User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3465 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2020
    8
    TL;DR
    I was a huge fan of the original persona 5, and I liked this game a lot, and I think it's a really good game, but I can see where some of the critics dislike this game.
    Still, as a hardcore persona 5 fan i think the good far outweighs the bad, but I can understand why people will not like this game. If you never played the orginal persona 5, and you are into RPG, especially
    TL;DR
    I was a huge fan of the original persona 5, and I liked this game a lot, and I think it's a really good game, but I can see where some of the critics dislike this game.
    Still, as a hardcore persona 5 fan i think the good far outweighs the bad, but I can understand why people will not like this game.
    If you never played the orginal persona 5, and you are into RPG, especially JRPGs, this is hundred percent a much buy.
    If you played the orginal persona 5, and you loved the orginal game, again a must buy. And if you loved the orginial, (make sure you put the game on hard diffculty)
    If you played the origiinal person 5, and you were more indifferent to it or didn't love it, I would pass on this game.
    Longer review:

    A lot of the negative reviews for this game come from the fact that they didn't feel that this game was worth the 60 dollar purchase after already buying g the original game. There is definitely plenty of new content, new places to explore new things to do. In my opinion, most of the new things in this game doesn't add that that much to the story line; if you are not a hardcore persona 5 fan. Sure you get a good amoutn of new options, but imo it wasn't significant enough for more casual fans to feel like they're playing a different game. Now, tbf, I wasn't super upset at that becuase I really enjoyed the main game but I can see why some people will take issue. One thing I did dislike was imo a lot of the new content made you even stronger, which kinda makes most of the game easy. I don't think persona 5 orginal was a hard game at all, now it's borderline like super easy. I would say it's almost mandatory for a returning player to play this game on Hard diffculty. Now that value for you will ultimately determine your thoughts on the main game.

    On the persona 5 royal extra content, there are some extra content at the end that I really liked, and I really liked how the game ended and stuff. I think these spots were done pretty well by ATLUS. I was glued in the final story moments and thought it was very well done. I won't be more specific because of spoiler concerns. There was a couple spots in Royal that I didn't really like. For example, the new character, Kasumi isn't really playable for tbh a huge portion of the game. and when she was so advertised so hard, I wasn't kinda upset she didn't play a larger role.

    Definitely a mustbuy if you liked the orginal, however if you didn't, you can pass on this one. I can understand why some people would think this game is too similar to the orginal and be kinda upset. I don't agree with it, but I can somewhat understand their view point.
    Expand
  2. May 10, 2020
    9
    Base Persona 5 was a masterpiece. Not my favorite SMT game, but it's hard to deny what it has done for JRPGs as a whole, with people who've never touched a JRPG in life loving it.
    Persona 5 Royal is the better game for sure. Gameplay changes make the combat go from "good" to "addictive". Baton Passes are now its own mechanic instead of being incorporated in confidants, the Will Seeds make
    Base Persona 5 was a masterpiece. Not my favorite SMT game, but it's hard to deny what it has done for JRPGs as a whole, with people who've never touched a JRPG in life loving it.
    Persona 5 Royal is the better game for sure. Gameplay changes make the combat go from "good" to "addictive". Baton Passes are now its own mechanic instead of being incorporated in confidants, the Will Seeds make the dungeon crawling more manageable, persona traits make downfusing (?) more viable, and Showtimes are just eye candy (especially the endgame ones). They also changed Mementos to be less tedious and samey. There are some touches to the social sim part of the experience, too. There are so much more evening time slots that it becomes hard not to max your social stats by the end of the game, you get phone calls after a hangout, allowing you to get some extra Confidant points.
    However, here's the problem: this is one of the easiest games I've ever played. The only troubling parts are at the beginning, where you're underlevelled, and at the 5th bossfight, where you have to use a strategy to win. Everything else is a cakewalk. I was level 99 at the end of the game unlike base P5, where I was like level 75. I've played the game at Hard difficulty, yet it still felt really easy. Unlike base P5 and even more so P3 and P4, maxing out all Confidants is not only managable without a guide, but even somewhat easy.
    ------------------------------------------------------Third Semester (no spoiiers)---------------------
    Now, the third semester. It's really good.
    It gives me hope for P6, since the story brought up some cool points.
    The villain is really likable, and the final palace is easily the best one (yep, better than the 6th). The puzzles are great, the bossfights are great, the music is great - it's incredible.
    Kasumi is a really great character, at least here. Pre-third semester she's pretty weak and most of her problems are generic. Also "uwu senpai" is really infuriating the 35476th time she says it.
    And Maruki? Well, this one's... up for debate. Just play the game yourself.
    ----------------------------------------------------------Conclusion--------------------------------------------
    Is it worth 60$? Well, if it's your first time experiencing Persona 5, then it's an easy yes. If you're revisiting it? Not so much. While it's still a big upgrade over Base P5, it's still not even close to being a full price worth upgrade, at least in my opinion. The basis of the story isn't changed basically at all, so you still have to go through the same 70-80 hours.
    That's why I give it only a 9/10.
    Expand
  3. May 5, 2020
    9
    This is my first time diving into the world of Persona and, man, was it a trip! All the characters are unique and the gameplay makes me think and strategize. I’m going to be honest; I really am not the biggest fan of anime and when I see it, I usually give it the cold shoulder. This game is the one exception. You can see the care and love the developers put into this game and I’m glad myThis is my first time diving into the world of Persona and, man, was it a trip! All the characters are unique and the gameplay makes me think and strategize. I’m going to be honest; I really am not the biggest fan of anime and when I see it, I usually give it the cold shoulder. This game is the one exception. You can see the care and love the developers put into this game and I’m glad my friend recommended me this enhanced remaster more or less. In summary, if you’re not the biggest fan of RPGs and are not interested whatsoever in anime, give this game a shot. I was very skeptical when I got the recommendation but you just got to play it. The style and the music and the overall vibe of this game are unmatched by anything I have played this generation. ( Ok actually Last of Us, Mario Odyssey, God of War, and hopefully TLOU Part II top this but still, this game is more than worth the 100+ hours!) Expand
  4. May 4, 2020
    9
    The upgraded version of one of the finest game of all time; new characters and tracks, improved interactions, better game mechanichs, more dynamic dungeons and even more diversity in casual battles. A brand new game, totally worthly of the expense. Too bad for the "true ending" final cutscene, for me a bit unsadisfaying.
  5. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    A great game with an great extension to the story and even though it was longer than original Person 5 I did not feel burnt out by the 6th dungeon. Got the Platinum Trophie on my first run aswell so 9/10 I want more.
  6. May 19, 2020
    9
    Persona 5 was already a 9/10 fantastic game, and this version improves it. A couple interesting new characters, a new final dungeon, some gameplay tweaks, and a bunch of QoL improvements bring it to the next level. If you haven't played the original and are interested in trying it, get this version.

    I gave it a 9, though, since I don't believe there is enough new stuff to justify this
    Persona 5 was already a 9/10 fantastic game, and this version improves it. A couple interesting new characters, a new final dungeon, some gameplay tweaks, and a bunch of QoL improvements bring it to the next level. If you haven't played the original and are interested in trying it, get this version.

    I gave it a 9, though, since I don't believe there is enough new stuff to justify this game being $60 when the original is now $20. $40 or maybe $50 would be a better deal.
    Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2020
    9
    E' il miglior jrpg a cui abbia mai giocato, è vicinissimo alla perfezione non riesco a pensare a difetti. Il gioco principalmente è diviso due parti ben distinte: Nella prima saremo degli studenti che vanno a scuola normalmente, nella seconda vivremo le incredibili avventure dei phantom thievs. Il plot è meraviglioso e la soundtrack è una delle migliore che abbia mai avuto il piacere diE' il miglior jrpg a cui abbia mai giocato, è vicinissimo alla perfezione non riesco a pensare a difetti. Il gioco principalmente è diviso due parti ben distinte: Nella prima saremo degli studenti che vanno a scuola normalmente, nella seconda vivremo le incredibili avventure dei phantom thievs. Il plot è meraviglioso e la soundtrack è una delle migliore che abbia mai avuto il piacere di ascoltare Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2020
    9
    Persona 5 Royal is one of the greatest games of all time. It takes P5, an already enjoyable experience and fixes any problems that original players had in Persona 5. The only problem is on my first play through, i play on safe mode to relax and enjoy the story. There were often battles in safe mode that were just grindy in a way or straight up annoying to deal with, which if it was in anyPersona 5 Royal is one of the greatest games of all time. It takes P5, an already enjoyable experience and fixes any problems that original players had in Persona 5. The only problem is on my first play through, i play on safe mode to relax and enjoy the story. There were often battles in safe mode that were just grindy in a way or straight up annoying to deal with, which if it was in any other mode would be fine, but i wasn't there for the battles. However, every other aspect of the game was enjoyable. If you didn't play the original Persona 5, pick this up, but the third semester only adds a few hours of gameplay. It was honestly disappointing because it really just feels like a dlc except if the dlc character was planted throughout the whole story. I really wish there would've been even a little bit more. The ending is also way more satisfying, as everyone really moves on and goes. If I had to convince someone why to get this over if they were hesitant and bought the original, it'd be for the way things end off. But all of the problems I experienced made a tiny impact considering how good the story is, and the whole experience itself. This is an amazing and i think it will stand the test of time for a long long time. i just hope it isn't milked too much more. Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    Persona 5 on its on was a masterpiece 10/10 game and was the best game of 2017 alonside botw. We already knew that persona 5 royal was going to be a much better experience but Atlus literally blew it away by improving on a masterpiece game and turning it into perfection! They literally took and redesigned everything and added much much more. If persona 5 royal itself was released in 2017Persona 5 on its on was a masterpiece 10/10 game and was the best game of 2017 alonside botw. We already knew that persona 5 royal was going to be a much better experience but Atlus literally blew it away by improving on a masterpiece game and turning it into perfection! They literally took and redesigned everything and added much much more. If persona 5 royal itself was released in 2017 it would have easily won GOTY. It is such a perfect game made with love and care and is right now the highest rated ps4 exclusive of all time. Sega and atlus has given us a game that will go down in history as one of the greatest and best crafted pieces in the medium I can't recommend playing this game enough! Another HUGE masterpiece added to the list of Sony exclusives. I wish we get the original persona 5 on steam though that would be really cool having persona on pc and ps the best platforms out there! Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2020
    10
    It's just the best game in history. Deep story, awesome characters, the gameplay is clean, and a lot of things. I just love it
  11. Apr 18, 2020
    5
    First off I believe you need to compare this version of the game to the original since they are both playable on the same system and a new player would have to choose between them and old players need to choose if this is worth buying when they already have a version of persona 5. If you are getting this one solely to have the ‘definitive’ version, also keep in mind both persona 4 andFirst off I believe you need to compare this version of the game to the original since they are both playable on the same system and a new player would have to choose between them and old players need to choose if this is worth buying when they already have a version of persona 5. If you are getting this one solely to have the ‘definitive’ version, also keep in mind both persona 4 and persona 3 got remakes on portable systems, so I would not be surprised if we get another persona 5 remake for a portable system one day.

    So for everything good I have to say about royal I have something bad to say compared to the original:

    Good new graphics update - but bad new opening that you see every time you start the game, uglier, smaller font (big deal since this game is largely told through text and dialogue) used than the original game, and some of the new character busts are very odd looking and don’t look like they were drawn by the people who did the old busts.


    A new semester with a new palace! - it is optional. It also needs to be unlocked and the unlocking is easy enough to miss that many players may accidentally miss it. Also the new ‘semester’ isn’t very long and it is only like a month ish, calling it a ‘semester’ almost feels misleading. I can see why there are many bad reviews saying they were unhappy with how little new content there was.

    New confidants to do and a new romance option - but without going into spoilers the new royal characters are very similar to ones from previous Atlus games (including previous persona games) so if you are familiar with other persona, smt, or other Atlus games the new characters may feel stale or predictable.

    A new party member to use! - but she is on team for a very, very short amount of time so people excited to use a new party member will probably be disappointed. And her character arc doesn’t match the other characters being more about accepting her past and herself than of fighting against social norms and abuse. And as above, her writing is really predictable and weak.

    New battle mechanics and changes to make some aspects (like weapons and guns) more useful! - but it causes some balancing issues. Some changes now make the game too easy later in the game and make make some things already in the game obsolete. Example: changes to the guns to make them better made gun-based persona and gun persona skills a waste of time to use as well as making Haru much less useful, and she already suffers as she joins the cast very late.

    ...So, yeah, I do not believe royal is an unquestionable improvement to the original. I’d even go as far as saying that the new additions really could have used more work and many of the changes actually hurt the game instead of improving it. The new characters are also very disappointing and I don’t think most players will enjoy them.

    So overall I can’t say I enjoyed this version as much as the original, but I don’t think it is a bad game. If you played the original I wouldn’t bother getting this one and if you have never played persona 5 I would say get the original because it will probably be cheaper and it isn’t any worse. I’d only really recommend this version if safety difficultly was too hard for you in the original or if you are a stickler for good graphics and have a giant, super HD TV so a graphic upgrade would make a huge difference to you. Overall though I don’t think royal is worth it to the average gamer. It isn’t ‘bad’ but ‘unnecessary’ might be a good word.


