Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: KINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue is a compilation of 3 magical KINGDOM HEARTS experiences: Originally released in 2012, KINGDOM HEARTS Dream Drop Distance HD is a full-HD remastered version of KINGDOM HEARTS 3D Dream Drop Distance, brought to console for the first time. SeriesKINGDOM HEARTS HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue is a compilation of 3 magical KINGDOM HEARTS experiences: Originally released in 2012, KINGDOM HEARTS Dream Drop Distance HD is a full-HD remastered version of KINGDOM HEARTS 3D Dream Drop Distance, brought to console for the first time. Series protagonists Sora and Riku take on the Mark of Mastery exam in preparation for coming threats. The signature action of the KINGDOM HEARTS series has evolved, allowing players to experience faster-paced battles and exploration at a blistering pace. KINGDOM HEARTS χ Back Cover (movie) A new HD movie that tells the mysterious story of the Foretellers, connecting the earliest parts of the series’ history, showcased in the mobile title KINGDOM HEARTS Unchained χ. KINGDOM HEARTS 0.2 Birth by Sleep – A Fragmentary Passage – A completely new playable episode that links to the story of KINGDOM HEARTS III, taking place after the storyline of KINGDOM HEARTS Birth by Sleep played from the perspective of Aqua. [Square-Enix] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue Trailer - TGS 2015
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Jan 23, 2017
    100
    What makes KH 2.8HD enjoyable more than most would expect is how it properly comes full circle with the story. Playing 1.5 and 2.5 leaves many questions that don't get answered until KH3D. This may come as a bit of a shock considering KH3D was a 3DS exclusive prior. Because of that, some fans haven't fully experienced what's out there for Sora and Riku's journey leading up to KH3. As a fan, this was a great way to start the New Year. As a gamer, watching a series like Kingdom Hearts evolve into what's included in this release is what we could hope for in other franchises.
  2. Jan 23, 2017
    90
    While it’s not the new Kingdom Hearts game that many may have wanted, it’s much more than just a simple collection of old titles or some cheap cash-in. It’s a bridge to what awaits, and I can’t help but feel excited after watching the credits roll for the umpteenth time.
  3. Feb 15, 2017
    80
    Kingdom Hearts 2.8 is thoroughly enjoyable, even as a newcomer, but it requires a lot of homework via YouTube clips and Wiki. The characters are varied and vibrant, and the lineup includes some classic headliners. It's a great taste of what's to come in Kingdom Hearts III, but I feel it's priced a bit high for what it delivers.
  4. Jan 23, 2017
    76
    Of all of the HD remastered packs of the Kingdom Hearts franchise, 2.8 is probably the one with the least gameplay hours, but the one that fans will want to have the most, because of the innovative Birt By Sleep 0.2. This A Fragmentary Passage is 3 hours long and is more a visual and gameplay prelude of what we'll have in KH3.
  5. Jan 23, 2017
    75
    Kingdom Hearts fans - particularly those who can justify the game's astronomical price point of $60 for about five hours of new content - will definitely enjoy their brief time with Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 26, 2017
    70
    At this point you’re probably wondering: if 2.8’s best bit is that brief, is 2.8 even worth it? Honestly, you’ll have to follow your heart on that one. [April 2016, p77]
  7. 50
    This is the most disappointed that I’ve been with Square Enix for quite some time.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Feb 20, 2019
    10
    i cant express enough the love i have for all the charecters and story of this saga. loves DDD HD and 0.2 cant wait for the next saga witht hei cant express enough the love i have for all the charecters and story of this saga. loves DDD HD and 0.2 cant wait for the next saga witht he foretellers and master of masters....... LOVE KINGDOM HEARTS ALL DAY EVERY **** DAYYY Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2017
    10
    A great compilation that features old and new adventures in the Kingdom Hearts series, featuring the 5 year old 3DS title Kingdom Hearts DreamA great compilation that features old and new adventures in the Kingdom Hearts series, featuring the 5 year old 3DS title Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance in new HD, new 5 hour+ game Birth by Sleep 0.2 and 1 hour long movie X Back Cover. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2017
    10
    A fantastic compilation that features old and new adventures in the Kingdom Hearts series, featuring the 5 year old 3DS title Kingdom HeartsA fantastic compilation that features old and new adventures in the Kingdom Hearts series, featuring the 5 year old 3DS title Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance, new 5 hour+ game Birth by Sleep 0.2 and the 80 minute long movie X Back Cover.

