Neverwinter Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter's dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Neverwinter: Ravenloft - Official Cinematic Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 23, 2016
    80
    On its own, Neverwinter is a very solid and very enjoyable MMO — with its free price point, there's no reason that you shouldn't be giving it a chance.
  2. Jul 19, 2016
    80
    I really appreciate Neverwinter for what it is: a fun, easy-to-pick-up MMO that takes your hand and shows you the incredible and vast landscape of a genre I’ve been afraid to take my first proper steps into. If you can gather a few friends to create your own guild with, this could well be an action-MMORPG to really get lost in.
  3. 80
    Neverwinter is strongly recommended for RPG fans, and even more so for MMORPG fans. There are a couple of hiccups from a technical standpoint, and the controls aren’t perfect. Graphically, we’ve all seen better, as well. But there is a whole world of Dungeons & Dragons-inspired adventuring to be had in Neverwinter, and you can see as much or as little of it with friends as you so desire.
  4. Jul 27, 2016
    80
    Even with two weeks of play under my belt, I feel like I have probably completed one half of one percent of what the current iteration of Neverwinter has to offer. For no cost, players can jump in and play one of the best MMORPGs available on the market at any price point today.
  5. Jul 25, 2016
    70
    There are a lot of small things to nitpick about Neverwinter, but the overall experience is something more than worthy of its exceedingly fair price point.
  6. Jul 31, 2016
    70
    Slightly watered down version from PC, but still a good game to enjoy both with friends or alone.
  7. Aug 4, 2016
    60
    It’s extremely mindless grinding, which can be fun now and again when you’re feeling non-committal. And from what I’ve learned of the endgame offerings, when you’re fully leveled, you can just experience much of the same. I’m not sure how long someone would want to experience more of the same, and I don’t feel like anything I’ve played warrants going through it all again with another character. It’s just not all that compelling, but if you have friends you’d like to quest with, it’s certainly something to do… like many other things.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Jul 26, 2016
    10
    Best mmorp on console full stop. Yes there are a few issues but it has just come out on console. For a free to play game with add onBest mmorp on console full stop. Yes there are a few issues but it has just come out on console. For a free to play game with add on purchases, this is a must play. There is a ton of content and the quests are more interesting than in eso. The pve and pvp are a ton of fun and the community in the game (which is huge) is very friendly. If you are putting this game down, you are an absolute moron Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    Amazing port of a PC MMO to console. Why more games aren't doing this is beyond me. Give me the comfort of the couch and a controller over aAmazing port of a PC MMO to console. Why more games aren't doing this is beyond me. Give me the comfort of the couch and a controller over a desk and keyboard/mouse combo any day. Great game and have played this exclusively for the last several months. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2016
    8
    This is a F2P game, so I'm rating it accordingly. I'm not going to subtract points because they are trying to make money on the game. If youThis is a F2P game, so I'm rating it accordingly. I'm not going to subtract points because they are trying to make money on the game. If you don't like the model, just play a game with a model you do like. However, if you understand what F2P is like, this game is quite a delight on the PS4.

    THE GOOD:

    1) Far and away what hooked me was the smooth control scheme for the controller. Unlike the FFXIV layout which was functional but not as good as keyboard and mouse, this is the first MMMORPG I've played on both PC and console that I prefer combat with a controller. It's intuitive and responsive (for an MMORPG that understandably lags in areas with high populations)

    2) End Game is very casual for those that want it. you just need 1 - 2 friends to keep progressing. There is TONS of content. Some people say this means it's a grind. But to me, it means there is more to do. I prefer there to be more to do that I haven't done instead of simply repeating old things. I know some folks want to get to the top of the mountain, but in Neverwinter, that is going to take far longer than you could possibly imagine. So for me, this casual, long end-game that keeps getting updated means hours of fun in a familiar D&D world with voice-acted NPCs and stories written by people like R.A. Salvatore. I'm in!

    3) Dungeons & Dragons Nostalgia. I've played lots of MMORPGs, but playing one set in the D&D franchise brings to memory so many games from the past that if you played these games, you'll enjoy this as much as I do!

    THE BAD

    1) The fact this is F2P will be in your face the whole time. I recommend playing for a bit, if you like it, decide you are going to pay them for their work and decide where to spend your money. Those pay walls are there, but they aren't hard and fast. First: There is an exchange so you can swap currency you earn in-game for ZEN to purchase from the cash shop. Second, there are great guides online for completely free players to compete at the highest level in PVE and PVP, so if what you got is time and not money, then you can do it all here.

    2) Bugs! Yep too many games have them. I get kicked from the server roughly once every 4 hours. This is too much. I hope it gets fixed! There are other bugs where you can get stuck and have to log in as a second character to fix this. It's annoying and time consuming, but nothing game breaking.

    3) I may be wrong, but I don't think there is any 8-16 person PvE content. I am glad it's not dominated by this, but I would like a few reasons to work together as a big organized group. So even if it is in the game, at level 66 I've still not seen it or heard of it. So definitely under-represented. I've not run a heroic dungeon yet, which I know are tough, but I believe those are just 3 - 5 man dungeons.

    VERDICT: I have to give this game a strong score because it's truly fun to play. You should be able to tell if the things people say are bad about it will get to you or not. My opinion is that if they do not bother you, you'll find a lot to love about combat with a PS4 controller in this, the only true D&D MMORPG available on the platform, F2P or not.

    Lastly, I'm playing with several disenchanted ESO players who are finding a lot to like in comparison. I didn't play ESO, but if it rubbed you the wrong way, Neverwinter on PS4 might be just the ticket!
    Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2016
    7
    What I wanted to talk about is the "official" Neverwinter forums. Which is something , that should not be ignored? Since this is an MMO. TheWhat I wanted to talk about is the "official" Neverwinter forums. Which is something , that should not be ignored? Since this is an MMO. The mods are very , how should I put this ... desensitized to what's posted there. I started out liking and enjoying the forums, and I even recommended them at first. But that's definitively, not the case anymore. Especially when , you get "busted" for every single thing you post. By the way avoid word like "peanut gallery" because the flippin forum mods, will jump all over you. Oh that's not the worse part either, they will also "edit" aka censor your posts and re- post the "edited" version. They will twist your words and accuse you of spamming and trolling. And what truly disgusts me, is that the mods themselves. Will turn around and do the same. But you can't report them, because they're "UN touchable" because they are mods and UN publishable. And on top of that they will make it know to the entire forum , that you were issued a warning. For whatever , infraction your guilty of. This is clearly and abuse of power. And there is nothing you can do about it. So my advice is this, avoid those "forums" like the plague. And you will, thank me for that;) P.S. they get a REAL power trip out it, plus most of them are " payed" volunteers. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2016
    6
    The game is what it is. An average MMORPG that is free-to-play. There is an endless amount of things to do such as dungeons, side missions,The game is what it is. An average MMORPG that is free-to-play. There is an endless amount of things to do such as dungeons, side missions, pve and pvp, farming, etc. as you would expect to do and you can easily lose yourself into the game for hours because of the amount of content. The story leaves a lot to be desired. I've invested 200+ hours into in and I still have no idea what's going on. I had to go to Wikipedia for that. I've dealt with lag here and there, but honestly its not a big issue if you have a strong connection. The dungeon runs are fun, but just too short in my opinion. The average dungeon can be completed in like 20 minutes. While there is a vast community, I haven't come across the socializing that I have in other MMORPGs. You'd be wise to join a guild sooner than later that way if you have any questions, veterans of the game can give you help through it.

    All in all, its not a bad game. There is plenty to do here. While it won't stack up against the likes of GW, WoW, FFXIV, or Everquest, for the newbie trying MMORPGs or for people who are simply looking for a free-to-play MMORPG it will more than suffice.
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2016
    5
    Below average graphics, eye straining low framerate (15fps) in main city, limited UI options, limited control setup options, a confusingBelow average graphics, eye straining low framerate (15fps) in main city, limited UI options, limited control setup options, a confusing countless number of monetary systems esp for new players. Free to Play slow lane grinding & P2W roadblocks sully the experience. Collapse
  7. Dec 4, 2017
    1
    Used to be a phenomenal game until Cryptic Studios got incredibly greedy in this "freemium" game (it will cost you over $1000 to go anywhereUsed to be a phenomenal game until Cryptic Studios got incredibly greedy in this "freemium" game (it will cost you over $1000 to go anywhere from scratch, as the developers have made this game extremely costly to go anywhere once you get to level 70. The game is now complete **** Expand

See all 22 User Reviews