Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 23, 2020
    100
    The second Nioh is more than just a continuation of the legacy. The authors have been able to learn from the mistakes of the first game, and thanks to that this is an excellent action RPG that will not let you rest and you will want to keep playing. [Issue#303]
  2. 100
    In truth, just about every moment of Nioh 2, even when it’s frustrating, and even when you’re dying is sweet — and almost every moment feels different. Team Ninja builds creative areas, too, pushing you through burning towns one second, underground caverns the next. And wherever you push, you’ll be challenged, and fulfilled.
  3. Mar 12, 2020
    100
    Nioh 2 shows Team Ninja at the top of their game. From it's newly added mechanics to the awesome character creator and skill trees, the amount of depth on offer is incredible. The sequel improves on the original in every conceivable way and makes it one of the best entries in the genre. While it may be sadistically difficult at times, it's wildly entertaining combat will have you going back time and time again.
  4. Mar 12, 2020
    100
    This is effectively Ninja Gaiden cranked up to eleven with RPG elements and your own custom created character; one that has a demonic past that inexplicably provides them with otherworldly abilities. And if that doesn’t make you want to play Nioh 2, I don’t know what will.
  5. Mar 10, 2020
    96
    Nioh 2 builds upon the successes and failures of its predecessor and offering new tools to battle with the role of a half-yokai as the player character. Some may say this iteration is even more brutal than the first!
  6. Mar 17, 2020
    95
    Nioh 2 is a great successor and improve a lot in terms of combat by offering overwhelming half-yokai skills. But it doesn't make Nioh 2 easier because the enemies also become more challenging. There is no doubt that Nioh 2 is the most rewarding soul-like action game in 2020.
  7. Mar 12, 2020
    95
    Did I get frustrated? You bet your ass I did. And yet, there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. It might not have been the first or second time against an enemy that I won, but as my knowledge of the systems improved, so did my skills of survival.
  8. 95
    Masterfully crafted and executed, Nioh 2 sets the benchmark for action/adventure games that people just have to experience. Team Ninja's latest provides one of the most in-depth combat systems and an addictive loot system that may put all but the best dungeon crawlers to shame. It's quite simple, Nioh 2 has Game of the Year written all over it.
  9. Mar 30, 2020
    91
    With most games I have enjoyed, I have had no problem taking breaks and doing other activities, but all I ever wanted to do since picking up Nioh 2 was play Nioh 2. For a game with this much customization and depth to have all of its parts work so seamlessly together is a feat worthy of the highest praise. The only thing holding Nioh 2 back is the mediocre soundtrack and thin veneer of a story. I cannot wait to get lost in the DLC to come. Kudos to you, Team Ninja, for building intelligently on what you created in the first Nioh.
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 21, 2020
    90
    Team Ninja has given the soulsborne genre a unique twist enabling you to match demon power with demon power. This journey through Japanese history is no walk in the park, but it always delights and surprises. [Issue#174, p.76]
  11. Apr 17, 2020
    90
    This has got to be the best "souls" clone yet. It is perfectly balanced, has tons of customization and improvement options, a great character editor and hundreds of satisfying challenges that will get you to improve, with each step you take. Weaker story and several minor flaws, do reduce the perfect score, but this is still a strong "9 - I would die again!"
  12. CD-Action
    Apr 17, 2020
    90
    It should be called ‘Nioh squared’ because it’s a monstrous game. A simply fantastic time eater. [05/2020, p.48]
  13. Apr 13, 2020
    90
    I was impressed by the improvements to the story and Team Ninja's commitment to maintaining what worked in the first game and building on what didn't. I should mention that the music is as good as it was in the first game, and I know I enjoyed the boss fights more as well, even if some did drive me up the wall.
  14. Apr 13, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is everything its predecessor was and much more! The art design and soundtrack are sterling, the combat and customisation is deep and improved. There really isn’t much bad to say here.
  15. Apr 10, 2020
    90
    While unfair enemy-placement gets irritating, Nioh 2’s new Yokai powers make this an action game with almost infinite possibilities. And with a huge amount of content, Nioh 2 is simply one of the best Souls-like games to date.
