User Score
0.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 545 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 545
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2022
    7
    i dont understand why some people still play this game like 2k22 is way better.
  2. Mar 24, 2022
    3
    Even worse that NBA 2k20. Only played with the current roster teams. All the the other play modes I ignored because I hate micro transactions. So if you buy a game to play 25% of it, that's a bad game.
  3. Mar 3, 2022
    0
    Unskippable ads in a 70 dollar game? Laughable. DO NOT BUY YOU VOTE WITH YOUR WALLET. I FOR ONE HAVEN'T BOUGHT ANYTHING EA OR 2K SINCE 2018. DO NOT BUY
  4. Nov 4, 2021
    5
    Не являюсь фанатом этой игры, но есть опыт игры. В целом графика приятная, броски после фифы прям напрягают с этой шкалой, в целом только графа зацепила, на этом все 5/10
  5. Aug 11, 2021
    0
    The sheer greed of this company is ridiculous. As someone that mainly plays my career this years iteration is unplayable, shooting is broken, when defending it feels like you have cinderblocks in your feet, and it turns into having to hit layups and dunks only without shooting. Having such high VC prices to level up and get a higher overall is trash. Compared to a career mode like FIFAThe sheer greed of this company is ridiculous. As someone that mainly plays my career this years iteration is unplayable, shooting is broken, when defending it feels like you have cinderblocks in your feet, and it turns into having to hit layups and dunks only without shooting. Having such high VC prices to level up and get a higher overall is trash. Compared to a career mode like FIFA where just playing in a game leveled you up or previous 2k iterations where it didn’t feel like a drag to play a game. I paid 3 dollars for this game and feel that was too much. I wouldn’t play this game if it were free. Don’t buy and see how the new one is before buying since all they care about is their pockets. Let’s hope EA starts taking basketball seriously so there is some competition which is severely needed in this genre!! Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2021
    0
    This is the worst 2k basketball game that I have ever played.Bugs,stupid A.I's etc. makes me sick!!!
  7. Aug 7, 2021
    0
    Worst game ever. Career is good and Myteam
    Is good but as far as neighborhood it’s fake. Moving screens don’t get called. Crab animation is dumb because anyone whoever actually picked up a basketball would know shooting with someone on your back is tough. The game is just fake. Madden will again outsell this game hands down. There is nothing but little kids on nba 2k and until they
    Worst game ever. Career is good and Myteam
    Is good but as far as neighborhood it’s fake. Moving screens don’t get called. Crab animation is dumb because anyone whoever actually picked up a basketball would know shooting with someone on your back is tough. The game is just fake. Madden will again outsell this game hands down. There is nothing but little kids on nba 2k and until they take away people shooting from half court and dribbling al game. This game will continue to be pathetic. I will have no part in 2k22. Sorry madden is 150% better. And that’s coming from a true basketball fan. College ball and semi pro. NBA 2k is a fake basketball. Do us all a favor and actually CALL MOVING SCREENS IN NEIGHBORHOOD.!!!!!!
    Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2021
    0
    Game is a piece of s#!t! NBA2k is losing a 1 man race. Wouldn't buy with monopoly money.
  9. Jul 16, 2021
    1
    the same game every year with the same bugs it wasnt worth 20€ thats why you give it for free every year
  10. Jul 8, 2021
    0
    Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is ****!Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is ****!Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is **** Nba 2k is ****
  11. Jul 6, 2021
    2
    I've been an avid NBA2k player ever since I had a Wii as my only console. NBA2k14 is one of my favorite games of all time and I absolutely loved the first couple installments on the PS4. That's why it pains me to see what this franchise has become. I'm done with NBA2k, forever. It's going to take a complete rebuild of this franchise to get me to invest in it again. I know we make fun ofI've been an avid NBA2k player ever since I had a Wii as my only console. NBA2k14 is one of my favorite games of all time and I absolutely loved the first couple installments on the PS4. That's why it pains me to see what this franchise has become. I'm done with NBA2k, forever. It's going to take a complete rebuild of this franchise to get me to invest in it again. I know we make fun of sports games for being copies of last year's game, but this is by far the most blatant copy and paste job I've ever seen in gaming. if you turned off the shot meter and handed me a controller, I honestly don't think I could tell the difference between this and NBA2k20. The presentation is exactly the same, with the exact same cutscenes, animations and on screen graphics. Whoever decided it was acceptable to charge $60 for this should be fired and blacklisted from every game development company. Gameplay is somehow even worse than last year in some regards. Last year there was an issue where easy shots just didn't wanna go in for some reason. Prime MJ missed layups like Javale McGee on Shaqtin a fool with absolutely no reasoning behind it. So, how did they fix this? By making EVERY SHOT go in. I'm not a pro player, hell I'd hesitate to call myself above average, but I have never shot under 70% in a game. That's unheard of in the basketball world, so why does it happen in the only simulation NBA game we can buy? Character movement does feel more realistic, but it results in slower reaction times, so you get burnt by even the most average of iso players on a regular basis. AI is absolutely incompetent, to the point that it ruins the experience. I have never seen a center shift to the basket to contest a driving player. Never. They give up wide open layups 100% of the time. Players don't shoot when they're wide open and pass the ball out of bounds constantly. The computer commits backcourt violations all the time and runs out of bounds on a constant basis. Now for the worst part of this game: the microtransactions. I'll give some credit to 2k, they put one hell of a basketball mini game in a gambling sim. Oh, wait this is a basketball game. Sorry, easy to forget sometimes. They purposely make everything such a massive grind to encourage the purchase of VC to speed up sed grind. It's blatantly obvious and absolutely disgusting. Realistically, if you can't play this game for hours everyday, you're never going to reach max level in mycareer or have a full galaxy opal squad in myteam. It's just impossible with the grind they've enforced on the playerbase. I honestly think some of the gambling mechanics break the law, but 2k is in the pockets of the ESRB and therefore, gets away with it. The soundtrack sucks, as it usually does. There's no variety, it's all just mumble rap. Blacktop is the same as it has been for the past 3 or 4 years, which is disappointing. Remember when you could have a dunk contest in the Blacktop mode? I know I do. Hey, there are WNBA teams this year again, because that's definitely something we asked for and wanted the devs to spend their time on. Don't buy this game, stay the hell away from it and just stay away from 2k in general. The only reason it got a 2 is because it does somewhat work and 0s an 1s are only reserved for games that don't even work. Expand
  12. Jul 4, 2021
    1
    The worst sports game I've ever played. It insults its players by making it unplayable in My Player mode without purchasing tokens to improve your player only to shoot 17% from wide open shots. What they consider "realistic" is really just shadiness with no integrity or loyalty to its players. Wow us with graphics just to slip that wallet from your pocket when you aren't looking.
    If
    The worst sports game I've ever played. It insults its players by making it unplayable in My Player mode without purchasing tokens to improve your player only to shoot 17% from wide open shots. What they consider "realistic" is really just shadiness with no integrity or loyalty to its players. Wow us with graphics just to slip that wallet from your pocket when you aren't looking.
    If you love feeling ripped off and frustrated from failing when hitting perfect shots, then by all means waste your money on this.
    Expand
  13. Jul 2, 2021
    0
    Trashuuuuuuuuuúuuuuuuhgggtttgģggggggggggggggiuvjochchicihciyfyiixgxgiixhxgiigx
  14. Jun 28, 2021
    0
    it's time for the NBA rights to go to a more serious company.
    Take-Two has nothing to offer us anymore, and is always repeating the same game every year at full price and getting worse.
  15. Jun 27, 2021
    0
    Absolute trash game. Broken defending mechanics, predetermined outcomes for myPlayer games, unresponsive controls. Just an abomination to play. I got this game for free and I still feel ripped off.
  16. Jun 19, 2021
    2
    As an on again, off again fan of the franchise since 2K7, I can say with certainty that this is one of the worst 2K games I've ever played. I primarily play offline MyLeague and it's been quite frustrating. The CPU struggles to simulate any sort of logic, often using iso plays and dribbling out the majority of the shot clock before moving the ball around. There is also a glitch if you useAs an on again, off again fan of the franchise since 2K7, I can say with certainty that this is one of the worst 2K games I've ever played. I primarily play offline MyLeague and it's been quite frustrating. The CPU struggles to simulate any sort of logic, often using iso plays and dribbling out the majority of the shot clock before moving the ball around. There is also a glitch if you use the "Real Player %" over the shot meter, both teams will shoot close to or exactly 100% from the free throw line. I'm talking Shaq shooting 90% from the line in a game! This immensely harms immersion. Usually I can circumvent this by using custom sliders but even that can only do so much this year. Beyond that, this year removed creation features such as the ability to choose your accessory colors for custom teams. The creation suite also desperately needs to be redone as it encourages players to steal and repost other creator's work since there is no way to save a design or favorite it. You can favorite a creator, but with so many reposts, finding the original creator is a Herculean task.

