Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 1, 2021
    100
    However you want to look at it, though, between its solid story and its just-the-right-difficulty puzzles, It Takes Two is a perfect game if you’re looking for something that will interest non-gamer[s].
  2. Apr 15, 2021
    100
    As a video game reviewer, it's very rare I've ever awarded a perfect score. The last two games I awarded with that score were The Witcher 3 and God of War. I say this just to emphasize how It Takes Two really is, in my view, the perfect co-op experience. At least, it's the closest to perfection that I've had the joy to experience to date.
  3. Apr 9, 2021
    100
    New gameplay elements are constantly being introduced in It Takes Two, each requiring you to develop your own skills. And although the story of impending divorce sounds quite sad - and for many undoubtedly recognizable - the 3D platform game uses a lot of humor. You end up in a very original and imaginative world, which continues to surprise even after hours.
  4. 100
    It Takes Two is co-op gaming at its most joyous and whimsical, and will forever be in the hearts of anyone that is lucky enough to play it.
  5. Mar 29, 2021
    92
    It Takes Two is the final consecration to Josef Fares’ vision, and a well-deserved leap forward for Hazelight. If you are looking for a game to be played with a friend, an experience where you can breathe the passion of its makers or simply… you are in love with videogames, It Takes Two is something you don’t want to miss.
  6. Apr 12, 2021
    90
    It Takes Two is a combination of a romcom and co-op game. The platforming feels fresh and new thanks to the wonderful surroundings and game mechanics.
  7. Mar 24, 2021
    90
    It's impressive stuff. It Takes Two is the best 3D platformer I've played since Super Mario Odyssey, and like that game, it has a flair for variety. You may ride a frog or fly a plane with wings made from Cody's boxers or hack-and-slash through a Diablo-style castle. Despite the downright wild amount of things to do, It Takes Two manages to handle every mechanic well. This is the second release from Hazelight, and while A Way Out had plenty of fans, it seems that it may just take two to make a thing go quite this right.
  8. Mar 24, 2021
    90
    It Takes Two is probably the biggest surprise of this spring. While the world is still in a pandemic lockdown, and games are getting delayed left and right, Josef Fares gives us an insane adventure that is full of both drama and cool gameplay ideas.
  9. Apr 30, 2021
    88
    From start to finish, It Takes Two is a great co-op experience. The gameplay is fun and varied throughout the entire run, and it frequently manages to surprise you. It's simply a fun trip to share with a friend, and it's a game that looks like it was as fun to conceptualize as it is to play. That said, the game frequently gets in the way of itself with mediocre and ineffective writing that I found to be fairly forgettable. It's a great game that stops just short of being a masterpiece of co-op gaming. I simply cannot wait to see what Josef Fares comes up with next.
  10. Mar 24, 2021
    87
    It Takes Two is a crazy rollercoaster ride filled to the brim with fun co-op mechanics, references and wonder. Hazelight Studios shows they have learned from their previous game, and with It Takes Two delivers a wonderful feel-good game that will drag you along for an amazingly long time. This one is going to show up on the "best co-op games" lists.
  11. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 17, 2021
    85
    Josef Fares wasn’t kidding when he said that It Takes Two is unlike any other platformer: it’s amazing how many various mechanics and ideas found their place in this game. [Issue#253, p.32]
  12. Mar 24, 2021
    85
    It Takes Two takes a lot of inspiration from Disney Pixar and transports story and emotion into a 3D-puzzle-platformer. The level designs work perfectly with co-op-gameplay, which also is reflected in the story of May and Cody. It Takes Two comes at a perfect time and is an adventure that will warm your heart.
  13. Mar 24, 2021
    83
    Despite its flaws, It Takes Two is a special and highly polished game. It is full of surprises, new mechanics and a lot of heart. A must play for fans of co-op games.
  14. Mar 27, 2021
    80
    While its story and characters could have used more work, It Takes Two is fantastic co-op game that moves masterfully from genre to genre and never overstays its welcome.
  15. Mar 24, 2021
    80
    A firm commitment to cooperative multiplayer, a title that seeks to continue expanding a particular idea, a way of seeing the game in which its author has placed his trust. For that reason alone it deserves a certain degree of attention. But it also manages to make this proposal based on cooperation work wonderfully. Not only does it fill an empty space in our catalogs, but it also does it with a good grade.
  16. Mar 24, 2021
    80
    It Takes Two's refreshing gameplay loop and heavy focus on cooperation and timing results in some of the most satisfying puzzling, platforming, and combat I've seen in a very long time.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 388
  1. Apr 5, 2021
    0
    even though I played it with my wife we both got bored fast. even our kids got bored fast
  2. Mar 28, 2021
    10
    Easyly the best local coop game I have ever played, and I have been gaming for 20 years!

    I play games with my son and im always amazed at
    Easyly the best local coop game I have ever played, and I have been gaming for 20 years!

    I play games with my son and im always amazed at the lack of decent local coop games out there but this game ticked every single box and honestly, alot more! The level design and story are perfect for playing with someone a little younger. You not only have to communicate through the game but it also makes you have to communicate in real life to progress. Your really do go on a little mini adventure with who ever you are playing with.

    The guys who made this game deserve every single penny they make from it and im already hoping they will make a 2nd, 3rd, and 9th one. Fantastic stuff! If you game with a family member then buy it now, its honestly a no brainer.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2021
    0
    Make a game for someone who is alone. I hate games for couples and newlyweds.
    This game is a game you can never do alone.