Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Jan 15, 2019
    85
    Onimusha: Warlords is a worthy remaster, and even though it feels rather short, the combat and exploration of such a claustrophobic world reminds you just how good it is.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    85
    Given that I still play the original from time to time, I'd say I'm more than happy with a nip and a tuck here and there.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 12, 2019
    80
    Playing fast and loose with historical fact, Onimusha: Warlords remains a PlayStation classic. Even some of its questionable design choices can’t dampen the fun. [Issue#159, p.92]
  4. Jan 23, 2019
    80
    This is actually a decent HD remaster. For a game that I played a ton of when I was 15, it was still fun to go back to with a new set of eyes and experiences under my belt. It may be a much more simplistic adventure compared to other action games nowadays, but checking in on this gem was enjoyable all the way through. Fans of the old series will have a fun nostalgia trip while players that missed out on it at the beginning of the PS2, can find some old school fun here and the $20 price tag is perfect for this one.
  5. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Onimusha: Warlords is a fun remaster for those who have not experienced the franchise. While the remaster may not provide much new content for past players, it is undoubtedly a worthwhile experience for everyone else. Despite some design decisions of the past which haunt the remaster, namely the fixed camera and save system, Onimusha: Warlords is a classic title worthy of a playthrough. With Capcom re-establishing itself as a force in the industry with some of its latest releases, one can only wonder where the Onimusha series goes from here.
  6. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    New players will get the full, unabridged experience at a decent price, while old fans should find this treasured classic is still just as fun to dive into as they remember.
  7. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    I can’t deny that it was a pleasure to meet again with a title that I played many years ago and, in general, I consider that it is an experience that can be pleasant for fans of the series. However, its not easy to bring back mechanics and control schemes already overcome; maybe those who played the original delivery will take a little time to get into the rhythm and, in a brief time, they will achieve it. The big questions remains: can Onimusha: Warlords appeal to a new audience as well? The answer remains uncertain. In any case, elements such as control and certain game mechanics, such as the more complicated riddles and the difficulty of some combats or enemies, will leave the coin in the air waiting for the experience to be pleasant for those embarking on this adventure. Despite its limitations and, Onimusha: Warlords fulfills its premise as a remastering and as a game. Without a doubt it is a good return to the past and I hope that it has the necessary reception to guarantee the launch of the subsequent titles.
  8. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    After 18 years, Onimusha: Warlods is still an awesome game to play. It isn't the best remastered ever, with just few adjustment and no real innovations.
  9. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Regardless of whether you are looking to take on this samurai classic for the first time or wishing to experience an accurate snapshot of gaming from the early years of the mighty PlayStation 2, Onimusha: Warlords is well worth playing in 2019.
  10. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Those who enjoyed the original release of Onimusha: Warlords way back when will enjoy their time with this remaster. Even if you're a newcomer to the series, fans of action RPGs will appreciate its design.
  11. Jan 29, 2019
    75
    The HD version of Onimusha: Warlords is reminiscent of the wave of remasters that hit the PS3/360 era, which served as a passable way to introduce players to popular games from the previous generation. Rather than taking the route of the stellar Resident Evil HD Remaster, Capcom has put out a version of Onimusha that is easily accessible to a current audience and seems to act as a way to gauge player interest for the future of the franchise.
  12. Jan 15, 2019
    75
    Onimusha: Warlords stood out much more in 2001 with its unique gameplay and sinister setting. In this day and age, it's hard not to wish that Capcom went a bit further in modernizing the classic but it's still a fun and engaging experience.
  13. Jan 15, 2019
    75
    It does not offer new contents, not even borrowing them from Genma Onimusha. Although Warlords has aged well, thanks to its pioneering combat system, we understand that old fans can remain hesitant.
  14. Jan 15, 2019