    The usual micro transactions are back that have plagued the Mycareer experience for a while. The mode has very little value if you do not have a strong desire to play online as the grind still exists. Additionally the story for Mycareer this year was notably poor. It wants to incorporate role playing elements but still forces the player into contrived situations that they have no agency over and punishes the protagonist for it. There doesn't have to be a "right choice" and a "wrong choice" per say but perhaps something like hamming it up for the media would increase your popularity but lower your team chemistry and vice versa. This idea exists in previous games but it has never been well executed. Given the fact that it seems like many players prefer the Mycareer mode as a means to play Park and Rec, perhaps that should be the mode entirely and a new story mode could be introduced similar to FIFA's "The Journey".

    In short, the NBA 2K franchise has relied on its reputation to keep it afloat for far too long and the product is now no longer innovative and frankly, no longer fun.
    Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2021
    0
    I hope that the employees who actually had to work on this game are ashamed to be a part of such a bad final product. The shooting mechanics seem to have been done by blind people, the All-Star game is just not fun, period. Dunk contests are supposed to be a fun event, not some minigame that you try and restart 5 times in a row and then just give up. The game crashes at some points whereI hope that the employees who actually had to work on this game are ashamed to be a part of such a bad final product. The shooting mechanics seem to have been done by blind people, the All-Star game is just not fun, period. Dunk contests are supposed to be a fun event, not some minigame that you try and restart 5 times in a row and then just give up. The game crashes at some points where you start to wonder whether the crash was accidental or not. Just really really bad Expand
  18. Jun 10, 2021
    2
    I have honestly never played a terrible game like this in my life. Very poor design, definitely not beginner friendly at all. In MyCareer mode, your character would constantly miss 80% of his shots, while the other team would constantly score a lot. The only way through this is by having shooting badge, and to get your shooting badge up you need to actually score, but as mentioned beforeI have honestly never played a terrible game like this in my life. Very poor design, definitely not beginner friendly at all. In MyCareer mode, your character would constantly miss 80% of his shots, while the other team would constantly score a lot. The only way through this is by having shooting badge, and to get your shooting badge up you need to actually score, but as mentioned before it's incredibly hard to score. Just very poor game design overall, it's like the game is created to make you lose constantly at the beginning giving you no chance. If you're a beginner to NBA2k games and you just want to enjoy career mode, you can forget about it. The lowest difficulty is pro, which is not beginner friendly at all. Expand
  19. Jun 6, 2021
    1
    Absolute worst!
    Im nearly 60 years old and been ONLINE ballin on Playstation games since their existence....The shooting requirements are terrible.......I dont like that meter thing....!
    I always end up throwing in the towel because trying to get control of the game seems nearly impossible.......I end up switching to Madden or Call of Duty or something......PLEASE FIX THE BASKETBALL
    Absolute worst!
    Im nearly 60 years old and been ONLINE ballin on Playstation games since their existence....The shooting requirements are terrible.......I dont like that meter thing....!
    I always end up throwing in the towel because trying to get control of the game seems nearly impossible.......I end up switching to Madden or Call of Duty or something......PLEASE FIX THE BASKETBALL GAME FOR US OLD TIMERS!!!
    Expand
  20. Jun 1, 2021
    0
    The worst game ever created, I really dont know why people still buy this **** every year.
  21. Jun 1, 2021
    0
    A horrible piece of garbage, that's what this is. 75 charssssssssssssssssssssssss
  22. May 25, 2021
    2
    This is honestly the worst 2k besides 18, terrible mechanics, I have HOF finishing and shooting, with a 6'5 slasher on an open fast break and somehow a 6'3 playshot is able to not only get to the rim first, but actually stops my dunk. Let's not even get on how inaccurate and useless that meter. You can literally have the line in the middle with a high percentage shot and you'll miss and ifThis is honestly the worst 2k besides 18, terrible mechanics, I have HOF finishing and shooting, with a 6'5 slasher on an open fast break and somehow a 6'3 playshot is able to not only get to the rim first, but actually stops my dunk. Let's not even get on how inaccurate and useless that meter. You can literally have the line in the middle with a high percentage shot and you'll miss and if you try to focus on the shooting que, you still may miss according to the damn meter. As soon as NBA live comes up with something remotely better, I and my money are GONE!! Expand
  23. May 22, 2021
    0
    the worst decision of my life was giving 2k $100. please do not make the same mistake
  24. May 16, 2021
    0
    The gameplay is the exact same as last year. I’ve been playing now since September on my Xbox One, and it’s the same as the PS4 version. This game still has terrible physics, animations, fouls, and jump shots. The game design feels rushed, jagged, and overall lazy. And don’t get me started on 2K and contested shots. This game is actually WORSE this year with highly consteted shots stillThe gameplay is the exact same as last year. I’ve been playing now since September on my Xbox One, and it’s the same as the PS4 version. This game still has terrible physics, animations, fouls, and jump shots. The game design feels rushed, jagged, and overall lazy. And don’t get me started on 2K and contested shots. This game is actually WORSE this year with highly consteted shots still going in. I was playing a myTeam game, and the CPU was constantly green releasing 50+% percent contested shots. This game is the exact same unrealistic, mess of a game as last year. Don’t even buy packs either. I bought deluxe packs 5-10 times with my spare myTeam points that I had, and I got the exact same card every time, which would be the worst possible one. This game is nothing more than a cash grab and is a torture chamber to play. Expand
  25. May 9, 2021
    0
    I literally created an account just to review this game, congratulations 2K you have officially ruined my favorite sports game franchise, it used to be madden but we all know how that turned out.

