. For instance, the grasshopper who starts with a useless drill versus the mask that gives you silent bullets no matter what gun you use....no-brainer. This game is also slightly more difficult, and while the "bully my way through and f*** sh*t up is still prevalent there are more instances where you might decide to back up to the beginning of a level just because a different mask gives you the edge you need to finish off those last couple baddies. Despite all the additions the game does feel remarkably similar to the first title, and while more of the same isn't always bad I hope we see Hotline Miami evolve a little more on the next entry. 8/10, buckle up, its going to be a murderous ride. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    This was actually a pretty good sequel. I loved how they decided to give out at least 3 different main characters with different action with them, like how one of the characters can actually be non violent and disassembled any gun you pick up. I felt it to be way more difficult then the first one that released, but that's what i love about it more than anything. The masks are cooler too,This was actually a pretty good sequel. I loved how they decided to give out at least 3 different main characters with different action with them, like how one of the characters can actually be non violent and disassembled any gun you pick up. I felt it to be way more difficult then the first one that released, but that's what i love about it more than anything. The masks are cooler too, with different abilities such as being able to kill with your fists with the loss of weapons to make up for it, and the ability to dodge roll through doors and hallways. The maps are more intense as well, as different elements popping up can make it much more puzzling, and the map editor itself is the cherry on top as players are able to make their own maps for other players. The story is good, the game play is good, the maps are good. its just good! A must have for PlayStation or PC owners. Only thing holding it back is that the maps may be a bit intimidating for some players, but all and all a solid title from our friends at Devolver Digital! Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    This game is as much of a classic as the first one. It trades the recklessness of the first for a more calculated trip, but a trip nonetheless. This game oozes good taste and style with the neon 80s aesthetic. The kind of game you'd have in the background while you sniff cocaine off of a south beach mamí. The gameplay is great and I have a hard time understanding some of the critics sayingThis game is as much of a classic as the first one. It trades the recklessness of the first for a more calculated trip, but a trip nonetheless. This game oozes good taste and style with the neon 80s aesthetic. The kind of game you'd have in the background while you sniff cocaine off of a south beach mamí. The gameplay is great and I have a hard time understanding some of the critics saying that the levels are too big and frustrating. They're bigger to a degree, but I wouldn't use the word frustrating at all. It's just really fun and captivating. The story jumps around between narratives (think 'crash'), but it's a very cohesive story with a lot of subtle and not-so-subtle social commentary. One of the most memorable experiences I've had gaming, or in any form of media for that matter, in a really long time. Expand
  6. May 28, 2015
    9
    Hotline Miami 2 takes the beauty from the first game and Amps it up. Hotline Miami 2 is a very good game, yet it is not better then the original. Hotline Miami 2 is a wonderful goodbye to a legendary game series.
  7. May 9, 2016
    9
    Gameplay is king. Hotline Miami is the king of gameplay. Does that make Hotline Miami king? I'm not sure. All that I'm sure about is the fact that this game is pure fun. It's insane, psychedelic romp that revels in its ultra-violence. Now that we have our ultra-hyperbolic box cover quote out of the way, let's get to the meat of the matter. This game is hard. I would say it's always fair,Gameplay is king. Hotline Miami is the king of gameplay. Does that make Hotline Miami king? I'm not sure. All that I'm sure about is the fact that this game is pure fun. It's insane, psychedelic romp that revels in its ultra-violence. Now that we have our ultra-hyperbolic box cover quote out of the way, let's get to the meat of the matter. This game is hard. I would say it's always fair, but it actually isn't. That is the fundamental difference between this game and the original. The sequel is far more ambitious, but in some points it becomes to ambitious. Some levels include floors that are the size of entire levels from the original Hotline Miami. Some levels have four floors, and take an hour to beat. That said, I prefer the sequel over the original. That's mostly because it's so much longer and there is plenty more variety. The famous synthy-techno stye music is back, and like everything else, it's kicked up to 11. The soundtrack is two and a half hours long, with standout tracks from Pertubator and Carbenter Brut. The normal campaign takes around ten to fifteen hours to complete. You're already getting your money's worth. But they even included a hard mode. I prefer the normal mode, as hard mode is kind of unfair at points (the developers seemed to have thought that more glass was a fair way to increase difficulty), it is a fun bonus. And you do get bragging rights and satisfaction from beating the game in hard mode. Expand
  8. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Legendary game, play it, this game changed my life for good, all I have for this game is LOVE.
  9. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    With this unforgiving sequel, Dennaton really pushed things to the max, and since its also a finale, Hotline Miami 2: Wrong Number undeniably nails every aspect that made its predecessor a success with swift ease.
  10. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    First let me say this: do not buy this game unless you've played the first Hotline Miami! You'll need to know the story, mechanics and gameplay before you step into Hotline Miami 2: Wrong Number. The game is much, much harder than Hotline Miami. Levels are much bigger than Hotline Miami, both in size, how open they are and the number of enemies. For the rest, it's exactly the same asFirst let me say this: do not buy this game unless you've played the first Hotline Miami! You'll need to know the story, mechanics and gameplay before you step into Hotline Miami 2: Wrong Number. The game is much, much harder than Hotline Miami. Levels are much bigger than Hotline Miami, both in size, how open they are and the number of enemies. For the rest, it's exactly the same as Hotline Miami which is certainly a good thing. Expand
  11. Mar 23, 2015
    9
    Hotline Miami 2: Wrong number is the definition of a perfect sequel. This game is better then the original in literarily every single way possible: better gameplay, better story, better music and better pacing. While there are moments in which the game is unacceptably hard, I still couldn’t stop playing. If you loved the original game, you will fall head over heels for the sequel. YouHotline Miami 2: Wrong number is the definition of a perfect sequel. This game is better then the original in literarily every single way possible: better gameplay, better story, better music and better pacing. While there are moments in which the game is unacceptably hard, I still couldn’t stop playing. If you loved the original game, you will fall head over heels for the sequel. You won’t stop thinking about it for a long time and you will want to keep revisiting this game over and over again. If you haven’t played the original, I strongly suggest you go ahead and do so so that you may understand the story, and become skilled at its gameplay. For only $15, you have no reason not to play this. So far, Hotline Miami 2 is the best game of the year so far and will be a nominee for 2015’s game of the year. Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2016
    8
    This is quite a nice little game; it is very similar to the first one so if you liked HM1 you’ll like this one.
    The gameplay is pretty much the same, some interesting differences might be that you’ll use quite a few characters this time, and each one of them has kind of specific abilities (much like the mask thing in HM1). The gameplay is still very fast and brutal, and not very
    This is quite a nice little game; it is very similar to the first one so if you liked HM1 you’ll like this one.
    The gameplay is pretty much the same, some interesting differences might be that you’ll use quite a few characters this time, and each one of them has kind of specific abilities (much like the mask thing in HM1). The gameplay is still very fast and brutal, and not very forgiving, you’ll die quite a lot (it’s twin stick action), the stages are also significantly bigger in this one and the game is longer. So summarising, it is basically more of the same, slightly better.

