Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    100
    It carries the sensibilities of its inspirations, and it feels and looks just as it should. There's some irritation there, but like the best folk tales, Never Alone is all about sharing the game with someone else.
  2. 100
    It makes me truly happy to see game developers creating high quality products such as Never Alone that push entertainment boundaries and demonstrate that games can be culturally important. We need to see more of this game, and I hope this is a roaring success so that other native culture organisations look at it and realise the sheer power of games to tell their own stores.
  3. Dec 22, 2014
    90
    Never Alone is a fantastic game which offers insight in the Alaskan culture and folklore. The game has a very nice style and enjoyable gameplay, however it is very short. Still this is a must buy for anyone.
  4. Dec 19, 2014
    90
    My heart felt good once I completed Never Alone after roughly 3 hours. Despite how straightforward the story is, the larger narrative and the way it ties into generations of storytelling tradition for the Iñupiat people is paramount.
  5. Dec 1, 2014
    90
    Despite some occasionally frustrating difficulty spikes, Never Alone tells a fascinating, evocative tale that leaves a deep impression. A terrific platform game, despite its flaws.
  6. Nov 19, 2014
    90
    Never Alone is a game that has gone from hardly being on the radar, to something that could quite possibly be a Game of the Year (2014) contender. Those who take a chance on this game will come away knowing they have been part of a unique experience that shows that games can be used as a serious vehicle for story telling.
  7. Dec 24, 2014
    88
    It's a dazzling adventure that is not to be missed.
  8. 85
    Anyone can play it, everyone would find something to enjoy about it, you can play it with a friend, and non-gamers would even enjoy watching you play due to the intermittent documentary clips and the beautiful art style.
  9. Jan 7, 2015
    80
    I truly hope that more games attempt to give real world context in the same way that Never Alone does.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    Never Alone delivers something different. It’s often frustrating, but hey, it’s windy out, Inuit? [January 2015, p69]
  11. Nov 18, 2014
    80
    As a platformer, Never Alone is solid, but not exactly revolutionary.
  12. Nov 18, 2014
    80
    Nuna & Fox’s story is wonderfully told through the native tongue of the Iñupiat, accompanied by artwork inspired by the tribe’s drawings and etchings, and brought to life by the beautiful designed of the environments and characters.
  13. Nov 20, 2014
    78
    Maybe at first sight it could look like Limbo meets Pingu, but Never Alone is something more than just a clone: It's a true experience of feelings, loneliness and cooperation. An ancient tale of a fascinating real culture from Alaska which emphasizes in the uses of their traditions, art and folklore. It is short, easy for the most part; it needs some polish in the AI companion and the playability of one of its characters. But you let yourself go through this game, because this journey of a little girl, an arctic fox and the spirits of nature, is truly mesmerizing.
  14. Jan 16, 2015
    70
    Despite my frustrations with some unfair aspects of the gameplay, I found Never Alone to be incredibly compelling.
  15. Dec 27, 2014
    70
    For the price point at which Never Alone is currently offered, we can’t argue it’s amazing value for money. However, we do believe it’s a new experience in gaming, and a stellar proof of concept for what the developer/publisher combo wants to do. If you’re after a biographical and socially relevant gaming experience, invest in Never Alone and you won’t regret it.
  16. Nov 30, 2014
    70
    Never Alone offers a very nice story and a superb artistic touch that should please the indie allergic gamers. The only real drawback is that you need to play this game co-op in order to get the most of it, as the solo might be quite tedious sometimes.
  17. Nov 18, 2014
    70
    While I’m in no great rush to play it again, the appreciation I gleaned for a culture I knew practically nothing about is something I really cherish. If you can patiently plod your way through the game entwined with the story of the Iñupiat people, I suspect you’ll cherish them too.
  18. 70
    On occasion, gameplay feels stale due to the lack of depth and frustrates with frequent death inevitable, but the authenticity of the folklore tale coupled with a great art-style and engaging video docs takes you on a journey that actually feels refreshingly unique and certainly worth a look at its modest price point.
  19. Jan 7, 2015
    67
    Never Alone is one of those short, but enjoyable experiences. A recommendable game at the right price, since it's launch price is quite high due to the duration of the game, aiming the at least slightly environmental-concerned gamers who like folklore stories
  20. Nov 30, 2014
    65
    Questionable game design choices and some irritating bugs just overpowered the storytelling for me.
  21. Edge Magazine
    Jan 9, 2015
    60
    A fragile container for a tale of such inestimable value, and what ought to be universally welcoming instead must be approached with caution: come expecting revelation on an emotional level, not a mechanical one. [Jan 2014, p.121]
  22. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 13, 2015
    50
    Sadly, pretty looks and sweetly-edited shorts can't mask the lack of inspiration at its mechanical core. [Jan 2015, p.94]
  23. Dec 1, 2014
    50
    Never Alone is just not an enjoyable or fulfilling experience, and that is why it is best left alone.
  24. Nov 25, 2014
    50
    Never Alone makes experiencing this untouched world cumbersome and frustrating, draining the magic away from its promise and leaving a sketchy, unpolished game in its snow-covered wake.
  25. Nov 17, 2014
    40
    Never Alone is bursting with promise and charm, but is savagely let down by technical flaws and maddening design decisions. Not even the cutest fox in gaming can save it.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 220
  2. Negative: 27 out of 220
  1. Dec 2, 2014
    4
    I love indie games and I give this 4 because I know the people behind this game have their hearts in the right place. The problem is that,I love indie games and I give this 4 because I know the people behind this game have their hearts in the right place. The problem is that, unfortunately, the game is bad. The story is interesting as it give us an opportunity to learn about a whole culture and they had a great idea in their hands (not original, mind you): you control a girl and a fox through a series of easy puzzles and clunky platforming. The gameplay is boring, the "fighting" is almost broken and, at one point, I was getting so mad at them for failing so much that I was actually amused to see them losing to the bad guys. I don't recommend this game. It can not be only about a concept, it must entertain. And Neve Alone doesn't. Bad, mediocre game that aims too high but falls flat on the ground. Full Review »
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    5
    Arrrgh... I got roped into buying this game by Eurogamer, and... it's a nothing title. Complete nothing. A by the books platform puzzler thatArrrgh... I got roped into buying this game by Eurogamer, and... it's a nothing title. Complete nothing. A by the books platform puzzler that is pretty to look at but lacks depth in a big, big way.

