User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 120
  2. Negative: 21 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2021
    9
    This game is simplicity done right. The game is beautiful, the soundtrack is incredible and the gameplay is simple but fluid and fun. The game runs surprisingly well on PS4. The progression could be better but for the first game of an indie studio this is a masterpiece.
  2. Sep 24, 2021
    3
    Good:
    -Animation
    -Music
    -Boss Fight
    Bad:
    -Story
    -Characters
    -Collectibles are useless
    -Upgrades are useless
    -Combat is extremely simple and is extremely repetitive
    -Gameplay was repetitive
    I did a review on the game on my YT channel
  3. Sep 27, 2021
    8
    Игра мне понравилась. Очень красивое, милое, сказочное приключение, в котором и неплохие загадки есть, и боевка хорошо отточена, боссы разнообразные (хоть и убивались по одной тактике почти), есть элементы платформинга, тоже не что-то выдающееся, просто норм. Взаимодействие с тленышами прикольное сделано, не только помогают с головоломками, но и в бою, ну и шапкодрочерство здесь возведеноИгра мне понравилась. Очень красивое, милое, сказочное приключение, в котором и неплохие загадки есть, и боевка хорошо отточена, боссы разнообразные (хоть и убивались по одной тактике почти), есть элементы платформинга, тоже не что-то выдающееся, просто норм. Взаимодействие с тленышами прикольное сделано, не только помогают с головоломками, но и в бою, ну и шапкодрочерство здесь возведено в абсолют :) Артдизайн безумно красив, на пс4 про временами даже подлагивало. Поначалу, глядя на карту думал, что опять открытый мир, но оказалось, что он довольно компактен и долго возиться в нем не получится, что только плюс. Сюжет... какой-то шаблонный, про познание себя и мира, всё в таком духе, не напрягает и хорошо. Блин, игра, созданная студией из 15 человек без игрового опыта, выглядит и звучиткруче многих ААА-игр от крупных издателей, моё почтение. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2021
    10
    Amazing game ! The OST was super good as was the story. I was a part of the game. Love the Rots
  5. Oct 31, 2021
    10
    Kena is an amazing game. Fluid gameplay, fast pace combat, incredible soundtrack and boss fights that are really challegning even on defaut difficulty. But it's only a matter of learning the buttons and solving the puzzles each boss is, like it is in shadow of the colossus. I really don't understand the 0's here. People are just mean and lazy to lear a how to play a real old fashion game.Kena is an amazing game. Fluid gameplay, fast pace combat, incredible soundtrack and boss fights that are really challegning even on defaut difficulty. But it's only a matter of learning the buttons and solving the puzzles each boss is, like it is in shadow of the colossus. I really don't understand the 0's here. People are just mean and lazy to lear a how to play a real old fashion game. Congrats to Ember lab, first game is already a must play. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2021
    9
    Has some bugs and fps drops on base ps4, but definitely must play in my opinion.
  7. Sep 23, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es un video juego excelente Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2021
    9
    Great game, great story, great playability! The graphics are superb even on a PS4 and the soundtrack is spot on! Buy this game. Graphics 10/10, sound 10/10, gameplay 9/10, loading 9/10.
  9. Sep 23, 2021
    0
    Repetitive gameplay, bad level dial because it's full of invisible wall that I can't access, there are rocks that I could clearly jump and it should be possible but when I jump there's an invisible wall that doesn't let me stand on top of it, skill tree extremely limited.
  10. Sep 26, 2021
    1
    Say hello to hitboxes! Hidetaka Miyazaki learned from the developers of this game !!! the hitboks of this game are very sad!!
  11. Sep 22, 2021
    1
    Boring too simple Indiegame. A game for housewives but not for real gaming experiences.