    The story is told in a much more direct way this time and it is a good one. In terms of story, it is highly related to the first game, so I suggest you play both games in a relatively short space of time or chances are you’re gonna miss a lot of small things. Storytelling is more direct but it’s still kind of vague, you’ll have to pay attention to follow the thing; it is really good so if you don’t see the full picture after completing the game, I would suggest you do some online reading; it is worth it.

    Other than that, graphics are the same, old styled, and the OST is amazing, maybe even better than HM1 OST which is quite an achievement considering HM1 OST was already awesome.

    Anyway same old thing, so if you liked HM1, you won’t be disappointed, although it might feel too similar. For those who didn’t play the game, this is a fast paced twin stick action game, not very forgiving but not too hard. If you like that kind of game and you don’t mind (or like) about old styled graphics, get it! most likely you’ll like the game.
    Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    Отличная музыка, красивая картинка, интригующий сюжет, динамичный геймплей. Категорически рекомендуется к прохождению, хотя ожидал большего после 1 части
  14. Jul 25, 2020
    10
    An extremely underrated sequel that improves upon the sequel. The pacing is not quite as good but it makes the first game hard to go back to. Still trekking through Hard Mode.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 26, 2015
    80
    Wrong Number isn't a classic like its sibling, but it is still bloody good fun. [June 2015, p76]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 20, 2015
    60
    The unravelling of a tightly focused classic. [May 2015, p.84]
  3. Apr 7, 2015
    70
    For what it’s worth Wrong Number is the typical cliched mixed bag, with the best bits of the original dressed up in the excesses of what the developers thought they needed to add to make this a bigger, badder sequel.