Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    83
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 is an anime arena fighter with really good ideas. It probably won’t see anyone if they aren’t already My Hero Academia fans, but anyone who is already in the fanbase will eat it up. And hey, if you aren’t a fan but get a chance to play anyway, give it a shot, it might just surprise you.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 21, 2020
    80
    The visuals are an improvement on My Hero One’s Justice, but there’s still a lack of English dub, despite the series’ popularity. This is a game made for fans, and it’s clear Byking’s staff are fans themselves. Plus Ultra! [Issue#174, p.92]
  3. Apr 7, 2020
    80
    A solid fighter that will keep you busy for a long time, even if the game's online features and the story mode's low difficulty curve are a bit disappointing.
  4. Apr 7, 2020
    80
    With tons of playable characters, great changes to its core fighting, and lots of things to do for those who want to dive in, My Hero One's Justice 2 is a sequel that goes beyond Plus Ultra. It's more for fans than fighters, but the overall experience is welcoming to anyone who wants to throw down in the hero world.
  5. Mar 15, 2020
    80
    My Hero One's Justice 2 is an incredibly fun and over the top anime fighting game, with a ton of modes to play. Although there's not been a massive amount of new content added since it's predecessor, the combat is good enough to keep you coming back for more.
  6. Mar 13, 2020
    80
    My Hero One's Justice 2 provides excellent fast-paced action expected from the superhero driven anime series with lots of characters and content.
  7. Apr 21, 2020
    75
    Even with its limitations and with an approach that seeks to exploit fan service, MY HERO ONE'S JUSTICE 2 finds its way as a video game, with a good dose of fun, and that is saying a lot among so many bad games that have manipulated the passion of anime fans.
  8. Mar 17, 2020
    75
    As a sequel, My Hero One's Justice 2 does what you would expect it to do. There's an emphasis on more unlockable content and characters, but only a few changes have been made to the overall combat system. It remains a fine game for fans of the first title, and it warrants a purchase, but don't expect anything to tempt you if you weren't already impressed by the first title.
  9. Mar 13, 2020
    72
    A bit superior to the previous iteration and spectacular without a doubt, it still is too basic compared to the 'big bosses' of the genre.
  10. Mar 13, 2020
    72
    A game made for My Hero Academia fans. Easy, very simple, a bit repetitive but fun.
  11. Apr 17, 2020
    70
    One's Justice 2 improves the original. Yet the core of the game - the fighting, can grow stale pretty fast. The game looks amazing, especially during certain fights, combos and special attacks, but the joy won't last long unless you have a similarly excited friend to share a couple of hundreds of local matches with. That is the one scenario, this game will not fail at.
  12. Mar 26, 2020
    70
    My Hero One's Justice 2 perfects the formula of the predecessor, with improved combos, a larger roster, more screentime for the antagonists and a greater variety of playstyle in general. However, it remains a casual game, which mainly points to the fans of My Hero Academia and which does not even try for a moment to renew the genre to which it belongs.
  13. 70
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 is a straightforward expansion of the first game, offering new characters and stages galore. Although it relies on the same disappointing implementation of the anime’s story, the arcade mode compensates with humour. The refined arena fighting gameplay carries this one to being among the more unique anime arena fighters in recent years. The sheer personality of each character might be enough for those vaguely interested in the My Hero Academia craze to give this one a shot.
  14. Mar 24, 2020
    70
    My Hero's One Justice 2 doesn't fix some of the flaws the first game had, and instead, tries to add more content, but with the same mistakes.
  15. 70
    It’s a fun way to pass the quarantined time between new anime episodes, that’s for sure.
  16. Mar 23, 2020
    70
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 continues the franchise’s trend of bizarre naming and sub-par story modes, but greatly improves on other aspects of the original. Combat pacing is faster thanks to an increase in mobility on the ground and in the air, while the mission mode has been greatly improved to add some RPG-esque mechanics to the core combat. Fans of the show looking for a way to recreate its action in game form will be satisfied, but due to its mid-season runthrough of storylines, the games remain a poor way for new fans of the series to be made. Still, if you don’t care about the plot and just want a great arena brawler, this is a good one to pickup for non-fans of the series as the bright character-based action helps transcend genres.
  17. Mar 17, 2020
    70
    Casual and hardcore fans of My Hero Academia alike will still find something to enjoy in the game, and those looking for a fun arena brawler could still do far worse than this sequel.
  18. Mar 15, 2020
    70
    My Hero One's Justice improves the predecessor's formula too shyly, making it especially suitable for fans of My Hero Academy. It can be fun, but not if you are looking for an excellent quality defect-free fighting game.
  19. Mar 13, 2020
    70
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 feels like an expansion rather than a sequel. There is more content, but that’s about it. It can be a good choice if you like the anime, but it isn’t very deep if you want a fighting game.
  20. Mar 13, 2020
    70
    My Hero One's Justice 2 is a perfect fighting game for the hardcore fans of My Hero Academia.
  21. Mar 13, 2020
    70
    Fun and spectacular, but not very brave.
  22. Jun 15, 2020
    65
    I generally enjoyed my time with My Hero One’s Justice 2 as someone who had some familiarity with the IP and I’m sure that fans of the show will find content to enjoy here. On the other hand, it’s a poor place for newcomers to jump in and the fighting isn’t good enough for those who might want a good dose of anime-styled fisticuffs.
