Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. May 3, 2015
    90
    It’s a smart game that’s essential for anyone who thinks they can see through the mechanics of other episodic, choice-based games. We thought we could, and Life Is Strange slapped us in the face.
  2. Mar 30, 2015
    90
    As interesting as exploring the ramifications of [the main character’s] time-manipulation abilities are here, the most resounding moments are those centred on less fantastic issues.
  3. Mar 27, 2015
    90
    Through peerless cinematography and sound design, Dontnod imbues everyday moments like waking up or riding the bus with profundity.
  4. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Whilst Dontnod refuse to directly answer a bunch of the questions posed in the first episode, Episode Two succeeds at adding yet more wrinkles to what is quickly becoming a compelling story arc that will likely span all five episodes before delivering its answers.
  5. Mar 27, 2015
    87
    Out of Time takes the strengths of the debut and runs with them, while also making a respectable effort of addressing its problems. I’m certainly looking forward to my next trip to Arcadia Bay.
  6. Mar 24, 2015
    86
    'Out of Time' is slighty better than 'Chrysalis', which means it's a great experience you don't want to miss if you enjoyed the first one.
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    85
    Crysalis introduced the setting and characters in a fascinating way, but this second chapter really kicks off. The narration is above average, and the outcomes are starting to look really promising.
  8. Mar 24, 2015
    83
    This is a very irregular episode, but a great ending and the impact of small decisions we made throughout the two chapters makes it worth your time.
  9. Apr 5, 2015
    81
    Life is Strange Episode 2 is where you start to truly witness and experience how the choices you make affect the story.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 1, 2015
    80
    For all its strides in pacing and character development, the same pitfalls that dogged its predecessor still lurk within. [June 2015, p.88]
  11. May 4, 2015
    80
    The second episode pushed the storyline forward with a style. Technical issues and low impact of your in-game choices denied the better score. But the breathtaking finale indicates we have something to look forward to. The story openly avows to the David Lynch legacy and together with a perfect atmosphere there is a potential to catch gamers’ curiosity - an extremely important ingredient for a story-driven game.
  12. Apr 22, 2015
    80
    Out Of Time doesn’t make the same impact that Chrysalis did, but it is just as good in every respect.
  13. Apr 1, 2015
    80
    Even though Life is Strange's second episode didn't further very many existing storylines (that we could tell), it expanded on character and motivations for many of the role players we've been spending time with, and will likely see more of again in the future.
  14. 80
    Following through on the tone of the first episode, Life is Strange: Episode 2 - Out of Time features natural story and character progression with gravitas-laden decisions that will shape the future.
  15. 80
    Life is Strange Episode Two continues Max's adventure with an emotionally-charged plot and lush visuals.
  16. 80
    Just as I felt after playing Life is Strange: Episode 1, I left the second episode wanting to dive right into the next chapter. Despite some completely out of place and unrealistic reactions to things, many of the characters still had that indie movie charm and relatability about them.
  17. Mar 24, 2015
    80
    Aside from a few miscued points here and there with pacing or the game’s general presentation, this builds upon the first episode and draws you further into its tangled web of mystery.
  18. Mar 23, 2015
    80
    A solid second episode that meanders a little at first but has some of the most complex and thought-provoking moral decisions in any video game to date.
  19. Mar 23, 2015
    80
    Improves on what made episode one so great, while adding a bigger, more impacting story.
  20. Apr 6, 2015
    78
    Life is Strange Episode 2 once again successfully ticks all the right boxes and creates a very interesting game driven by player choice and repercussions.
  21. Apr 1, 2015
    78
    Dontnod Entertainment has a knack for keeping the flaws hidden in Life is Strange thanks to an engaging story. Even if pressing buttons in the right order or at the right time isn’t your gaming ‘thing’, the Twin Peaks driven feel of the story will keep you coming back for more.
  22. Mar 24, 2015
    78
