Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. 90
    Jurassic World Evolution takes the true theme of the film franchise and recreates it in a splendid park sim that gives players the power to create their own theme parks full of dangerous dinosaurs. What could go wrong?
  2. Jun 14, 2018
    85
    Frontier Developments offers us a solid management simulator with a wide range of options at our disposal, which are challenging from the start. A game that excites and thrills, and where the feeling of being in charge of a big science and entertainment company is very real. It doesn´t matter if you are a fan of the films, this game will keep you hooked for hours. Jurassic World Evolution is one of a kind.
  3. 80
    I must say I really enjoyed building and running my own Jurassic World park. It's not perfect, and certainly given the heritage of the developer in theme park games we possibly could have expected a bit more from it, but you just never know what DLC and the ongoing development promised of the game might bring.
  4. Jun 12, 2018
    80
    Jurassic World Evolution sits happily in the difficulty sweet spot: it's easy enough to pick up and play that park builder novices will likely have a good time, but it's involved enough that genre veterans should enjoy it as an amusing diversion between more hardcore titles. While there's a couple of tedious processes involved, building a park is generally entertaining, and dinosaur fans – who isn't a dinosaur fan? – will likely be enamoured with the array of creatures available, and the mischief they can get up to.
  5. Jul 14, 2018
    75
    Frontier Developments offers an entertaining title under a graphic aspect perfectly linked with the reality of the dinosaurs. The amount of species to discover add much attraction and the possibility of visiting the park in third person is all a success, although those who aren’t lovers of the gender can find it boring and repetitive.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jul 31, 2018
    70
    A fussy but enjoyable slice of strategy that serves up the very best dinosaurs in PlayStation history. Mr. Hammond, consider your park endorsed. [Issue#152, p.83]
  7. Jul 19, 2018
    70
    Is Jurassic World Evolution worth the price of admission? That’s tough to answer. On one hand, I look forward to dinosauring (as I call it) every night, especially after I’d unlocked the challenge-free sandbox which allows me to build the park of my dreams without limits, but unlocking every piece of technology and every species of dino means slogging through an uninspired campaign. It’s frustrating, but there’s still nothing like watching a newly-hatched T. rex roar her way out into the world.
  8. Jun 28, 2018
    70
    It’s when you’re unable to finance new research centers or expeditions where the game gets tedious as you sit and wait for enough money to come in to make new stuff. If you don’t mind that, then you’ll find Jurassic World Evolution to be a mostly fun exercise. Fans of theme park sims will enjoy the challenge of monitoring a park where the attractions can swallow guests whole. And you know there ain’t no coming back after those lawsuits.
  9. Jun 22, 2018
    70
    Probably the best ever use of the Jurassic Park licence in a video game, marred by repetition and exploitable systems.
  10. Jun 21, 2018
    70
    When it's all working, it's like watching the components of a well-oiled machine tick over. Though it's similarly fun, albeit sadistic, to watch a full park of guests scramble for the emergency shelter when you trigger the alarms.
  11. Jun 19, 2018
    70
    A simple park simulation game, with good graphics. A bit too easy, it's good for Jurassic Park's series fans.
  12. 70
    Jurassic World Evolution is – in many ways – the game that you make it. Fans of the franchise will jump for joy as they stumble across the classic original movie skins for the ranger jeeps while Dr. Ian Malcolm explains his theory on the meaning of life in a voiceover. They’ll be so happy that a lot of the flaws can and will be overlooked by those people.
  13. 70
    Jurassic World Evolution isn't exactly a great park management sim. It's light on far too many of its facets, bringing a lopsided feel to its structure. Even so, the relative accessibility of the game and the attention given to the dinosaurs make up for most of the issues. The ride is enjoyable enough, but the lack of sim depth makes this a bit of a toothless attraction.
  14. Jun 18, 2018
    70
    Jurassic World Evolution is an unmissable title for fans of the most famous prehistoric saga of all time but not convincing enough for those looking for a well-calibrated management system.
  15. Jun 18, 2018
    70
    Jurassic World Evolution may not be the deepest management sim ever, but it embraces its subject matter with gusto.
  16. Jun 26, 2018
    63
    A pretty short and mediocre tycoon game. Jurassic World: Evolution has a lot of good ideas, but the execution is bad.
  17. Jul 11, 2018
    60
    Jurassic World: Evolution is selling us short as a management game. There are many dinosaurs to create, but none of them really differ from each other.
  18. Jun 19, 2018
    55
    After playing over fifty hours of Evolution, I still certainly had my fair share of fun. The dinosaurs are absolutely the star of the show here and surprisingly enough, the controller support for Evolution is spot on and really intuitive. But if you're looking for a solid dinosaur-themed tycoon or business sim, then you might wanna keep looking.
  19. Aug 26, 2018
    50
    Jurassic World Evolution is an okay game. There is plenty of fun to be had testing your ability to create large pens of dinosaurs living in harmony.
  20. games(TM)
    Jul 14, 2018
    50
    Far less engaging than it should be. [July 2018, p.70]
  21. Jun 21, 2018
    50
    Ultimately, Jurassic World Evolution feels built largely for the film franchise's biggest fans. Which is to say, for those who will be so giddily distracted by the ability to drive alongside dinosaurs, snapping pictures, that they won't mind that the simulation options offered up only go skin deep.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jun 27, 2018
    Jurassic World Evolution can never quite transcend a certain knocked-off feeling tied to its licensed roots. Fans of sim games looking for a new RollerCoaster Tycoon are going to leave disappointed, let down by its lack of power and creativity as a theme park-designing tool. But people looking to spend some time in the Jurassic world—and especially ones looking to bask for a while in the presence of some beautifully detailed virtual dinosaurs—will probably get a kick out of it.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 81
  2. Negative: 14 out of 81
  1. Jun 14, 2018
    4
    Thought i'd give the ps4 version a go to see how it stands next to the pc equiv.