  23. Mar 23, 2020
    65
    My Hero One's Justice 2 has improved in almost every aspect compared to its predecessor, and while its new features are enough to keep the fans of the series happy, the depth of gameplay and the fact that it gets repetitive, prevent it from becoming an ideal choice for all the fans of the genre.
  24. Mar 17, 2020
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  25. Mar 16, 2020
    65
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 will satisfy My Hero Academia superfans but will leave fighting game aficionados wanting more. Still, this is an improvement over its predecessor, but it certainly won’t be blowing anyone away. Though, games like this don’t always need to be amazing; sometimes, a game that I can turn off my mind and play is just what I want.
  26. Mar 15, 2020
    65
    My Hero One's Justice 2 is a fun way to experience the work of Kouhei Horikoshi. However, a big 'but' makes it really hard to recommend the game as a new entry: its lack of novelties. This sequel feels, at times, very similar to the first game, a simple-minded approach that does not allow the IP to shine as it certainly could.
  27. Mar 13, 2020
    65
    MY HERO ONE'S JUSTICE 2 is the second appointment with My Hero Academia, a sufficient production designed for fans.
  28. Mar 17, 2020
    64
    I can’t help but wish Byking and Bandai Namco added something more, something fresh to really help One’s Justice 2 stand out and truly be ‘Plus Ultra’.
  29. Mar 30, 2020
    60
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 is a treat for fans of the series. For non-fans, it’s a capable over-the-shoulder arena fighter, with a host of fun and very different characters to avail from. The game does run into some performance issues on the Nintendo Switch, where frame rates can drop during bigger set-pieces, but it’s a fun and enjoyable play all the same.
  30. Mar 18, 2020
    60
    My Hero One's Justice 2 touches up some of the nuances of the original's combat and builds an impressive roster, but doesn't bring its A-game when it comes to offering much beyond a few good matches.
  31. Mar 18, 2020
    60
    My Hero One's Justice does so much right with a fun combat system and some lovely anime-style visuals but lets the whole experience down by a lackluster story mode, a lack of performance polish, and some serious repetition in the single-player content. Having said that though, these games keep improving, so if we're lucky, we'll be impressed by My Hero One's Justice 3.
  32. Mar 16, 2020
    60
    Ultimately, though, what stings the most about seeing My Hero One's Justice 2 is how much hasn't changed since the first game.
  33. May 18, 2020
    58
    There is a solid game at its base, and players will find plenty of variety and visual punch to satisfy a fun, casual tryst. Ultimately, the game passes, but it does not excel in whatever it was setting out to achieve.
  34. Mar 21, 2020
    50
    Once the novelty of playing a game within the My Hero Academia world wears off, all that’s left is another fairly average arena brawler. Different modes aren’t enough to make the title stand out, and ultimately, My Hero One’s Justice 2 offers an experience which, although enjoyable, is forgettable and somewhat bland. It's safe to say that we expected more from this sequel.
  35. Mar 20, 2020
    50
    My Hero One’s Justice 2 ended up just making me sad. The game had immense promise but was dragged down by its setbacks. With an interesting story, intense battles, and different ways to play, I should like this game so much more. Instead, I have to draw attention to the issues that have brought down what could be a fantastic gaming experience. I mostly feel bad for this game’s developers, who demonstrate that they have a clear understanding and passion for their source material. Unfortunately, this hero based game proved to be a zero.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 41
  2. Negative: 25 out of 41
  1. Mar 15, 2020
    1
    Please do not buy this game or support Bandai in anyway shape or form. They pump these anime games out every year for the gullible fanbase toPlease do not buy this game or support Bandai in anyway shape or form. They pump these anime games out every year for the gullible fanbase to get lured into wasting their money on. They're souless, passionless cash grabs made in the hype of the anime/Manga they're made from.


    They deserve so much better. I'm hoping sales keep tanking so that they're forced to give the rights to a developer that'd care more about making an enjoyable game.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2020
    10
    esta buenardo, no noto mucha diferencia grafica, lo que noto es una mejora en fps minima, si lo quieres comprar que sea porque te gusta laesta buenardo, no noto mucha diferencia grafica, lo que noto es una mejora en fps minima, si lo quieres comprar que sea porque te gusta la serie o porque el primer juego te gusto.Ya que tiene muchas cosa que hacer y vas a estar un largo tiempo con este juego Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2020
    4
    It's a fun game many of the same combat features that where in the first game are here and more. BUT they made dash canceling tied to the barIt's a fun game many of the same combat features that where in the first game are here and more. BUT they made dash canceling tied to the bar so now its takes more finesse to do combos. unfortunately that also means if u want to do longer combos u might as well on turn the auto combos because of how much bar it takes to dash cancel and u dont earn enough of it back fast enough to keep up with a dash cancel heavy playstyle that I learned in mhoj1. Some characters had their command grabschanged from unblockable to blockable which pretty much killed my favorite character i forgot his name but he is the one with the engines in his legs which isn't that bad on its own but his guard break move also leaves him heavily exposed to the point where I could do it first and get beat out by a lot of other attacks it's gotten to the point where I just dont do it because I'm scared of how they can counter it. And I straight up hate toga her knife toss is to easy my brother just spams it every time u get close because it's so fast your almost always gonna get hit and I know I play with one of the fastest characters in the game and even dashing around him at close range doesn't work. Honestly I love the game but I'm just gonna stick with my hero 1 maybe they will change it maybe they won't idc I still like the game. Full Review »