    For starters why in the hell did you add the AP system to mygm who the hell asked for this? It takes a point just to view the roster, it takes a point to offer a contract EVEN IF THEY DONT
    I literally created an account just to review this game, congratulations 2K you have officially ruined my favorite sports game franchise, it used to be madden but we all know how that turned out.

    For starters why in the hell did you add the AP system to mygm who the hell asked for this?
    It takes a point just to view the roster, it takes a point to offer a contract EVEN IF THEY DONT ACCEPT IT!!!!
    It honestly takes a lot of the fun out of the game, whoever came up with it needs to be taken out back and old yellerd if I pay my hard earned money for a game I should be able to do what ever I want it adds nothing to the game.
    You also don’t have the choice to insert your own draft class or even edit rookies again WHY!!!

    The new shooting system is trash the old system was fine why change it?

    I’m tired of games catering to the online crowd some of us simply want to have a nice single player offline experience and they’ve ruined it.

    I will NEVER pay money for a sports game again.
    Expand
  26. Apr 24, 2021
    1
    Game is terrible. Same **** every year. Game mechanics are **** every year gets worse and worse. Best nba ever was 2k16. Now they just rushing with games just so they can make money. Greedy ****
  27. Apr 16, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a glorified DLC expansion of 2k20 with broken stat headers online since the launch of the game , complete science fiction level shooting for people with mods , inexplicable steal mechanics off your back and face , a blatant bias for paying to win as far as buying XP as VC for boosts Cheating with all sorts of aim assisting mods is rampant and happens several times a day every day The broken game mechanics make online play unrealistic and repetitive by glitches being constantly exploited

    Its not about being good at or even understanding basketball its about who can abuse the imbalance of the game more in their favor

    The only people benefitting from this broken gambling pit are cheaters and trolls that have bothing to do with basketball culture
    Expand
  28. Apr 12, 2021
    2
    As a MyTeam and MyLeague player, who is currently on next gen but spent a long time on current gen, I can say that offline MyTeam on current gen is actually fun, playing through domination with my no money spent lineup was actually fun, but aside from that, online modes aside from limited are horrible.

    Speed boosting has ruined the game, along with the Curry slide. Those two things are
    As a MyTeam and MyLeague player, who is currently on next gen but spent a long time on current gen, I can say that offline MyTeam on current gen is actually fun, playing through domination with my no money spent lineup was actually fun, but aside from that, online modes aside from limited are horrible.