    The vanilla ps4 has some graphical issues but the pro does
    Thought i'd give the ps4 version a go to see how it stands next to the pc equiv.

    The vanilla ps4 has some graphical issues but the pro does a better job though frame rate , popup and texture issues persist on top of the existing pc gameplay issues which are still awaiting a patch. Also the game pad though good isnt great and it costs the game another point... so we go from yellow to red (sorry).

    I'm a big fan of the franchise and sims like planetcoaster (mindblowing game). Ive seen every film, bought the merch and played the better games. I love dinosaurs and even collect fossils.

    The game is good if you like mobile games where you wait long times with little to do. It's good if you like stats more than everything else. It's good if you love looking at dinos but not doing much with them. So for some it's good. 

    For others who maybe love jurassic park or world and expected a mixture of strategy gameplay types, variety and little repitition ...maybe not so much. 

    The game looks really good though it has some graphical issues (see above). It sounds great with epic music but a mix bad of film star voices and terrible impressions. 

    You can drive 2 (3) vehicle types but you don't do much with them and the beautiful gets very samey quickly.
    Both jp world films have bikes...game has de-evolved so no bikes. 
    There isnt much botany variety or options to study this important part of the film either. You can take photos but its gets boring quickly. 
    There are no water dinos or flying ones oddly enough. I have a feeling missing elements will be expensive dlc.

    It has virtually no guest management which is odd for a park sim. No children either which is just surreal for a dino park and franchise based on children in peril. The game expects you to wait long periods of time for the dinos and in that time it would have been nice to look after guests or even build a toilet or a ride...none of that basic park sim stuff. 

    The maps can be quite restricting and very fiddly at times as can the dinos who aren't really like any actual real animal due to thier limited behaviour. Its a bit paper scissors rocks and when they fight the outcomes make no sense. 

    A lot doesn't make sense. Especially the very crude way the staff are managed. Id have hoped for real espionage and takeover bids and the Jurassic park stuff we love but its been watered down to prompts. Many of the missions were identical and lazy with different factions asking the same requests but equally criticising you and really basic dumb sabotage not on the scale of the films. 

