Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    90
    Whether you want to play explorer, detective, or Bill Murray, Outer Wilds has you covered. We’ll say it again: one of the best games you’ll play this year. [Issue#169, p.93]
  2. Oct 25, 2019
    90
    Outer Wilds is a monumental success in video game design and storytelling and should be experienced by anyone who sees the value in immersive, interactive storytelling despite its graphical hitches on PS4.
  3. 90
    Outer Wilds is a furiously imaginative work that elevates storytelling and player discovery to a whole new level. Though less than inspired puzzles and some technical issues threaten to take the sheen off the experience, Outer Wilds nonetheless sits in a class all its own on PS4.
  4. 80
    Outer Wilds is an exquisitely crafted planet hopping mystery adventure you’ll delight in playing. The seemingly sparse solar system isn’t at all as your journey will take you from one end to another. Even if your current exploration comes to nothing, you can have another go once the loop begins anew. As we mentioned, it is possible to get a bit stuck, but the in-game hints are sufficient you’ll find yourself on track again soon enough.
  5. Oct 18, 2019
    80
    A fantastically imaginative, time-bending puzzle adventure that makes full use of one of the most enjoyably interactive game worlds in a long time.
  6. Jun 13, 2019
    80
    I thought Outer Wilds was going to be more of an RPG, and I sort of wish it was. The more engaging gameplay elements — the story and its mysteries, the fascinating and beautiful planets, the thrill of exploration and discovery — always took a backseat to the puzzles and physics, which were intriguing but sometimes felt like an arbitrary impediment that drained some of the delight out of Outer Wild’s often genuinely unique experience.
  7. Oct 29, 2019
    76
    In the end, Outer Wilds is all about exploring a mysterious solar system and finding out its secrets. I had a fun time flying around in space and it’s good for the gaming industry as a whole to have an adventure game like this that’s about exploring a world without having to shoot or fight enemies. However, Outer Wilds doesn’t do a great job at guiding players. Instead, you are left aimlessly exploring until you figure out what to do next.
  8. Nov 2, 2019
    70
    This is a game that presents itself in a unique way, and trusts you to put together its compelling mystery without assistance.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 15, 2019
    Outer Wilds is not a power fantasy. It is a game about discovering how little power you have, and how maybe that isn’t as scary as you might initially have thought. The galaxy is huge, but you can still make your mark on a small part of it. And that mark will reverberate forward through time, like an echo of a harmonica played by a friend in the low light of a dying campfire.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 152
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    10
    Good writing, humour, minimal bloat. Old skool, but in a good way. Not perfect, but really enjoyed it
  2. Dec 8, 2019
    8
    Certainly was not expecting the thrill I got from this game. It's hard to compare to any other game because it sits uniquely in its own littleCertainly was not expecting the thrill I got from this game. It's hard to compare to any other game because it sits uniquely in its own little world. The heavy use of physics reminds me of Kerbal Space Program. It does a great job making you feel a sense of awe and terror as you fly around a solar system exploring.

    Expect to die a lot and in some brutal ways I would not wish on anyone.

    I did near the end get a little fatigued after I thoroughly explored most of the world. It does not give you a lot of direction where to go so at some point you might find yourself looking up a video walkthrough to move forward in the story. The ending is trippy and makes you think.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2019
    7
    Good writing, humour, minimal bloat. Old school, but in a good way. Not perfect, but really enjoyed it