Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
Buy On
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    74
    There’s a lot to like here if you’re the right kind of person. The combat is tight and precise, there’s a ton of variety, and the challenge is mighty stiff. At the same time, Nioh 2 is mechanical on a level that’s a few layers too deep. I see what the goal was – differentiation – but it overcomplicates things where it doesn’t need to. Souls die hards: buckle up and get in there. Souls haters: you’ll hate this too. If you’re somewhere in the middle, give it a go, but beware you might end up like me: appreciating Nioh 2’s craft, but not actually enjoying it.
  2. Mar 12, 2020
    70
    Nioh 2 crafts its tough experience with precise, delicious Team Ninja combat. On top of that is an entire mass of additional systems that offer players a way forward if your skills aren't top-notch. When those systems come together, Nioh 2 can make you feel powerful, but it does feel like a mess of numbers and bonuses thrown your way at times. You're surprisingly versatile, but you're also forced into a lot of management. A bit of trimming would've led to a near-perfect experience, rather than just a great one.
  3. Mar 15, 2020
    60
    Definitely a greater game than the first Nioh, although still difficult to recommend to all action aficionados out there. After all, it's still a "soulsborne" type game and will take a lot of your time. Those with patience will experience the greatest fulfillment after defeating the various difficult bosses. But if you're not ready to devote your free time to memorize the fighting system: Turn around! There are limits to how much we can die before our console goes out the window.
  4. Mar 26, 2020
    50
    The game is limited by the static nature of its mission-based structure and the protagonist’s severe lack of motivation.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 10, 2020
    An absorbing, tense and well-wrought samurai adventure let down by a little too much recycling and some muddled new systems. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Mar 11, 2020
    Nioh 2 is a big improvement on an already impressive initial outing. With more weapons and powers, combat expands into something truly special, while the story holds more emotion and impact. Fans of the first will enjoy returning to Japan and seeing familiar characters; they’ll also welcome the fresh challenges. If you’ve never played Nioh or shy away from Soulslike experiences, I can’t stress enough that Nioh 2 is worth checking out. It’s an incredibly smart game that rewards you for your time and patience.
  3. Mar 13, 2020
    I don’t think a game has ever asked as much from me as Nioh 2. Yet still I return, because if a game is going to be this demanding, it had better be fair, and Nioh 2 is always fair, even if it often feels like just a little too much. It’s a puzzle game. It’s baking bread. It’s everything that yields rewards only after you learn to think differently, and learn consistency and focus. And I’m getting better at it. I’m getting wise.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 419
  1. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    Team Ninja made a great game with a few new touches to the old game.

    Great new yokai form vere large skill tree and Great boss desing
  2. Mar 13, 2020
    10
    Absolutely better than last year "GOTY". deep combat system, deep costumization system, and more stable FPS. Such an underrated game, with soAbsolutely better than last year "GOTY". deep combat system, deep costumization system, and more stable FPS. Such an underrated game, with so much potential. A must-play game for hardcore gamer Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2020
    4
    Ive been playing "Hard"/Challenging games since the 80s. Ive even beaten all the Ninja gaiden games by the same guys that made Nioh, all theIve been playing "Hard"/Challenging games since the 80s. Ive even beaten all the Ninja gaiden games by the same guys that made Nioh, all the souls game etc etc. I dont say this to brag, but to give a bit of relevance to my statement that, the Nioh games are unfair and unbalanced. Nioh 1 the third boss was the first boss that I played a tried a few times then just stopped, I could see how BS it was and really couldn't muster the effort to try. A good challenging game will have you dying alot, but every time you die you learn something new and can adapt. Good bosses have a weakness to balance their strength eg, If they have a ton of health, they can be slow, or have weak points. If they are insanely fast there's useuall a trap move or AOE attack in your arsenal. Many of nioh bosses have no weakness, they have high health, high armor , do massive damage and have completely random attack patterns. Meaning the only way to beat them is to beat you head against the wall until after ages you have their movements and attacks burned into your memory, and the rest is luck, hopefully you will guess the right attack they will be about to do before you act, and hopefully your luck lasts the entire fight.
    There is many other issues I have with the Nioh game including an bland areas and stupid amount of time you have to spend in each area, to the painful grind.
    Unlike the Souls game where every death is a lesson , in Nioh every death feel like unlucky RNG. And the payoff for the time spent getting through a hard place is just more grinding. No beastly weapon, no massive bump in XP just another small area to go to.
    The game dose run at 60 fps and is great on a technical level, but everything else is the same as the first game with more irritation.
    Full Review »