Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 4, 2019
    95
    This final episode of Life is Strange 2 showcases the powerful emotional storytelling that video games can harness. It is a fantastic example of the medium and the perfect end to a series that continues to deliver on its high expectations.
  2. Dec 6, 2019
    90
    Life is Strange 2 ended as it began: an emotional, uncompromisingly political story that succinctly represents player choice in its final moments.
  3. Dec 4, 2019
    90
    The ending of Life is Strange 2 is awesome, proving that Dontnod Entertainment has improved a lot.
  4. Jan 9, 2020
    85
    Life is Strange 2 found not only a unique voice with the debut of Sean and Daniel, but an important one.
  5. Jan 3, 2020
    85
    ”Wolves” is as short as it is exciting. It’ll hold our attention at every minute, and the outcome of our choices (even the ones we made in earlier episodes) is as surprising as it should be. Life is Strange 2 aims for impact and importance, and even though the game’s social justice message may be a little naive, the ending works.
  6. Dec 9, 2019
    85
    The final episode of Life is Strange 2 brings closure, though the shape this takes depends on the choices you've made throughout the rest of the season. The different endings are more than worth it and enough to forget about the regularly hiccuping framerate.
  7. Dec 5, 2019
    85
    Over the last year, Life is Strange 2 has been quietly weaving a powerful and sincere narrative experience that admirably carries on the series’ legacy.
  8. Dec 5, 2019
    85
    The second season of Life is Strange is now completed: Life is Strange 2: Episode 5 Wolves, the final episode, is amazing.
  9. Dec 16, 2019
    80
    The conclusion of the Life is Strange 2 season is a great one. It answers all the questions you have and goes out with a bang. All of the seven endings are emotional and worthy to the season. The epic journey of Sean and Daniel is a great one and your choices really matter in the end. DONTNOD once again delivered a great season.
  10. Dec 9, 2019
    80
    As the game itself states within the blog of a gone-but-not-forgotten ally from Episode 1, "It's not a happy ending, but maybe it can be a hopeful one."
  11. Dec 21, 2019
    78
    Life is Strange 2 is a much less subtle part than its predecessor and makes it difficult to get used to it, due to constantly changing characters. The game remains exciting from start to finish, but fortunately does have the same zen moments as its predecessor.
  12. Dec 17, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. 70
    A relatively engaging finale but one that suffers from all the problems of the series as a whole, with too little interactivity and a lethargic plot that struggles to get into gear.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 16 out of 42
  1. Dec 5, 2019
    9
    A powerful end to a great story. I think some people are going to be “triggered” by the whole racist divide in America issue, and will wishA powerful end to a great story. I think some people are going to be “triggered” by the whole racist divide in America issue, and will wish LIS had “kept their politics out of the game”. I suppose my response would be:
    - it’s their game, so they can do what they want - you can’t say Americans of Latino background don’t encounter racism regularly. So it’s not unrealistic (Daniel’s powers on the other hand...)

    Personally I really thought the story of brotherhood connected deeply and the choices at the end were truly difficult. I felt comfortable with mine. I didn’t backtrack on any decision the whole way so I really felt like I owned this ending.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2019
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. About time this game is finally done.

    The last episode was another disappointment, this one is slightly better but as with the very first episode the French developer is unable to address politics with the honesty and nuance they require, which of course once again takes away from the story they are trying to tell.

    It is funny that after saying for years that they do not want to define anything regarding Max and Chloe they caved hard and spent time on doing them justice and updating the player on how they are. Products always have to fail in the market before developers get off their high horse and actually start caring about what the people that buy their games want.

    This does not save this game from being a terrible entry in the Life is Strange franchise, but it does give hope that the publisher finally understood why the first game was so popular.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    Intenso ed emozionante, commuove e fa riflettere. Questo è Life is Strange 2, la storia dei fratelli Diaz, costretti ad un viaggio in cuiIntenso ed emozionante, commuove e fa riflettere. Questo è Life is Strange 2, la storia dei fratelli Diaz, costretti ad un viaggio in cui dovranno lottare contro pregiudizi, violenza e tanti altri aspetti tanto reali nella nostra società, che culmina in una fase finale che colpisce forte al cuore e che rende difficile dare l'addio a questi due fantastici protagonisti.

    Lo consiglio a tutti coloro che vogliono vivere un'avventura indimenticabile.
    Full Review »