  12. Sep 24, 2021
    8
    The game gets better and better as you play. It started off a bit rough for me, but I was impressed by the end. The visuals are breathtaking and gorgeous all the way through. There is a lot of platforming and combat. The combat is kind of repetitive but the combat system gets more rewarding the more you upgrade your move-set. There's also a lot of collectibles to find. I'd rate it aThe game gets better and better as you play. It started off a bit rough for me, but I was impressed by the end. The visuals are breathtaking and gorgeous all the way through. There is a lot of platforming and combat. The combat is kind of repetitive but the combat system gets more rewarding the more you upgrade your move-set. There's also a lot of collectibles to find. I'd rate it a higher score if there was some more variety to the game besides mainly platforming and combat. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2021
    10
    An excellent game, I love it, A beautiful story, a beautiful atmosphere, beautiful music, became one of my favorites, excellent game A beautiful story, a beautiful atmosphere, beautiful music, became my favorites, excellent game!
  14. Sep 25, 2021
    9
    Очень красивая игра для playstation 45! хотелось бы конечно русскую озвучку ))
  15. Nov 8, 2021
    5
    Looks nice, but has become very monotonous in terms of play.
    It seems like the good old copy-and-paste principle was used to create the game world. The 40 euros doesn't hurt now, but you expect more.
  16. Nov 13, 2021
    10
    Videogaming at it's best!
    I very rarely give a 10 but this gem needs to be played.
    Great overall atmosphere, awesome combats with a bit of tactic involved with various difficulty levels that make it enjoyable for everyone.
  17. Sep 25, 2021
    9
    Kena: Bridge of Spirits
    Pure beauty
    Kena Bridge of spirits is a 7 and a half hour long 3d platformer where you play as kena, youre tasked with helping purify souls and the land around you.. there are 3 main spirits that need your help, theyre tormented by something in their past.. so youll go to each area of the map, traversing through environmental puzzles, gathering items to be able to
    Kena: Bridge of Spirits
    Pure beauty
    Kena Bridge of spirits is a 7 and a half hour long 3d platformer where you play as kena, youre tasked with helping purify souls and the land around you.. there are 3 main spirits that need your help, theyre tormented by something in their past.. so youll go to each area of the map, traversing through environmental puzzles, gathering items to be able to summon the spirit of that area and help purify them in a boss battle.. let me start off by saying a lot of critics are calling this the best ps2 game of the year.. if you actually play more than AAA titles youll know that Kena Bridge of Spirits is nothing like a PS2 game other than LOL you jump in a 3D world if anything this is closer to a modern Tomb Raider game meets the pathless. Youll explore these little open areas, findig these cute charcters called Rots, you collect these rots which helps you level up and unlock new skills and you use these rots to purify the land and get to one of the 3 items you need to summon th spirit.. to do this youll go into these areas that are corrupted, there will be enemies there for you take take down, after a while you can sick your rots onto a corrupted heart and you then explode it and the land clears up and you can move on.. rinse and repeat.. howver not a repetitive rinse and repeat.. what kena does so great on is its pacing.. combat is few and far between, and im so glad it is because of how dull and boring combat is here… youre kinda just mashing buttons.. the joy comes from exploring, finding these rots, finding hats for them, and solving the puzzles… these puzzles aren’t necessarily hard.. theyre all environmental and just come down to you spotting the solution, and as you progress the game youll gain new items such as a bow that can zip you through the air, and a bomb that can fling debris up into the air.. constantly changing the puzzle solving up… but again simple puzzles.. this is a game you sit back and enjoy.. no thinking no stress.. just doing.. and I loved that.. and onto the beauty of this game.. The charcters, the level design, the set pieces.. this game is gorgeous.. my only real negative aside from the awful combat, iss the pretty lackluster story.. don’t get me wrong I absolutely loved the first half of this game, I even cried becsue the emotions and storying telling was so good.. but after that, the storytelling falls flat and is kinda just there…
    That being said Kena is a really special game and is a must play.
    I give Kena: Bridge of Spirits
    an 8.5/10
    Expand
  18. Oct 25, 2021
    5
    Un titolo estremamente mediocre. Non so il perché di tutta questa meraviglia per un nulla di nuovo. Già visto e rivisto. Combat system legnoso sotto alcuni aspetti, grafica carina (si salva solo quella) e longevità nella media. Non dico che sia pessimo, ma non è un giocone.
