Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Sep 26, 2018
    65
    An ambitious venture for a low-budget indie studio, but one that manages to stand out in the crowd despite its flaws.
  2. Sep 17, 2018
    60
    A SoulsBorne game with its own twist which turns out to be pretty entertaining, especially when it all comes together. And that is also our main concern; there are plenty of times when things don't come together at all which results in frustrating gameplay. Too bad, because the core of Immortal: Unchained is good.
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    59
    Shooter mechanics in a world that is a conceptual carbon copy of Dark Soul? In theory it could be interesting, but the execution is lackluster and leaves a lot to be desired.
  4. Oct 12, 2018
    56
    Whilst an admirable attempt at offering a fresh take on what is already becoming a fairly staid genre, Toadman Interactive has unfortunately missed the mark when it comes to one of the most crucial elements of making these games work.
  5. CD-Action
    Feb 13, 2019
    55
    Although I’m a huge fan of shooters, I had to force myself to play Immortal: Unchained. The game clumsily tries to marry two formulas: an action game built around firearms and a soulslike. It does some things right – the atmosphere is intriguing, the dismemberment system works fine, boss encounters are done well and the character development system is solid – but it failed in the most important aspect. Immortal’s cardinal sin is its mediocre gunplay, which makes shooting boring and therefore turns firefights into drudgery. [12/2018, p.54]
  6. Oct 1, 2018
    50
    Immortal: Unchained is a souls like third person shooter game developed and published by Toadman Interactive. The idea of a souls like with guns is amazing, but the way it is developed, it looks like a set of beautiful non-original ideas stuck together.
  7. Sep 19, 2018
    50
    Immortal Unchained could have been a great attempt to get its name between action-RPG’s as Dark Souls and The Surge. However, adding guns to the well-known formula didn't save the game from having way too many technical and balance problems during release.
  8. Sep 14, 2018
    50
    Immortal: Unchained tries to follow the footsteps of the Souls series, but ends up against a wall.
  9. Sep 12, 2018
    40
    Ultimately, Immortal: Unchained serves to highlight one thing above all else. Every frustrating aspect of the Dark Souls experience is tolerated and even praised by its fans because the underlying combat system is so fantastically well-realised...Strip that away and all you’re left with is a mediocre exercise in frustration. Immortal: Unchained has thrown guns into the mix, but no consideration has been given to how their addition might affect the classic Souls formula. Dark Souls but with bad combat is a tough sell.
  10. Sep 11, 2018
    40
    Immortal: Unchained isn’t inherently an awful game, but it has very little going in its favour. Its level design is one shining beacon among a sea of bang average gameplay, unacceptable technical flaws, and a combat system that does little to distinguish itself from its inspirations. Those enamoured with the Souls formula may discover something to like, but they’ll have to sort through a mountain of mediocrity to find it.
  11. Sep 11, 2018
    35
    An intriguing premise - that of a soulslike science fiction in which you fight mostly at a distance, using upgradable grenades and guns - turned into one of the worst video games of recent years: a sloppy title, poorly conceived and in some areas clearly "broken".
  12. Sep 25, 2018
    15
    Immortal’s pursuit of the hardcore label speaks to a certain presumptiveness in its design – that its impenetrable nature will be offset by a community looking for new challenges to overcome and new mysteries to unravel. Dark Souls got away with that approach because every aspect of it was so meticulously fine-tuned. Immortal’s extreme difficulty only highlights how fundamentally its ideas don’t run together. If there’s anything worse than a bad game, it’s a hostile bad game.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 69
  2. Negative: 24 out of 69
  1. Sep 9, 2018
    2
    I created an account just for this. I have never written, and probably will never write another, meta critic review. But since this gameI created an account just for this. I have never written, and probably will never write another, meta critic review. But since this game currently has "universal acclaim" I felt it was necessary that at least one dissenting review on here.

    About me: I love Soul games. I played Demon's, all three Darks, Nioh, and the Surge. I even love poorly implemented janky as heck Souls games. See above, I played Demon's and the Surge.

    This is a bad game. Not a bad Souls game. A bad game, game. I bought it at launch, I played 10 hours. I uninstalled it in rage. Note I played on PS4 pro.

    The graphics are like PS3 era. This would be acceptable if the game didn't suffer from tons of texture pop, stutters and low framerates during the most basic operations.

    The game focuses on ranged combat. This would be amazing if every single enemy didn't have about 30% more range than you do and be able to kill you in 2 or 3 shots. It takes time to go in and out of aim, reload is canceled by every single action so you constantly find yourself dry trying to get one or two hits in.

    The weapons are limp and uninteresting, the constant actions delay leaves you desperately wishing your character would do anything you ask him. Like if you aim and shoot, get ready to wait 1-2 seconds before it registers reload or use item. This happens on every action.

    I got as far as an area in which you had to fight multiple teleporting enemies who could easily shoot you from twice your range and could kill you in a single volley. That's like, whatever, Dark Souls man, git gud. Then they started teleporting reliably into the geometry where I couldn't shoot them but they could shoot me. There is no reason to suffer this game. Go play literally anything else.

    The negative reviews on Steam are real. Obviously I can't comment on the PC release, but I can't believe it's better than this by any margin.

    Also the Lore and Cut-scenes constantly talk up there being 9 planets and 9 realms or whatever. You get exactly 3. There are gates for more in your hub, but I don't know if they are planned DLC or never going to be done or what.

    Finally ever boss fight, all of them, is just target lock, hold right on the stick, walk around them until they do an animation so you can shoot their back. Rise & Repeat. So the hallmark and most fun of most of these kind of games is just also limp and boring.

    I think it's rather telling the game has no like real reviews at all yet from review sites. So I hope this saves someone else from making my mistake and spending $50 bucks on this.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2018
    10
    I am 30 hours in and I think hit 60% of the game. It is a "AA" title, so in the end just 30 devs were working on it and yes you see it in theI am 30 hours in and I think hit 60% of the game. It is a "AA" title, so in the end just 30 devs were working on it and yes you see it in the graphics, but it's still good looking and VERY athmospheric. Gameplay is "Demon's Souls with guns" set in a Scifi setting - I love it, looks awesome and the fights are very difficult what I like. Most bad reviews talk about the technical flaws - look behind it and enjy one oft the best game since years. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    4
    The more you advance in the game, the more you discover how many bugs it has and how unfair it can be. Die hard Souls fan here and I know howThe more you advance in the game, the more you discover how many bugs it has and how unfair it can be. Die hard Souls fan here and I know how to differentiate difficulty and bad design. If you want to avoid being disappointed with another Souls wannabe (is this you Lords of The Fallen?) drop immediately all your hope to play a good Souls-like game. Full Review »