Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 8, 2021
    95
    Life is Strange: True Colors is the best adventure in the LiS franchise, by far. A warm story about empathy, and the effect of it, that will leave a mark in your soul.
  2. Dec 7, 2021
    90
    True Colors came with a great change, a one time release instead of an episodic one. The story, characters and other elements are at their root. True Life is Strange experience with a focus on trauma, life and what we make of it.
  3. 90
    Life is Strange: True Colors is just as much a story about Asian American heritage, mental illness, broken homes, and systemic failure as it is a drama centering around dealing with loss, regrets, and trauma. Alex, up until the events of the game, is forced to hide her emotions for fear of alienating everyone around her and appeal to potential foster homes. She despises her father—a first-generation Chinese immigrant—for leaving her and her brother after their mother died from an illness. Alex calls herself “broken,” and it’s only until she reunites with her brother Gabe that she finally begins the process of healing.
  4. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Sure, parts of Life is Strange: True Colors are really bleak, but ultimately it’s an uplifting, heartfelt story about what it means to find your own version of home. It tells that story in a way that feels perfectly sincere, which is something that is hard to come by in games nowadays. True Colors has officially redeemed the Life is Strange series in my eyes.
  5. 90
    Life is Strange: True Colors delivers an engaging and emotionally cathartic tale along with a surprisingly fulfilling new power. Its earnestness may not be for everyone, but fans of the series will find much to enjoy with this Deck Nine outing.
  6. Sep 13, 2021
    88
    No matter if you are a longtime fan of the franchise or if this is your first time, we highly recommend "True Colors" to anybody who appreciates great stories (with some twists) and well-written characters. Don't miss this one.
  7. Sep 17, 2021
    85
    If you were already a fan of Life is Strange, then Haven Springs is absolutely worth a visit. True Colors doesn’t introduce much new, but it continues the series' strongest points in a powerful new story that’s sure to have you chasing it down until the very end. And while the PlayStation 5 performance left a lot to be desired, it didn’t discount the experience enough to stop me from playing. Alex Chen will have a place in my heart for a good while.
  8. Sep 15, 2021
    85
    A mature tale about empathy that shows us the beautiful & difficult facet of life in an emotional rollercoaster ride.
  9. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    True Colors is a fantastic narrative experience, filled with rich characters and taking place in a beautiful, enchanting world. It is heartfelt and at times powerful, touching on the nature of grief, loneliness and belonging. True Colors will delight fans of narrative games, but is unlikely to win over the doubters. You probably know if you’ll like this one, and I’m here to tell those people that they won’t be disappointed.
  10. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    Life is Strange: True Colors is very much a Life is Strange game in all the right and wrong ways. The new characters and plot provide a refreshing new take in the series and an enjoyable experience overall.
  11. Sep 15, 2021
    80
    Life is Strange: True Colors opens phenomenally well and then somehow loses its way, never really knowing if it wanted to tell a cheesy conspiracy story or dive completely into slice-of-life territory. I wish it chose an identity. Most of all, I wish it took some chances. I don’t want to say the series is growing stale, but there’s certainly a careful balance needed between giving fans what they expect and reinventing some aspect of itself. This is a cool world to get lost in over a weekend, but it may float on by as a passing phase.
  12. Gameblog.fr
    Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Even if it feels like you've already played it a few times during its the first hours, Life is Strange True Colors feels definitley fresh thanks to its writing and lovable characters - thanks to its voice actors. The power of its protagonist could have been used in better ways in terms of gameplay, but this trip to Haven Springs will definitely captivate players in need of emotions.
  13. Sep 8, 2021
    77
    Life is Strange: True Colors lives up to the bar of the saga and deals with the subject of emotions in a responsible and realistic way. It's BSO is wonderful and despite having some bugs, the overall result is neat and we will enjoy it.
  14. Oct 1, 2021
    75
    True Colors takes advantage of the new generation platforms to present the best looking Life is Strange game yet, and as a result the player feels more connected to the characters and the overall story telling quality also improves. But other than this, the latest Deck Nine's game doesn't have much more to offer.
  15. Sep 15, 2021
    70
    When it comes down to it, Life is Strange: True Colors tells a good story, includes a strong cast of characters, and feels like a suitable successor in what is a reliable line of adventures that deal with tough topics. It has heart and people who enjoy adventure games and the series will likely fall in love with Alex, Steph, Ryan, and Haven Springs. If someone isn’t into the series though, it might not be the installment that changes their minds and makes them a fan.
  16. Oct 1, 2021
    60
    A gripping story, beautiful landscapes and convincing characters. Life is Strange: True Colors looks very promising, but still this game could not fully convince us due to the slow pace and sluggish dialogues.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 197
  1. Sep 12, 2021
    7
    This had potential to be the best Life is Strange game. There were times where I felt like that this was going to be the best but at the endThis had potential to be the best Life is Strange game. There were times where I felt like that this was going to be the best but at the end it disappointed because let me tell you one thing. It's basically a copy of the First Life is Strange. I appreciate the graphics, the soundtrack and the characters but the plot is kinda disappointing and it's really short. This game may be better than Life is Strange 2 and Before the storm, but not as good as the very first one. I suggest to wait for a price drop. So much potential but wasted Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2021
    4
    The story is relatively boring and presses on too many real world issues and fake news tropes. I am not sure who this game is actually for,The story is relatively boring and presses on too many real world issues and fake news tropes. I am not sure who this game is actually for, but it definitely is not your average gamer. Boring characters with issues that are obviously the work of an individual who idolizes far left ideology. The only really good character development is when she is reunites with her brother and things begin to look up for her. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2021
    3
    So booring story, without normal gameplay. If you love previous game, you can skip this chapter