Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
Watch Now
Buy on
  1. Feb 5, 2020
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero begins on the road and expands to dozens of stories, all of them unforgettable. A must-play mystery and surreal adventure that took almost 10 years to be complete and has defined the ways of telling stories in video games, influencing many different titles.
  2. Feb 4, 2020
    100
    Even if the typical story-driven adventure game isn’t quite your thing, I think the overall experience is so unique that there’s a good possibility you’ll see past the style of gameplay, and still manage to see what makes this game so affecting. So give it a shot on whatever platform you have access to, you won’t be disappointed.
  3. Feb 3, 2020
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero is lost in the illusive premise of the American Dream but found in the elusive dream logic of its weird, wild, and wonderful prose. Through it all are characters who conceal pain and loss with whimsical musings of hope and escape and locations engulfed in a meditative haze where brutal reality is indistinguishable from isolated reverie. At the end lies a paradox that suggests a circuitous path was the shortest course to an inevitable destination, and the assurance that Kentucky Route Zero’s seven-year voyage knew its direction all along.
  4. Feb 3, 2020
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero isn’t a game for everyone, and as a piece of art it is bizarre and gives no clear answers. However, it doesn't have to, and instead allows its characters the room to breathe and push forward its themes in a way that very few games have been able to manage. Kentucky Route Zero has a finale well worth the wait, and a complete package that stands as one of the most interesting video games ever created.
  5. Feb 1, 2020
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero is about America in a way that few games aspire to be and fewer still succeed at, as its deceptively quiet story gives way to something odd, sad, and brimming with humanity.
  6. Mar 31, 2020
    95
    Part point-and-click radio play, part adventure game audiobook, Kentucky route Zero is as much of a journey in sound as it is a meditation on surrealism. I’d nominate it for the Booker Prize in literature before I’d hand it a Keighley statue at the Video Game Awards.
  7. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    It took the better part of a decade to happen, but I’m finally in a position to say that when everything was said and done, Kentucky Route Zero came together beautifully and has solidified itself as essential for anyone interested in games that have plenty to say and share their message in a beautiful way.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 12, 2020
    90
    Crams philosophical discourse, art, architecture, and magical realism into the story of one drifter, resulting in a unique experience that will leave you thoughtful. [Issue@173, p.85]
  9. Feb 28, 2020
    90
    Kentucky Route Zero is a rare video game that is able to find magic in the mundane, transforming a seemingly routine truck delivery into a fantastical odyssey through the heartland of Americana. There really isn't anything else quite like it.
  10. Feb 5, 2020
    90
    Kentucky Route Zero is oneof the most rich and captivating experiences you'll “play” this year and maybe for many years to come.
  11. Jan 30, 2020
    90
    Even with a downright cavalcade of triumphs, Kentucky Route Zero’s strongest asset is its ability to redefine itself from episode to episode. The deeper your journey goes, the stranger things get, but the more they make sense too. While the game will definitely be a bit too bizarre and densely obtuse for some, this is a game unlike anything you’ve ever played before.
  12. Feb 26, 2020
    85
    Kentucky Route Zero is the demonstration that the indie landscape still has surprises for us. Pure artistic expression from its beginning to its end is a profound title in its themes that satisfy the most demanding users and interested in the different aspects that pursue the new narrative in video games. However, you can lose others and have some moments when your story can be too confusing if you don't follow it carefully. Anyway, we are facing a revolutionary and daring work and you should not stop giving it a chance.
  13. 85
    Kentucky Route Zero is a game for those who are happy to slowly digest the measured nuances of a text heavy, but visually stunning and thought provoking adventure. Narrative weirdness abounds but it is anchored by a cast of charming and gentle characters who you will grow to love.
  14. Feb 11, 2020
    80
    Those intoxicated by the game’s dreamy brew may argue that there are no detours—that, like the Zero, you’re either on it or you’re not. If you’re anything like me and Conway, however, you’ll be somewhere in-between.
  15. Jan 30, 2020
    80
    An arrestingly surreal triumph that blends point ‘n’ click and text adventures with a unique style of storytelling and gameplay that was well worth the extremely long wait.
  16. Feb 7, 2020
    45
    Kentucky Route Zero is an incredibly dull and over-embellished text adventure that fails to engage, entertain, or provide much value to anyone but perhaps the uppermost art connoisseurs.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 23 out of 76
  1. Feb 10, 2020
    3
    I just don't get the appeal to this game, unfortunately. The art style is great and I really wanted to love it, but the story is so tediousI just don't get the appeal to this game, unfortunately. The art style is great and I really wanted to love it, but the story is so tedious and boring that I just couldn't get into it. Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2020
    0
    I'm from rural eastern kentucky where the game is set so out of curiosity I bought this game full price for PC in 2013 when 3/5 of the actsI'm from rural eastern kentucky where the game is set so out of curiosity I bought this game full price for PC in 2013 when 3/5 of the acts had come out in a relatively short timespan with the release of the final 2 seeming imminent, and it took them 7 years to release the final 2 acts. I went through 3 different laptops in the span it took them to finish this game so my save files are gone, as if I could even remember what was going on. I started and finished college and moved to different states twice in the years it took them to finish this game. Final fantasy 7 remake took less time to make than the final two acts of this game. Now they want to cash in again on the hype on this unnecessary "tv edition." It's an overhyped overrated hipster game with a nonsensical story. Currently rated the #3 best ps4 game of 2020 on here. Don't fall for it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2020
    3
    I'm usually a huge fan of games like this, and had heard a lot praise for it, so i was excited to hear that this game was finally coming toI'm usually a huge fan of games like this, and had heard a lot praise for it, so i was excited to hear that this game was finally coming to PS4. Sadly Kentucky Route Zero does not live up to it's hype. It's basic to the point of feeling like a budget mobile phone game, and has very little atmosphere. The dialogue is pretty poor and nothing about the story or characters really draws you in. Some of the scenes are done in a very beautiful art style, but unfortunately a lot of the games story is just text on the map screen, which makes it feel like you're playing a game from the 1980's...not in a good way. If you want a game in this style that really delivers, try: Oxenfree, Firewatch, Night In The Woods, Even Everybodys Gone To The Rapture feels like it has more gameplay and that game is very basic. The difference is, Rapture has a great story, fantastic characters who are very well voiced by a talented cast and an incredible soundtrack. Basically your money could be spent better elsewhere. Full Review »