Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 20, 2014
    80
    Whistleblower is a short DLC that surpasses the original Outlast game in terms of fear and atmosphere.
  2. May 9, 2014
    80
    It expands on the original background, and somehow manages to fix some of the few issues of the main chapter, namely linearity. A great DLC, which you should absolutely consider if you loved Outlast.
  3. May 6, 2014
    80
    Outlast: Whistleblower doesn’t muck around with a formula that’s already proven to work, and it subsequently succeeds at extending the spooky atmosphere of Red Barrels’ survival horror release. The new campaign accompanies the original game well, and even improves upon it in many ways. It also ups the ante in the terror department, hitting harder and more frequently, without relying too heavily on jump scares.
  4. May 6, 2014
    80
    Outlast: Whistleblower isn't quite as memorable as its parent game, but nonetheless provides plenty of grisly encounters and tells a more complete story.
  5. May 8, 2014
    64
    Delivers more of the same gruesome locales and jump-scares as the core game, but doesn't introduce much new to the horror experience. Its sound design is still top notch, and it took me to some dark places that few video games ever dare to go.
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    60
    Taken as a fun Friday night of gaming, it’ll give you an excellent horror fix, leaving you shaken and strangely exhausted from the episodes of sustained suspense.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 145
  1. May 9, 2014
    10
    Red Barrels delivers again. Found it even better than the original. Grisly, Hardcore, in your face horror. Love the setting and theRed Barrels delivers again. Found it even better than the original. Grisly, Hardcore, in your face horror. Love the setting and the characters. There are some scenes that will stick with you. Especially later on. I feel like I am reading a horror novel. Except living it. Imagine playing something like this on the Oculus Rift someday..how amazing and frightening would that be? Good to see there are still companies out there willing to do games this extreme. Dead Space is the only one I can think of in the last 10 years (Amnesia has nothing on Outlast). To American developers: There are still mature gamers out there! Can't wait to see what else Red Barrels cooks up. Highly recommended. Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    5
    If you are like me, you were probably hoping for the DLC to better explain what happened in Outlast. Not only does it not do that, it boresIf you are like me, you were probably hoping for the DLC to better explain what happened in Outlast. Not only does it not do that, it bores you with repetitive, copy and paste gameplay that the main game offered. Oh, the monster showed up when I grabbed the key? Who knew that would happen... I hope that Red barrels continues to make games, but I hope they offer more of the brilliance shown in the Traeger sequence, and less of the tedious 'monster pops out, run, repeat' gameplay that this DLC had. Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    the spooks and thrills kept me on the edge of my seat the whole day. this addition to the game has a good story but gets repetitive after athe spooks and thrills kept me on the edge of my seat the whole day. this addition to the game has a good story but gets repetitive after a while and when re doing a mission it lacks the feel that you get the first time. it is very linear as there is almost always one path to go on. that doesn't say that it didn't scare my pants off. for what it is it is good overall but it did not fully reach my expectations. one good play through and it was over, no point to play it again. C Full Review »