    Yes, it's atmospheric, but that means nothing if it has nothing in terms of game play. I could look at The Scream by Edvard Munch if I wanted an atmospheric visual without gameplay.

    It's also very easy. It's difficult to get puzzle platformers right in terms of difficulty, but every puzzle is just so obvious as to take away any semblance of intrigue.

    There are much better titles out there, and whilst I applaud this indie title for getting the setting absolutely spot on, it's proof that gameplay is king.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 6, 2016
    6
    I played this game thanks to the PS+ subscription but I'll review it like if i bought it as is no longer available for free.

    Never Alone is
    I played this game thanks to the PS+ subscription but I'll review it like if i bought it as is no longer available for free.

    Never Alone is one of those game that is more concern by its purpose than it is with its gameplay. Then yes you'll learned a lot about an original culture, the game has cute graphics that match its chara design. For an indie game the technical side is pretty good.

    The story without being amazing is, like already said, a true discovery of this people culture with a very nice atmosphere but it will only last about 3 hours which is way too short for the 15€ asked.

    And at least if those 3 hours were intense it would compensate the length but not the puzzles and the platforming is so simple you'll just walk through each level and take the few collectibles scattered across.

    There's not much more to say, it's cute and interesting, but not very interesting and very short. If you want to play it I suggest to wait for a big discount.
    Full Review »