    Speed boosting has ruined the game, along with the Curry slide. Those two things are all that anyone does, unless it’s a limited weekend where the cards aren’t good enough to consistently do them, then you have a chance at getting real basketball. The post game is pretty much unusable unless you are a stick shooter, which by the way makes for a huge zen problem where people use modded controllers to win every game online. Post hooks are super OP with the stick, but hooks, fades, dropsteps, etc are hard to do in game. Finishing is pretty much running at the barleys and hoping for a good animation, euro steps, spins, hop steps, floaters, and double clutches are practically useless. Shooting is a whole other issue, some players will make every single shot and some will miss every shot, it’s incredibly random at times unless you can get a team of guys that you know the releases of. As a NMS MyTeam guy, the door is always revolving, so it’s hard to learn new releases every few games. MyTeam is still a cash grab, attempting to force people into buying packs for the best cards, although it is better than its Madden counterpart, with actual budget players who can legitimately compete with the best cards in the game in the hands of a skilled player (a la Nick Anderson earlier in the year). As for myleague, I have encountered numerous glitches and bugs, mostly from downloading older rosters, taking over all 30 teams, etc. I encountered a glitch where random played in the league would have their stats messed up, like one time I had Ja win most improved player after averaging nearly the same stats as the year before, but when I looked at the stats from the year before, which was his second year, it said he averaged 2 points for the Hawks, when I know he was on the Grizzlies and averaged about 19 points. This happened to a lot of players around the league. I also encounter glitched with classic rosters where players don’t age, or don’t regress, sometimes the court turns completely black as do the players when I jump into games, sometimes I’ll jump into a game and a team will be running a 5 big man lineup, this happens a lot actually. Sometimes 86 overalls will sign for the minimum contract because they don’t sign in the offseason, there is no voter fatigue, tendencies are very inaccurate, auto generated draft classes are not balanced at all, injuries are too frequent, teams sign and draft way too many players at one position while neglecting the rest of the positions, cpu trades are very rarely meaningful, often times it’s just a player at a position with a certain overall being traded for another player at the exact same position with the exact same overall, it feels like the trade just to trade, with no meaning.
    Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2021
    1
    I paid £13 for this title in a sale and feel that's about £12.50 too much!! What even is this
  30. Mar 31, 2021
    0
    This is the worst **** 2k ever made hands down. Shooting is trash, defense is trash, and the game modes are trash. The devs don't give a **** about their fans anymore. All they do is cater to the streamers and dribble spamming shot creators. Literally can't even play the damn game without making a meta builds. **** this trash ass game. Like why would they take out the other shooting barsThis is the worst **** 2k ever made hands down. Shooting is trash, defense is trash, and the game modes are trash. The devs don't give a **** about their fans anymore. All they do is cater to the streamers and dribble spamming shot creators. Literally can't even play the damn game without making a meta builds. **** this trash ass game. Like why would they take out the other shooting bars and force us to use one nobody asked for? Can't even shoot without playing on **** pro. GARBAGE. Expand
  31. Mar 29, 2021
    2
    Same garbage game every year, hasn’t been a good game since 2k17. Very lazy developers over at 2k.
  32. Mar 15, 2021
    0
    I’ve been playing NBA games since 1996 and this is the worst one. Can’t make a shot, can’t hit a free throw. Basically NBA2k20 but worse.
  33. Feb 21, 2021
    0
    This game is the worst 2k I’ve ever played. I’ve been playing only since 2k15, but this is easily the worst one. The shooting in particular is insanely terrible. My friend and I played an online game where we only allowed wide open uncontested 3s for the whole game. I shot 8/49, with 4 of those being green. The game takes all the worst elements of 2k and puts them in one game. Given, IThis game is the worst 2k I’ve ever played. I’ve been playing only since 2k15, but this is easily the worst one. The shooting in particular is insanely terrible. My friend and I played an online game where we only allowed wide open uncontested 3s for the whole game. I shot 8/49, with 4 of those being green. The game takes all the worst elements of 2k and puts them in one game. Given, I play games with the regular teams, not the OP my team players. Fast breaks on missed layups. Fast players getting through defenders like paper. Hell even offensive rebounds surprise me this year because I get them whenever I don’t expect and when I do expect them I don’t. Definitely just wait for 2k22 and hopefully they do something better. Expand
  34. Feb 18, 2021
    0
    I mostly play single-player modes like myleague and mygm since Im an NBA basketball fan and want a good simulation NBA game. I don't personally see any appeal to Park which is the entire game now and all that mycareer has become. So I can only speak on actual gameplay between NBA teams and players (not myplayers in the park). But anyways, the actual NBA singleplayer (mygm myleague) or coopI mostly play single-player modes like myleague and mygm since Im an NBA basketball fan and want a good simulation NBA game. I don't personally see any appeal to Park which is the entire game now and all that mycareer has become. So I can only speak on actual gameplay between NBA teams and players (not myplayers in the park). But anyways, the actual NBA singleplayer (mygm myleague) or coop (play now) gameplay is horrible, absolutely terrible, for the first time I am starting to say 2k is starting to get into the madden realm of bad. I literally have forced myself to play 8 minute quarters to attempt to have NBA games score above 60 points a game (actual real NBA games now always go at least over 100 points) Yet even with 8 minute quarters (super long quarters for a video game) this is impossible unless you play on All-Star or below but then the CPU cant make wide open threes with Steph Curry and wont score above 60 points a game ever (8 min quarters). Then above that difficulty you will make maybe 2/7 wide open threes with a shooter like Steph Curry. Not to mention every game is entirely scripted. There is no scoring if you play above All-Star unless it is a layup in the paint and every interior shot/driving shot or layup either ends in a make or a foul so the game stops every 30 seconds for free throws. A horrible game that is a beyond an inaccurate simulation of NBA basketball which is high scoring and sees a ton of jump shots made which includes a lot of threes, yet in this game I feel like im watching 80's college basketball (almost all scoring is in the paint) where the only thing they added from the modern NBA is that every other drive to the basket ends in a foul, maybe the least exciting part of today's game.. Expand
  35. Feb 16, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NBA 2K21 is... proof that 2K is going nowhere but downhill. While it has great Graphics, serviceable gameplay, and solid game mode variety, the game like many sports games now has a **** ton of microtransactions, a boring career mode storyline that puts you to sleep, and is so boring that many have not even bothered to buy this years version and even those who have have gone back to 2K20 (which was not a good game in itself) it’s a copy paste of previous 2K’s yet somehow still feels worse and has no wow factor at all. 2K needs to fire those at the top or else we must pray that NBA Live makes a new game to, if not be better, at least provide 2K enough competition to where they hopefully try with there next game because there is no effort pht anywhere into the current or next gen version of the pile of **** Expand
  36. Feb 11, 2021
    10
    me gusta mucho mejor que el del año pasado bravo 2k eres li mejor haciendo juegps no entiendo las criticas
  37. Feb 9, 2021
    0
    The My Career is terrible, I recommend you don’t buy the game. If you do just play the play now. WORST 2K IVE PLAYED
  38. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    This is easily the worst 2K of all time, there is a ton of things missing (Including face scans, courts, jerseys, etc.) and the centers are too overpowered, you can get the ball snatched out of your hand by Andre Drummond, centers can block without touching you, centers can TELEPORT and block the ball. And you know your game is bad when Damian Lillard, the cover of current gen, actuallyThis is easily the worst 2K of all time, there is a ton of things missing (Including face scans, courts, jerseys, etc.) and the centers are too overpowered, you can get the ball snatched out of your hand by Andre Drummond, centers can block without touching you, centers can TELEPORT and block the ball. And you know your game is bad when Damian Lillard, the cover of current gen, actually calls your game bad. Not to mention that the CPU can easily hit half court buzzer beaters, I tried this on 2KU with one of them that hit a half court, Wayne Ellington, and it took me 51 TRYS to hit a half court shot. The game is also filled to the brim with microtransactions and Ronnie 2K goes in and outbids you and hides your cards in the auction house, because you didn't pay him $500 and suck his **** for 5 minutes. This game makes 2K18 look like 2K16. Not to mention that the Milwaukee Bucks are overpowered, and Giannis can shoot from anywhere.