    Arcadia Bay shows us its streets, its people, its places, and we walk through there with Maxine one more time in this unique and mesmerizing micro-universe from Dontnod. This second chapter shows us the weight and magnitude of our decisions and choices, particularly in its brutal climax. The game still is very easy, and takes too much time to start in this chapter, but it deserves our time if we like this kind of Telltale/David Cage experience.
  23. Apr 13, 2015
    77
    With this second chapter Life is Strange becomes better because the game retakes what was right on the first episode with a story that is more interesting. If things continue in this way, the game maybe will be a surprise that we were not expecting.
  24. Games Master UK
    May 24, 2015
    76
    By showing signs of what it can be, rather than what it wants to pretend to be, things are far improved. [June 2015, p.77]
  25. May 1, 2015
    75
    The story is keeping a good pace and the time manipulation ability still impresses us. This could lead to something really good.
  26. Apr 8, 2015
    75
    Once again, the extraordinary capacity of Dontnod to tell stories leaves a mark, this time inferring doubts in the mind of the player and unleashing a couple of punches in the stomach that led us to think about our possibly wrong in-game choices.
  27. Apr 2, 2015
    75
    It was great to see just how my choices affected the game till now and I look forward to unearthing more secrets in this fascinating experience.
  28. Mar 27, 2015
    75
    It's a bit boring in its first hour, but the second hour more than makes up for it. Your choices matter and make us yearn for the next episode. We want more.
  29. Mar 31, 2015
    70
    Out of Time may not be as captivating as the first episode, but it leaves plenty to look forward to and answers just enough questions to ask a few more.
  30. Mar 26, 2015
    70
    Despite the great way Out of Time handles emotional payoff, it suffers from problematic dialogue.
  31. May 21, 2015
    68
    It’s still easier to construct narrative contingency than to make it meaningful.
  32. Mar 25, 2015
    65
    It's an improvement on episode one, but there's too much inane padding in Out of Time for it to warrant a hearty recommendation.
  33. Mar 23, 2015
    65
    Even with everything that bothered me in this episode, I'm still entrenched in where Maxine's story is headed. Life is Strange has plenty of potential left, and Dontnod is making choices matter. However, characters and circumstances need be more natural and plausible for me to buy into this world. So much is too overblown.
  34. Mar 27, 2015
    60
    Life Is Strange: Episode 2 – Out of Time has an excellent ending, but it's letdown by pacing issues that make the events leading up to that point feel inconsequential.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 225
  1. Apr 7, 2015
    10
    This game is truly underrated. Dontnod and Square Enix really did give Telltale a run for their money with this episodic adventure.
    This
    This game is truly underrated. Dontnod and Square Enix really did give Telltale a run for their money with this episodic adventure.
    This episode is so much better than the first, and I adored the first. Your decisions seem to have a feeling that they have a greater impact more and more throughout this episode, I personally have started to favor and feel more attached to the characters as the this episode progresses.
    The atmosphere of the game is great too; I do not feel that how the characters speak are 'cliche' as the characters take the stereotypes which you think you know and make them their own. It all works.
    Yes, admitted the characters speech could look more realistic, but this is no reason not to enjoy the game, I barely noticed it, as the story and game is so immerse and gripping that you don't notice.

    All in all, this game is extremely good and this episode proves it. Very much worth the buy, you won't regret it:) bring on episode three!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2015
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed the first episode and was hoping for something of the same quality however this truly surpassed the first episode mainlyI thoroughly enjoyed the first episode and was hoping for something of the same quality however this truly surpassed the first episode mainly due to the emotional impact it left on me. A really fleshed out story where choices made do actually have an impact.

    Overall I think if you enjoyed the first episode you will love this one, otherwise if you enjoy a game with an excellent story then you will definitely enjoy this one!
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    This game is awesome, your choice matters and that's what I like :) Max is more intresting and the situations are awesome!

    Might be game
    This game is awesome, your choice matters and that's what I like :) Max is more intresting and the situations are awesome!

    Might be game of the year :)
    Full Review »