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. 75
    Onimusha: Warlords is a decent remaster.While its combat remains great and its mechanics solid, some of the graphical upgrades can be hit and miss.
  16. Feb 3, 2019
    71
    Important classic from the early Playstation 2 era, which is no longer up to date, but has a great atmosphere.
  17. Jan 17, 2019
    70
    Onimusha: Warlords is the genesis of a Japanese IP with its wide and well deserved slice of audience. This remastered edition keeps the design and the mechanics of the original software perfectly intact, improving it through crucial technical upgrades. However, this was an experimental game and it's almost twenty years old and for this reason some structural problems must be contextualized and accepted.
  18. Jan 16, 2019
    70
    Yes, Onimusha is an old game, and to be honest it shows a lot with fixed cameras and a very rigid gameplay. On the other hand it's still a game to be highly recommend if you haven't done it yet, and if you can cope with the PS2 era technical side of things.
  19. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    Onimusha is still pleasant and fluid to play, showing off those beautiful precalculated backgrounds that we once loved. However, the remastared version suffers from its lack of new content, and doesn't fix some of the problems we faced many years ago.
  20. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    For the relatively low asking price Onimusha Warlords is worth a look if you’ve ever been interested in the series or just want to slay demons in historical Japan. Just bewware you’ll have to contend with some game design elements that belong in the early 2000s. It’s not a terribly long game and you can get through it in a few hours, but it’ll keep you entertained throughout.
  21. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    While a few major tweaks and additions bring it into the modern era, this is still very much the Onimusha: Warlords you remember from 2001. That’s not a bad thing, though, because 18 years on, it’s still able to muster up a thrilling campaign with all manner of horrors to slice and dice. Recommended for both newcomers and veterans alike, Onimusha: Warlords is a welcome distraction that takes us back to a simpler time. Now, let’s make that reboot a reality Capcom.
  22. Feb 8, 2019
    60
    The first Onimusha is a classic game, no doubt about that, but this edition, unlike Resident Evil 2, is not a remake but the original version with slight upgrades and enhances that are not capable of hiding the fact that the first adventure of Samanosuke has aged poorly.
  23. 50
    This remaster seems only well suited for folks who’ve experienced the series before. It’s tailor-made for folks who want to take a trip down memory lane. Even then, you’ll find the same surprise I did—that Onimusha: Warlords is a game remembered as being better than it actually was.
  24. Jan 15, 2019
    40
    It’s odd that Capcom has done so little to the hibernating series and let this beloved game wither away under the harsh sands of time.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 15, 2019
    A slightly dated reintroduction to one of Capcom's hack-and-slash greats.
  2. Jan 15, 2019
    The best part is how it still holds up really well. What a great bloody game. And what’s this? OOH A LIVER!
  3. Jan 15, 2019
    With those caveats aside, Onimusha: Warlords is a damn steal at £15.99. Where most publishers are trying to squeeze as much as possible out of people, juicing those nostalgia glands for every penny, here we have a sensible price point for a decent older game that’s been blown up to look passable on a modern screen.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 65
  2. Negative: 27 out of 65
  1. Jan 15, 2019
    10
    Of course its not a 10 game, but hell I wanted to play onimusha again so much, that I am giving it higher score than it deserves (its aboutOf course its not a 10 game, but hell I wanted to play onimusha again so much, that I am giving it higher score than it deserves (its about 6,5/10 game) because I want more from this series.
    The question I have is why Capcom decided to port only the first title instead of trilogy OR Onimusha: Dawn of Dreams? This series was getting better with each new part so either 3 or DoD would be perfect for newcomers or to scratch nostalgia itch. Well, its a bit shame because DoD looks better than this "remaster" and DoD was released in 2006...
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2019
    8
    As a lifelong fan of the series and rating the 'Genma' Onimusha port of this game on the original Xbox as one of my favourite games of allAs a lifelong fan of the series and rating the 'Genma' Onimusha port of this game on the original Xbox as one of my favourite games of all time, I can say this PS4 edition has more than a few shortcomings albeit a great experience and joy to play.

