Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 101 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
Buy On
  1. May 5, 2017
    100
    Nier: Automata is an absolute masterclass in game design. It surpasses expectations time and time again resulting in an experience not to be missed by fans of action titles.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 18, 2017
    100
    Nier: Automata is huge. Not by the game time, but for its content, which unlocks after every end of the game. PlatinumGames prove that they still know how to make the perfect game, and action games fans will certainly have much fun. [Issue#273]
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    100
    Nier: Automata is an easy recommendation, it's an open-world RPG with combat from an action game that plays like a dream. With solid art direction and a thoughtful story, it regularly turns genre conventions on their head in a way that few games ever manage to achieve. It's worth checking out if you've been looking for a substantial single-player experience that gives you as much to kill as it does to think about.
  4. Mar 21, 2017
    100
    The action is superb, the story is one of gaming’s best, the atmosphere and tone are easy to get lost in, and the soundtrack is a marvel, with the end game credits song being one of the best in existence. It’s been a ridiculously packed year for quality games, and with certain bigger open world games out there right now it might be easy to skip NieR: Automata, but you owe it to yourself to play this. An incredible sequel to one of gaming’s strangest, most flawed masterpieces.
  5. Mar 19, 2017
    100
    NieR Automata is the first game to truly stand up and greet ludonarrative dissonance as a friend, and actually start the conversation about our bloodlust versus our empathy.
  6. Mar 13, 2017
    100
    The presentation, innovation, and unabashed love of the strange all coalesce into something that looks like what would happen if Hideo Kojima attempted to design a Final Fantasy, and as it turns out, it is something that needed to happen.
  7. 100
    NieR: Automata is the rare title that showcases what's absolutely so special about video games as a medium. From storytelling to gameplay, this is a truly unique experience that needs to be played.
  8. Mar 8, 2017
    100
    We don't get games like Nier: Automata too often. And by that I mean games that simultaneously weave a deeply harrowing existentialist narrative, in addition to playing with our expectations on how we play games. There's nothing else around like Nier: Automata (except for maybe its predecessor). And in an industry that sometimes leans too heavily on sameness, it's wholly refreshing.
  9. Mar 6, 2017
    100
    Nier Automata takes the franchise from good to excellent. The gameplay is heavenly, the soundtrack is amazing and ts philosophical and fascinating subjects will leave you seized with emotion.
  10. Mar 6, 2017
    100
    There’s nothing like it. As was the case with its predecessor, NieR: Automata is a game that will be talked about for years to come. Hopefully in less hushed tones this time around.
  11. Mar 6, 2017
    100
    The combat and the RPG systems are fun and interesting, but what will likely stick with you from Automata is its thematic strength. You might be pulling off bad-ass combos in slick, speedy combat, but the game can also give you pause to muse about the existential philosophies it posits and questions - that's a special thing indeed. Backed by an excellent battle system thanks to Platinum, Automata is Yoko Taro’s magnum opus - and it's one of the best games I’ve ever played.
  12. Mar 6, 2017
    100
    NieR: Automata is the rare gaming experience in which narrative, aesthetics, and gameplay all complement each other to form a perfect storm of master class game design. A truly exemplary example of what video games are capable of as an art form, and a new personal favorite.
  13. 100
    Put simply, NieR: Automata is the greatest game ever made. It’s not just that it is the deepest and most narratively potent game ever developed - and it is a truly deep narrative experience - but more than that, Yoko Taro has finally found perhaps the developer on the planet capable of doing his visionary work justice. This game is a true, genuine work of art, and anyone who wants to prove that gaming does possess an equivalent to the greatest novels, operas, theatre plays, or paintings, now has that very game to point to. Yoko Taro is gaming’s Shakespeare, Da Vinci, and Welles, all rolled into one.
  14. Mar 3, 2017
    100
    NieR Automata is the ultimate JRPG, mixing this genre perfectly with the Hack n’ Slash style. It succeeds in every respect: A complex and deep story, beautiful design and a unique style. This game is a true masterpiece.