    This game is worse than 2K18, if you haven't bought the game already, please don't buy it, don't even buy next gen.
    Expand
  39. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    Absolutely the worst basketball game ever!!! Shooting is terrible even with the patch. I wish I had never bought it even on discount! Awful!!!
  40. Jan 27, 2021
    0
    Easily the worst sports game I've ever played in my life, I don't know how they manage to sell me the same game with all of the same flaws every single year, and still they went and made this game SO MUCH WORSE. The only reason I bought the new version was because they never bothered to fix the Start Today mode on 2K20, but they still haven't even activated it... Not that that matters, IEasily the worst sports game I've ever played in my life, I don't know how they manage to sell me the same game with all of the same flaws every single year, and still they went and made this game SO MUCH WORSE. The only reason I bought the new version was because they never bothered to fix the Start Today mode on 2K20, but they still haven't even activated it... Not that that matters, I can't finish a game without hating my life.

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DON'T BUY THIS GAME
    Expand
  41. Jan 26, 2021
    0
    This game is by far the worst one they’ve made. Absolutely awful they constantly keep changing the game with updates and making the game difficult to play. Added a new shot meter that is absolutely awful and unnecessary. You’ll have to constantly change your setting to enjoy playing. Lastly they NEVER update what’s needed deaaron fox has had his haircut longer than any rookie has been inThis game is by far the worst one they’ve made. Absolutely awful they constantly keep changing the game with updates and making the game difficult to play. Added a new shot meter that is absolutely awful and unnecessary. You’ll have to constantly change your setting to enjoy playing. Lastly they NEVER update what’s needed deaaron fox has had his haircut longer than any rookie has been in the league but they have yet to fix his hair and keep updating rookies face scans. This also goes for other stars like Bradley Beal, Ben Simmons, and Marcus smart Expand
  42. Jan 12, 2021
    0
    This game is **** everyone is a playmaking shot creator who can just shoot white's and still go 9/10 times lmao game is probably 2 from the worst in the 2k nba game history ps4 edition sucks they put nothing new the game is copy and pasted from 2k20 they pulled out most of everything after the main story you just read text and that's it no new animation's lazy ass workers should just haveThis game is **** everyone is a playmaking shot creator who can just shoot white's and still go 9/10 times lmao game is probably 2 from the worst in the 2k nba game history ps4 edition sucks they put nothing new the game is copy and pasted from 2k20 they pulled out most of everything after the main story you just read text and that's it no new animation's lazy ass workers should just have let 6 graders do they're job cuz they have no **** talent and brain lmao **** 2k only care about the $ not the fam my review is 0 idk how they get 6/10 some big **** money be better involved lol Expand
  43. vr1
    Jan 8, 2021
    0
    The graphics are bad. The AI is stupid and nonsensical. The halftime animations are bad. The commentary is from 2k16. This game should not exist.
  44. Jan 8, 2021
    0
    Wow! Just a complete and utter kick in the nuts. If you don't want to shell out about $100 after you already payed at least $60 for this game don't buy it, you can't even play, pretty much a standing simulator! 2k sucks!!!
  45. Dec 31, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely garbage quite possibly the worst experience I’ve ever had with a video game Expand
  46. Dec 28, 2020
    0
    im paying for this game, but i see its the same game 2k20! are you kidding me??? Ronnie i hate you, wicked snake with arab face. i cannot skip the ads in the game i paid for. no shots take the rim, i play %10 three point percentage almost every f game! do not buy guys! i hope you go bankrupt and live in a dump!
  47. Dec 26, 2020
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. The shooting is atrocious, the interior defense doesn’t exist and the there are so many glitches it makes no sense. The curry slide plagues the game as the most spammed move and is almost unguardable. Save your money and wait to get next gen I heard it’s pretty good
  48. Dec 26, 2020
    0
    I wanted to write a much more in depth review of this game, but I figured it wasn't worth the time. So here's the short version. The game hasn't evolved much since I last played a 2k game actively, which was back in 2014. The servers are still lagging like crazy and everything costs an egregious amount of VC. On higher difficulty in MyCareer, it's pretty much 1v9. Your teammates can't hitI wanted to write a much more in depth review of this game, but I figured it wasn't worth the time. So here's the short version. The game hasn't evolved much since I last played a 2k game actively, which was back in 2014. The servers are still lagging like crazy and everything costs an egregious amount of VC. On higher difficulty in MyCareer, it's pretty much 1v9. Your teammates can't hit a wide open shot if their life depended on it. Gameplaywise, there's still a heavy focus on animations, which more often than not cause you to get blocked, commit a turnover or just lead to your opponent scoring. Cheesy tactics like zigzagging haven't been fixed. Defending feels clunky and unresponsive. The entire MyTeam grinding has been cranked up to 1000, just for the sake of it (600 wins of TTO for a 95 OVR player when I can just get one with a locker code? What's the point?). Sometimes I can't even get into a game because the game is stuck on the loading screen, which forces one of the players to quit and get an automatic loss. All in all, I'm glad I got this game on sale, because there ain't no way in hell I'll ever pay full price for a game like ever again. As long as 2k has it's chokehold on the basketball license and no competition, I can't see them ever committing to something better than whatever the **** this garbage is supposed to be. Expand
  49. Dec 17, 2020
    0
    Absolutely unplayable! Try mycareer no one can make a jumper on either team everything has to be scored inside or at the line in a time where jumpers are more prevalent than ever. Drafted by Knicks they trade Cobb(#1 pick in draft) for Patrick Williams 76 ovr with A- POT straight up WTF? I've got a "sharpshooter" build and 79 ovr right now, with 80 MID and 80 3PT and have literally made 3Absolutely unplayable! Try mycareer no one can make a jumper on either team everything has to be scored inside or at the line in a time where jumpers are more prevalent than ever. Drafted by Knicks they trade Cobb(#1 pick in draft) for Patrick Williams 76 ovr with A- POT straight up WTF? I've got a "sharpshooter" build and 79 ovr right now, with 80 MID and 80 3PT and have literally made 3 of I can't tell you how many with "slightly early/late" "wide open" shots like you literally cannot make a shot unless it's green timed! This is the most frustrating games I've ever played gameplay is atrocious! We just lost a game 96-64 to SA on HOF(12 min. qtrs.) as a team shot 26% from the field had 40 points in the paint and 16 made free throws that's 8 points outside the paint in a 2020 basketball game!! Remove simulation from this because it looks nothing like basketball today the amount of wide open looks that are missed by user and AI is a joke!! Just thankful I waited for this crap to go 50% off in PS store before buying it!! What happened to sports games? Need to find a new hobby bc I've played FIFA, 2k, Madden, The Show and none of them are realistic and none of the makers give a single **** about realistic gameplay!! **** EA and 2k sports y'all suck and sold out a long time ago as far as effort for putting out a good gameplay game goes all about game modes especially money driven modes **** in shambles! Rant over!! Expand
  50. Dec 13, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst game ever. 6'9-6-7 centers dominate anything 6'10 and up in the paint. Inconsistent and full of can animations no matter how good of a player you are. Don't waste your time and or money on this trash. Expand
  51. Sep 14, 2020
    0
    Same as always, fix nothing charge more. From my favourite game to the worst one
  52. Dec 2, 2020
    0
    This game is virtual trash. Basically a shot missing simulator. I bought this game for 25$ and I still regret it. The game play is horrible probably the worst gameplay I’ve seen in all video games not just sports games. This is the only review I have written but I needed to say if you are thinking about buying this game because it’s on sale and you like the NBA, don’t. Just play on olderThis game is virtual trash. Basically a shot missing simulator. I bought this game for 25$ and I still regret it. The game play is horrible probably the worst gameplay I’ve seen in all video games not just sports games. This is the only review I have written but I needed to say if you are thinking about buying this game because it’s on sale and you like the NBA, don’t. Just play on older 2k that still has active servers Expand
  53. Nov 28, 2020
    0
    2K has simply given up on being able to make a game that is playable for those who are none pro-gamers.