  16. Mar 30, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 takes the formula laid out by other soulslike games and manages to improve it at almost every turn. The game is both uniquely challenging and while still having the same addicting quality of other games in the genre. The addition of mechanics like the Yokai Shift manage to set Nioh 2 apart from the pack and add a layer of combat not seen in similar titles. Veterans and newcomers to the soulslike genre alike will get be able to squeeze dozens of hours out of Nioh 2.
  17. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    With Nioh 2, Team Ninja has deepened an already engaging experience, porting the excellent systems and gameplay from the first game and introducing even more toys, stats, moves and systems to master. Incredibly difficult but equally rewarding, Nioh 2 has brought Souls-like combat to new levels of complexity and nuance and while the influence of FromSoftware’s genre-defining games is still apparent, Nioh 2 has an identity all its own.
  18. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    Brutal from start to finish, Nioh 2 turns its outstanding combat system into a deadly dance that knows how to be cruel with defeat, but honorable with victory. It may not be far from the first game, but it was enough to refine the elements that founded the franchise to deliver one of the best titles of the closing of this generation.
  19. Mar 19, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 finds success by layering small yet significant additions onto a base which Team Ninja already perfected in the original Nioh. New features like character customization and Yokai abilities complement a robust gameplay template which was designed to appeal equally to fans of Souls-like games, RPG’s, and fast-paced hack-and-slash titles.
  20. Mar 15, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is the best Souls-like game ever made; its combat is deep, its encounters are brutal, and its portrayal of Japanese history and folklore is fascinating. This is one of PS4's finest games.
  21. Mar 13, 2020
    90
    It’s not changed much but what improvements there are, are all positive in what remains the best Dark Souls clone not made by From Software.
  22. I won’t judge anyone who gives this one a whirl and simply decides its not their cup of tea. I suspect it’s a little akin to bungee-jumping, high-stakes investing, or alcohol — some folks just don’t have a taste for it. But for a handful of players looking to test themselves and the limits of their perseverance, Nioh 2 is probably going to be a nice slice of video game heaven.
  23. Mar 11, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is a balanced and beautiful game. It will certainly frustrate you to the point where you will want to walk away, but that first victory over a big bad demon will ignite a thirst in you to continue your difficult journey through ancient Japan. This game is not for the weak of heart, but most know that going into it.
  24. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is one of the best titles in the Souls-Like genre released to date. Its combat system introduces very interesting novelties and its narrative perfectly blends the Yokai legend with the history of Japan from the Sengoku period.
  25. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is a “more of the same” created with the right awareness, and successfully expands the original formula through new and well thought out mechanics.
  26. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is an impressive evolution of its predecessor, strengthening everything that was already great, while mostly leaving its already existing issues alone. Its stellar combat is elevated by the addition of Soul Cores, Burst Counters, and the ways in which those two main new mechanics affect enemy AI and how you approach battles. It’s depth is impressive, even though that can also make it feel a little overwhelming due to how much time must be spent managing Nioh 2’s many systems. If you’re up to the challenge, Nioh 2 is no doubt one of the most difficult and rewarding games of this generation.
  27. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is not afraid to look face to face with the biggest names in the genre. Team Ninja has managed to expand its formula from a conservative perspective. The continuity of the elements that made the previous one unique serves to propel a game that feels almost infinite.
  28. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 builds on the excellence of the original with a fistful of new twists and ideas, from new Yokai abilities to full-on co-op through the entire game. Nioh 2 might well be the best Soulslike that isn’t a FromSoftware game, and it's easily one of my personal contenders for Game of the Year.
  29. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is a great action RPG game, with plenty of content, a good gameplay and a nice artistic direction. The game doesn't have any major default and is quite amazing.
  30. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is an absolutely Herculean effort from Team Ninja that shouldn’t be overlooked as we approach the busy season. They’ve managed to make a game that stands on its own beside some of the best From Software games, a soulslike that is brimming with ambition and brave new ideas.