    Buy, rent, watch an LP, or skip? Skip. The original will probably serve you fine and most of the new changes may not be worth buying the game again, most new plot points are optional and don’t change the story and are skippable.
    Expand
  12. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    its a 10 what else is there to say about it? your adding extra to a game that was already considered one of the best jrpg of this generation and some people’s favorite game of all time really nothing else to add lol
  13. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    This is the best jrpg of all time hands down ! It can’t be put into words . You have to play it to understand it’s perfection! Thanks atlas!
  14. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    Original Persona 5 was already a fantastic game, but Persona 5 Royal made a step even further by adding tons of new activities. New characters, fantastic soundtrack, bosses, personas etc. make game even better. More achievements were added and confidant system was improved. More DLC personas were added to the store, and they are fantastic in terms of gameplay.
  15. Mar 31, 2020
    10
    Persona 5 was a great game on its own but Persona 5 Royal made persona 5 an absolutely amazing game deserving a 10/10 rating.
  16. Apr 23, 2020
    6
    Ok, I see a lot of people comparing this version to the original so I’m writing a review as someone who didn’t play the original and came into the royal with a clean slate.

    Honestly? It didn’t live up to the hype. While the gameplay is the best of any jrpg I’ve ever played and the music was fantastic, I wouldn’t give this game a 10/10 in any other aspect. But the gameplay parts I can’t
    Ok, I see a lot of people comparing this version to the original so I’m writing a review as someone who didn’t play the original and came into the royal with a clean slate.

    Honestly? It didn’t live up to the hype. While the gameplay is the best of any jrpg I’ve ever played and the music was fantastic, I wouldn’t give this game a 10/10 in any other aspect. But the gameplay parts I can’t stress enough are amazing, the palaces are beautiful and creative, cool monster designs, and the controls are super user friendly.

    I see a lot of people praising the graphics, and while the menus, dialogue boxes, character portraits, and such were great, most of the in-game graphics were OK at best with flat textures on background items and buildings, low detail background characters, and showing characters from a distance to hide how weird some of their facial proportions and expressions are on the models. If you look at videos of the rhythm game spinoffs you can really see how much better some of the graphics could have been.

    The story was also lacking. There was a lot of filler and I feel like you could have removed like a 1/4 of it and it wouldn’t make a big difference. Most of the female party members are totally removable - Futaba is useful and Ann helps kickstart the plot (but really doesn’t do anything once the plot starts moving) but Makoto only bosses people around and tells people things the player could really figure out on their own, Haru’s dad is more important than her and she’s really only on the team because she happens to be the one to find Morgana after he tries to leave, and Kasumi isn’t even part of the team until after the main part of the story is long over - even as someone who never knew the original I can tell she wasn’t in it and she was added in later because she is just too tacked on. There are also big parts that don’t add to the story like school trips/activities and Morgana running away that would have just improved the pacing if they had been removed.

    The game is also very anticlimactic. Many side stories just kind of end. Morgana’s subplot about his identity is answers with some infodumps near the end, Goro appears and causes problems only to be swept away when he isn’t useful to the story anymore, and most of Kasumi’s and Takuto’s developments become hollow depending on if whether you do the last palace (it isn’t required - I actually would recommend not doing it because it doesn’t add to the plot and is really badly written).

    The game also handles teenagers really badly. The game treats them as adults with fan service of girls that are really young, teens being in relationships with adults (like their teachers, the player character can literally date his homeroom teacher), and many of the characters just act like short adults. I feel like the writer wanted this to be about young adults (like in their 20s) but the publishers or something stepped in and made them change it.

    So yeah, it is a game with all the best basic gameplay and game style, but it is bogged down by a big story that really slacks in areas.
    Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2020
    7
    Ok I'm gonna be honest with all of you with this review.

    I played the game in Jappanese and I was waiting to make a review for the game when the release of west was made. This review I made it on november. P5R is a good game for an JRPG Fan like me of course in this aspects. -Gameplay: I think when I played P5(Vanilla) it was a good gameplay but it needs a log and a advice tag when
    Ok I'm gonna be honest with all of you with this review.

    I played the game in Jappanese and I was waiting to make a review for the game when the release of west was made. This review I made it on november. P5R is a good game for an JRPG Fan like me of course in this aspects.

    -Gameplay: I think when I played P5(Vanilla) it was a good gameplay but it needs a log and a advice tag when you want to do a critical or a technical attack. This game added that and surely paid off. Also I like the add of the showtime attacks that is a good extra for the game for something to help and save SP/HP. Another aspect is mementos that is a dungeon to explore and get lot and EXP. That part was difficult on the P5(vanilla) cus you were limited, but the add with a boy solve that problem and I even reach lvl 99 without problems on my first playthrough Lol. New boss fights were added and old ones change they were a lot of fun to play vs them and add my strategy skills to use again like the twins.

    The open world is now more freely to speak with confidants and Morgana doesn't tell you to go to sleep it was a good add but I miss it too cus for me persona is a JRPG but the first gameplay it shows how limited you are but also add a good reality of what the game offers you, I feel very easy to try to get the mayotity of the confidants and the new place to visit Kichijoji help a lot on the team with activities to pass the time but also boost them. Also the confidants have an extra scenes that make fresh dialogues and see more of them.

    Music and sound: I play all the persona games but the music with P3, P4 with P4G and P5 are always the best aspects of the game by far l. The music of each game has their unique taste making the game very stylish. P5R has a good soundtrack but it doesn't get me hype like the P5(vanilla) but still makes a good effort to make something fresh but not very hype with it. The sound and effects are very well polished just like with P5(vanilla).

    Art: Here I don't even need to rate it LOL you know the answer XD.

    Now you are thinking why I'm telling good things of the game but why a 7.0(7.5). Here comes the bad things that I think this game fail for me.

    Story and essence: I think this story is the same thing with changes on dialogue and some adds, but adding Kasumi to the story doesn't really affect to the main plot until the third semester that there is were the new things are getting. Now for me my opinion on Kasumi, she is not my best character even if they give her all the screentime of the life like a wall to pass, I even rate her 5th of the female thieves. The reason is because she doesn't even get that essence of the P5 with her backstory and life. I think she fits well on P4 than P5 just cus her story if I could tell in general she is a happy person she has her life literally ready you have a father who loves her, the society doesn't even make her an injustice and she wasn't even in danger or threatened. If someone who played the game it could reach to that conclusion, but the point is that I think Kasumi was wrong all the time about her life cus she wanted to reach high and be the best on gymnastics but there was another side that makes her think that she would not reach it. I think her family wouldn't wanted being selfish about your life is not worth it, is like a drama for me if you see it if you want to play the game. But her story is more of P4 than P5 cus the message of P4 for me is seeking the truth of the person than what it shows on the TV or any social media, just that we are using cognition and it remind me that. Makoto on one of her confidant rank says to the protagonist "The most important part of your life is how you choose to live it." that's something that Kasumi should do, but for this game doesn't fit her cus is rebelling against society and saving the people who needs it its not rebelling your life for someone by being selfish and making your life miserable if your family doesn't want that the only one that I think is worth the other confidant Takuto Maruki. The other thing is that this game is in doubt because P5Scramble release in Japan and is a true sequel of the P5(vanilla) so this game is not canon(I tell this for the people who like the story and the characters and probably you should wait for that game than this). The final is not the same and shows a bittersweet than the unity of the last one.

