Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 22, 2018
    90
    Minit is a great and a little adventure, a short game that can defeat the death.
  2. Apr 18, 2018
    90
    This is a refreshingly unique take on the old school swords and sorcery genre. The time trial aspect may turn some players off, but it's a challenge that is actually a joy to play.
  3. Apr 16, 2018
    90
    I never felt short-changed by Minit; I simply wanted to play it more, which is a testament to the game's design. It's such a simple, tight formula, but is executed so well that it just feels perfect.
  4. 90
    It’s great because of the way it uses genuinely interesting mechanics to try something new.
  5. 90
    Minit is fresh and unrelentingly charming little action RPG that does more with 60 second bursts of gameplay than bigger budget efforts manage to do with 60 hours. If you're after something truly unique, Minit should be your next stop.
  6. Apr 7, 2018
    85
    The graphics may be oldfashioned, but this game offers amazing gameplay. A minute might sound short: it is longer than you might think.
  7. Feb 3, 2019
    84
    In Minit, retro Zelda charm meets a world as sweet as it is weird, with more incentive to explore minute by minute.
  8. Apr 3, 2018
    83
    I had a great time with Minit and really enjoyed its unique time constraint mechanic and interconnected world. A lot of thought went into crafting the quests and secrets and I can easily say that Minit is well worth your time.
  9. CD-Action
    Jul 6, 2018
    80
    New game by the developers of Luftrausers and Nuclear Throne is heavily based on 2D Zeldas and although it does not add much to the formula, it removes a lot of distractions, which makes it a compact and very fun little adventure. [06/2018, p.66]
  10. games(TM)
    May 18, 2018
    80
    Between the pitch-perfect length, a case of cheeky characters you just want to pinch and a distinct visual style you'll be left with a lasting fond impression. Short, sweet and filled to the brim with charm, you won't want to drop this one in a hot minute. [Issue#200, p.80]
  11. Apr 27, 2018
    80
    With a lot more to do in it than you might first expect, Minit is eminently replayable and a highly enjoyable experience.
  12. Apr 18, 2018
    80
    We recommend this particular indie to those who are never satisfied with productions that dare to experiment with videogame language in the name of original and unconventional experiences.
  13. Apr 15, 2018
    80
    With its minimalist aesthetics, Minit is much deeper than its looks may make you think. Challenging and offering true freedom to the player, this game additionally offers plenty of replay-value.
  14. Apr 12, 2018
    80
    Minit gets the most out of its small package with a charismatic presentation, smart design decisions, and taunting mysteries. And at an opening $10 price tag, it does so without overextending its reach. While Minit pushes you to accomplish your goals in 60-second bursts, you can get lost in its escapades for hours before you even know it.
  15. Apr 12, 2018
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Apr 7, 2018
    80
    It’s a cute concept that will keep you enthralled for well more than 60 seconds.
  17. Apr 6, 2018
    80
    One of 2018’s more notable indie releases, worthwhile as a charming homage to retro action/adventure titles and as an ambitious exercise in restrained game design – it’s the world’s most agreeable game, chopped up into a hundred bite-sized pieces. I want to complain that it’s over too quickly, but then Minit makes a constant case for brevity being the soul of wit, so I guess I should shut up.
  18. 80
    Minit is a truly special game from Devolver Digital. One of those rare games that executes a new idea in a truly special way. Every sixty second period was a brand-new adventure filled with a sense of wonder.
  19. 80
    Minit offers a wonderfully minimalist adventure with not an inch of bloat. Instead, it’s a game where it seems like every tiny detail has been handcrafted and placed in the world only after careful thought from the creators. So while the lifespan of your hero, and the retro visuals, may seem very limiting they help to enable one of the most inventive and imaginative indie games of the year.
  20. 80
    Minit is a short game with a great hook. The sixty second lifespan mechanic is surprisingly fun to get to grips with and the game world oozes charm from the moment it begins. If you are looking for a new hidden gem, then this is the one.
  21. Apr 3, 2018
    80
    Minit is original and fresh, one of those rare examples of how to make something unique and surprising in video games.
  22. Apr 3, 2018
    80
    Minit is a real success and shows how well a good idea can work if used wisely. This tiny adventure where death strikes at every minute offers a delightful twist to the 2D adventure genre, by forcing the player to play differently. By being sent to the starting block every minute, Minit feels like a brand new race against the clock which will please every curious gamer out there.