  19. Nov 14, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is very beautiful and the story is great yes some of the boos fights do have you thinking on how to do them which most games nowadays don't do, I can't recommend this game more then I am already Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2021
    8
    Kena is simply a gem. The first game of Ember Labs delivers, the gameplay sometimes it is kinda simple but effective. Kena shines in bringing to the table an interesting and moving story for all ages.

    Lovely and emotional characters and their stories allows us to have a glimpse into this world that has a lot of love and dedication poured in it.
  21. Oct 31, 2021
    8
    A gorgeous game (on PS4 pro) with frustrating mechanics, invisible walls, twitch response events and the occasional glitches.

    Progression requires practice, willingness to parkour and puzzle solve without much in the way of hints, and boss battle willing to lose until you learn individual battle mechanics and damage avoidance.
  22. Oct 6, 2021
    9
    This game is gorgeous. Everything from the story to character animation to the level design is top notch. Combat has a bit of a learning curve and feels sorta 'mushy' at first. The level of polish on this thing from a first time studio is quasi insane. I think it's safe to say we can expect awesome things from Emberlab in the future.
  23. Oct 24, 2021
    8
    O jogo entrega uma experiência fantástica, uma história linda recheada com uma trilha sonora espetacular e visuais de agradar os olhos. O game peca pela simplicidade da gameplay, repetitividade, muitos coletáveis que muito das vezes nos obriga ir atras para progredir melhor o personagem e tem uma durabilidade pequena. Um jogo com um potencial muito grande mas que sofreu com os adiamentosO jogo entrega uma experiência fantástica, uma história linda recheada com uma trilha sonora espetacular e visuais de agradar os olhos. O game peca pela simplicidade da gameplay, repetitividade, muitos coletáveis que muito das vezes nos obriga ir atras para progredir melhor o personagem e tem uma durabilidade pequena. Um jogo com um potencial muito grande mas que sofreu com os adiamentos mas ainda sim entregou um bom trabalho no final Expand
  24. Nov 1, 2021
    10
    Cool game Картинка и стилистика игры просто отличные, прям отдыхаешь в процессе. Длинный - олицетворение илоты.
  25. Nov 16, 2021
    5
    Very very hard. Was expecting a nice delightful puzzle like game, which it mostly is. But the bosses for each section are crazy difficult. Some of the puzzles also have no clues at all, so take lots of time “trying all possible combinations”, which gets boring fast. Have no idea why they made it so difficult. I barely finished it, but was angry that I wasted so much time trying andVery very hard. Was expecting a nice delightful puzzle like game, which it mostly is. But the bosses for each section are crazy difficult. Some of the puzzles also have no clues at all, so take lots of time “trying all possible combinations”, which gets boring fast. Have no idea why they made it so difficult. I barely finished it, but was angry that I wasted so much time trying and retrying to defeat the almost invincible bosses. A pity. It’s otherwise really nice and would have been an easy 9/10. Expand
  26. Sep 30, 2021
    10
    Great game!
    Wonderful world, wholesome conclusive story, wonderful art style, great exploration, breathtaking music, great puzzles, fluid gameplay, solid fighting mechanics. Very pleasing!
    I played on a PS4 pro and had no serious issues.
    One of the best games I have played recently. 10 out of 10.
    Can totally recommend it!