  31. 90
    Nioh 2 builds upon everything that was great about the original game. The yokai form, while flashy, does little to diminish the challenge and instead adds a fun new dynamic to an already engrossing flow of combat. On the surface, it might not look like much has changed but Nioh 2 is a fantastic sequel and one that action fans shouldn’t miss.
  32. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    If not for some repetitive environments, NioH 2 would basically be the perfect sequel, improving upon the original in almost every conceivable way. Highlights: the superb graphics, the added emphasis on exploration and the incredibly fun boss fights. Sincerely recommended.
  33. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Those same elements that made the first one so enjoyable, combine with a better story, better customization systems, better level design and more, make Nioh 2 a confident sequel that stands above the previous game and firmly establishes itself as its own kind of game. No longer should Nioh be compared to other games; those other games should be compared to Nioh 2.
  34. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 might play it safe in some respects, but the fluidity, depth and intensity of its combat is incredible.
  35. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    For anyone craving a test of their mettle in bite-sized chunks and lacquered over with Team Ninja's trademark combat genius, Nioh 2 is utterly essential.
  36. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    In this frightening and ruthless Japan, filled with all kind of monstrosity, there’s no room for mistakes. Sure, Nioh 2 is hard, but it also gives one of the deepest combat systems ever seen in a souls-like, and the wildest bunch of enemies to cut down.
  37. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    If there's one point I want to get across above all others, it's this: Nioh 2 isn't as revelatory as the first game, but that shouldn't be held as a mark against it.
  38. 90
    Just as I have a special reverence for Demon's Souls, even as I recognise Dark Souls was able to refine and improve on "the formula", I recognise that Nioh 2 is the better game, while also missing spirit and originality, which has gone by the wayside. That said, Nioh 2 is still going to be better than just about everything else that will be released in 2020. Brilliantly creative monster and level design come together with subtle - but important - improvements to the complex-but-rewarding mechanics. This is something that only people with patience and perseverance should sign up for, however this is also a rare case where the rewards truly exceed the demands made of players.
  39. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Nioh 2 is, at times, designed to evoke controller-throwing rage even in the most peaceful individuals. But while the difficulty is dialed up a bit high in some areas, it’s also designed to be one of the best takes of the genre that far surpasses its promising first entry.
  40. One of the best Soulslike games ever made. With its gripping story in Japan, where supernatural beings intervene, and more advanced combat mechanics, Nioh 2 has managed to become one of the best action games on Playstation 4. Prepare to fight, prepare to die and loot everything you find.
  41. Mar 10, 2020
    89
    Nioh 2 is a merciless trip for hardcore gamers that surpasses its predecessor in many ways.
  42. Mar 10, 2020
    86
    Nioh 2 is a worthy successor to the original title, and another great installment by Team Ninja. If this is your first time entering this fantastic universe, I would recommend starting with the original, which by now you can surely find at a very affordable price, and it is essentially the same game. But if you are a veteran player of the saga, then Nioh 2 should be a must for you.
  43. Mar 10, 2020
    86
    Nioh 2 is bigger and better, and even if we miss more new features, it is an incredible game. If you want to feel like a true samurai, Team Ninja’s latest game is a must-have.
  44. Jun 23, 2020
    85
    I love a great third-person actioner, and I’m hard-pressed to think of one that nails the formula as perfectly as Nioh 2 does. The systems are pleasantly crunchy and there are a ton to dig into, the moment-to-moment fights get my blood pumping, and the artwork and theming are all spot-on. Too much of a good thing is too much of a good thing, but Nioh 2 is exactly the right amount.
  45. Jun 1, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 does what a good sequel should. It capitalizes on the best parts of its predecessors while providing new content and mechanics to advance the franchise. While the story structure and level design are largely the same, added weapons, more build depth, and new combat mechanics all enhance what the game has to offer. It doesn't always hit the mark perfectly, but it's a solid addition to the series. And let's face it, being a samurai is awesome.
