Journey Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1626 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pioneers that brought you the award-winning PlayStation Network titles flOw & Flower are back with another title that challenges traditional gaming conventions. With Journey, thatgamecompany (TGC) continues its tradition of delivering simple gameplay and accessible controls in a richThe pioneers that brought you the award-winning PlayStation Network titles flOw & Flower are back with another title that challenges traditional gaming conventions. With Journey, thatgamecompany (TGC) continues its tradition of delivering simple gameplay and accessible controls in a rich interactive environment that invites players to explore and experience emotional chords that are still uncommon in video games.

    An exotic adventure with a more serious tone, Journey presents TGCs unique vision of an online adventure experience. Awakening in an unknown world, the player walks, glides, and flies through a vast and awe-inspiring landscape, while discovering the history of an ancient, mysterious civilization along the way.

    Journeys innovative approach to online play encourages players to explore this environment with strangers who cross their path from time to time. By traveling together, they can re-shape the experience creating authentic moments they will remember and discuss with others.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Journey Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Oct 11, 2015
    100
    It’s a simple remaster, but it makes a work of art all the more beautiful and immersive.
  2. 100
    An already beautiful experience is made even more gorgeous on the PlayStation 4 -- Journey is a trip worth taking. It’s a bite sized adventure that you won’t soon forget.
  3. Jul 24, 2015
    100
    If you are returning to Journey, a higher resolution and a higher frame rate are your ostensible rewards for returning--a return that doesn't cost you anything if you already own the game on the PlayStation 3. But Journey's real rewards aren't so pedestrian. Journey offers you comfort. It gives you companionship in a lovely but forsaken world. It gives you reason to dream even when facing loss.
  4. Jul 26, 2015
    90
    After three years, Journey is still the most emotional and powerful video game of the PlayStation era. Just buy it, and enjoy a better life.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 21, 2015
    90
    Don't expect a transformative HD remaster. [Oct 2015, p.88]
  6. Aug 5, 2015
    90
    Short but intense and especially memorable. You can not say that Journey exploit the technical capabilities of PS4, but even with those, we continue to one of those experiences that every gamer should experience once in a lifetime.
  7. Jul 24, 2015
    60
    With Journey, director Jenova Chen presents intimacy as a mirage in a desert and fits inclusivity into an abstracted model.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 185
  1. Mar 24, 2017
    10
    Ow... Now I remembered the first time I have played it. Magical... just magical. This game is beautiful, and can get your attention. I strongOw... Now I remembered the first time I have played it. Magical... just magical. This game is beautiful, and can get your attention. I strong agree this is the best PS3 game, and one of the bests of PS4. Just play and see it. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2015
    10
    The music and environments of this game are incredible. Nice and short story, don't expect to be playing this game for days on end. This isThe music and environments of this game are incredible. Nice and short story, don't expect to be playing this game for days on end. This is one of those standout independent games that flew under the radar when it came out in 2013 on the PS3. Glad to see they did a re-release. Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    I've played this game countless number of times on the PS3. I will play it countless number of times on the PS4. It's rare to find a videoI've played this game countless number of times on the PS3. I will play it countless number of times on the PS4. It's rare to find a video game, especially one so short, that can evoke such deep philosophical thoughts about your own existence (no exaggerating). It's not your typical video game. It's not your typical piece of entertainment. It's not something that hemorrhages explosions, gore, or lengthy cinematic cut scenes to tell a story. There isn't even dialogue! It's a tribute to minimalism in every single way. This experience is not for everyone, but if you are an avid gamer with a hunger for a deep story and rich artistry, then it's a must. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2016
    9
    A very enjoyable and beautiful game, and something new you don't see that much. The game is defiently replayable for few times, and itsA very enjoyable and beautiful game, and something new you don't see that much. The game is defiently replayable for few times, and its enjoyable every single time. Though the game is only about 3h, but the gameplay makes up for it. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2018
    8
    The game is visually and aesthetically stunning. All this single tint colors work perfect. Also, I like the general arc of the story and theThe game is visually and aesthetically stunning. All this single tint colors work perfect. Also, I like the general arc of the story and the way they incorporated companions (it can be frustrating sometimes due to lack of communication, but the point devs are trying to make is cool).
    However, gameplay wise it feels a barebones version of Uncharted game without shooting. Which sometimes works and sometimes feels like a PS2 era game.
    Also, stylistically the game isn't coherent enough. It's a mesh of Shadow of the Colossus, Zelda Breath of the Wild and INSIDE. And all this other games felt much more fresh and directed in their design.
    So, whatever. It's a great 2-3hr game. Which doesn't overstay its welcome. And at peaks it transcends to pure joy. But 50% of the game you can see a gamedesigner's work through stitches. It's still a product of love.
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    It's a decent game, but it's less than 2 hours long and offers no replayability. The gameplay is solid, albeit extremely simple, and you canIt's a decent game, but it's less than 2 hours long and offers no replayability. The gameplay is solid, albeit extremely simple, and you can tell it's been designed to be played once and put aside. Not BAD, but not great. Expand
  7. May 18, 2018
    0
    This game is so short that when it ends, you're going to scratch your head and ask... was that it? what happened? what's going on? is thereThis game is so short that when it ends, you're going to scratch your head and ask... was that it? what happened? what's going on? is there more? There is none.

    this game is slowing your progression by using cheap mechanics (with no reason what so ever).
    Snow, Sand, Wind. if you remove this you will beat the game in 20 minutes. (maybe less)

    this game taught me an important lesson, I will sure to remember it for a long time.
    Never read Positive and mixed reviews only, Read Negative review they are the important information.

    If this was a free game I wouldn't play it either. very sad that I bought into the hype train.

    If having fun, Story, Gameplay, a basic game at least. if you value your time and all the above...
    Stay away from this abomination (can't call this a game even) like FIRE!
    Expand

See all 185 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  2. The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring games released for the PlayStation 4 console in 2015.
  3. Best of July 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of July 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: July 31, 2015
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during July.