Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Feb 1, 2016
    90
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is the best entry in the franchise to date.
  2. 90
    Far bigger in scope than any of its predecessors, Megadimension Neptunia VII has nevertheless managed to retain its focus over what fans enjoy about the series most; its humour and its fan service.
  3. Feb 12, 2016
    82
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is simply the best game of the series. With three different stories inside, a familiar gameplay with many and notorious improvements and the same charming presentations, we guarantee you that you will pass many hours enjoying this new Nep-Nep adventure.
  4. Apr 5, 2016
    80
    With an interesting plot, likeable characters, and gameplay that manages to hold up to the series' standard, Megadimension Neptuna VII is the best entry yet.
  5. Feb 9, 2016
    80
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is a bubbly game that I could easily see getting worn out with its abundance of releases. However, coming into it as a new player I really enjoyed the ride.
  6. Feb 7, 2016
    80
    Megadimension Neptunia VII breaks away from the formula and crafts a tale that had me laughing quite often, and gameplay that had me on my feet and scratching the back of my head in bewilderment over my next move.
  7. Apr 12, 2016
    78
    This game is meant to be enjoyed by fans of the series and the JRPG genre, but if you cannot stand large amounts of text and you love tons of action, this is not your game. Its approach to a more mature and complex story has been a success by Compile Heart.
  8. Mar 19, 2016
    75
    Like I said, if you haven't already fallen for the series, you're probably not going to have your mind changed here. Conversely, if you've loved the previous entries in the series, you're probably going to be over the moon for Megadimension Neptunia VII, since this is the series blown up to its most massive size yet.
  9. Feb 29, 2016
    75
    Very similar to the past titles in the series, this game is tried and true because Neptune never changes.
  10. Feb 16, 2016
    75
    This is the best main entry of the Neptunia franchise so far. It wanted to take a step in the right direction and it certainly does that.
  11. Feb 15, 2016
    72
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is the best entry of the series, with a better and darker story. The gameplay introduces a lot of new features, but you can't use them for a large part of the main quest. Graphically, playing the game on PlayStation 4 feels more like an enhanced port of a PlayStation Vita game than a whole new experience.
  12. Apr 10, 2016
    70
    Represents a strong step forward in a franchise that seemed all too content to stand in place. While I wish it went further with its parody than it ever really does, a sequel that doubles down on the good ideas introduced here could potentially lead to something great.
  13. Mar 29, 2016
    70
    The story is enjoyable, the characters are likeable, and the new mechanics that have been introduced work together to create a far more engaging experience from a gameplay perspective. While it may not go far enough to appease those on the other side, people sitting on the fence may do well to give it a purchase.
  14. Feb 22, 2016
    70
    Megadimension Neptunia VII shows that Compile Heart understands how to use the hardware to make their games feel faster and play better but is again let down by the same flaws the series has had for the last few games.

  15. Feb 10, 2016
    70
    With surprisingly enjoyable gameplay and a cleverly structured, often hilarious story, Megadimension Neptunia VII is the perfect entry point for those new to the series as well as a great new outing for long-time fans.
  16. Feb 9, 2016
    70
    In the end, Megadimension Neptunia VII can certainly be classified as the biggest and most competent Neptunia game to date, which may or may not sound as impressive depending how much of a fan you are.
  17. Feb 26, 2016
    68
    It's a classic Neptunia chapter, and you already know the drill. For some, it could be seen as a merry more of the same, but other might find it a little stretched.
  18. Feb 19, 2016
    65
    This one is for fans only; and good on Compile Heart and Idea Factory for that. So to the Nep-heads who have enjoyed the series’ take on the console wars and its obsession with pudding and boobs: I can’t think of a reason why you shouldn’t pick this one up. To everyone else, there’s probably a better RPG you should spend your time and money on.
  19. 65
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is a mixed bag, with great combat elements and parody sadly shuffled together with overly padded plot, repetitive boss fights, and boring story presentation.
  20. Apr 7, 2016
    60
    For fans of the previous games, Megadimension Neptunia VII pretty much offers more of the same but a little quicker and prettier. For those still not acquainted with the series however, whilst this is as good a time as any to jump in, the twee storyline full of fan service will probably present a barrier to completely enjoying it.
  21. Feb 17, 2016
    60
    While the game may have benefitted from enhancing some of its mechanics, it's by no means a bad RPG experience – just one that we feel like we've had many times before.
  22. Feb 3, 2016
    60
    Megadimension Neptunia VII is slightly refreshing, but not enough to really revitalize this aging series.
  23. 40
    There was hope that the Neptunia series would finally fulfill its potential on PlayStation 4, but sadly that hasn't happened. Good ideas are still tarnished by poor execution and disgusting attempts at fan service.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 134
  2. Negative: 32 out of 134
  1. Feb 3, 2016
    10
    DON'T LET WESTERN REVIEWS FOOL YOU! If you played a Neptunia game then you know what you want and what to expect! It seems US critics are veryDON'T LET WESTERN REVIEWS FOOL YOU! If you played a Neptunia game then you know what you want and what to expect! It seems US critics are very sensitive to Japanese culture and what is acceptable for them. There's no need to rate down a game because it offends you or doesn't match your culture. This game is fantastic and a great installment that will propel the series to new heights. The soundtrack is out of this world and amazing, gameplay is the best its ever been with a deeper combat system. Best portrayal of the characters and writing since the first game. Recommended to anyone who loves JRPGS. Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2016
    10
    The greatest Neptunia game made yet. The best thing is that the series is just going to get better and better. The higher production values inThe greatest Neptunia game made yet. The best thing is that the series is just going to get better and better. The higher production values in this installment shine brightly. Amazing soundtrack, very pretty graphics (even at 1080p 60fps!), and amazing fun characters! I can definitely recommend this to Neptunia fans or anyone who wants a silly and mindless JRPG. You can't go wrong with this one! Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2016
    8
    The game could definitely be more refined performance and graphics wise, but I praise Compile Heart/Idea Factory's efforts for their firstThe game could definitely be more refined performance and graphics wise, but I praise Compile Heart/Idea Factory's efforts for their first major western console release.

    Combat does have some tweaks, but if you've been through Re;birth 1, 2, and 3 in that order then you will know exactly what to expect in terms of how much has changed.

    It's enough to keep you playing if you're a fan, but some call the series a "rehashing, repetitive combat" RPG. I don't agree with the latter statement, because this newest Megadimension entry for the PS4 feels fresh, I just wish it had more content and the textures were a bit sharper. Also, I'm still not sure if the game does run at 60 FPS consistently or not, but I'll update back later along with other impressions of the game.
    Full Review »