Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 93 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 93
  2. Negative: 0 out of 93
Buy On
  1. games(TM)
    Feb 22, 2018
    70
    Controls are noticeably improved over past installments, but still imbued with a degree of inherent clunkiness. [Issue#197, p.66]
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    You should take my opinion on this with a grain of salt, if you weren’t doing that already. This has never exactly been my franchise, and I picked up Monster Hunter: World after hearing from a number of people that this was supposed to be a good jumping-on point. It is, but only by comparison to the games that came before it. If you’ve already put in the time with previous Monster Hunter titles, and especially if you have a crew to run with, Monster Hunter: World is going to be everything you’ve ever wanted. If you don’t have that experience, though, this game is a slog, and I’m having a hard time finding the fun here. Call it a 70% or so from me, but a fan of the franchise is gonna still be playing this a year from now.
  3. Feb 6, 2018
    70
    Monster Hunter World is structured in such a way where there's so many mechanics to consider, so many quests to take on, and so much procedural housekeeping to do that most players will be left too dizzy to really stop and think about the game's somewhat disquieting pitch.
  4. May 21, 2018
    55
    I won't rehash the problems I had with World simply because they make me profoundly sad. I wanted to like the game, I hoped the new direction would bring the series to a new level, but instead, the whole thing blew up in my face like a Marshmallow Peep left in the microwave too long.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 25, 2018
    Monster Hunter opens up for the most accessible, most detailed and most magnificent entry yet. [Essential]
  2. Jan 30, 2018
    What once felt like a well-kept secret amongst players with enough time and energy to scale the barriers to entry is now easier for everyone else to enjoy, thanks to a top-to-bottom overhaul that has made Monster Hunter: World the most beautiful and exciting game in the series. The depth remains, but many of the fiddly irritations that have been holding this series back have been swept away. As a long-time Monster Hunter player, it’s a wonderful thing to witness.
  3. I can see myself continuing to play on and off for months to come, getting better and trying new tactics all the while. And that, if nothing else, earns Monster Hunter: World an enthusiastic recommendation for anyone interested in the idea of seeing if they have what it takes to combat roaring, furry, fire-spewing bird dinosaurs.
  4. Jan 26, 2018
    If the idea of an entire game of inventive, visually stunning boss fights appeals to you—or if you’re just the sort of person who can imagine themselves whiling away the hours, hunting for the last component needed to deck your kitty out in a kickass princess dress made entirely from harvested unicorn skin—the series has never been easier, or more welcoming, to players looking to make the plunge.
  5. Jan 25, 2018
    Monster Hunter World is a glorious, long overdue overhaul of one of my favorite video game series of all time. It preserves almost everything that makes its unique blend of skill-based combat and obsessive loot collection so satisfying and addictive, while streamlining many of its most inscrutable systems. It’s exactly what I wanted it to be.
  6. Jan 25, 2018
    This rebuilt vision of Monster Hunter feels like a truly smart, forward-thinking improvement to the series. It’s an impressive leap forward.
  7. Jan 26, 2018
    Watching the creatures of Monster Hunter: World leap, and climb, and lunge isn’t like watching an enemy in a video game. It’s like being a kid and seeing a plane lift off the runway for the first time, or an elephant picking up speed, ears flapping, or a cruise ship coming too-quickly into harbor. This is the sort of scale where disaster seems imminent, always...In its very best moments, Monster Hunter World captures that feeling, and shifts it only a little, by testing whether you or the monster will be the disaster.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1473 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jan 26, 2018
    10
    This is amazing! No more no less.. A huge step in right direction, thank you Capcom!
  2. Jan 26, 2018
    9
    Very much a westernised monster hunter game. Some things are simplified a bit and most things remain unchanged. Still an amazing game(veryVery much a westernised monster hunter game. Some things are simplified a bit and most things remain unchanged. Still an amazing game(very pretty too) and for someone like me who adores boss fights, a game where almost every enemy is a boss fight is always perfect.
    There are those who will complain about a japanese title being changed to appeal to a western audience, but the game is still objectively amazing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2018
    0
    This game is trash, past games were amazing. This one sucks. Dumbed down version of Monster Hunter. Save the $60.