    Price/DLC: This is another aspect that ATLUS is bad. I think the price of this game doesn't even afford it to be a full price. By telling you that the story is the same just adding new things I could make a price of 30-40 than 60 cus is the same process of the game just with new things. And the DLC I just recommend to buy the boss fights ones cus the outfits are very expensive and even if you bought it on the vanilla one you need to 1 or 2 dolars for that.

    Gameplay 2.0
    Art 2.0
    Music/sound 1.5
    Story 1.0
    Price/DLC 1.0

    Equals 7.5 cus metacritic doesn't have 7.5
    Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You know how Pokémon games would always release a 3rd version of a region that had slightly better graphics and small region changes, but it was otherwise buying the same game again just as a definitive version (like ruby and sapphire had emerald)? That is what this game is. Only Pokémon realized that people thought that was dumb and started making sequels to games instead (like black 2/white 2) and are now experimenting with DLC, while persona fans are apparently thrilled to pay for the same game they’ve played already just because there is one new palace, some minor graphics and battle tweaks, and a new party member that only decides to get off her butt and do something right before the game ends. The worst part is most of the improvements aren’t even that good. Grappling hook was great but most of the gameplay improvements are just more buffs/ammo/items or filler sections in existing palaces, graphics are slightly better but not noticeable most of the time, and the new characters were total disappointments. Call me when they remake this game in a way that actually fixes the problems of the original, like the stupid airlock puzzles in the spaceport, Morgana running away adding nothing to the story, and cleaning up plotholes like the traitor not even checking to see if the person he shot is in confirmed dead and in the morgue before moving on with his plans. Expand
  19. May 5, 2020
    4
    Are you an LPer planning on streaming this game? Do you watch LPs and plan on watching this instead of playing it? If you answered no to both, this version of persona 5 isn’t for you.

    While there are changes from the previous version, most of them are meant to look good on a screen and little else. The gameplay is easier so you can get through the battles faster for the LP audience that
    Are you an LPer planning on streaming this game? Do you watch LPs and plan on watching this instead of playing it? If you answered no to both, this version of persona 5 isn’t for you.

    While there are changes from the previous version, most of them are meant to look good on a screen and little else. The gameplay is easier so you can get through the battles faster for the LP audience that doesn’t want to watch battles and wants to get back to the story and full of flashy additions that don’t add to the gameplay but look good. Same with the story, lots of little changes to make things look nice like new character portraits, a new font, texture overhauls in some locations for a LP audience but don’t actually change anything if you are just playing the game for yourself. There is one new palace, but again it is mostly about looking nice and has trash writing and the gameplay for it is nothing new. Even the new characters are meant to look nice (like Kasumi bouncing around with her gymnastics) but actually don’t add to the story at all and have boring confidant routes and poor characterization.

    If you aren’t into LPs just play the original again and wait for the inevitable anime/OVA for Royal and skip playing this game entirely. If you haven’t played the original, go buy that instead because it is the same game basically but significantly cheaper.
    Expand
  20. May 10, 2020
    4
    This is a game where you probably have decided whether or not you will love the game before you have bought it. There are plenty of people here that declared the original a perfect game, so any positive changes would warrant another perfect score, meanwhile there are plenty who decide this game didn’t need to be made and would have given it a fail rating no matter what was in it.

    For me
    This is a game where you probably have decided whether or not you will love the game before you have bought it. There are plenty of people here that declared the original a perfect game, so any positive changes would warrant another perfect score, meanwhile there are plenty who decide this game didn’t need to be made and would have given it a fail rating no matter what was in it.

    For me the devil is in the details when I look at how to rate this game and for me, if you are charging as it would cost to make a whole new game you need to have enough changes and additions to be as much as a new game and Royal doesn’t even come close to that - and with several years between the two versions that is really inexcusable. It is on the same system so it isn’t like controls had to be changed or images had to be resized. Outside of the dungeons most changes are minor such as different particle effects, new character busts, and slight changes to word choice in the dialogue. In the dungeons battle has been given some spit and polish and are really the highlight of Royal, but nothing extreme and I definitely think some bad reviews are downplaying the good aspects of this version.

    That being said, if the new characters or story were amazing it could still have justified Royal being worth it but it does not. Other reviews posted here go into more specifics but most of the reviews that discuss the story at all and are /not/ a two sentence blurb about how there is sooo much new content and the graphics are so much better say the new story sections are not to their liking. Kasumi is not popular with fans and I can see why as she is barely part of the team and much of the game is shamelessly begging the audience to find her cute, the new palace added to the end is a beat for beat copy of the plot of persona 4, and any developments from the new section are undone by the ending (such as Goro’s new developments) making the new sections feel like a waste of time. I would have much rather has something like the new dungeon that was added to Golden where it was cleaning up a fraction of the villain or FES dealing with the aftermath of a character’s death to provide more closure to the cast. The new ending for Royal is also hilariously unsatisfying, I thought I had messed up and gotten a bad ending because it was sadder and more distant than the original game. Anyone who says this version is an unquestioned improvement after that ending must not like the phantom thieves other that Goro or the new characters very much.

    I would have given this a 4.5 or something but since this site can’t I’ll settle for 4. This version doesn’t add as much as you’d hope, the new story sections are less than ideal, and so you are mostly buying this version over the old one (or replacing you old game for this one) for gameplay upgrades.
    Expand
  21. Apr 22, 2020
    4
    Probably great if you haven’t played the original, but a total disappointment if you did. Most of the new story is in a new game section that has to be unlocked and the story for it isn’t even that good and doesn’t really change the overall plot. There are some battle changes that you’ll either love or find make the game stupid easy. And most of the game other than battle sections and theProbably great if you haven’t played the original, but a total disappointment if you did. Most of the new story is in a new game section that has to be unlocked and the story for it isn’t even that good and doesn’t really change the overall plot. There are some battle changes that you’ll either love or find make the game stupid easy. And most of the game other than battle sections and the new section is just graphics upgrades that aren’t different enough from the original to be worth it for most people. I would have much rather they cut the crappy new characters (seriously, they all are boring and or badly written) and have had Kasumi as a female protagonist option or removed the graphic changes and made this a switch or pc port. I would have given this a mixed score and not a bad one but it is expensive compared to the original so it isn’t a great game and it is expensive so totally not worth a buy. Expand
  22. May 4, 2020
    4
    Not worth the hype. While there are some good changes like Morgana telling you to go to bed less, most of the changes from the original are lukewarm, superficial, or straight-up bad. Most of the praise for this game is for better graphics (and I’ll give it that) and tiny changes like seeing characters in backgrounds where they weren’t before or minor dialogue changes that most people don’tNot worth the hype. While there are some good changes like Morgana telling you to go to bed less, most of the changes from the original are lukewarm, superficial, or straight-up bad. Most of the praise for this game is for better graphics (and I’ll give it that) and tiny changes like seeing characters in backgrounds where they weren’t before or minor dialogue changes that most people don’t even notice. But those changes only mean so much when the game adds legitimately bad additions like Mary-Sue Kasumi, gameplay so easy diehard RPG fans may have their enjoyment killed, and turning Goro into a joke. And the price? Compared to what the original game is going for nowadays? Ouch! Expand
  23. May 1, 2020
    3
    How I rate games:
    Game-play, Music/Sound, Graphics & Visuals, Story/World-building, and Characters each get 0-2 points adding up to a score /10. 0 is non-existent or bad, 1 is average or N/A, and 2 is better than average.
    Game-play: 1 The only changes from the original are exploit fixes and changes to make a game that wasn't really that had easier such as copying the simultaneous
    How I rate games:
    Game-play, Music/Sound, Graphics & Visuals, Story/World-building, and Characters each get 0-2 points adding up to a score /10. 0 is non-existent or bad, 1 is average or N/A, and 2 is better than average.