  46. Mar 25, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 is one of the most improved sequels to a game that I've ever had the pleasure of playing. With top-notch gameplay and highly rewarding open-ended character progression systems, I simply can't wait to see how Nioh 3 is going to turn out.
  47. Mar 12, 2020
    85
    The first Nioh left us longing for more and that is exactly what this sequel gives us. Nioh 2 adds a little extra to all the strengths of its predecessor. Unfortunately, some previous mistakes - such as an inimitable story - are also repeated. Ultimately, however, that is a side issue, because the enormously profound and strong gameplay is amazing. The result is an intense and challenging experience that soulslike enthusiasts enjoy.
  48. Mar 11, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2, despite being quite derivative, full of repetitive missions, and lacking true challenges later in the game, remains a riveting experience. This prequel looks like a mirrored image of the first game, but with some pretty ingenious level design, exciting enemies, and hugely satisfying combat and character creation systems, this game really hits home.
  49. Mar 11, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 is, in a nutshell, the improved "masocore" experience of the first installment. With more choices on the player’s arsenal, the next chapter of the Yokai infested Japan is a welcoming challenge for new and veterans alike.
  50. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    The title remains as formidable as ever. Nioh 2 thus manages to find a rare balance: that of a demanding and accessible action game, where fans will take as much (or more) pleasure than they did with the first opus.
  51. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    This is plain and simple a very good action adventure for all fans of Dark Souls, Sekiro etc.
  52. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    The extreme difficulty and many similarities with he first game will be like a huge nurikabe for a lot of people, but if you're patient and skilled enough to learn the ways of bushido, you'll find out that Nioh 2 is a great game where the good parts shines brighter than the bad.
  53. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 is going to be compared to Sekiro, but it is its own beast. It's an excellent follow-up to the original game, and it isn't any lesser for being compared to FromSoft's attempt at the samurai Soulsborne genre. The new features help keep the smooth gameplay feeling intense and exciting, and the various tweaks do wonders for keeping the game fresh. Its biggest flaw is being "more of the same," but the original game was fun enough that a fresh new set of enemies and items is worth a lot. Just be prepared to die a lot. A whole lot. As in, "I saw multiple corpses by the first enemy of the game."
  54. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 walks on the path made by its predecessor, taking its strengths but also its weaknesses like the complex UI or the loads of loot, but the gameplay saves it all, and make this game a true challenge.
  55. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2, like Nioh before it, is an unrelenting and extremely punishing ride that has you weighing every resource available. Despite some flaws, this experience carves you from an unrefined button-mashing flailing pustule into a precision-striking samurai.
  56. Mar 10, 2020
    85
    Nioh 2 expands what's already seen in the original Team Ninja work, offering us new features that give spectacular combat and give it a more technical title than in other games of the genre. Despite its low innovation compared to its predecessor, it has high replayability, and the feeling of playing it according to our own combat style is more marked than ever.
  57. Mar 10, 2020
    84
    Nioh 2 adds some tweaks to a great combat system, with important features that open up a lot of customizations. Nonetheless the recycle of assets shows a creative impasse and an alarming lack of fresh ideas.
  58. Mar 10, 2020
    83
    Nioh 2 is a more of the same, but capable of amusing all lovers of the first chapter and the souls-like aRPG players.
  59. Mar 10, 2020
    82
    Nioh 2 remains an obligatory purchase for fans of the most hardcore recreational experiences, although we cannot help but hope that a possible sequel will bring much more ambitious ideas into play.
  60. Apr 29, 2020
    80
    Even when considering its shortcomings, it's hard to deny the quality of Nioh 2 overall. There’s a lot here, and considering how heavily the game leans on combat, it's very smart to offer the player so much freedom to find their own way forward. All of the weapons feel viable, and not only are there so many to choose from, but how you specifically wield each one and what you support those weapons with can vary significantly. While Nioh 2 doesn't have the same sort of spark that accompanied the original game, in many ways, it highlights why the series is special and refines the groundwork of what came before.
  61. Apr 8, 2020
    80
    An unforgiving action RPG that carefully expands upon the foundations laid by the first installment. The combat system is absolutely fantastic, but the RPG layers are perhaps too intricate for their own good.
  62. Mar 27, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 offers best in class combat but suffers from an overwhelming number of upgrade systems and a story that is utterly incoherent.
  63. Mar 24, 2020
    80
    With Nioh 2, Team Ninja has done a better job than anyone else at making smart innovations to a treasured design template.
  64. Mar 19, 2020
    80
    If you enjoy a brutal challenge and managing complicated skill trees, then you need to jump on this right away. When it comes to difficult games, Nioh 2 is an incredibly deep and engaging experience that makes Dark Souls look like Kirby's Dreamland.
  65. Mar 18, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 is a challenging game which either makes you blood boil or makes you incredibly happy. There is no in-between. The game is bigger, better and bolder than it's predecessor with more enemies, more regions and more challenges along the way. It is a must-have for those who like a challenge and a must avoid for those who can't stand losing. Because you will lose a lot eventually.
  66. Mar 13, 2020
    80
    Anyone looking for a challenge will be stoked to live in this world, although less seasoned folks might crash into walls within Yokai Realm sequences. Still, Nioh 2 is a great sequel, with tons of depth and secrets to explore alongside the masocore combat loop. Team Ninja has really changed its output style over the years, and it’s nailing this scene for sure.
  67. Mar 12, 2020
    80
    Classic but effective. This is a good overall description for Nioh 2. With its intense battles and an unprecedented level of customisation for the Souls-like subgenre, the latest addition of Team Ninja has a lot to offer to fans of tough challenges. Special mention to the Yokai abilities, which come to refine a gameplay that opens the door to tens of hours of build experimentation. A very generous and pleasant content, which compensates for outdated graphics and a level-design without any real breakthrough.
  68. Mar 12, 2020
    80
    Ultimately, that excruciating difficulty and the feeling it evokes are baked into Nioh's DNA, though, and its boss fights remain compelling even as they vex and frustrate. Though it sometimes feels like a curse as you play, it is a testament that Nioh 2 successfully grabs and holds your complete attention so close for so long.
  69. Mar 11, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 is a worthy successor to its original, hitting nearly every beat there is to make it the best it can be. Where it drops the ball doesn't prevent Team Ninja from taking the bases it needs or hitting its homerun with the game. It's an easy recommendation for any lover of action RPGs.
  70. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 improves upon many of the things that made the first one so great. It does not necessarily represent an evolution of the saga or the souls-like genre but it has many additions that are welcomed. Team Ninja has created some of the most intense and violent combat of this generation, especially when you get to a boss fight. It takes a great deal of patience and plenty of time to master the game, but it's worth it.
  71. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 is an fast, frantic and fluid action-RPG experience that will appeal to fans of Code Vein, Dark Souls and Sekiro for its intricate combat and role-playing systems, extensive character customisation and striking historic fantasy Japanese setting. While the storytelling for the main narrative mostly falls flat and is confusing to follow, the rest of the package more than holds up against its predecessor. The game presents a great challenge for those willing to put in the time to master its numerous playstyles it caters, so it might not be a great fit for those seeking a more casual adventure – but it’s definitely recommended for fans of the first game looking for greater refinement and newbies looking for their next great RPG.
  72. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    For better and worse, Nioh 2 feels like more of the same. Tired environmental design and rehashed gameplay elements sully what is otherwise an addictive and exhilarating loot-based hack and slash samurai adventure.
  73. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 does a lot right and fixes many of my issues with the first one. Much like the first one, however, it is a flawed experience. It’s still incredibly enjoyable and certainly worth a playthrough, I just wish it was a little less tedious in areas.
  74. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    While it may be incredibly similar to what came before it, Nioh 2 smartly adds yet more depth and mechanics to its engagements to make for one of the best combat systems around. Notwithstanding its poor skill trees, forgettable narrative, and minor balance issues, Team Ninja has put together gameplay excellence. An essential playthrough for anyone who considers themselves a fan of the original or From Software's output.