    Microtranactions. I feel this game will be adding lits of paid dlc. Theres some free film tie in but that's actually marketing material so meh. The digital has preorder b.s. but physical copies when released in a month will have to pay for that day one removed content dlc. I found this a little shady. 

    Overall i feel its one of those games which deserves an instant sequel which im sure will be infinitely more varied and interesting and fun. 

    Sadly there will be no mods on pc which is basically a scam to sell endless dlc despite what they claim and with so many major parts to this intricate puzzel missing i feel this is a huge mistake.

    The current game seems very old fashioned and the ui is poorly presented at times. Maybe more time would have helped but they were clearly forced to releaae early due to the film tie-in.  If id have to describe the games greatest achievement id say the dinos...but its failure is way too much busy work for 2018.

    Wait for a sale. 

    Id have given a 6 but the microtranactions annoyed me as do these gushing 9-10 reviews for a game which just isnt as good as its predecessors and dev high pedigree.
    I will give the ps4 version a red mark for the additional graphical issues not seen on pc but if you love JP then change 4 to an easy 6. Maybe a patch and free dlc will improve things.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2018
    7
    So like many of you i was a HUGE fan of JPOG and was super excited when JW Evolution first previewed almost a year ago.

    I played for a
    So like many of you i was a HUGE fan of JPOG and was super excited when JW Evolution first previewed almost a year ago.

    I played for a solid 4-5 hours last night and this would be my immediate feedback.

    I've only played the first island as I want to learn as much as I can about the mechanics of the game before moving onto more difficult environments, so yes the tutorial island can be a bit dull, however, I haven't been bored just yet.

    Graphics are amazing, the dinosaurs look incredible! Its a kind of trail by error introduction to the game, although, you get the hang of things pretty quickly.

    Yes, they park management could be a little more involved. You should be able to set prices for admission, stays at the hotel, there should be bathrooms and benches and water features etc. to be able to make it your own (I'm hoping FD hear's this and this is added later).

    Little things like how the goat doesn't try to run away right before being eaten by a carnivore or when you drive the jeep into a crowd nothing happens, this is an annoyance and the power grid system is a bit confusing to learn at first.

    For the people who complain about the length it takes to acquire dino dna, JPOG was very similar so I don't know why this is such an issue to some of you? Also, do you want to be able to create all the dinosaurs quickly? I feel like that would be anti-climatic? You have to keep on top of your expeditions and ensure they are always off getting new fossils, I wish there was a way to set this automatically until the site has been depleted?

    The same thing can be said for research, you want to ensure you're always on top of this.

    I like the missions and different divisions to keep happy, adds some variety to the experience.

    The dinosaurs DO keep you busy though as your park expands (disease, reloading feeders, deaths, etc.)

    Overall, the game is solid, its not perfect, but I'm sure this was pushed to come out to coincide with JW Fallen Kingdom and hopefully FD will continue to build and enhance and listen to us fans.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2018
    8
    * Time Saver Review! *

    Gameplay: Park-sim builder with the classic JP license behind it (think Operation Genesis on Xbox). Everything works
    * Time Saver Review! *

    Gameplay: Park-sim builder with the classic JP license behind it (think Operation Genesis on Xbox). Everything works well enough, with some lack in focus on the finer details of the building mechanics, but does a nice job utilizing the park and dinosaur components to create satisfying chaos.

    Graphics: Very nice, a few dips in frame-rate when the screen was filled with screaming citizens. Some of the texture pop or collision detection failures when flying in the chopper. Nothing too drastic, a good look overall.

    Sound: EXCELLENT. The Dino's sound great, you can tell having access to audio files from the films paid off here. Ambient noise is done well, voice actors all did very good - even Goldblum was a joy to listen to and never felt un-enthusiastic or detached in the narrative.

    Overall: Easy to pick up and play, but with a good amount of complexity stemming from menu management and balancing the three tiers of your park (Science, Amusement, Security). Its a nice tribute to a forgotten Xbox game and the JP franchise - although you can tell the focus here was all on the dinosaurs. That's fitting, but some of the other builder/sim mechanics in the game suffer for it.

    Chaotic and fun - 8/10
    Full Review »