  15. Mar 2, 2017
    100
    In the end, NieR Automata’s story is profound, at times heartbreaking, and in other instances you’ll spot tiny glimmers of hope. It’s an expertly crafted story that’s uniquely presented to toy with the way you perceive characters and the world surrounding them. It’s a crazy ride from beginning to end and one that completely blew me away, in spite of my own absurdly high expectations.
  16. Mar 24, 2017
    98
    Nier: Automata the best game from Platinum Games yet. It's an action packed game that also has an incredibly engaging story and tons of fantastic characters. This is the best action game I have played in years and one of the best games I have ever played in my life. It's gonna take a lot to take my personal Game of the Year award from Nier: Automata as its currently sitting in the top spot.
  17. Aug 21, 2018
    95
    NieR Automata: Beyond Gods Edition was a total shock to me with how much I enjoyed it. It takes a very solid experience for me to enjoy an RPG lately and NieR grabbed me quite well from the beginning and kept me entertained throughout. It's the type of game where I want to do everything that I possibly can just to make the experience longer - a type of game I rarely find nowadays. I went into NieR Autamata with no expectations other than the good gameplay that I usually find from Platinum Games, I went away floored with a near perfect action game.
  18. Mar 27, 2017
    95
    Nier: Automata is brilliant. Its mature storytelling is filled with intrigue and philosophy explored through fascinating character work that delves into the depths of the human experience and the complications inherent in artificial intelligence. Combined with some incredibly tight and fluid gameplay that pulls together a multitude of ideas with ease, it’s made all the more impressive by the multiple endings and massive replayability. Taro and Platinum Games deserve praise for creating a game that values the player’s time with regular rewards, and one that deserves to be experienced.
  19. Mar 17, 2017
    95
    What Automata eventually does with its narrative, along with the choices it leaves in the hands of the player, is unprecedented. When I received my final ending I was convinced it was the most uplifting, weird, and celebratory thing I had ever played. This is surely hyperbole colored by an immediate recency bias, but that feeling inside of that moment seemed designed to stand the test of time. It will also literally get better with time.
  20. Mar 6, 2017
    95
    NieR Automata is not only an excellent Beat'em all, it also has a great story with a huge background that will keep the player hooked. Add an exemplary level design and a huge area to explore to the mix and you'll get one of the best games of this year.
  21. Mar 6, 2017
    95
    Nier Automata is a masterpiece: a tour de force of creativity and a philosophical essay. Square's new dream team proves that miracles do exist.
  22. Mar 6, 2017
    95
    The original Nier missed that finishing touch in the gameplay department. With Platinum Games on board for the sequel Nier Automata became an absolute masterpiece. The combat, world, music, and story fit so well together that it would be a crime to sit this one out.
  23. 95
    Exceptional in every way. NeiR: Automata delivers on every cylinder, providing one of the best experiences this year. In every generation there is a game that leaves an impression on you and for me NieR: Automata is that game. To put it simply, NeiR: Automata is a magical experience.
  24. Mar 6, 2017
    93
    NieR Automata is a piece of art. Looking at the art direction, the soundtrack, the plot or the gameplay everything exhales good taste and unique personality. But, like all the art, there will be people that would not understand it. It's not our case. We are absolutely in love with it and we think that it is and unforgettable experience.
  25. Mar 6, 2017
    93
    Yoko Taro and Platinum Games form an alliance that elevates the NieR franchise where probably no one expected it to be years ago. Automata is a great action extravaganza with so much love for the games as a medium as we, the players, should have for it.
  26. Feb 25, 2017
    93
    NieR: Automata is everything I could have wanted from a sequel to NieR, to the point that I almost feel spoiled here. It keeps the same off-the-wall plot and well-written characters from the original while discarding the clunky combat and movement for a system that has the sheen of any one of Platinum's greatest titles. It really is the best of both worlds. If you've been a fan of NieR since day one, but have been burnt by its clumsiness before, you're in for a fantastic treat. And if you're new to the craziness that is a Yoko Taro game, know that this is the absolute best time to jump in.
  27. Mar 6, 2017
    92
    NieR: Automata is one of the biggest surprises on the year and one hell of a game. It offers a diverse variety of genres in a well-designed title with fluid and dynamic controls and fast-paced action that never stops. On top of that, its full and rich cast of characters and well-set story makes this one of the most interesting projects we will see in 2017 and one game than no one can miss.
