Metro Exodus Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 907 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, andIn Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, and follow a story-line that spans an entire year in the greatest Metro adventure yet. [Deep Silver] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metro Exodus - Official Trailer | Gamescom 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Apr 8, 2019
    100
    Having moved the action away from the dark tunnels of Moscow's underground onto a train, going into the unknown and forced to make stops throughout the journey, Metro Exodus' authors created a memorable interactive adventure consisting of happiness from discovering love and grief from irreplacebale loss, hope of better future and despair from understanding the truth. On top of that one might call Exodus a distorting mirror that reveals the most horrible sins of mysterious Russian soul: heresy and servilism.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    The best post-apocalyptic survival game of the generation, that innovates in terms of both its varied gameplay mechanics and its incisive storytelling.
  3. Mar 29, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus opens up a world held closed by its predecessors. This time, it's up to our well known hero Artyom to explore the unexplored regions of Mother Russia, in all of its open world glory. So sit back and enjoy the unique experience, visual wonders and darkest secrets of the beloved Metro universe.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    It still has some of the technical issues we’ve seen from 4A Games before, but Metro Exodus stands as a terrific post-apocalyptic shooter that expands on the series’ customization options and environments without ignoring its survival roots. 4A Games remains committed to turning author Dmitry Glukhovsky’s stories into (barely) living and breathing worlds, offering brief glimpses of hope in an otherwise depressing and occasionally nihilistic tale. Exodus establishes Metro as one of the great narrative-focused shooters, and it proves that exciting action doesn’t have to come at detriment to story.
  5. 80
    Metro Exodus is an entertaining post-apocalyptic shooter that isn’t afraid to take chances with the series’ formula.
  6. Feb 13, 2019
    75
    Metro Exodus feels like a solid simulacrum of someone else trying to make a Fallout game, for all the benefits and drawbacks that entails. Its maps are fun to explore, and effort has been put into making the side areas rewarding in both narrative expansion and bonus upgrades to your gear. That said, Exodus doesn’t have the same handle on ambient storytelling and visual interest to drive you to investigate every corner of the map.
  7. 60
    While Metro Exodus doesn’t do anything wrong as a blockbuster shooter, where the original titles were original and refreshing, Exodus is yet another in a ever-deepening pile, and the Metro franchise deserved better than to be exhausting.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 195
  1. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    At first I thought I wouldnt like it as much as the earlier Metro games, but boy was I wrong. Clearly the best in the series. Do I wish ArtyomAt first I thought I wouldnt like it as much as the earlier Metro games, but boy was I wrong. Clearly the best in the series. Do I wish Artyom spoke? Yes, but other than this this is by far the most accomplished and riveting Metro game yet Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2019
    10
    Now I know why this game is the most hyped and best game of the year.
    1. Amazing Graphic, gameplay, sounds, music and EVERYTHING!
    2. Most
    Now I know why this game is the most hyped and best game of the year.
    1. Amazing Graphic, gameplay, sounds, music and EVERYTHING!
    2. Most popular game of the year.
    3. Everyone talk about it and it has the most and best metascore critics.
    4. Much better score than Crackdown 3
    5. Much better score than Far cry new dawn.
    6. Probably will even beat Anthem too.
    7. Best shooter I ever played.
    8. Most beautiful game so far.
    9. You are not a gamer if you didn't try it yet.
    10. You live only once, so try it, before it's too late!
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    great game and it deserve 9 at least not 8!!!!!!
    high graphic
    best story telling
    heavy shooting
    its must buy game
  4. Mar 20, 2019
    8
    Игра хорошая, но так нагло проебать сюжетные линии с Чёрными, надо уметь, осталось ощущение, что игру делали совсем другие люди. ДаИгра хорошая, но так нагло проебать сюжетные линии с Чёрными, надо уметь, осталось ощущение, что игру делали совсем другие люди. Да разработчики молодцы, сумели сделать норм сюжет. Ну хотя-бы упомянули её. Это ещё пол-беды для человека, игравшего в 1 и во 2 части. Самый пиздец начинается в технической составляющей игры. Постоянные баги, и летающие боты, и баги анимации, из-за которой мне пришлось перепроходить Волгу.Летающий сквозь стены Мельник. Ладно игроки могут себе полёт включить, но NPC то как могут? ООО лицевые анимации. На лицах NPC эмоции почти не наблюдаются. Даже камень бы эмоциональнее сыграл. в общем, игры выпустили крайне рано. Она полностью сырая. Но всё равно мне игра понравилась. Она заставила несколько моих лицевых нервов подёргаться. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2019
    6
    Would be a really good game if the game didn't crash constantly and corrupt my save resulting in an entire day of lost progress. Seriously,Would be a really good game if the game didn't crash constantly and corrupt my save resulting in an entire day of lost progress. Seriously, this game needed another year to fix all the bugs and crashes. There hasn't been a patch in a long while to address these still very prevalent issues, so if you're considering buying this game, just know that the developers have completely abandoned it and remember to back up your saves FREQUENTLY.