  75. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Though it does sag with some questionable hitboxes and a glut of menus, mastering the interlacing combat systems in Nioh 2 is deeply rewarding. The developers at Team Ninja have crafted a deviously challenging experience that is bound to test even the best of players.
  76. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nothing comes easy, there’s a lot to learn and you’ll struggle for hours on end at times -- but if you’re ready for a rogue-like experience, Nioh 2 has perfected the genre.
  77. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    There’s so much to Nioh 2 that many gamers will simply miss out on due to its ruthless difficulty, something that feels unearned in its own right. Those able to overcome the difficulty curve will find complex and highly-versatile combat, inspirational enemy designs and an imaginative world to explore. Team Ninja has crafted something worth investing your time into, just maybe not hours into a single boss.
  78. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Though Team Ninja elevates much of the game from the prototypes the original Nioh was playing with, a few design frustrations (boss setups, camera, hostile UI) prevent the game from being the perfect hardcore RPG experience. Don’t let that criticism put you off, though – once you penetrate the frustration, there’s a genuinely captivating and ruthlessly addictive PlayStation great hidden underneath.
  79. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 takes the ideas of its predecessor and greatly expands on them, bringing a greater sense of depth to everything from gameplay, to stage design, to your ability to have a main character customized to your particular play style (and visual preferences). Admittedly, some of the simpler elegance of the original Nioh has been lost in the progress, but the result is still a game that’ll terrorize and thrill those looking for a real challenge.
  80. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Team ninja has succeeded in making a souls-like action RPG with a combat system on the verge of perfection, supported by a compelling and interesting story. Unfortunately, the reuse of assets and the multiplayer system ruin the overall quality of Nioh 2.
  81. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    While the first Nioh game was a more unique and brave twist on the Souls formula, Nioh 2 is a more polished and precise version of that same formula.
  82. Mar 10, 2020
    80
    Nioh 2 takes a solid foundation and improves upon it in nearly every way with more weapons, more skills, and a whole new approach to Guardian Spirits.
  83. Mar 18, 2020
    79
    Nioh 2 is basically Nioh with a new finish, to me, a person fond of the game, it's not a problem. But I think it's important for you - the rest of you - to realize that Nioh 2 is even less original than my pick-up-lines in the club. Where I can't go anymore, by the way. Thanks, Corona.
  84. Mar 10, 2020
    75
    Nioh 2 is a fun game and tremendously similar to the original piece. Not only in its system, but reusing many elements of its interface, equipment and enemies - and even bosses and scenarios.
  85. Mar 13, 2020
    74
    There’s a lot to like here if you’re the right kind of person. The combat is tight and precise, there’s a ton of variety, and the challenge is mighty stiff. At the same time, Nioh 2 is mechanical on a level that’s a few layers too deep. I see what the goal was – differentiation – but it overcomplicates things where it doesn’t need to. Souls die hards: buckle up and get in there. Souls haters: you’ll hate this too. If you’re somewhere in the middle, give it a go, but beware you might end up like me: appreciating Nioh 2’s craft, but not actually enjoying it.
  86. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 21, 2020
    71
    Developers reused a lot of assets from the first game, did nothing to address its shortcomings, and probably hope that combat alone (which is as good as it was before) would be enough to sell the game to the public. [Issue#245, p.54]
  87. Edge Magazine
    May 22, 2020
    70
    As the game strays further from this core fantasy, its charms are dulled. Nioh 2 is a rather conservative sequel. [Issue#346, p.96]
  88. Mar 12, 2020
    70
    Nioh 2 crafts its tough experience with precise, delicious Team Ninja combat. On top of that is an entire mass of additional systems that offer players a way forward if your skills aren't top-notch. When those systems come together, Nioh 2 can make you feel powerful, but it does feel like a mess of numbers and bonuses thrown your way at times. You're surprisingly versatile, but you're also forced into a lot of management. A bit of trimming would've led to a near-perfect experience, rather than just a great one.