    Game-play: 1
    The only changes from the original are exploit fixes and changes to make a game that wasn't really that had easier such as copying the simultaneous attacks from the Golden (now called 'showtimes'), adding more SP items to the palaces, and passing out bullets like candy. Newcomers may enjoy but returning players that don't enjoy playing an easier version of a game they have already played will not enjoy Royal.

    Music/Sound: 1
    The music is the same as the original, missing a great opportunity to add Lotus Juice back into persona. And honestly? I liked the old battle theme better.

    Graphics & Visuals: 1
    The same as the original but with minor tweaks like busts that can turn their heads and putting the busts in little boxes during phonecalls. I expected much more for the price.

    Story/World-building: 0
    Royal fails to fix the issues with the original story and adds new sections and events that are a grand waste of time and don't build on the story or characters in any meaningful way. I'm completely serious, Royal makes the story of P5 worse instead of better.

    Characters: 0
    The new characters, I'm sorry, royally suck. While Maruki is decent with a story that works but is pretty messy, the other two are straight-up fails. Jose is nothing but a cute face only there to add an unnecessary mechanic and Kasumi is pointless and could be used as a guide on how not to handle complex characters by having dozens of ideas attached to a single character but not fleshing any of them out and backtracking on her development by the end. While we will argue forever as to who P5's best girl is, at least we can now narrow down who worst girl is: Kasumi and/or her sister.

    TOTAL: 3/10
    Expand
  24. Jun 1, 2020
    9
    As standalone experience this gme is absolute brilliant for any fan of turn-based combat system and novel games.
    However, in comparison to vanilla P5 game its not so great. Battle add-ons were good, but made walkthrough way too easy even at max difficulty since you played original game and fairly competent how to play it.
    New storyark is OK and has its own unexpected turns , but overall
    As standalone experience this gme is absolute brilliant for any fan of turn-based combat system and novel games.
    However, in comparison to vanilla P5 game its not so great. Battle add-ons were good, but made walkthrough way too easy even at max difficulty since you played original game and fairly competent how to play it.
    New storyark is OK and has its own unexpected turns , but overall fells a bit out of line, like the story was forced to continue and received one more all-or-nothing epic final battle. Imo it felt victim to great original ending.
    Also i wish I'd never seen post credit scene. 170hrs of completion turned unsatisfying as Inever reached the end of the story.
    Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2020
    9
    I am a real sucker for a well put together jrpg. The game is stylish, but so was persona 5, so no surprise there. The new addition to the story fit in well, and the redesigned palaces were a lot of fun. Atlus would be on point if they would stop making nickel-and-dime style dlc and start focusing more on sequels of their flagship games instead of spinoffs.
  26. May 3, 2021
    9
    Uno de los mejores JRPG de la generación, con una dirección de arte asombrosa y muy redondo en todos sus aspectos. Por fin subtitulado al español.
  27. Jun 30, 2020
    9
    Royal implemented some really cool and helpful changes to original, as well as some... interesting ones. Not bad, but not changes I was particularly fond of. The new characters, Dr. Maruki and Kasumi, are great additions to the cast of Persona 5. However, I feel that Kasumi didn't quite live up to her potential as a party member. I felt like they could've done a lot more with her than whatRoyal implemented some really cool and helpful changes to original, as well as some... interesting ones. Not bad, but not changes I was particularly fond of. The new characters, Dr. Maruki and Kasumi, are great additions to the cast of Persona 5. However, I feel that Kasumi didn't quite live up to her potential as a party member. I felt like they could've done a lot more with her than what they did. The new Royal storyline was interesting, but the ending that came along with pales in comparison to the original. But overall still an incredible experience that I greatly enjoyed. Is it worth buying if you already own the original Persona 5? For me, it most definitely was. Expand
  28. Jun 20, 2020
    9
    I was hoping for a little more from this version of P5 as it was released at a full price, but nonetheless Royal takes a great gameplay from original and makes even better. Story addition is also great and I like new ending much more than original one. I'm glad that they added more voice acting this time around but seriously I'm a little bit tired of jRPG not having a full voice actingI was hoping for a little more from this version of P5 as it was released at a full price, but nonetheless Royal takes a great gameplay from original and makes even better. Story addition is also great and I like new ending much more than original one. I'm glad that they added more voice acting this time around but seriously I'm a little bit tired of jRPG not having a full voice acting from beginning till the end. That's the main reason why P5R is not a perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  29. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    This is admittedly my introduction to the Persona franchise, so I cannot compare it to the others in the series. However, on it's own merit, this game is nearly perfect. A delightful cast, wonderfully well-written story, powerful music and themes, and great graphics all come together to make a world and atmosphere that are top-tier. Then you get to the gameplay, which is extremely solid,This is admittedly my introduction to the Persona franchise, so I cannot compare it to the others in the series. However, on it's own merit, this game is nearly perfect. A delightful cast, wonderfully well-written story, powerful music and themes, and great graphics all come together to make a world and atmosphere that are top-tier. Then you get to the gameplay, which is extremely solid, and feels very unique - though it still has the refined quality of a title deep in a franchise. The only complaint I can think of is that it seems a bit easy to get over-leveled or too powerful, to the point where your limiting factor becomes managing SP instead of HP, and you can waltz through most of the encounters. Overall this game in my opinion is a must-play on the PS4, and is extremely enjoyable in basically every way, as well as providing tons of content (hundreds of hours) for the price. Expand
  30. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Persona 4 and Persona 4 Golden before, so I know what I am heading into from P5 to P5R.
    But man, this game is just pure gold, the only con I am going to say is, they didn't really improved on the Haru arc, which I thought it was lacking during the original Persona 5 too.
    This games bring so much to the table, even fans who played the original one should play this again.
    Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2020
    9
    Excellent game. Best JRPG game I played for now! But new character Kasumi too late to join, can't even enough choose her in team already going to the end.
    To sum it up, absolutely one of the best JRPG game.
  32. Jun 27, 2020
    8
    Very Nice Game, makes a lot of Fun. The Battle-System is simple but have a lot of littlte Features (I hope you get it)
    Only the Tutorial is a little bit too long. But the rest is near to the perfect.
    JRPGs Fans must play
  33. Jun 24, 2020
    9
    This game is just as good as the original Persona 5, Royal changes and adds a lot of quality of life features that improve the overall gameplay experience. The story is also expanded to make the gameplay last an average of 10-20 hours extra.
  34. May 10, 2021
    10
    From the perspective of one who never finished the first game out of frustration, this is an utter masterpiece. Updates to the battle system such as Baton Pass and bullets that regenerate after battle are a godsend and make the resource management of the game a bit less frustrating, only becoming a real problem at the beginning of the last palace in the game. The new characters areFrom the perspective of one who never finished the first game out of frustration, this is an utter masterpiece. Updates to the battle system such as Baton Pass and bullets that regenerate after battle are a godsend and make the resource management of the game a bit less frustrating, only becoming a real problem at the beginning of the last palace in the game. The new characters are absolutely fantastic, and the added story to one of the most interesting characters of the game is interesting enough on it's own to justify this version of the game.