  27. Nov 4, 2021
    8
    8/10
    + Увлекательный и разнообразный геймплей
    + Идеально выдержанный баланс между боями и решением головоломок + Прекрасный визуальный стиль + Располагающая к погружению в игру атмосфера игрового мира + Достойное музыкальное сопровождение + Минималистичный и понятный игровой интерфейс, удобное управление – Предсказуемый и довольно нелепый сюжет, за всю игру не способный порадовать
    8/10
    + Увлекательный и разнообразный геймплей
    + Идеально выдержанный баланс между боями и решением головоломок
    + Прекрасный визуальный стиль
    + Располагающая к погружению в игру атмосфера игрового мира
    + Достойное музыкальное сопровождение
    + Минималистичный и понятный игровой интерфейс, удобное управление
    – Предсказуемый и довольно нелепый сюжет, за всю игру не способный порадовать хотя бы одним мало-мальски интересным поворотом, да ещё и оставляющий впечатление незаконченности после прохождения
    – Побочные задания выглядят сделанными для галочки: процесс их выполнения однообразен, а само их выполнение никак не сказывается ни на сюжете, ни на состоянии игрового мира
    – Использование в игре открытого мира весьма сомнительно: ввиду его слабой проработанности и полного отсутствия интересной побочной активности он не располагает к исследованию
    – Игровая вселенная оставляет впечатление очень поверхностно проработанной: многие освещённые в завязке игры её аспекты так и остаются нераскрытыми даже после прохождения
    Expand
  28. Sep 24, 2021
    10
    Отличная игра, играем всей семьей, за штурвалом младшая дочура - 8 лет, нормально справляется на минимальной сложности. Трогательный сюжет. Интересные бои грамотно разбавлены интересными загадками и путешествием. Картинка и стилистика игры просто отличные, прям отдыхаешь в процессе. Тленышы - олицетворение милоты. Производительность на слимке на достойном уровне, вообще без проблем. 10/10,Отличная игра, играем всей семьей, за штурвалом младшая дочура - 8 лет, нормально справляется на минимальной сложности. Трогательный сюжет. Интересные бои грамотно разбавлены интересными загадками и путешествием. Картинка и стилистика игры просто отличные, прям отдыхаешь в процессе. Тленышы - олицетворение милоты. Производительность на слимке на достойном уровне, вообще без проблем. 10/10, на кончиках пальцев, не знаю за что тут бал снимать. Expand
  29. Sep 29, 2021
    9
    The graphics put you straight into a Disney movie. Hands down enjoyed Kena, and the story line. Beautiful, wholesome. Battles could even be difficult!
  30. Oct 19, 2021
    6
    Beautiful game that looks like a Pixar film but plays more like a Soulsborne. I'm playing the default difficulty and every 10 minutes there’s another boss kicking my ass. (Though there is an easy, mode, it eliminates almost all challenge from boss fights -- the gap between those two modes is very wide.) I've seen it tagged as a "Zelda like" but gameplay is MUCH more combat-focused thanBeautiful game that looks like a Pixar film but plays more like a Soulsborne. I'm playing the default difficulty and every 10 minutes there’s another boss kicking my ass. (Though there is an easy, mode, it eliminates almost all challenge from boss fights -- the gap between those two modes is very wide.) I've seen it tagged as a "Zelda like" but gameplay is MUCH more combat-focused than that series.

    One thing I do really appreciate is that that Kena collects the karma used for upgrades by restoring parts of the forest -- picking up fallen statues, etc. instead of destroying things.
    Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2021
    10
    Great game and gameplay is excellent!anyone who liked ghost of tshushima will most likely love it.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 15, 2021
    80
    Kena: Bridge of Spirits grounds itself on relaxation, healing, and cuteness, getting us to reflect and meditate on the beauty in the world when there is darkness abound.
  2. Oct 6, 2021
    70
    As its first major release, Kena: Bridge of Spirits must be considered a success for Ember Lab. There are areas where significant improvement can be made, especially its combat, but the game provides a strong base to build upon. The overall gameplay will be very familiar to 3D adventure fans, but the visuals and charm help to make it feel like a fresh experience in the genre. More adventures for Kena and the Rot would be very welcome.
  3. Sep 30, 2021
    85
    Although far from being revolutionary, Kena Bridge of Sprits is a compelling action-adventure game with an heart-warming hero and really cute creatures to play with. Ember Lab put in this game all their experience in character design and animation, giving us a splendid – but also somewhat repetitive – cartoon movie to play with.