Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 22, 2019
    95
    Life is Strange 2 - Episode 3 continues to impress in terms of soundtrack, setting and character development. It's not as fast paced as the others in this series, but it works perfectly for the emotional narrative underpinning the overall journey.
  2. 90
    By choosing to flesh out the supporting cast, Life is Strange 2 reaches a new high with the release of Wastelands. It's an emotionally intense episode that both builds and destroys the bonds Sean has worked so hard to forge.
  3. May 14, 2019
    90
    For all of its criticism with themes, Dontnod exemplifies its fantastic approach to different issues, such as sexuality, in a respectful manner and naturally injects them into the story. If Episode 3: Wastelands is a taste of what’s to come from Life Is Strange 2, then the episodic series will continue to move from strength to strength going forward.
  4. May 28, 2019
    85
    In the series' third chapter, Life is Strange 2 delivers its best episode yet that touches on Sean and Daniel finding themselves in the wild.
  5. May 9, 2019
    83
    Wastelands is the best episode of Life is Strange 2, at least the most mature one.
  6. May 10, 2019
    82
    Life is Strange 2: Episode 3 - Wastelands is the third installment of the second series of Dontnod Entertainment, full of characters, meditation and narrative points.
  7. May 9, 2019
    82
    This is undoubtedly a successful episode, even if it is the victim of some small rhythm problems, and now we just have to wait for the next (very hot) act. Just a shame that we will have to wait quite a while ...
  8. May 21, 2019
    80
    “Wastelands” has a better understanding of what makes Life is Strange 2’s story work, and is more enticing for it.
  9. 80
    Life Is Strange 2 Episode 3: Wastelands is the weakest and shortest installment of the game so far. The dialogue-heavy episode starts slow but finishes strong and sets up a new obstacle for Sean and Daniel with a real cliffhanger of an ending.
  10. May 13, 2019
    80
    The best episode of Life is Strange 2, with some lovely character moments, a decent cast, and a welcome twist to the always excellent soundtrack.
  11. 80
    Though it's definitely not without its flaws, "Wastelands" is a huge step in the right direction after the previous episode was pretty lackluster.
  12. May 9, 2019
    80
    Short but intense episode that begins to show what this season of contents is going to be capable of showing. Multiple endings and a satisfying cliffhanger for this 2 hour adventure that leaves us wanting the 4º episode.
  13. May 9, 2019
    80
    The goal of making it to Puerto Lobos feels increasingly immaterial given the escalation of Daniel's powers and the hurdles in their way. As they say, the journey matters far more than the destination, and Sean and Daniel's journey is one that continues to intrigue.
  14. May 13, 2019
    78
    The original game charmed people with its characters and premise but fell through on delivering a satisfying story. This game feels like it’s been mapped out from beginning to end, and this strength carries me through its weaker moments so I can experience events like the climax of Wastelands. I have faith in Life is Strange 2 that it understands where it’s going and what it wants to do, and I’m here for the long haul.
  15. May 17, 2019
    75
    Life Is Strange 2 – Episode 3 won’t keep you busy that much. But you’ll have to make many decisions and all the choices really held shaping the two antagonists. A moving and well written piece.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 13, 2019
    The plot leaves Sean and Daniel on a brutal cliffhanger, and I can’t wait to see how it resolves. Episode 4 can’t come soon enough. Nice work, Dontnod, you’ve reeled me back in. At this point, I’m reasonably sure that Season 2 will live up to Season 1. And by that, I mean that it will cause me to cry myself to sleep and feel shaken for days after.
  2. May 9, 2019
    This episode marks a clear turning point for the boys. Instead of going from one safe harbour to another on their journey down to Mexico, there’s a clear shift to simply being on the run once more. The dynamic between Daniel and Sean will be clear to see once more, especially as Daniel’s powers grow stronger and stronger. I just have to hope that I can still remember their names at the end of August.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 25 out of 55
  1. Jun 13, 2019
    1
    In case you are wondering why this episode it rated higher than the previous ones: The brother we are forced to escort takes a backseat to aIn case you are wondering why this episode it rated higher than the previous ones: The brother we are forced to escort takes a backseat to a number of new characters. The location is also not changing.

    Overall this seems like a desperate attempt to go back to the LiS gameplay after the fist two episodes where a complete disappointment.

    They seem to have succeeded in that damage control, but overall this is once again a rather weak entry into the franchise because as with S2EP1 and 2 the game lacks direction and story.
    Full Review »
  2. May 26, 2019
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The human interactions between Sean and the other "Campers" are great. The Lovestory is well written and the end has a cool plottwist. Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2019
    3
    So, the training of yound Daniel Skywalker continues, but in this episode he and Sean are not the most important thing, so they introduced aSo, the training of yound Daniel Skywalker continues, but in this episode he and Sean are not the most important thing, so they introduced a bunch of new characters with 2 returning ones from a previous episode of LiS 2. It's funny that they managed to make me more invested in their stories than the protagonists'. At this point i would rather continue watching their story, but of course in the end they decided to take them all away just after 1 episode.

    The only reason why giving this episode a 3 is that Daniel wasn't in the spotlight most of the time, which just shows what a bad job they did with the writing during the 2 episodes. Most people doesn't care about the story we got, so we are more interested in side character stories.

    The choices are still just illusions, we can't really affect anything major in the story. Just a reminder: This is the sequel of the game that had Kate Marsh in it. Everyone who played LiS 1 knows what i mean.

    The story is still going nowhere, which is just annoying. LiS 1 was full of interesting storylines. Kate Marsh, Chloe Price, Rachel Amber, Victoria, Nathen, Jefferson, David and more. LiS 2 has nothing. We have 2 kids who want to go to Mexico... great, but they are not progressing at all and everything that happens to them is completely irrelevant because at the end of every episode, they lose everything over and over again.

    Such a shame. I still stand by my opinion. We needed the sequel of Chloe's and Max's story, not this story filled with nothing.
    Full Review »