    The game is definitely easier than the original, and people used to the genre should probably play it on Hard mode to enjoy the gameplay more. That said there are a couple of bosses that are shockingly hard compared to the others, but it's not so bad that it takes away from the overall experience.

    New additions such as will seeds and the grappling hook make the palaces flow much better, and the new characters provide added depth to the social sim aspect of the game that rounds off the game much better than in the original version of the game.

    All in all this is a complete masterpiece, and I can't wait to see what Atlus does with the 6th game in the franchise, when they finally move on to a current gen console.
    Expand
  35. Jun 25, 2020
    8
    I loved P5 with a passion, and really wanted to rate P5R 10/10, however I just can’t. I have no issued with the added mechanics, even if they make the game feel a bit too easy. Besides one certain boss, I liked the expanded dungeons and boss fights and it was basically what I expected. My issues are with the story, P5 certainly feels slow paced at points but I loved it nonetheless, in P5RI loved P5 with a passion, and really wanted to rate P5R 10/10, however I just can’t. I have no issued with the added mechanics, even if they make the game feel a bit too easy. Besides one certain boss, I liked the expanded dungeons and boss fights and it was basically what I expected. My issues are with the story, P5 certainly feels slow paced at points but I loved it nonetheless, in P5R certain bits feel to forcefully inserted into the original game, while I understand remaking certain bits from scratch to include new characters might have been too much work, it feels a bit lousily done. I fully disliked the ending, although the new palace has an amazing design it felt a bit anticlimactic, while the boss fight was overall bad. It is still a great game, but I think I would rather replay P5 than P5R. Expand
  36. Feb 8, 2021
    10
    I usually don't write reviews before completing a game but after a bit more than 10 hours in, there is no way this is not a 10/10 game. I did not play the original nor any other Persona game before and was very reluctant to start the game because of it's incredible lenght. Well, time really flies here. There is so much to do and not even things that might sound tidious are boring.I usually don't write reviews before completing a game but after a bit more than 10 hours in, there is no way this is not a 10/10 game. I did not play the original nor any other Persona game before and was very reluctant to start the game because of it's incredible lenght. Well, time really flies here. There is so much to do and not even things that might sound tidious are boring. Everything you do contributes in your progress in some way and the characters are so interesting, you just want to get invested.

    I have watched many reviews and spoke to a couple of riends about the game but aside from "you have to play it" (which is true), there is no way to tell you how good this game really is unless you play it yourself. Moreover, it reminded me why I fell in love with JRPGs back in the day.

    I am looking forward to play many more hours of this piece of art.
    Expand
  37. Apr 6, 2021
    10
    [Spanish]
    Nunca terminé un JRPG antes de jugar Persona 5 Royal, me parecían tediosos los combate por turnos y lo extenso de los diálogos, comencé este con algo de escepticismo, pero no tardó en atraparme y terminar dedicándole mas de 100 horas disfrutando cada minuto de este.
    Lo pausado y falto de acción del gameplay por turnos se ve compensado por un OST de maravillas, el cual a pesar
    [Spanish]
    Nunca terminé un JRPG antes de jugar Persona 5 Royal, me parecían tediosos los combate por turnos y lo extenso de los diálogos, comencé este con algo de escepticismo, pero no tardó en atraparme y terminar dedicándole mas de 100 horas disfrutando cada minuto de este.
    Lo pausado y falto de acción del gameplay por turnos se ve compensado por un OST de maravillas, el cual a pesar de escucharse una y otra vez por 100 horas, no aburre, es más, quieres seguir escuchándolo; el diseño de la Interfaz de Usuario (UI), las animaciones y las interacciones de los personajes en medio de las batallas ayudan también a agregar dinamismo, haciendo que una batalla potencialmente aburrida se transforme en un combate épico.
    Los personajes en general son muy interesantes y las historias de cada uno llamativas, la historia principal tiene momentos épicos y algunos altibajos, pero en general mantiene un ritmo bastante bueno, hace que quieras avanzar y no dejar de jugarlo.
    Expand
  38. Jul 25, 2021
    10
    Best JRPG ever! Strong story, perfect mechanics and stylish anime visual. That's all was in vanilla P5.but Royal edition multiply this by many times! Bigger, better, stronger! Must play, obviously
  39. Jul 16, 2021
    10
    Long time i didn´t play an RPG like this, this title is at the level of the most iconical classics. The music is awesome, the story is cautivating, the combat system is deep an fun, and the most important, the game is solid as a stone, it has amused my through 180h.
  40. Feb 11, 2021
    10
    Impeccable video game. I thought it couldn't get better, but every change from the original is truly an improvement.
  41. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Persona 5 was awesome, persona 5 royal is double as that. Honestly it took me a while to buy it since I didn’t plan on spending another 100 hrs in the same game with a little of extra content... but in the end the small additions through the whole game AND the new palace, the new music and the final battles, make it 100% worth it ( spent 120hrs+ in this one since I went for all the trophies
  42. Sep 9, 2021
    9
    P5 Royale is great, better then P4 in my opinion. The story is more engaging and interesting. Even the socializing feels better and more diverse. Of course, if you don't like the japanese myths, you might not really enjoy this game. I think there is more humour in this one. The combat is largely an overhaul of P4. It feels like a very natural upgrade to the past system. I am not convincedP5 Royale is great, better then P4 in my opinion. The story is more engaging and interesting. Even the socializing feels better and more diverse. Of course, if you don't like the japanese myths, you might not really enjoy this game. I think there is more humour in this one. The combat is largely an overhaul of P4. It feels like a very natural upgrade to the past system. I am not convinced that all those extras options are all useful, but some of them really does the trick. The music is good too. Voice overs are perfect. They put more work on the environments and you feel really in a city this time around. I give it 92%. Expand
  43. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    I loved the gameplay and the characters, but got a bit fed up of the gameplay loop by the end.
    I would still recommend that everyone plays this. Persona 5 is a modern jrpg done right
    Graphics 9/10
    Gameplay 7/10
    Story 8/10
  44. Aug 21, 2020
    10
    This was a great game! The third semester was easily my favorite part of the whole game so yeah I recommend this game to everyone who was some hours to spend!
  45. Feb 13, 2021
    10
    One of the best RPG/JRPG and singel player games there is out, it got it all

    - Easy combat to understand but hard to master. - Alot of diffrent strategy to use. - The music is on fire. - The art looks amazing. - Cute wifus. What I would say the game needs and I hope we see in PS6 is - Choose of gender. - And let me romance all the people I want, we in 2021 ffs, it only the
    One of the best RPG/JRPG and singel player games there is out, it got it all

    - Easy combat to understand but hard to master.
    - Alot of diffrent strategy to use.
    - The music is on fire.
    - The art looks amazing.
    - Cute wifus.