  23. Apr 3, 2018
    80
    Minit’s lives might only last 60 seconds, but its extremely well-thought-out world design and engrossing loop of progress make it a curse-filled adventure that is worth dying the world over for.
  24. Apr 3, 2018
    80
    Minit’s missteps are the side-effects of its complete focus on a single design mechanic, one which also happens to be the game’s greatest strength. Ultimately, these problems fade into the background, allowing a smart, refreshing and impossibly rewarding gameplay experience to prosper.
  25. Jun 3, 2018
    75
    To die every 60 seconds could quickly get old, but Minit is smart enough to avoid any kind of frustration during the adventure. Purposely minimalistic, the pixelated art direction shines with personality.
  26. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 21, 2018
    70
    It's not overly long and the price is right, so if you fancy something different and clever, with just enough characters to keep you going, Minit might well be the one for you. [June 2018, p.80]
  27. Apr 3, 2018
    70
    The running theme of simplicity means that not everyone will enjoy what Minit has to offer, but for less than a tenner, this stripped back adventure title is more interesting than some games ten times its size.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 9, 2018
    Despite the monochrome palette and simple, wholesome story, Minit's world is stuffed with charm and character that belies its lo-fi presentation - and it's a lovely way to while away a few spare minutes of your own. [Recommended]
  2. Apr 4, 2018
    It's adorable and has quite a clever conceit.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Apr 3, 2018
    8
    Minit
    Good for all of them
    Minit is an adventure game where you play as a little white blog looking thing as you attempt to end a curse that
    Minit
    Good for all of them
    Minit is an adventure game where you play as a little white blog looking thing as you attempt to end a curse that ends each day after one minute.
    You have 60 seconds to do as much in this game as you possibly can...
    completing tasks for new items...
    setting up a domino effect to then be able to complete other tasks... and progress through the different points on the map...
    however the world doesn’t reset itself, every time you die the progress you’ve made is saved, so this game isn’t asking you to beat it in 60 seconds.. It actually took me around 1 and a half hours... but I set out to uncover as many of this games secrets as I could find and its full of them.. there are optional areas, items, and mysteries to discover…
    as you crawl through the map you’ll unlock new respawn areas, and if you find a certain secret in the game you’ll be able to later fast travel through each..
    It’s a really hard game to try and describe...
    it’s hard to go into detail without spoiling the mystery of the world...
    you simply find a sword on the beach and this sends you off on an adventure to life the 60 second curse...
    There are the occasional enemies, secret hearts to give you more health
    it’s fun and challenging remembering where you need to go with your newly acquired item, and realizing you can now take this shortcut with your new ability, the game is hard to pick down...
    it never came close to feeling like it overstayed its welcome, it left me wanting more..
    I do feel there was a lack of buildup to this games ending... it felt a bit abrupt but I enjoyed my time with minit...
    This is one of those games that I feel anyone can pick up and enjoy..
    I give minit
    an 8/10
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2019
    9
    Minit is a bite sized 2D Zelda-like played a minute at a time. It features a minimalist, yet charming, art style, an enjoyable sound track,Minit is a bite sized 2D Zelda-like played a minute at a time. It features a minimalist, yet charming, art style, an enjoyable sound track, and a clever hook in which our cursed, yet nameless, hero dies every sixty second.
    While the repetitive nature of the game could seem unappealing Minit is cleverly designed in such a way as to never feel old, each run is a fresh attempt at progression and another chance to move forward.
    The game clocks in at between one and two hours, though many more can be spent attempting to uncover every secret Minit has to offer. For $9.99 (I got it for $6.99 on sale) it was worth every penny.
    While it is certainly inspired by games such as The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening, Undertale, Earthbound, and Final Fantasy Adventure, Minit is unique enough to stand on its own merits.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2018
    10
    I loved it...
    It’s a short and clever game and I like that. Good investment of time and money..
    So if you are usually short on time like me,
    I loved it...
    It’s a short and clever game and I like that. Good investment of time and money..
    So if you are usually short on time like me, this would be a game for you.
    You’ll be able to finish the game in an hour or two.
    Full Review »