Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
Buy On
  1. Apr 21, 2015
    70
    It’s not a great option for those that already invested in MLB 14: The Show, in fact I probably wouldn’t recommend the upgrade. However if you’re new to the PS4 and want to enjoy a little of America’s past time this is one of the best sports games available on the PS4 today.
  2. Apr 9, 2015
    70
    MLB 15 The Show is still good by virtue of the systems laid down over the last decade, but it has no ambition. Produced on third base thinking it hit a triple, it wouldn't even bother running in a sac fly.
  3. Apr 8, 2015
    70
    Sony San Diego’s hardball sim only sees incremental changes this year, but several of them—particularly directional hitting—are welcome. The core game remains solid and even spectacular in places, but online remains a total joke.
  4. 70
    MLB 15: The Show is the most accurate representation of the sport yet again, but feels more like a roster update than anything else, outside of a few improvements here and there.
  5. Apr 5, 2015
    70
    MLB 15 The Show is a very immersive and exciting baseball experience that doesn't offer real improvements compared to last year's edition.
  6. Apr 2, 2015
    70
    It’s weird when you feel so unenthusiastic about a game that you know is “good.” This used to be a series that I would never miss. These days, I’d probably take a long break from The Show if I could.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 198
  1. Mar 31, 2015
    7
    Load times improved 2-3x, online play less laggy, fielding is more spot-on and results in less of the haphazard over-running the ball. CameraLoad times improved 2-3x, online play less laggy, fielding is more spot-on and results in less of the haphazard over-running the ball. Camera angle after you hit a ball is fun and more immersive.

    Commentary is very much the same as last year. Most of the animations - the HR trots, pre-game introductions, high-fives after HRs - are the EXACT SAME as last year and even years prior. graphics look the same to me. slightly improved lighting from last year's. still not a huge difference between PS3 and PS4 versions, for some reason.

    Certainly a fun game, but little more than a roster update with a patch that improves lighting and fielding.

    Great baseball game for sure, but I can't offer much in response when people ask if they should purchase this if they have last year's and don't care about the roster upgrade.

    I guess my response is... they took a year making this and are taking advantage of PS4's power for the first time, and this is all they could come up with? meh. I wish sports games would attempt to change things up a bit. Madden and The Show have looked and played the exact same for the past few years despite the next-gen being here.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    MLB 15: The Show proves once again why it is the crowned jewel of baseball simulation. With a ton of new features, including General ManagerMLB 15: The Show proves once again why it is the crowned jewel of baseball simulation. With a ton of new features, including General Manager mode, this game packs a punch. The gameplay style is very similar to last year but I am a firm believer in the saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." If you are looking for a huge leap in this department do not bother as you will be disappointed but if you love it, then you will be super excited and will be able to pick up right where you left off. If you are a diehard fan of Road to the Show mode, which is my personal favorite, you will love the ability to carry your saved game over from last years game and continue on your quest to being a future Hall of Fame player. If you are a baseball fan, you have to give this game a try! Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2015
    7
    I really don't know what to give this game. I was SO SO SO excited to play this. I have to say... I am disappointed. But I will look atI really don't know what to give this game. I was SO SO SO excited to play this. I have to say... I am disappointed. But I will look at some good things too, but lets start with the bad.

    BUGS: My first game a ground ball that is a perfect hit between the gap and the 1st baseman. The ball is looking to roll under the 1st base man's glove, giving me a base hit. But no, a miraculous bounce into the player's glove and there goes my first online game.

    Diamond Dynasty: Now I am a sucker for these kinds of game modes, Building you're own fantasy lineup. But this game mode is nearly unplayable. It's different when your opponent decides to put down their controller during a game that has a time aspect to it, but baseball does not have a play clock or a shot clock, or even any time to it. After leading 6-0 coming into my half of the 4th inning and we then play a one person multiplayer game for an hour, all for 152 rank points and a bronze card. Fix it, if your opponent doesn't play for 5 mins, it should be an automatic forfeit.

    Road to the Show: I love road to the show and especially the new carry over system. But the rookie showcase or whatever is still unplayable. God forbid you let up a run as a pitcher or hit under .500 you are instantly a late round player. How does this affect you're player? well you're potential gets a low grade then progression is unheard of with a D potential prospect, even though you play with him.

    Franchise: Franchise is getting better every year, I actually enjoy it this year especially with the carry over feature. I have my all 90 plus overall Marlins team in 2018 back this year so I pumped to play that.

    Save Carry Over: This is such a huge feature added, haven't seen any bugs in this feature but there is probably something that will come up.

    Licensed Gear: I haven't really seen much of this because I haven't really unlocked anything yet, but I am excited for this.

    I like this game, but it is about the same as last year. In the fact that it has digressed in some aspects and progressed in some aspects, but I give it a 7 of 10. Not sure what to think about this game so far, but i'm hoping that I enjoy it.
    Full Review »