Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jul 28, 2020
    72
    Maid of Sker - in some ways - could be described as a sort of Resident Evil 7 without weapons. A dilapidated house full of puzzles, the backtracking that repopulates deserted areas at first and the general atmosphere, have brought to mind several times the Capcom adventure. Clearly, the technical side pays the price for an immeasurably lower level of production, but in the same way it outlines the strength of its own qualities. Maid of Sker, however, is all about stealth, and while it gives us some tools to distract or block enemies, it doesn't stray far from its initial structure. Had it not been for a dark, kneaded aesthetic and some rather unfortunate game choices, we'd have a little classic on our hands.
  2. Aug 14, 2020
    70
    Maid of Sker is a well executed horror walking simulator, kind of basic but with a great atmosphere. Too bad that because of its very dumb enemies, it can't succeed in making you feel fear.
  3. Jul 30, 2020
    70
    Maid of Sker is at its best in its opening hours, when the sightless enemies are still threatening and the dark halls of the titular hotel loom large. After a while, though, you get used to the main offerings, while any attempts at creativity have mixed results.
  4. Jul 28, 2020
    70
    Maid of Sker is still overall a strong horror game. Veterans of the contemporary survival horror scene will know what to expect from its stealth gameplay, but its story and sound design carry it beyond the confines it sets for itself. Meanwhile, seeing a lesser-known story in a different form is certainly a change of pace from a game genre that can sometimes be a little too conservative to really deliver scares.
  5. Aug 12, 2020
    65
    Although it starts as a walking simulator, Maid of Sker turns quickly into a horror game that will remind you either of Silent Hills or Resident Evil or maybe of Outlast or Amnesia. No matter what your experience is with horror games, you will find their influence on Maid of Sker, which is not great, not terrible. It is a lukewarm experience, which rather frustrates than scares, and which due to its length and content can be recommended only after a serious discount.
  6. Aug 10, 2020
    65
    A decent experience.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 22, 2020
    60
    Sker Hotel is a beautifully realised survival horror location to get lost in for an afternoon– it’s just a shame about the monstrous staff. [Issue#179, p.81]
  8. Aug 14, 2020
    60
    Maid of Sker is an atmospheric horror game with interesting ideas and story, but falls apart relatively quickly due to some poor design choices.
  9. Aug 2, 2020
    60
    The designs of Elizabeth’s family aren’t so much foreshadowed as foreshouted, and the plot soon wavers off-key and winds up shipwrecked. But something about it hangs around, like the hum of an unsettling tune.
  10. 60
    An excellent premise, a compelling narrative, and an effective atmosphere of dread are scuppered by muddy visuals, an antiquated save system, and stilted gameplay mechanics lacking in new ideas. Multiple endings reward those who persevere though, so fans of folk-horror should sample the wares within Sker Hotel, but for most the game will feel stuck in the past.
  11. Aug 10, 2020
    59
    All in all, did I like Maid of Sker? That depends. I’ve certainly played worse games, and I’ve heard worse ghost stories. It didn’t scare me as much as I would hope, but there was some chilling imagery and a couple of moments that made me jump. On a narrative level, I can see the developer’s trying to make a point about colonialism or slavery, or even the history of English rulers trying to stamp out the Welsh language much like The Quiet Ones try to stamp out any noise. There’s a genuinely good- even great- idea here but the gameplay and execution let it down, and the marketing cared more about selling something unique than selling something accurate. I got something close to what I ordered, but not quite close enough for me to want a second helping.
  12. Jul 28, 2020
    55
    Maid of Sker is a long, linear hike through a very murky, muddy game world. Interesting story beats can't overcome the fact that Maid of Sker looks and plays like a frustrating game from an earlier era. Obscured visuals prevent any fun from being had with the stealth gameplay, leaving deaths feeling random and unpredictable. This hotel is best avoided, for reasons beyond its tortured history.
  13. Aug 11, 2020
    50
    Much of the experience is visually striking, and without spoilers, I can say that I enjoyed the suitably macabre story too. However, as a survival horror game it fails since any fear I experienced was quickly replaced with frustration — the broken central mechanic terrified me in all the wrong ways.
  14. Jul 28, 2020
    50
    Maid of Sker may be this developer's best attempt at horror yet, but it still falls short of something actually worth playing. A tightly-designed breathing mechanic proves there's potential to be realised and an engrossing setting could have been the cherry on top. However, Maid of Sker is let down by monotonous gameplay and enemies that aren’t even close to being scary. And that's probably the worst thing a game that claims to belong in the horror genre could do.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 28, 2020
    An effectively eerie backdrop is undone slightly by frustrating stealth in this enjoyable indie horror game.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 30, 2020
    6
    Maid of Sker
    A Siren Song
    Maid of Sker is a first person stealth horror game, a little mixture of outlast meets resident evil… here you play
    Maid of Sker
    A Siren Song
    Maid of Sker is a first person stealth horror game, a little mixture of outlast meets resident evil… here you play as thomas whos called to help his love Elizabeth escape from an attic in a creepy mansion…
    The entire game takes place in this mansion and consist of a sries of exploring each room for items to help you progress through the game and eventually get up to the attic, much like a resident evil game..
    you have a map and potential doors to go through, once maid of sker gets its hooks in you its hard to put down.. howver this game is only around 4 hours long, but I found this to be the perfect length.. im always on the side that believs horror games should be 6 hours or less.. theres only so much the heart can take.. and maid of sker smacks you constantly with heart pumping moments.. this is stealth from start to finish, though you do eventually get a tool in the game to help you out of sticky situations.. now onto the bad of maid of sker.. its just not good to look at… messing with settings helped me to better withstand these graphics.. but this game just looks awful, its 2020, I get this is an indie game.. but thiss again, a small bite sized 4 hour game.. theres no excuse for this game to look late gen ps2… its distractingly bad looking and really stopped me from fully being immersed in this world, from the lack of textures to the constant foggy dream effect…I never forgot I was playing a game.. I wasn’t mesmerized and lost inside of this creepy mansion.. but this is the games biggest flaw aside from buggy moments with the enemies… these enemies cant see, they have bags ovoer their eyes.. leading to an actually pretty manageable and not as annoying stealth gameplay as compared to the latest outlast game for example… you simply have to make sure you make as little noise as possible, skea around them, hold your breath when theyre near or when youe walking through dust so you don’t cough.. though moments where there are multiple enemies around just for the sake of annoyance.. once again pulled me out of the game and its world.. if these enemies will chase after any sound they hear, why are they not chasing each other around? Give me one enemy to deal with at a time please. The story here is also a pretty weak aspect of maid of sker.. the ending smacked me right in the face and was well worth getting to.. and there are even multiple endings if you care to uncover all of this games secrets to unlock it. But until that point its kinda just there n d told over a phone.. though the game does attempt a little bioshock story style here and there
    All in all Maid of Sker isn’t really anything special.. it does a lot of things weve already seen and once again to see them you have to deal with an awful immersion breaking visual style…
    That being said if youre a huge fan of the Resident evil games or outlast games.. Maid of sker will scratch that itch while you wait for the next one of those to come out..
    I give Maid of Sker
    a 5.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2020
    9
    At last, a horror game that we have all been waiting for. Everything about this game just feels great
  3. Mar 26, 2021
    6
    Story is good and interesting as is the voice acting, the music is stunning. However it’s predictable, the AI is bad and the game just isn’tStory is good and interesting as is the voice acting, the music is stunning. However it’s predictable, the AI is bad and the game just isn’t scary. Full Review »