    My first gripe is the lack of a simple skip implementation to the cutscenes, which would've enhanced the overall flow of gameplay - it feels like a chore having to repeatedly revisit a cutscene which takes place before a challenging sequence or boss fight that resulted in your death. This is a game that begs for your full attention and so there is a certain rhythm to the gameplay that is lost having to re-watch cutscenes every time you screw up.

    Newcomers might argue that tank controls are a little outdated and thankfully, the developers foresaw this issue implementing the option to use the left analog stick for movement. I personally feel the strafe mechanics of the game are clearly designed around the use of the D-pad which allows for flawless control of Samanosuke during combat.

    Fixed camera angles are what help define the atmosphere and much like in early Resident Evil titles, the claustrophobic nature of set pieces are a constant reminder that danger lurks around every corner and enemies will be sure to mow you down if your guard isn’t up. Understandably so, here this can seen as a negative, as enemies can potentially pin you to the corners of the screen, overwhelming you as a result which can feel like bad game design. Nevertheless, it’s a minor detail when compared to the overall fluidity of combat as the controls feel especially responsive for a game that requires split second reaction timing in the heat of battle.

    As for visuals, the graphics are what are to be expected from a 2001 release being upscaled for the PS4. Granted, it hasn’t aged as well as other remasters of the sort, and despite the evident pre-rendered background contrasts, what takes centre stage in Onimusha has always been the gameplay, and let’s not forget - this is an 18 year old PS2 game.

    Whilst the action is definitely one of the better strengths of Onimusha, there is also great pacing between solving puzzles, finding chests and deciphering secrets which are plentifully and cleverly scattered throughout the course of the game. You’ll often come across locked doors each with their respective seals giving the player incentive to backtrack to earlier sections once they’ve upgraded their arsenal. Some areas, whilst not all too clearly represented in the game’s lootable maps, could easily be missed during an initial playthrough providing replay value for completionists and trophy hunters alike. In addition to this, an Ultimate difficulty mode becomes available once you have completed the game on any difficulty.

    Given, this is a retouch of the PS2 version of Onimusha, but the aforementioned Genma edition introduced so many new features which, in my opinion, elevated the game’s quality and replay value drastically.
    There was a much higher level of challenge with the inclusion of tougher enemies, bosses and areas to beat. More notably so, were the combat additions which granted players the ability to perform charged attacks and absorb Green Souls -rendering Samanosuke invincible for a short time. These were welcome features which balanced out a heightened level of difficulty by providing a much needed edge when encountering deadlier enemies.
    Exploration, whilst still very present in this PS4 remaster, was also more rewarding in Genma, with more treasures & challenges to seek out and master such as the unforgiving Ogre Tower - an optional detour to the main narrative, where players could test their durability against unrelenting hordes of demons. Luckily, the similar yet inferior Dark Realm segment, also included in Genma, is available in this remaster.

    Hardcore fanatics (myself included) will rejoice at the re-recorded japanese dialogue hidden in the options menu behind the god-awful english dubbed version.
    An all new beautiful score has also been composed in replacement of the original. While it’s a worthy tribute, it makes one wonder what lead them to re-compose what was an already masterful and beloved soundtrack. Compositions like ’Samanosuke’s Theme’, ‘Gale’ or ‘Waterfall Mountain’ amongst other classic and memorable tunes are completely missing which in my humble opinion, really set the tone in Onimusha, making the journey all the more worthwhile.

    Ultimately, I believe this reworked remaster of an absolute classic still delivers today and however much I wish that Capcom would’ve given us a more wholesome game to enjoy, what's left is a gratifying and treasured experience for both old and new audiences willing to play.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2019
    7
    Onimusha is just as I remember it back in 2001, and at the time, it was one of the most impressive action games ever. Unfortunately time hasOnimusha is just as I remember it back in 2001, and at the time, it was one of the most impressive action games ever. Unfortunately time has not been too kind on it. Even though the graphics have held up really well, the gameplay suffers. This is mainly due to the horrible fixed camera angles.

    Don't get me wrong, it's still a very playable game, even still enjoyable throughout most parts. I was just hoping it would feel more like a remaster rather than a basic port with upscaled graphics. I do think $20 is a fairly reasonable asking price, but I'm glad it's no higher than that, as it only takes around 4 hours to play through it thoroughly.
    Full Review »