    The sliders do not make any sense. For example. I Set the settings to even easier than rookie, and I was destroying people by 100pts. Which is to be expected. But then all I did was adjuster the cpu's sliders to be slightly better on offense. NOT DEFENSE, BUT OFFENSE. You know what
    2K has simply given up on being able to make a game that is playable for those who are none pro-gamers.

    The sliders do not make any sense.

    For example. I Set the settings to even easier than rookie, and I was destroying people by 100pts. Which is to be expected. But then all I did was adjuster the cpu's sliders to be slightly better on offense. NOT DEFENSE, BUT OFFENSE. You know what happened? I got beat by 80pts. Like how does increasing the CPU sliders to around 55ish mark, when mine are at like 69? HOW? Like for those who are casual gamers like me who just want to play, have a little challenge, but still win with out frustrated it is impossible.
    Expand
  54. Nov 25, 2020
    0
    The worst 2k I've ever played the park is laggy the microtransactions. The shot meter is astronomically bad they gave us the throw away copy for everyone stuck or still on ps4 or xbox one
  55. Nov 3, 2020
    0
    TRASH GAME I WANT MY MONEY BACK, Why is it that the ai seems to make everything and my teams ai seems to check out the hot chick in the front row when the player with the ball is right in front of them come on 2k you had 20 years to put a great game out but your just in it for the money just like ea!
  56. Nov 21, 2020
    0
    Literally 2k20 with different main menu, shot meter and a new prologue. Not even an hyoerbole, its the same **** game. Not even the editor has changed. I heavily encourage anyone reading this review to return your game. We, as a community refuse to call this a brand new game. Because it isnt. Its a copy paste of last year's 2k. Literally. You can count on your fingers the things thatLiterally 2k20 with different main menu, shot meter and a new prologue. Not even an hyoerbole, its the same **** game. Not even the editor has changed. I heavily encourage anyone reading this review to return your game. We, as a community refuse to call this a brand new game. Because it isnt. Its a copy paste of last year's 2k. Literally. You can count on your fingers the things that changed this year. **** you Ronnie. Enough is enough Expand
  57. Nov 20, 2020
    10
    Best nba games of all time super interesting execute you will buy this gams
  58. Nov 12, 2020
    1
    2k no longer makes basketball games, just complex slot machines to make you think you’re getting something for your money. Spending the initial $60 will not allow you to play online since you will never have a competitive myteam, expect to spend an additional $200-300 every year. They also never fix glitches that rob players of VC while patching out any way players find to earn it2k no longer makes basketball games, just complex slot machines to make you think you’re getting something for your money. Spending the initial $60 will not allow you to play online since you will never have a competitive myteam, expect to spend an additional $200-300 every year. They also never fix glitches that rob players of VC while patching out any way players find to earn it efficiently. As someone who has loved the series since the Dreamcast it’s finally come time for me to walk away. NBA 2k is now just a pay-to-win cheese fest, don’t waste your time. Expand
  59. Nov 11, 2020
    0
    Absolute garbage game. Everything from the online play, the matching system, the mechanics, the way to large amounts of money you have to spend if you want to upgrade anything. Not to mention, despite basically copying and pasting the same game with small adjustments each year, they manage to make it worse each year. It sucks! 2K sucks! And they need to fix their issues
  60. Nov 7, 2020
    0
    Anybody that thinks 2k21 is better than 2k20 got to be retarded in all senses. This is the worst game I ever played I want my money back. Whoever produced this game need to take out to the barnyard and deep down with a rubber hose. We all deserve our money back .
  61. Nov 5, 2020
    0
    This game is garbage...I paid 100 euro for mamba edition and I so frustrated with this game. AI is like you’re playing ps2...being a basketball fan for decades and realized that there is no basketball simulator on the market is so pissing off...this is basically downgraded version of nba 2k20...I hope one day all this people will go to the jail and this **** become crime...they downgradedThis game is garbage...I paid 100 euro for mamba edition and I so frustrated with this game. AI is like you’re playing ps2...being a basketball fan for decades and realized that there is no basketball simulator on the market is so pissing off...this is basically downgraded version of nba 2k20...I hope one day all this people will go to the jail and this **** become crime...they downgraded this game so bad that you don’t have any other options than to buy next gen version(which I did) this game is unplayable especially for those who played basketball in real life...the price tag for this garbage should be $25 Expand
  62. Nov 5, 2020
    0
    Absolutely terrible archetype building system that makes it to were you can’t be well rounded AT ALL. You can only be good at 2 things and NOTHING ELSE. The physics are EVEN WORSE than the archetype building system.
  63. Nov 4, 2020
    0
    A priceful game where there are tons of product placement (Nike, Jordan, Gatorade, etc etc). On the top of that, if you want to improve your player, team or whatever, you have to pay VC to get better. It's pay pay pay to win, pay to have fun, pay to get a Nike brand.
    If I didn't pay for the game, I could understand this policy. But iit is not the case. I don't recommend this game at all.
  64. Nov 3, 2020
    0
    If there was WGOTY awards (Worst Game Of The Year), NBA 2k21 would win hands down! Jumpshot is broken! Players movements are goofy! Players reflexes are the same of a bedside table! My players fail 9 screens out of 10! CPU fails 1 shot out of 10! And, most for all, it has NOTHING innovative! Practically you're playing a worse version of NBA 2k20! I've bought it for 50€ (I'm in Europe) andIf there was WGOTY awards (Worst Game Of The Year), NBA 2k21 would win hands down! Jumpshot is broken! Players movements are goofy! Players reflexes are the same of a bedside table! My players fail 9 screens out of 10! CPU fails 1 shot out of 10! And, most for all, it has NOTHING innovative! Practically you're playing a worse version of NBA 2k20! I've bought it for 50€ (I'm in Europe) and it is an absolutely crime! If you don't understand my disappointment, you have to know that this is my first review ever! Expand