    What I would say the game needs and I hope we see in PS6 is

    - Choose of gender.
    - And let me romance all the people I want, we in 2021 ffs, it only the most brainlets and backwards contrys, that have a problem with the same-sex reletionships now and days.
    Expand
  46. Sep 20, 2020
    9
    'PERSONA 5 ROYAL' is basis of the 'PERSONA 5',It has improved some experiences and added new game-play and characters,However, It's not really well in the end of story,Feels like add fuel to the cake.The characterization of the new character has not reached the level of the original, but it is still excellent in whole game.

    Review of ‘ Persona 5:The Royal ’ Graphic: 8 Music: 10
    'PERSONA 5 ROYAL' is basis of the 'PERSONA 5',It has improved some experiences and added new game-play and characters,However, It's not really well in the end of story,Feels like add fuel to the cake.The characterization of the new character has not reached the level of the original, but it is still excellent in whole game.

    Review of ‘ Persona 5:The Royal ’

    Graphic: 8

    Music: 10

    Narrative:8.5

    Gameplay: 8

    Score: 9.1
    Expand
  47. Jan 25, 2021
    10
    Persona 5 was my personal Game of the Year in 2017, and while I was excited to play Royal, I constantly wondered - Can they top perfection? The original game to me was perfect in every possible way, so I found myself wondering if they could truly add a substantial amount of content to push the game to new heights. The short answer is oh yes, they did and then some. The amount of newPersona 5 was my personal Game of the Year in 2017, and while I was excited to play Royal, I constantly wondered - Can they top perfection? The original game to me was perfect in every possible way, so I found myself wondering if they could truly add a substantial amount of content to push the game to new heights. The short answer is oh yes, they did and then some. The amount of new content in Royal is so massive this game almost feels more like a remake/sequel than anything else. So many new gameplay features like a new baton pass system & new types of shadow battles, as well as new cinematic attacks called "Showtimes" with party members teaming up to do amazing techniques. Palaces and boss battles alike have been revised to make some bosses more fun and others more challenging, and palaces more fun to explore with new/redone areas and things to find. New areas were added to the over-world, along with new activities like darts, billiards, and more. There are new confidants to spend time with, and Akechi was turned into an actual confidant giving more substance to his character. The most important new confidant, **** is an absolute delight and was woven perfectly into the story of this game feeling as organic as the main cast. Naturally there's lots of new story added to this game, and where it really shines in a brand new 3rd semester giving you over a month of more time to play. The new semester is the shining beacon of this game to me, massively improving on the original ending and giving us our characters in winter outfits.

    I could go on and on about the things that made Royal even better than the original, but it would be hard to do without entering spoiler territory. In short, there's way more to see, way more to do, and the story content added leaves you even more satisfied than the original. I spent over 200 hours playing this game, and never once felt a drag of replaying something that was the same, because the experience was just that new and different. If the original was a 10/10, and I'm not allowed to give this one an 11/10, then I suppose my final rating is a 10R/10.
    Expand
  48. May 2, 2021
    10
    A truly wonderful masterpiece, though i rated it 9.6 but even 10/10 suits such a game.
  49. Nov 16, 2020
    10
    This might be the best game on Playstation 4! I just can't believe, that I ignored this franchise until now. MUST PLAY!
  50. Feb 9, 2021
    9
    Yeah, this is incredible. If you enjoy playing dense JRPG's and a great story, this is a must play.
  51. Nov 29, 2020
    10
    the complexity of its gameplay systems and how seamlessly they work together to give you the most wonderful experience you can have in a game. The experience of everything you do, no matter how small is always important and feeds back into the core gameplay loop in a satisfying way. Meaning reading a book becomes as integral to the gameplay as the actual combat and as satisfying which isthe complexity of its gameplay systems and how seamlessly they work together to give you the most wonderful experience you can have in a game. The experience of everything you do, no matter how small is always important and feeds back into the core gameplay loop in a satisfying way. Meaning reading a book becomes as integral to the gameplay as the actual combat and as satisfying which is absolutely fantastic. Also the reworking of baton pass has turned the combat up to 11 and made it feel almost like a dance. It flows so seamlessly and creates a wonderful battle loop that is nearly impossible to not love. I adored my time with Persona 5 royal (Despite is extremely toxic and overly obsessed fanbase) and I'd recommend it to anyone. Definitely game of the year material for its refreshed gameplay loop alone. Not to mention to sound design, music, character interactions and fixed ending. Expand
  52. Jun 20, 2020
    5
    I will keep this short. The original Persona 5 is a solid 8/10 game for me. It has a great story, revolutionary JRPG gameplay, and touches on many themes that modern society considers taboo. As for Persona 5 Royal, it's a cash grab. The game is advertised as the "game of the year" version, with enough added content to warrant a full $60 price. Don't waste your money, P5R has very littleI will keep this short. The original Persona 5 is a solid 8/10 game for me. It has a great story, revolutionary JRPG gameplay, and touches on many themes that modern society considers taboo. As for Persona 5 Royal, it's a cash grab. The game is advertised as the "game of the year" version, with enough added content to warrant a full $60 price. Don't waste your money, P5R has very little story additions, very minimal gameplay improvements (that sometimes actually devalue the old gameplay systems that are in place), uses new voices for some characters that deliver an inferior performance, and censors some of its heavy topics from the first game. As a package it doesn't add enough new content to justify a full price, and in other instances removes or censors elements that were good from the first game. The persona 5 experience is better enjoyed in its vanilla original release form. Expand
  53. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    Decent story, serviceable combat. The atmosphere, music, animation and visual style make it special. Lack of control and decision making barely makes it an rpg. Silent protagonist doesn’t help either. What you can look forward to is 100+ hr playtime you will have with the game. I respect everyone who loves the game but for me the game feels time consuming in practice instead of beingDecent story, serviceable combat. The atmosphere, music, animation and visual style make it special. Lack of control and decision making barely makes it an rpg. Silent protagonist doesn’t help either. What you can look forward to is 100+ hr playtime you will have with the game. I respect everyone who loves the game but for me the game feels time consuming in practice instead of being excited for more content. To encapsulate everything about my review, I would say this game is the definition of Style over substance. Expand
  54. Apr 4, 2021
    10
    The game is awesome, even if you an anime hater like i,everything is great, must play for everyone
  55. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    Persona 5 royal is one of the best games ever made. Great narrative, unforgettable characters, fluid and fun gameplay and one of the best osts in game history. Is just a perfect game
  56. Jan 31, 2021
    10
    Pues al final sí que se podía coger un juego perfecto y mejorarlo. Han metido un montón de contenido interesante que es cierto que hace el juego absurdamente fácil, pero subes dificultad y ya está, el nuevo antagonista es de 10 y Sumire está sobrevalorada.
  57. Nov 30, 2020
    10
    One of the best games i ever played. It is an experience i would recommend to all JRPG lovers. Persona 5 was great, but Royal it is almost perfect: everything is polished and more refined. The third semester is one of the best concepts in video game history. None of my words will be able to describe it properly, just try it and see with your own eyes.
    It is worth playing even if you tried
    One of the best games i ever played. It is an experience i would recommend to all JRPG lovers. Persona 5 was great, but Royal it is almost perfect: everything is polished and more refined. The third semester is one of the best concepts in video game history. None of my words will be able to describe it properly, just try it and see with your own eyes.
    It is worth playing even if you tried the OG -you won't regret it, trust me!
    Expand
  58. Apr 2, 2021
    9
    Un juego casi perfecto. Lo de "casi" es por ser extremadamente largo y por momentos, más visual novel que JRPG.
    Una obra original y fresca, al mismo tiempo que clásica y sobretodo, con muchísimo estilo.
  59. Mar 31, 2021
    10
    Story: 10
    Graphics: 10
    Sound: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Game Time: 170 Hours (Main Story) + Extra
  60. Jan 15, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game i have ever played, royal fixes all the narrative issues present on Vanilla Persona 5 and introduces 3 "new" characters (since akechi isn't new but he's really different from vanilla), Goro Akechi and Takuto Maruki, Akechi has a lot more depth and personality in Royal and in fact, holds quite a big importance on the major plot, on the other hand Takuto Maruki is pretty much the best character in the game and the best villain on the series BY FAR, you just can't hate him or help yourself but feel disgusted to fight him.
    Sumire/Kasumi **** was a stunning character, her sweetness and inocence upon trying to be kasumi is really what breaks your heart at the Maruki Arc. And even when she "returns" being Sumire it only makes you want to know her more. Overall Persona 5 Royal is the definition of improving something almost perfect and giving it a new depth and making the characters steal each piece of your heart one by one and to be quite honest, i dont really want it back.
    Expand
  61. Mar 30, 2021
    10
    Un juego increiblemente bueno, sentí ya un poco inecesaria lo de Maruki pero de todas formas la sentí muy fresca he interesante. Los personajes son unos de los cuales uno se enamora totalmente al instante (bueno en lo personal no soy tan fan de Yusuke pero igual no creo que es un mal personaje).
  62. Jun 14, 2021
    10
    I loved this game to death when it came out and I still do. While it has fallen from its #1 spot (or really just depending on the day), I loved Persona 5 as well but Royal really cemented it as it brought me back to the great characters that inhabited Persona 5.
  63. May 13, 2021
    10
    Spent two weeks playing this game, only to realize that this is the most fun game i’ve ever played and definitely, my most favorite game of all time, along with Breath of the Wild.
  64. Jun 2, 2021
    10
    After >250 hours of Persona 5, I expected this game to contain only small upgrades and a new waifu, because how did P5 got any major better changes from the masterpiece it already was? But oh boy how wrong was I. The third semester alone already worth the whole price, and the new boss along with their backstory/palace made this feels like a whole new game from the original P5.

