Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    Metro Exodus‘s gorgeous visuals are somewhat undermined by the NPC clipping issues and texture pop-in, and one has to wonder if those issues would have been ironed out had the game spent some more time in the oven. But even though its technical issues, lack of genuine horror, and bland cast make it fall short of its predecessors, Metro Exodus is still a decent mix of the franchise’s traditional stealth/shooter gameplay and a semi-open world environment.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    Metro Exodus is a solid conclusion for a cult series that made its name in rough charm. The open world and stealth systems of the conclusion to the trilogy are largely missteps, but it’s when Metro Exodus returns to its horrific roots, with a bunch of caring comrades, that the game fires on all cylinders.
  3. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    These thrills and chills are irritatingly tempered with menial tasks, poor voice acting, dull stealth and a soulless hero, all of which prevent Metro Exodus from achieving its true potential.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    The journey of Metro Exodus is more rollercoaster than train ride, with peaks and troughs rather than a steady level of quality throughout. Its technical issues make the product feel rushed, but these are worth suffering for a series that’s ultimately heading down the right track.
  5. Feb 13, 2019
    68
    The quality of this Russian odyssey is as inconsistent and varied as its climatic zones. But despite all its flaws and weak AI it still manages to create a solid post-apocalyptic action experience.
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    60
    Metro: Exodus ultimately seems less interested in the process of how humanity breaks down than its grisly end results.
  7. Feb 14, 2019
    60
    Metro Exodus has the potential to be a solid game, but it just isn’t there in its current state. Those on the fence best wait for a few patches before picking this one up.
  8. Feb 13, 2019
    60
    While Metro: Exodus delivers on its promise of deep and meaningful combat situations that let you approach encounters from any angle you can think of, its technical shortcomings are simply unforgivable. Combine that with a plot that doesn’t answer its most intriguing questions and you’ve got an experience that will please at times, but will also disappoint those looking for something meaningful outside of the distribution of bullets.
  9. 60
    While Metro Exodus doesn’t do anything wrong as a blockbuster shooter, where the original titles were original and refreshing, Exodus is yet another in a ever-deepening pile, and the Metro franchise deserved better than to be exhausting.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    We need more experiences like Metro Exodus that know how to resist empty bloodshed and kindle such closeness, finding the warmth in the wasteland. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    In a departure from the last two games of the series, Metro Exodus sends players into the great outdoors of post-apocalyptic Russia where, unfortunately, the formula that worked for the last two games falls apart...If only Metro Exodus had a little more Metro and a little less Exodus.
  3. Feb 13, 2019
    I expected more polish this time around and, so far at least, I feel a little let down. The game looks salvageable, and I expect it to perk up after a few patches. But, because of the bugs, even die-hard fans may want to wait for a while before they commit the time to get stuck in. [Pre-review based on 10 hours]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 868 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    great game and it deserve 9 at least not 8!!!!!!
    high graphic
    best story telling
    heavy shooting
    its must buy game
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    2
    Insane deadzone in Metro Exodus PS4 controls
    I love metro games, i was enjoying a lot previous metro games on ps4, but in metro exodus
    Insane deadzone in Metro Exodus PS4 controls
    I love metro games, i was enjoying a lot previous metro games on ps4, but in metro exodus sensitivity is horrible, it makes it unplayable and only thing i feel is frustration. Developers, please, fix it, sensitivity in your game... Its just a totally mess.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    1
    Someone told me that I'm in for a treat when he heard I was about to jump into Metro Exodus. I'm hearing left and right how great this game'sSomeone told me that I'm in for a treat when he heard I was about to jump into Metro Exodus. I'm hearing left and right how great this game's story is, but sadly I'll never reach that far. Just about an hour into the game and I want to sleep. The voice acting is TERRIBLE.. **** terrible I tell you. I kept searching for a way to turn it into Russian with English subs, but I couldn't... Only Russian subs. I also hate the fact that I have to hold down Square so many times... Hold square to climb, hold square to prone, hold quare to open the door, hold square to move through a tight wall. God damn man, this is just boring overall and I'm saying this as someone who spends at least 50-60hours average on games because I also collect trophies. This is the second time I ditch a game so fast in this gen (RDR2 was the first).

    P.S. Not impressed with the framerate either.. This is no way a stable 30fps and the motion blur is just tragic..
    Full Review »