  65. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    Unacceptable..to have bugs that crash my mycareer mode due to an unavoidable championship cutscense
  66. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    Game is trash only reason i even play it is cuz i bought it and there’s no way to refund it. The game will penalize you for leaving a game when youre matched up against players thats allowed to use controllers that gives automatic shot timing on shots to hit green all the time and that’s just something from the online play. In the nba mycareer mode the mechanics are so broken, you will getGame is trash only reason i even play it is cuz i bought it and there’s no way to refund it. The game will penalize you for leaving a game when youre matched up against players thats allowed to use controllers that gives automatic shot timing on shots to hit green all the time and that’s just something from the online play. In the nba mycareer mode the mechanics are so broken, you will get picked by your own team mates, team mates will ignore your call for the ball until defense is caught up to you or the defender is standing in the passing lane. The game is ridiculously designed for irritation. I wouldnt recommend this game until at least another 3 updates considering the fix the auto shoot controls. You make the game for skilled players? But they can lose to players that want to spend money on these controllers and have absolutely completely no skill whatsoever. Recall all 2k21 games you cloned of the recent version minus the shot aiming and badge work. Smh Expand
  67. Oct 28, 2020
    0
    This game gets worse every **** year I can't even play my team without dudes cheesing the ai defense bc the ai guard like Trae young and pass like javale McGee never have I had a game that makes my nerves shot as much as this if nba live could make a better game that'd be the way to go
  68. Oct 28, 2020
    0
    I hate the new release. I have a 6'3 point guard and won't dunk. I have flexible release hof. Still showing slightly off and air balling. Clear path layup instead of dunking. Even defense is weird. Im causing big guys to miss. When a 95 overall center should be jamming on me. It plz at least fix the shot meter or whatever it is that fcking almost everyone. There are decent players butI hate the new release. I have a 6'3 point guard and won't dunk. I have flexible release hof. Still showing slightly off and air balling. Clear path layup instead of dunking. Even defense is weird. Im causing big guys to miss. When a 95 overall center should be jamming on me. It plz at least fix the shot meter or whatever it is that fcking almost everyone. There are decent players but even 95 overall players I've seen airball **** crazy af Expand
  69. Oct 26, 2020
    0
    The game have ads , in game ads . Its not a free game its AAA Game that you pay 70 dollars for and have ads . Maybe in the future you can pay more to remove the ads ? Let me now
  70. Oct 25, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Trash Expand
  71. Oct 24, 2020
    0
    Garbage. The opposing cpu is like godmode even if you play on pro. Meanwhile the cpu on your team play like goldfish. The shot meter is horrible, and the gameplay is even worse. If you haven’t bought this game yet, please please please do NOT waste your hard earned money on this steaming pile of trash.
  72. Oct 24, 2020
    0
    Total garbage ! Nothing is working in game !my career on pro is more difficult than halloffame last year,the amount of vc that you need to upgrade your player is insane !dont have the in game and after game interviews for fans and chemistry ..daily bonuses not working ...servers lagging too much...if you have buy the game like me ,we both waste our money for nothing ,i hope they fix it butTotal garbage ! Nothing is working in game !my career on pro is more difficult than halloffame last year,the amount of vc that you need to upgrade your player is insane !dont have the in game and after game interviews for fans and chemistry ..daily bonuses not working ...servers lagging too much...if you have buy the game like me ,we both waste our money for nothing ,i hope they fix it but im dont have any trust in 2k anymore Expand
  73. Oct 23, 2020
    0
    Eine Frechheit in einem Vollpreistitel Werbung zu schalten. Nie im Leben würd ich mir so ein Spiel kaufen.
  74. Oct 23, 2020
    1
    When I bought the game, I was aware of the microtransactions. But since I'll be playing MyCareer only I proceeded with the purchase (and being back to console game after 5 years). After being greeted by a massive 20GB update in your first boot, the game auto-quits when internet connection is interrupted for even less than a minute. So, if you're in the 4th quarter of a game, the game willWhen I bought the game, I was aware of the microtransactions. But since I'll be playing MyCareer only I proceeded with the purchase (and being back to console game after 5 years). After being greeted by a massive 20GB update in your first boot, the game auto-quits when internet connection is interrupted for even less than a minute. So, if you're in the 4th quarter of a game, the game will auto-quit, none of your previous gameplay in the first 3 quarters will be saved. All the other complaints about online gameplay favouring people with money to spare, intrusive ads, and the constant auto-quitting, I now understand how this game has overwhelmingly negative reviews. Never buying another 2K game again. Expand
  75. Oct 22, 2020
    1
    First they start with the $70 price for new consoles. Then they put unskippable ads on the game? I miss when it was just get the game and enjoy. I had mad respect for 2K before but they going the same road as EA
  76. Oct 21, 2020
    0
    It’s literally nba 2k20 but with ads in the loading screen, thats just ridiculous, like we don’t already spend much with the game itself.
  77. Oct 21, 2020
    0
    if i want to see ads i will watch TV . This company make fun of their coustomers
  78. Oct 21, 2020
    0
    Why we are obligate to watch adds when we already pay for the game? This is pure trash we need to avoid this type of games they can destroy the game industry with this ideas of making mor money
  79. Oct 21, 2020
    0
    2K are truly as bad as EA for putting those ads on a game that didn't had them in the first place. You guys are so disgusting, especially all the casinos you put in those sport games. I am not a NBA player, but it shows me how much you care for your customers and I refuse to buy more of your games, even in discount.
  80. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Honestly I never played this microtransaction-riddled piece of crap, but I just had to do my part after hearing about the unskippable ads that were added to the game weeks after launch.