  28. Mar 3, 2017
    92
    Although it might not be a perfect game, the sum of NieR: Automata’s unique storytelling meshed with Platinum Games’ style of action, meld together into a title well deserving of being one of my personal Games of the Year.
  29. CD-Action
    Apr 26, 2017
    90
    In terms of story (ambitious and mature) Automata blows every other AAA title from last couple of years out of the water, which evens out the fact that action sequences are no match for Bayonetta. I might have rated the new Zelda 10/10, but Nier will stay in my memory longer. [05/2017, p.50]
  30. Apr 21, 2017
    90
    A thrilling adventure to save a world turned on its head with themes surrounding human nature, civilians in war, and the soldier’s journey. Surrounded by an impeccable soundtrack and pointed visuals, there is not another game which so gracefully pulls this off. The multiple endings are another thing to keep players coming back and are just as thrilling as the first playthrough. There are some issues with cutscenes and sidequests hardly live up to the main questline battles, however.
  31. Apr 5, 2017
    90
    Basically, Nier: Automata is a JRPG with a lot of hack n slash, but when you enter its world, you realize that you have never experienced anything like this before. A very mature story, combined with deep gameplay, a marvelous soundtrack and an engaging world and atmosphere has made Nier: Automata a very unique experience and one of the best games of 2017.
  32. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Yoko Taro is known to be over the top and a bit crazy. This time this madness, combined with the great minds at Platinum Games, gave birth to an excellent video game I just have to recommend. The story, while a bit convoluted, is moving and beautiful, the gameplay is great and allows freedom of choice in how to tackle battles, the characters are great and the world itself is wonderfully bleak and dark. The game's hard and very hard mode can be a bit too difficult for its own good, and the side quests do tend to be a bit boring and tedious, but the overall experience is amazing.
  33. Mar 23, 2017
    90
    Nier Automata is unforgettable. The gameplay is all sorts of Platinum Games fun but the story is what will remain with you long after it’s done.
  34. Mar 21, 2017
    90
    Few games are able to showcase the power of the medium like Nier: Automata...If history forgets this game, then f.ck history.
  35. Mar 20, 2017
    90
    It’s one of the most consistently, thematically dark games of this console generation. This isn’t something you plug in to cheer up at the end of a long day. Yoko Taro is the closest thing that video games have to an Ingmar Bergman, and you should only jump on this ride if you’re in a mood to grapple with some heavy questions about life, death, sacrifice, and humanity.
  36. Mar 20, 2017
    90
    While I strongly feel it was a crime both NieR and Drakengard 3 were grossly overlooked by the media and blatantly judged only by their flaws, it was about time Yoko Taro's genius got the deserving attention and praise in the form of NieR: Automata. One shouldn't underrate the part PlatinumGames have played in the process though. The game might be Taro's baby but PlatinumGames has fostered it to a fine specimen of a Japanese action RPG. Not as brash and mad as Taro's previous offerings but more bold and proud. Much like the protagonist 2B herself.
  37. Mar 20, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata is a weird RPG with outdated graphics and some repetitiveness. But it doesn't matter - Platinum games has created an excellent, fresh and crazy game. It has an original storyline with tons of brutal and moving scenes, and features a constantly shifting gameplay and wonderful soundtrack. It has all the features of a timeless classic.
  38. Mar 17, 2017
    90
    True authorship is a rare thing to find in games, yet it’s very present in Nier: Automata. Like Yoko Taro’s past work, Automata challenges gaming norms through narrative structure, subjects discussed, and even how the nature of games can be used to convey ideas that other mediums can’t. In the past, appreciating these things meant accepting middling or even poor technical and mechanical aspects. With Nier: Automata, far fewer excuses are necessary. It’s a bold, stylish, and intelligent game that leaves an indelible mark.
  39. Mar 17, 2017
    90
    Sometimes, you get the ultimate pairing of both chocolate and peanut butter, and in the case of Nier: Automata, that's Yoko Taro and Platinum. Automata is an amazing game even by the high standards of this year. Its flaws don't detract much from the experience, and the combat is fast, stylish and fun. The story is engaging, and the music is phenomenal. Some poor graphics performance and a slight repetitiveness to the combat drag things down. If you're a fan of Taro's games, Automata is by far his best on a gameplay level. If you're not already a fan, Automata is a bizarrely distinct game that's absolutely worth experiencing.
  40. Mar 16, 2017
    90
    Nier: Automata is a brilliant, slick action RPG pumped with so many cool and distinct features, and a story that that I could keep talking about all day, but let’s not spoil what should be experienced, nor bore everyone with mechanics and finish up the review with a final statement. Nier: Automata is a thrilling piece of entertainment, one that sticks out for being unique, for being refreshing, and that little bit bonkers. With so many quality games released so far in 2017, Nier: Automata‘s brave approach to bring something outlandish makes it a worthwhile investment. By combining the madness of Yoko Taro’s stories with Platinum Games expertise in adrenaline action, it has enabled it to deliver an exceptional and solid paced video game, with both teams complimenting each other in this sequel that improves on everything wrong with Nier, while blowing your freaking mind after reaching its full conclusion.
  41. Mar 15, 2017
    90
    Nier: Automata's story is a rich tale, both tragic and whimsical, told expertly through the medium of video games by melding thrilling combat with a profoundly imaginative world well worth exploring. Director Yoko Taro is a madman with a box, and he's been kind enough to open that box to let us play with it.
  42. Mar 14, 2017
    90
    Ultimately, [NieR: Automata is] a game that will stay with you long after you’ve seen the credits roll for the second, third or even fourth time; the memories of its characters and music lingering in your head, reminding you of what games can be like if they dare to be different.
  43. Mar 14, 2017
    90
    The combination of the weird and beautiful storytelling and world-building from Yoko Taro, and the combat and flow from Platinum Games, is nothing short of great. Stellar, fast-paced combat, interesting universe and story, and compelling characters makes NieR: Automata something truly special.
  44. Mar 11, 2017
    90
    It’s such an interesting meld of open RPG, twitch action, platformer, bullet hell shooter that shouldn’t be ignored by anyone. In the slew of amazing games this spring release season, it’s easy to forget about this gem because it’s a sequel. Don’t let that happen to you.
  45. Mar 10, 2017
    90
    Before playing it, I had Nier pegged as a fun hack-and-slash game. What I didn't bargain for was an existential RPG that would soon have me questioning almost everything I saw. Featuring a gripping plot that tackles surprisingly hefty themes, its brilliant writing not only makes you think twice about your role in the game's world but occasionally even about your place in our world too. It's certainly not without its flaws, but regardless of your typical gaming preferences, you owe it to yourself to check this wonderfully weird experience out.
  46. Mar 10, 2017
    90
    Yoko Taro’s unique storytelling ability has matched perfectly with the committed development culture at PlatinumGames, making NieR: Automata a mature and thought-provoking action-JRPG. Its tight combat and compelling narrative sets it apart from both its predecessor and the Drakengard series, and it’s utterly essential for fans of the genre.
  47. Mar 10, 2017
    90
    Nier: Automata manages to capture all of the qualities that PlatinumGames is known for, and delivers them out of nowhere, all at once, with a package of superb sounds, visuals and storyline. Never have we been more excited about slashing through hordes of mechanical foes, while being a sexy female android, more than we are now. Don't miss it.
  48. Mar 9, 2017
    90
    As I closed in on the final endings for Nier: Automata, I found myself looking back on my time with it and wondering how I'd encapsulate all that into a review. Like its predecessor, this is something that must be experienced to be properly understood. At the time, I was sure I could see where it was going, and that fact left me wondering if this entry lacked that extra something that made the first Nier so memorable. As I worked my way through the final dungeon, Automata had something to prove in my mind. Would it simply stay the course, or would it save something special for the end? If you know Yoko Taro's work, you've probably guessed the answer to that question. Never before have the very credits held such sway over my opinion of a game. I leave Nier: Automata behind, not just pleased with it, but enraptured by it. Hopefully you will too.
  49. 90
    I’d tell you to expect the unexpected, but NieR: Automata steps outside of its comfort zone too often for you to become comfortable. For a game about questioning your purpose and identity, NieR: Automata seems comfortable in its own skin.
  50. 90
    Nier: Automata takes fantastic action and RPG elements and blends them into a game world unlike any other, creating a truly memorable experience. The game continuously pleases and surprises with terrific gameplay that is constantly transforming, and a narrative that keeps you thinking and guessing. It has a lot to offer, and is an experience that shouldn't be missed.
  51. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata mixes many genres while it tells a mature, complex story, and it does it all in an impeccable way. It has some minor flaws (secondary missions, average graphics), but it is overall a game you should not miss.
  52. 90
    Nier: Automata is a delectable buffet of remarkable experiences that seamlessly and beautifully mesh together. In spite its plethora of elements, the game doesn’t suffer from the sometimes inevitable pitfalls of trying to do too much.
  53. 90
    A fantastic mix of explosive action and thoughtful storytelling, that results in one of the most unpredictable and ambitious action role-players of the modern era.
  54. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    It is also, and perhaps most of all, the exaltation of pure gameplay.
  55. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    If you're looking for perfection NieR: Automata isn't for you. This is a flawed experience, but also a deeply engrossing one, that will challenge your preconceptions about videogames, and will blow your mind with a brilliant and crazy campaign structure, perfectly matched with continuous gameplay transformations.
  56. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata succeeds in many of its elements: a complex and deep story, with a unique style of narration, a dystopic and totally story driven open world and a fantastic mix between hack'n'slash and jRPG styles.
  57. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata has more creativity and self-awareness in its little finger than most games have for their entire run time. Don’t miss this because it’s sandwiched between other, bigger games.
  58. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    Hands down, one of the smartest action titles Platinum Games has ever put out, with a rousing score and some of the best narrative ideas I’ve seen in a videogame.
  59. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    While it's certainly not perfect, Nier: Automata is nonetheless a breath of fresh air that will challenge your thumbs as well as your thinking - a game with hydrocarbon heart and silicon soul that will stay with you long after you've set the controller down.
  60. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata is an absolute masterpiece from beginning to end (or ends, to be a bit more accurate). Even for what was our most anticipated game of the year, I still didn’t expect to be blown away that much, but this was an absolute thrill ride in every area, from just running through a gorgeous wrecked city with wild boars roaming around to surfing down sand dunes in a desert in a cool little touch to fighting off an army of twenty-some robots vomiting corrosive material with some of the finest combat in recent video game history (oh, not to mention the actual thrill ride at one point). It is an addictive, joyous, haunting beauty with a surreal mystery at the center of its captivating world to uncover, and like the best games of its kind, you’ll find yourself diving back in for as much as you can.
  61. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    For anyone with a fondness for intense action games spiced with Japanese oddities Nier: Automata is a must. Platinum Games have made some of the world's best action titles - and Nier: Automata is their best game yet.
  62. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    NieR: Automata is another serious contender for the GOTY in a year that has just begun. Platinum Games' special touch is there, but they have kept the respect needed for Yoko Taro's unique way of storytelling. An adult plot, with complex themes and a superb soundtrack, way above the average, mark the birth of an instant classic. We just hope that the franchise, somehow, keeps on going.
  63. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    Thanks to Platinum Games' knack for riveting and gratifying combat, Automata is Yoko Taro's most exciting game to date. The combat mechanics click after hurdling a low learning curve, and the end result is a skillful dance where balletic dodges complement wushu-inspired aggression. Moreover, this multi-ending trip is generously peppered with surprises and revelations, as well as easter eggs that call back to the first game and the Drakengard series from which Nier spun off. It's a meaty, often exhilarating trek that showcases Platinum Games' and Yoko Taro's unique blend of genius.
  64. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    Platinum Games, with the help of Square Enix, has tapped into its innate ability to captivate us with combat while keeping the rest of the journey engaging.
  65. Feb 28, 2017
    90
    It’s a fantastic and well balanced mix between sleek PlatinumGames action and JRPG gameplay, resulting bigger than the sum of its parts. It brings forth an absolutely fascinating setting, and charming, likable and memorable characters that will both make you smile and tug at your heart strings.
  66. Feb 28, 2017
    90
    Nier Automata shines as a magnificent action game and a strong open world RPG with an amazing narrative. Charming, full of surprises, unique, deep, powerful - it is indeed an amazing entrance in the series that can please fans and newcomers.
  67. Mar 20, 2017
    89
    When it comes to action-packed gameplay and breathtaking audio, NieR: Automata goes above and beyond almost every game in existence. It may have its issues with its less than stellar open-world but it remains a wholly phenomenal and memorable experience.
  68. Mar 6, 2017
    89
    Nier: Automata is a crazy, beautiful, and highly entertaining journey full of nutty ideas and awesome gameplay. It may not include the most sensical story or compelling characters, but its frenzied combat -- coupled with beautiful visuals and a stunning soundtrack – make it too much fun to pass up.
  69. Mar 6, 2017
    88
    NieR: Automata is a great game that captures you from the very first moment. The well-rounded combat mechanics, the mystery in its story and an addictive customization system won't let you release the controller, despite some minor imperfections that don't affect the experience in any meaningful way.
  70. Mar 6, 2017
    88
    NieR: Automate is one of the best action games of the last few years, and a complete tribute to the video games industry.
  71. Oct 19, 2017
    87
    NieR: Automata is not for everybody. In fact, the game looks to be aimed at the most refined fans of the medium by not caring about the regular gaming conventions, in the same way the works of David Lynch are perfect for the hardcore moviegoers.
  72. Games Master UK
    Jun 6, 2017
    87
    A few cracks can't spoil this glittering gem. Blistering action meetings stimulating storytelling. [May 2017, p.72]
  73. Mar 8, 2017
    87
    Nier Automata is an exceptional game that is very unique in the way it tells its very emotional and philosophical story, while Platinum Games’ signature action style makes sure that it always stays accessible.
  74. 87
    Imperfect, sometimes raw, willingly complex, NieR Automata comes so close to becoming a true masterpiece, thanks to its strong personality and the unique vision of Yoko Taro. Technically inadequate, engaging in its deep and ever-changing gameplay, NieR tells a story of robots and androids, and in doing so it tells a lucid, melancholic story of humanity.
  75. Mar 6, 2017
    87
    Nier: Automata is one of the most original, surprising and brilliant games of this generation. Not perfect, but unmissable.
  76. Mar 22, 2017
    85
    You don’t really see games with the level of Polish that Nier: Automata has. The combat is smooth, the story is captivating, the world is alive and evolving, and it’s all backed up by an incredible soundtrack. The game does lack with its textures and can get repetitive at times, but even with those problems the game sets itself apart from most on the market today, and it’s one of the more original and enjoyable titles to play.
  77. Mar 14, 2017
    85
    Not exactly the dream sequel fans of NieR were expecting, but still a highly enjoyable experience, thanks in part to the intriguing stories, the fluent gameplay and a wonderful soundtrack.
  78. Mar 8, 2017
    85
    Automata is the perfect evolution for the NieR series with its smooth and dynamic combat.
  79. Mar 6, 2017
    85
    While Nier: Automata at times feels unpolished or under-developed, when taken as an entire experience, it’s a fantastic journey of a group of androids struggling to live up to their purpose in life. Here, unconventional narrative design meets tightly-developed combat gameplay, and that turns out to be one heck of a combination.
  80. games(TM)
    Jun 14, 2017
    80
    Melancholic, wistful and creative at every turn. [Issue#186, p.80]
  81. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 29, 2017
    80
    Automata is a genre-pinching RPG that marries Platinum's combat to an overblown plot that could fuel a standalone anime. A few rough edges conceal a lot of snythetic heart. [May 2017, p.80]
  82. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 2, 2017
    80
    As slick to play as it is oddly Japanese, Nier should be blinking bright on the radar of serious Action- RPG fans. [May 2017, p71]
  83. Edge Magazine
    Apr 16, 2017
    80
    The biggest difference between Automata and its director's previous work is that those weird ideas finally have a robust mechanical shell to house them - one flecked with patches of rust, perhaps, but a fine piece of engineering all the same. [May 2017, p.102]
  84. Apr 5, 2017
    80
    Excellent action jumble of genres and play styles, which does not look that good, but all its cons are masked by its great story and unconventional narrative. Automata definitely isn’t for everyone. But if you are not afraid of the Japanese weirdness and instead of sweet tearjerkers you’d want a proper depression with philosophical questions, you won’t regret buying this game.