  89. May 5, 2020
    60
    Nioh 2 is the kind of action game that's clearly targeted towards a certain type of gamer. It’s an incredibly difficult game, and gamers that don’t have the patience or commitment to learning its various intricacies just aren't going to get as much out of the game. However, fans of the original title and gamers that enjoy that kind of difficulty level will find that they will get out of Nioh 2 what they’re willing to put into it.
  90. Mar 15, 2020
    60
    Definitely a greater game than the first Nioh, although still difficult to recommend to all action aficionados out there. After all, it's still a "soulsborne" type game and will take a lot of your time. Those with patience will experience the greatest fulfillment after defeating the various difficult bosses. But if you're not ready to devote your free time to memorize the fighting system: Turn around! There are limits to how much we can die before our console goes out the window.
  91. Mar 26, 2020
    50
    The game is limited by the static nature of its mission-based structure and the protagonist’s severe lack of motivation.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 10, 2020
    An absorbing, tense and well-wrought samurai adventure let down by a little too much recycling and some muddled new systems. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Mar 11, 2020
    Nioh 2 is a big improvement on an already impressive initial outing. With more weapons and powers, combat expands into something truly special, while the story holds more emotion and impact. Fans of the first will enjoy returning to Japan and seeing familiar characters; they’ll also welcome the fresh challenges. If you’ve never played Nioh or shy away from Soulslike experiences, I can’t stress enough that Nioh 2 is worth checking out. It’s an incredibly smart game that rewards you for your time and patience.
  3. Mar 13, 2020
    I don’t think a game has ever asked as much from me as Nioh 2. Yet still I return, because if a game is going to be this demanding, it had better be fair, and Nioh 2 is always fair, even if it often feels like just a little too much. It’s a puzzle game. It’s baking bread. It’s everything that yields rewards only after you learn to think differently, and learn consistency and focus. And I’m getting better at it. I’m getting wise.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 954 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    Team Ninja made a great game with a few new touches to the old game.

    Great new yokai form vere large skill tree and Great boss desing
  2. Mar 13, 2020
    4
    Ive been playing "Hard"/Challenging games since the 80s. Ive even beaten all the Ninja gaiden games by the same guys that made Nioh, all theIve been playing "Hard"/Challenging games since the 80s. Ive even beaten all the Ninja gaiden games by the same guys that made Nioh, all the souls game etc etc. I dont say this to brag, but to give a bit of relevance to my statement that, the Nioh games are unfair and unbalanced. Nioh 1 the third boss was the first boss that I played a tried a few times then just stopped, I could see how BS it was and really couldn't muster the effort to try. A good challenging game will have you dying alot, but every time you die you learn something new and can adapt. Good bosses have a weakness to balance their strength eg, If they have a ton of health, they can be slow, or have weak points. If they are insanely fast there's useuall a trap move or AOE attack in your arsenal. Many of nioh bosses have no weakness, they have high health, high armor , do massive damage and have completely random attack patterns. Meaning the only way to beat them is to beat you head against the wall until after ages you have their movements and attacks burned into your memory, and the rest is luck, hopefully you will guess the right attack they will be about to do before you act, and hopefully your luck lasts the entire fight.
    There is many other issues I have with the Nioh game including an bland areas and stupid amount of time you have to spend in each area, to the painful grind.
    Unlike the Souls game where every death is a lesson , in Nioh every death feel like unlucky RNG. And the payoff for the time spent getting through a hard place is just more grinding. No beastly weapon, no massive bump in XP just another small area to go to.
    The game dose run at 60 fps and is great on a technical level, but everything else is the same as the first game with more irritation.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2020
    4
    Lowered my score to a 4 after playing through NG+. The game just gets worse the more you play. The flaws are numerous and in your face.

    I
    Lowered my score to a 4 after playing through NG+. The game just gets worse the more you play. The flaws are numerous and in your face.

    I was really hopeful for Nioh 2. Nioh 1 was a solid, if messy game. The bones were there for something special, something that could rise up and give us a truly worthy souls-like that didn't come from... uh... From. Instead, Nioh 2 is pretty much more of the same, with some baffling inclusions that make it a generally frustrating experience (and not the good kind).