    Dream Drop Distance has made its way over to the PS4 extremely well. With crisp HD visuals, 60fps and new content, the game is massively improved. It performs extremely well on PS4 and the previous touch controls for 3DS have been changed for PS4 and it all works great! The music is amazing like every other KH title! DDD HD is an excellent re-release and is definitely the main meal of this collection. One issue I have is the camera has been changed from 3DS. It isn't as close as it was before, but that's just me. Rating: 10/10

    Birth By Sleep 0.2 is a great look into what we can expect from KH3. Featuring smooth and responsive combat and a new graphics style for the series, with extremely high quality detail from the particles to the shadows and lighting, the game looks absolutely incredible. The music for 0.2 is creepy and dark and is super fitting for the setting! The story will last around 3-8 hours depending on your playstyle as you travel through the dark world as Aqua and there's other content such as objectives, unlockable gear, treasure chests and a secret boss. I found it to be a good length for a prologue to KH3 but could have been slightly longer with maybe a few more areas to explore. Rating: 9.5/10

    X Back Cover was an enjoyable film which is set before the events of the original Birth By Sleep title. The characters were interesting and the graphics are insanely good through the use of unreal engine 4. The voice acting was great! I really enjoyed X Back Cover! Rating: 9/10

    I'm going to give this collection a 9.5/10 overall! Its a great gateway to KH3 and I think any fan of Kingdom Hearts who enjoys the stories of KH will love this entry.
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2017
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2.8 is nowhere near as bad as people describe it. It's a bit short, yes, but the experience is still worth the wait. Dream DropKingdom Hearts 2.8 is nowhere near as bad as people describe it. It's a bit short, yes, but the experience is still worth the wait. Dream Drop Distance runs at a crisp 60fps, 0.2 has...well, great graphics (although the Sleeping Beauty level might need a bit of work.), and Back Cover, while nothing too new, was an exciting movie from start to finish. All in all, this game, along with 1.5+2.5 on the PS4, is virtually everything you can have while you wait for Kingdom Hearts 3. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2017
    7
    So, Dream Drop Distance is an absolute pleasure. It is in crisp HD and running a solid 60 FPS. But, that is only one portion of this package.So, Dream Drop Distance is an absolute pleasure. It is in crisp HD and running a solid 60 FPS. But, that is only one portion of this package. 0.2 to me was quite a letdown. It feels very unpolished. The animations are stiff, the control isn't as precise as it ought to be. Try running in a tight circle before you judge this critique yourself. There are performance issues and frame drops. It doesn't *feel* like a Kingdom Hearts title. I think the art-direction gets lost between trying to appear somewhat more realistic and animated at the same time. Everything has the gloss to it. It's just not for me. For the retail price, it's not worth it. But, again... DDD though. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2019
    7
    Si no fuera por mi amor a esta saga y por la opción de disfrutar de Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance en español, me parecería una totalSi no fuera por mi amor a esta saga y por la opción de disfrutar de Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance en español, me parecería una total tomadura de pelo. Kingdom Hearts 0.2: A Fragmentary Passage no es más que una demo de la tercera entrega, poniéndonos en la piel de una Aqua que deberá enfrentarse a sus miedos y enemigos en el Reino de la Oscuridad. Por su parte, DDD, el título de 3DS, es uno de los más ambiciosos de la franquicia, pero el sistema de captura de aliados, las historias capadas y, por encima de todo ello, el sopor (que puede fastidiarte una pelea final a mitad de la misma) hacen de esta obra un quiero y no puedo constante, recordándonos la grandeza de otros juegos como KH 2 o Birth By Sleep. Aún así, resultan imprescindibles para el devenir de los acontecimientos, más aún si tenemos en cuenta la película, X Back Cover, que también se encuentra disponible en este pack. Si eres fan de la saga es una genial oportunidad para disfrutar de dos entregas y un filme de la misma, pero, bajo mi punto de vista, empieza a representar la decadencia de una franquicia que debió dar un giro hace mucho tiempo. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2019
    0
    Esta critica se eliminara dentro de unos días.
    Mi teoría empieza en KH1, cuando Sora dice que ha tenido sueños muy raros. Yo creo que no se
    Esta critica se eliminara dentro de unos días.
    Mi teoría empieza en KH1, cuando Sora dice que ha tenido sueños muy raros. Yo creo que no se refiere a la tormenta de la isla si no en realidad al final de lo que será la franquicia. Todo ha sido un sueño de un niño con cáncer y sin piernas(why not?), al que le encanta las películs de Disney y los Final Fantasy, por ese motivo se monta su mundo de Fantasía.
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews