Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 28, 2020
    95
    Not only is Huntdown one of the best games I have played this year, it’s one of the best retro-inspired pieces of entertainment released. Think of how Shovel Knight captured the feeling of a Nintendo adventure game or how Super Meat Boy invigorated grueling action platformers. Not only does Huntdown excel at its ability to invoke a time, place, and feeling, it is damn fun. Few games manage to bleed creativity with such purpose across every corner of its programming, but Huntdown is truly a winner and a perfect time capsule.
  2. May 14, 2020
    90
    Huntdown delivers nail-biting boss battles, exceptional music, a slick design, and fast-paced combat. It’s a throwback to a time where games did a lot with a little, while testing players’ skill the whole way through. Admittedly, the difficulty (unless players want to drop it down to easy) is going to be a turn off, but most will find the checkpoint system forgiving enough. For our money, the punishment made the victory all the more satisfying.
  3. May 12, 2020
    90
    Huntdown is, quite simply, one of the best side-scrolling shooters I’ve ever played. Incredible retro pixel art, generous local co-op, a stonking frame rate and an addictive game play loop that had me coming back for more; Huntdown is the total package.
  4. May 21, 2020
    82
    Besides a few small smudges, what awaits you is a raw adventure full of b-movie jokes and flying bullets. "As long as there are bounty hunters, there will be a hunt."
  5. May 24, 2020
    80
    Beautifully pixeled action, that will satisfy fans of the respective movies of the 80s just as much as the Contra generation of the 90s.
  6. May 19, 2020
    80
    It rarely swells beyond the sum of its parts; with parts as precision-tooled as this, it doesn’t need to.
  7. 80
    Enjoyable, brash and well designed. Huntdown is a fun action game full of charm and swagger. It has short, enjoyable levels and very well designed bosses. It's streamlined, old-school and not bloated in any way whatsoever. I thoroughly enjoyed my playthrough and may return at some point to mop up a few things I missed.
  8. May 16, 2020
    80
    Rarely have we felt as ridiculously cool as when we are playing Huntdown. Everything from graphics and music to gameplay is top-notch and every level is packed with non-stop and often hilarious action. Sure, the graphics may be a bit chaotic at times, and sometimes it feels like luck plays a bigger role than skills. But overall, Huntdown is a fantastic shooter in a beautiful retro package.
  9. May 13, 2020
    80
    Huntdown is an ode to the gloriously violent and ridiculous action movies of the 80s, revelling in cheesy one-liners, larger than life characters, and wanton bloodshed. It's challenging but largely fair, with some thrilling boss encounters that require a variety of tactics to bring to justice. The thumping soundtrack and beautiful 16-bit aesthetic are just the icing on the cake, like a perfectly delivered "Stick around!" after Arnie pins an enemy to the wall with an expertly thrown blade.
  10. May 12, 2020
    80
    Huntdown has become one of our favorite tributes to Metal Slug or Probotector. If you are a fan of run & gun games, make sure you check it out, as it is a fantastic homage to the classics and, just like them, it’s best played with a friend.
  11. May 12, 2020
    80
    Huntdowns is a brilliant retro shooter, fast and defying, full of 80´s references and Easter eggs. Local coop makes the game even better.
  12. May 12, 2020
    80
    Huntdown is a nihilistic, loud, explosive, even obnoxious arcade shooter. But behind its acid comic style and vulgar tone lies a superb, meticulously crafted action experience, packed with creative and addictive carnage, at a breakneck pace, for an agreeable price. Heed the warning: Do Not Sleep on Huntdown. It's an absolute blast.
  13. May 26, 2020
    70
    While Huntdown's cloying one-liners and disconcerting framing can occasionally come across as grating, its captivating gunplay successfully mixes the chaos of classic run and gun games with the methodical cadence of modern cover shooters. Dashing through murderous strikes while you slide under incoming bullets creates a sense of cool that the game's writing fails to deliver, inching it a little bit closer to the heights of its many points of inspiration. It may be somewhat short and fairly straightforward, but Huntdown's gameplay largely succeeds at emulating the type of testosterone-fueled bedlam perfected by its silver screen counterparts.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 9 out of 31
  1. May 14, 2020
    9
    One of the best side scrolling shooter I've played, and the cover system brings some welcomed depth to the gameplay. It's not a very longOne of the best side scrolling shooter I've played, and the cover system brings some welcomed depth to the gameplay. It's not a very long game, but it's challenging enough to keep you busy for a while. From a technical viewpoint, the game is close to perfect. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2020
    10
    "He was a man since he was a boy". This IS the best and most entertaining arcade shooter I've ever played! The graphics, music, sound effects"He was a man since he was a boy". This IS the best and most entertaining arcade shooter I've ever played! The graphics, music, sound effects and smooth game-play is excellent! It brings so many good memories back from my youth playing games in the arcades and watching badass action movies like Robocop, Blade Runner, The Warriors, Escape from NY, Terminator etc. Lots of great one liners from both the protagonists and bosses/minions makes you laugh out loud!

    This game is a must buy!
    Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2020
    0
    there's 3 characters, they all play the same, same hp, same type of abilities, all enemies hit like trucks and gameplay is downright unfair,there's 3 characters, they all play the same, same hp, same type of abilities, all enemies hit like trucks and gameplay is downright unfair, you basically have to play, memorize enemy patterns, repeat and find a way around them, finish the level, repeat again until you get all the level bonus.

    Characters dont have any upgrades or special abilities and even the most basic enemy has more hp and damage than you, the only good thing going for you is that AI is dumb and repeats the same patters, but until you learn them it's die and die again.

    doesn't feel at all you're playing like a badazz bounty hunter at all, they should have called the game letdown instead of huntdown
    Full Review »