    First off: if anyone says this is better than Sekiro, go ahead and mentally file them away as unfit for gaming in general. Nioh 2 is inferior to Sekiro in nearly every meaningful way (unless you really, really have a thing for picking up loot you'll never use). Just figured I'd add that because I see people comparing the two, and there is no comparison. Sekiro is a much better game.

    So let's run down the list:

    Pros:

    -Graphics are fantastic.
    -There's a lot of level-up options.
    -Lots and lots of gear, I guess?
    -Story is a bit more interesting than Nioh 1.
    -The addition of random summons is... nice? Or would be, if the AI wasn't running on a playstation 1 processor
    -Some of the combat additions are good, like the burst counter and yokai shifts. They don't add a whole lot, when it comes down to it, but it is an improvement.
    -Levels, while often re-used, are much more enjoyable to look at. No more running across a dark, dingy coast for the 80th time. Now you get to explore beautiful vistas... for the 80th time.
    -Framerate is smooth, which is an accomplishment for how good the game looks.
    -The weapon/armor variation is very neat. Note, I'm not talking about how useful that is (that's a con) but how it looks visually. These guys are top notch artists.

    Cons:
    -Bosses suck. No, I don't mean bosses are hard, I mean they suck. There's almost no effort to them. They all boil down to roughly the same tactic (with a few gimick fights here and there): wait, wait, wait, slash, wait, wait, counter, wait, wait, break guard and go ham, repeat. The likely reason for that comes from the next con...
    - Combat feels like it's a decade old. Maybe it's the fact that I just recently finished playing Sekiro again (I don't think it is, as I just recently played Nioh 1 as well), but everything feels like it's moving at a glacial pace, including the response of your buttons. Want to block that attack coming in? I hope you hit the button well in advance, because the game needs to think about it for a bit. Remember hitboxes that extend out too far? Nioh 2 does! It's just so sub-par after Sekiro. And look, I get it, it's not Sekiro, Team Ninja never said it was, but Nioh 2 is inferior in essentially every aspect of combat and it does not feel nearly as satisfying to play.
    -Difficulty is... fake. The game can be difficult, it's true, but that really only lasts so long as you're trying to play aggressive. As soon as you start waiting out attacks and playing defensively, the game loses all challenge. Enemies never force you (which, I mean, they probably can't, due to the combat limitations), and they start to feel more like a chore than any sort of joy to fight. There's a spike when you reach an area with higher level enemies, but it quickly levels off. Bosses are never really hard, because almost none of them require you to learn any new skills, just keep repeating the strategy you've always used and you'll win.
    - Summoning ai sounds like a good idea in theory. It's hilariously bad in practice. No, seriously, I think i've died more often because my AI companion decided to get in my way or block my camera than I have to actual enemies.
    - Speaking of: how on earth do we still have this camera? Even Sekiro had the decency to finally give us a better (albeit, still iffy) camera than past souls offerings. This camera is sooooooooo bad. I cannot believe this was anything other than intentional to artificially increase difficulty, because it's amateurish.
    - FYI, Team Ninja, quantity does not equal quality. Picking up a hundred swords doesn't mean anything if 99 of them are useless to me. It's just early Diablo 3 syndrome all over. Deconstructing items isn't fun, folks. That's not a gameplay mechanic anyone should be jumping over. The skill trees fall into this trap as well, though to a lesser extent. I'm not sure why people are praising it as amazing. It's literally the same kind of skill tree as Nioh 1, but in a different UI. It's not a leap forward, it's a leap sideways.

    All in all, I don't recommend spending 60 bucks on this unless you're just dying for something to do while we're all stuck inside. I am regretting my purchase, not because it's some monumental challenge that I just can't beat (I can, did, and probably will one more time before I shelve it), but because it just doesn't live up to expectations. Sekiro happened, people. Like it or not, that's the standard now, and Nioh 2 doesn't even come close.
    Full Review »