  85. Mar 23, 2017
    80
    A truly brave experiment in game design, which overcomes its erratic elements and occasional repetition with a remarkable piece of storytelling.
  86. Mar 22, 2017
    80
    Nier has some of the shortcomings of the previous Nier game like lazy open world design and side quests without a meaning. But the collaboration with PlatinumGames sends the fighting experience sky-high and overall the story and some characters are not forgettable at all. On the contrary, a rich battle system, some really inspired RPG features and secret endings which prolong the game to 40 hours give Nier the little push it needed to leave the mediocre league and set sails for the glorious ball rooms of the industry
  87. Mar 22, 2017
    80
    NieR: Automata's engaging narrative, blending of gameplay genres and fantastic soundtrack are what make it special. Though somewhat hampered by simple yet slick combat, and level design that fails to fully realize its sci-fi dystopia setting, it is still a game that is absolutely worth your time.
  88. Mar 17, 2017
    80
    NieR: Automata is unlike anything I have ever played. This being my first full playthrough of a Yoko Taro game, makes me want to check out his other work even more. This game takes the medium and spins it on its head in a way only video games can do, and it is a marvel to experience. Go into it without spoilers, read everything and pay attention to what it says. Tropes disappear in this game, and mechanics take on a whole new meaning. NieR: Automata is an experience, and one gamers should definitely take.
  89. Mar 14, 2017
    80
    A wonderful game whose real beauty lies beyond its immediate details. In fact, the game dares to get better after you see the credits.
  90. Mar 8, 2017
    80
    Despite some questionable (and that’s being friendly) difficulty scaling, Nier: Automata is largely a success. It’s the most unique game I’ve played in 2017, one that will assuredly be in our thoughts when it comes time to consider the best game of the year. You'll have so much to do and so many ways to do it, with a series of endings as vast as a game like Torment: Tides of Numenera (which was mostly text-based). Nier: Automata begs to be replayed, even as it's punishing you for doing so.
  91. Mar 7, 2017
    80
    NieR: Automata is an odd case where the game feels worse than the sum of its parts. Each individual element is high quality on its own, but there are enough flaws to bring down the overall experience. The story goes in very interesting directions but fails to land the ending, and the combat has a lot of depth but fails to encourage the player to explore it, which combine to make the whole thing feel just a bit hollower than it should be. Anyone who liked NieR or Drakengard will love this game just for how it presents itself and the ideas it explores, but fans of action games or slightly thoughtful sci-fi stories will find a lot to appreciate too.
  92. Mar 6, 2017
    80
    Despite some minor annoyances, NieR: Automata is brilliant. It strikes the balance between RPG and action game unlike anything else in the genre. It’s a game you kind of have to meet halfway, with a story that gets more complex and interesting the more you prod at it. If you’re willing to commit, though, you’ll be rewarded.
  93. Mar 6, 2017
    80
    Nier: Automata is an excellent Action RPG game as it combines Taro's utmost intelligence as a Director and Platinum Games' exceptional proficiency as a Developer. If only it had a greater variety in many of its elements.
  94. Mar 6, 2017
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  95. Mar 6, 2017
    80
    Nier demands patience with its antics - not to mention its definition of "ending" - but its patience was rewarded.
  96. Mar 6, 2017
    80
    An oddity that grows in stature the more time that you spend with it, NieR: Automata is so much more than you think it is – and it's all the better for it. Some decent writing aside, its side-quests fall into genre pitfalls and its open world can be annoying to navigate. But if you're able to look beyond its shortcomings as a game then you'll be richly rewarded. And while we can't really elaborate on why that is, you're just going to have to trust us.
  97. Mar 15, 2017
    78
    The action-heavy moments are really polished and a pleasure to participate in, the story is interesting when it feels like divulging itself to the player, and the entire theme of the thing is just downright cool (there’s a sect of robots that live at an amusement park and literally exist to throw confetti in the air at all times); but when you boot up this Square Enix title hoping for some RPG character building mechanics to fill the gaps in between the barrage of action that’s presented, it can be difficult to maintain your zest for an otherwise mesmerizing experience. There’s a reason straight-up action games aren’t 40 hours long, and unfortunately, Automata is worse for it.