    Sucks because aside from all the bugs and crashes, the game is really good. Like REALLY good. It just needed more work before being released.
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2019
    4
    While the game looks spectacular - despite the frame rate issues - the game-play has clearly suffered as a result. I haven't played any of theWhile the game looks spectacular - despite the frame rate issues - the game-play has clearly suffered as a result. I haven't played any of the other Metro games, but in comparison to other FPS, this game is about as clunky as they come: movement speed is comically slow for the setting, weapon aiming is some of the worst in the last decade, button layout is overcomplicated, and traversing the open world quickly becomes an exercise in avoiding scenery so your avatar doesn't get stuck on invisible objects or protrusions. In these respects, it feels as though it bears more in common with Fallout than a more traditional FPS.

    The voice acting for the English dub isn't the worst I've heard on this generation, but the low quality dialoging and the editorial choices to overlap character dialogue result in conversations that are far from convincing or compelling. In large conversations, or conversations where other dialogue is taking place behind a wall or in another room, the important information becomes difficult to distinguish from the background content. It's not an inherently bad choice to do overlapping audio, but it needs to be executed such that the important dialogue is always louder than less important dialogue - a technique called side-chaining. This is made worse by the subtitles that are in a difficult color with little effort put into distinguishing speakers from one another.

    These are really a shame as the underlying story is interesting and something I'd like to get involved in. I'm not sure that the gameplay will allow me to really invest myself in the world the way I'd like to. I constantly feel as though my immersion is being broken, in part by the mechanics that are intended to increase immersion. For instance, rather than providing a radar with a location or quest indicator, the game provides you with a map that is referenced in real time. More often than not, you end up wandering around a location with no idea where to go next trying to find some object to open a door or a boat to climb into. It's deeply immersion breaking, and results in an unpleasant playing experience.

    Perhaps the worst of all these issues, though, is the nauseating field of view. I do not get motion sick, I do not have issues playing fast motion games, I do not have issues watching shaky cam movies. This game, however, makes me ill. Not only is it nauseatingly narrow, it actually makes it difficult to see what's happening in the environment around you: enemies will pop out of your FOV with no notice, objects will protrude and make contact with the player avatar but never actually broach into the FOV, and scripted movements like climbing, "swimming", and rowing the boat all create a distinct sea-sick feeling. It's perhaps the most pronounced failure of FOV I've seen this generation, and the lack of any FOV slider may actually be so bad as to be considered game breaking.

    I absolutely do not recommend this game for PS4 in its current state. It's clearly not had the amount of time necessary to optimize it for consoles, and I thin there have been many creative decisions made that exchange quality gameplay for excellent graphics. I have no idea if any of the issues outlined will be fixed, or it patches are something 4A does with any regularity, but there's a host of glaring problems in the game that need to be addressed before this is worth much more than $30.
    Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2019
    0
    The most disappointing Game 2019 so far.
    - characters are shallow, edgy and have clipping errors
    - character personalities are shallow as if
    The most disappointing Game 2019 so far.
    - characters are shallow, edgy and have clipping errors
    - character personalities are shallow as if copied from a cheap telenovela show.
    - female protagonist (your wife) is silly and needy all the time and doesnt stop showing you this in every possible situation!
    - story is boring and it is hard to connect with any character in this game or feel empathy of any sort.
    -maybe that's one of the reasons why they moved to epic store!
    -most annoying Boss encounters (mutant bear)
    -same **** mistakes as in Mass Effect 3

    I mean it is a ok game after all, it is not Fallout 76! ;)
    But some gaming magazines rated this game with 90 or more! Where very ok games like Wolfenstein 2 only got a rating of 89!

    It's just my personal opinion but this game deserves no more than maybe a rating of 70!
    Collapse

See all 195 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.
  2. 2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games Image
    Published: January 19, 2018
    Get details on 35 of the most-anticipated games headed to the PlayStation 4 console in 2018.