Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 14, 2018
    70
    The various mutants met with special skills can all be utilized for specific situations and provide the option to create a well-rounded team. Tactics-wise, Mutant Year Zero knocks those mechanics out of the park. Gameplay inconsistencies and forced grinding can wear one down, however, and keep the title from reaching its full potential. Overall, Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is deserving of attention and provides solid entertainment for tactics fans.
  2. Jan 6, 2019
    65
    A refreshing experience for those who wants a tactical game set in a well-polished universe with interesting scenario and well written characters. Sadly, the user interface is limited and the fights sometimes look a bit sloppy, lacking of clarity and balance.
  3. Dec 16, 2018
    60
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is an ambitious take on XCOM but it simply doesn't do enough with the established formula to make a worthwhile campaign. That being said, it definitely has some amazing visuals and cool stealth mechanics.
  4. Dec 9, 2018
    60
    While Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden has managed to build a cohesive system for tactical turn-based battles to take place in, it’s far too difficult for the average player. Hardcore genre fanatics are sure to get a kick out of proceedings, but those looking for a more introductory take on things will find more frustration than progress.
  5. Jan 3, 2019
    50
    Although it’s got some serious shortcomings, I would strongly encourage the developers to keep going in the direction that they’re going and to deepen and enhance what they’ve already built — this piece of work is absolutely headed in the right direction, it just hasn’t reached its destination yet.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 57
  2. Negative: 10 out of 57
  1. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Great turn based game with awesome humor. Only negative is that the game could be a little longer.
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    8
    Unfortunately what the game gets right in game play and a fair pricepoint can't totally make up for the injustice that have transpired here.Unfortunately what the game gets right in game play and a fair pricepoint can't totally make up for the injustice that have transpired here. Bearded Ladies cast human actors to play the pig and duck, when there were suitable animal actors available. Minus 2 for social injustice. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2018
    8
    If you enjoy games like XCOM or Divinity this is for you. I bought this game because this genre is one of my favourites and the game play drewIf you enjoy games like XCOM or Divinity this is for you. I bought this game because this genre is one of my favourites and the game play drew me in. I was then pleasantly surprised by the quality of the story, They do a great job of immersing you into their world, with clues spread throughout the game to help you understand what happened to the people that came before. i would suggest to get the most out of the game to play it on the hardest difficulty, it really made me think through my encounters and was a much more rewarding experience. the only down side is its length but the price point fairly reflects that. Full Review »