  98. Mar 6, 2017
    78
    Some parts of Nier: Automata genuinely thrilled and surprised me, but it is a constant exercise in sacrifice. Combat has improved compared to the original Nier, but it still isn’t fully engaging. The progression system has cool ideas, but doesn’t offer enough depth. The premise is fascinating, but it is dulled by repetition. Ultimately, tapping into the sad and unique story that flows under the surface of Nier: Automata makes these trade-offs worthwhile, but I’m disappointed by how deeply it’s buried.
  99. Nier: Automata could've been a really good product. While it can just tell this great story directly, it forces the player to finish the game a couple of times, just to get to the True Ending. This is not a game for 2017. These mechanics are just old.
  100. Mar 29, 2017
    65
    If Nier: Automata had been more compact or structured differently, it would have been more effective, immediate and powerful. Instead, it’s a great idea stretched across too many hours of uninspiring content. Although I had affection for the androids and admired what the script ultimately revealed, this is one case where less would have definitely been more.
  101. Loads of interesting ideas and plenty of good intentions, but nothing sticks. It’s like it was made by a team of people with super short attention spans. They’d come up with a good idea, carry it half way, then get distracted by another thought, and do it all over again until ending up with an unfocused, unsatisfying, incomplete product.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    Nier: Automata isn't the most elegant title on the market, but it's the most captivating game I've played in ages. You don't need to look far to find its glaring flaws, but those searching for an endlessly imaginative dreamlike journey will find Nier: Automata too mesmerising to look away from. There's nothing else quite like it - and that includes the original Nier. [Recommended]
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    Both its gameplay and plot are a dazzling set of perspective shifts that don't so much answer any of its questions as make you feel progressively weirder – and often sadder – about the meaning of what you're being asked. And each ending is really a new beginning, inviting you back to spend a little longer dwelling in its remarkably humane apocalypse; no matter how long you explore, you'll never be led to something you expect to find.
  3. Mar 6, 2017
    That’s my favorite thing about Nier: Automata. Knowing that it’s accessible to all sorts of players means there’ll be plenty of people to revel with me in this equal parts charming and macabre world that Yoko Taro and PlatinumGames have built.
  4. Mar 21, 2017
    NieR: Automata demonstrates that it may not be saying anything profound or possibly anything at all, but its absurdity is so entertaining and confidently delivered it ultimately doesn’t matter.
  5. Mar 10, 2017
    Nier: Automata is a quiet, strange little gem that deserves a chance. It’s not perfect, but it’s ambitious and confident in a way few games are.
  6. Mar 6, 2017
    Even at this point, I can confidently say that Nier: Automata is the best Platinum game since Bayonetta 2, and that it progresses with such wonderfully rapid momentum that it's impossible to just pick up and play for an hour.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3580 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    NieR: Automata - another masterpiece from Platinum Games. I was fascinated by this game, and I'm ready to go back again and again. The gameNieR: Automata - another masterpiece from Platinum Games. I was fascinated by this game, and I'm ready to go back again and again. The game reminded me the best of Metal Gear Rising.

    Atmosphere +
    Story + (A lot of endings, some very tragic, you'll cry)
    Characters + (A2, B2 sweet)
    Locations +
    Open world +
    Graphics +
    Optimization +

    2017 is very good! NieR: Automata is now on the list of my favorite games that nobody should miss.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    A really beautiful game that surpass my expectation.
    Almost everything in this game awesome, the story & plot, the musics, the action/battle,
    A really beautiful game that surpass my expectation.
    Almost everything in this game awesome, the story & plot, the musics, the action/battle, world setting and characters. The game that you must play to understand how good it is and get full experience in a good way.
    Yoko Taro and Platinum game did a good job on this game, this is definitely a gem in PS4.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    THE game that make you CRY after the true ending.
    META game + Platinum action + Tragic story + Beautiful character.
    You will be immersed
    THE game that make you CRY after the true ending.
    META game + Platinum action + Tragic story + Beautiful character.
    You will be immersed into the emotions days after you finished the game.
    Full Review »