    STOP BUYING THIS TRASH PEOPLE!!!
  81. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    O jogo além de ser uma reciclagem do antigo tbm está todo cagado e agora decidiram que vão colocar anúncios tbm. Apenas decepcionante
  82. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles.............................2K has no shame, they're probably pedofiles............................. Expand
  83. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    I bought the game for my nephew because he's a basketball fan and he couldn't see his friends at school after getting covid19.
    Even with the Casino and the after launch added unskippable add in 2K20 I still bought it.
    I thought as long his parent don't give him money to put in that game it should be fine...what a fool I was. I mean, are you for real 2K? Is this real life? Shame on you.
    I bought the game for my nephew because he's a basketball fan and he couldn't see his friends at school after getting covid19.
    Even with the Casino and the after launch added unskippable add in 2K20 I still bought it.
    I thought as long his parent don't give him money to put in that game it should be fine...what a fool I was.
    I mean, are you for real 2K? Is this real life?
    Shame on you. This was the last time I bought a 2K game.
    Expand
  84. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    -Ingame ads added a month after release
    -Microtransactions to a point where it's literally a virtual casino
    -Copy pasted content
    -60$
  85. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Most likely the worst in series yet. Personally tiired of this cash grab mentality. A shameful product full of bugs.
  86. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Unskipable ads in a 60$ game with tons of MTX - where can I get my money back?
  87. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    This is what happens when you treat you customers with contempt. Shareholders aren’t everything.
  88. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    They added unskippable ads??? That is disgusting! I will NEVER buy another 2k game again, EVER! The game isn't even really that much different than last gen. They could done these updates via an update to 2k20. YOU SUCK!
  89. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    70 dollars and making people watch adverstiments, this is going the wrong way! I urge players to massively boycot 2K games!
  90. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Imagine buying an anticipated and new NBA game only for it to be an the empty shell of 2k20 but filled with UNSKIPPABLE ADS. I prefer chewing nails than to ever buy anything from 2K again.

    Enjoy my review :)
  91. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Unskippable ads in a full price game! Unacceptable and even worse, they waited until reviews were released before inserting them. NEVER BUYING AN NBA GAME AGAIN
  92. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    it is a sport game so i know that its a tiny upgrade from last years title, but implementing unskipable ads in game "fake" loading screens its absolutely disgusting.
    2K should be ashamed.
  93. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    How can you add unskippable ads in a game that costs $60, and will cost $70 on next gen?! It is such a garbage move that it's mind-boggling. Stop. Don't buy this game at all costs.
  94. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    Adding ads after the game launch is insulting and unnaceptable. 2K is truly pathetic.
  95. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    WHAAAAAT?!!? In-game ads in a $60 game!? What the hell is going on in your mind EA??
  96. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    In-game ads in a $60 game. A month after launch? Wow.. What a trash company. Basically copy and paste from last year. I'm so done with EA and it's scummy tactics!
  97. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    Utter horse **** patching in unskippable adds into the same game you released last year.
  98. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    "10/10
    They put a basketball minigame in one of the best gambling simulator game on steam!"
    I'm gonna be honest. I stole this review from the top Funny reviews on Steam. You wanna know the funny part? It's from the 2K20 steam page. What I did here is essentially what they have done. Copy and pasted. Only this time, there are ads. There are **** advertisements in a minimum $60 dollar
    "10/10
    They put a basketball minigame in one of the best gambling simulator game on steam!"

    I'm gonna be honest. I stole this review from the top Funny reviews on Steam. You wanna know the funny part? It's from the 2K20 steam page. What I did here is essentially what they have done. Copy and pasted. Only this time, there are ads. There are **** advertisements in a minimum $60 dollar fully fledged "AAA" title. Take Two is one of the most pathetic miserable gaming companies on the market, and yet idiots still buy this **** every **** year because they need another reason to spend mommy's hard earned money on loot boxes. Stop giving them your money. They haven't worked at all to earn it. Go **** yourselves, Take Two, you pieces of ****
    Expand
  99. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    Unskippable adds in a full-priced casino game disguised as a sports game. 'nuff said.
  100. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    Can you guys just sell me an ad reel for $60, sorry $70 now for no justified reason, it's not like you updated anything with this game? Or I'm sorry it's actually $100 for the Mamba Forever edition, you know the one that profits off the passing of a hero for an unjustified price. Oh, and if you want the next-gen upgrade, you gotta shell out more to just buy the base game, because 2k wantsCan you guys just sell me an ad reel for $60, sorry $70 now for no justified reason, it's not like you updated anything with this game? Or I'm sorry it's actually $100 for the Mamba Forever edition, you know the one that profits off the passing of a hero for an unjustified price. Oh, and if you want the next-gen upgrade, you gotta shell out more to just buy the base game, because 2k wants us to but the game 2x. Please do not get me started on the slot machine mechanics in @k either, you guys are just as bad as EA and it's disgusting. Ads only belong in free to play games. Period. Of all game publishers, you guys overcharge for minimal changes between releases, when let's face it you just have an annual roster update, and you gauge us with microtransactions that other publishers include in the base game and now you put unskippable ads in a month after release!!!! DO YOU THINK WE ARE STUPID?! Never buying a 2k game again from these greedy bastards. **** you, 2k, you don't deserve the NBA ip and steal money from children. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    70
    It loses a point because of its Virtual Currency (VC) obsession, a recurringissue in 2K games. It’s supposed to ensure that all your actions in every mode – career, MyTeam, even watching 2KTV – secure rewards, but they’re often someagre that the entire game comes across as a grind, aimed at funnelling you towards the PS Store to part with real cash.Please don’t do that. The only way games like this and FIFA will change in the next gen is if their players make a sustainedeffort not to exchange any of their hard-earned dosh for digital trading cards. Otherwise this is solid, but on that front 2K (and EA, and the rest) must do better. [Issue#181, p.94]
  2. Oct 31, 2020
    60
    NBA 2K21 makes welcome improvements to its MyCareer and MyTeam modes, but the frustratingly inconsistent new shooting system and lack of changes elsewhere make it feel like it’s lost its step over other sports games.
  3. Oct 23, 2020
    70
    On the court, this is a brilliant basketball game that doesn’t change much. Why would it when it’s not really necessary? The microtransactions, however, are more annoying than Houston’s playstyle.