    The newly
    After >250 hours of Persona 5, I expected this game to contain only small upgrades and a new waifu, because how did P5 got any major better changes from the masterpiece it already was? But oh boy how wrong was I. The third semester alone already worth the whole price, and the new boss along with their backstory/palace made this feels like a whole new game from the original P5.

    The newly introduced mechanics are also insanely well thought. They bring the depth into a new level, and these major upgrades made me feel like like going from P4G to P5. Don't get me wrong, P4G already contain a very deep combat system, but comparing combat system of P4G to P5's is just like comparing P5's to P5R's.
    Expand
  65. Jan 7, 2021
    10
    I love this game, is advise any Persona fan to play this game, and of this is your first persona game your in for a treat
  66. Apr 6, 2021
    10
    Sooooo amazinggggg!!!
    This game is even better than the original You must play it even if you are not fan of JRPG games!
  67. Jun 19, 2020
    8
    The game itself for the first 50 hours barely breaks with the original, this isn't a problem but it does make me question why this wasn’t just an expansion. The original game is there with a few improvements that do make the game more enjoyable, the changes to mementos does improve it even though relatively minor. When the new content eventually takes centre stage, it really is decent,The game itself for the first 50 hours barely breaks with the original, this isn't a problem but it does make me question why this wasn’t just an expansion. The original game is there with a few improvements that do make the game more enjoyable, the changes to mementos does improve it even though relatively minor. When the new content eventually takes centre stage, it really is decent, and there is a good amount of it, There is a couple of new characters each properly fleshed out and do fit into the story to the most part. But they do feel like much more minor characters than they should be
    There are a couple of things added to the palaces which just feel like they were added for the sake of it, the grappling hook mechanic for example was only added to change the layout of the classic palaces slightly. But functionally its just a different form of climbing.
    The game is quite fun and the additions are interesting and the new story elements are decent when you eventually get to the meat of them.
    If you played persona 5 i struggle to suggest this at full price but if you’ve never played it, play this one, its basically P5 with extra stuff and you cant really complain with that
    Expand
  68. Feb 26, 2021
    9
    Its a Game that definitely improves almost all the small things i disliked about the 1st and whatever is added is a great addition with the last villain that is new being one of the most compelling I've seen. it honestly is the best persona game in terms of gameplay. however it does not warrant a 60$ release to someone who bought the original.. being given a discount seems hard but notIts a Game that definitely improves almost all the small things i disliked about the 1st and whatever is added is a great addition with the last villain that is new being one of the most compelling I've seen. it honestly is the best persona game in terms of gameplay. however it does not warrant a 60$ release to someone who bought the original.. being given a discount seems hard but not impossible as the PlayStation can track who bought what game. If ur looking for a persona game to get into this is it. Expand
  69. Jun 19, 2020
    8
    The addition to the original Persona 5 is not enough for a full-price game.
    However, the original P5 was good, and this game is also good.
  70. Jul 5, 2021
    10
    Persona 5 is a game I've been in love with from the moment I first fired it up. Due to various circumstances, however, I never finished it until a couple days ago. I dropped my first playthrough about 50 hours in because I got distracted by something else, and by the time I decided to pick it up again, I barely remembered what was going on. By then, I figured I'd wait for Royal to come outPersona 5 is a game I've been in love with from the moment I first fired it up. Due to various circumstances, however, I never finished it until a couple days ago. I dropped my first playthrough about 50 hours in because I got distracted by something else, and by the time I decided to pick it up again, I barely remembered what was going on. By then, I figured I'd wait for Royal to come out (as well as the PS5 for a better experience).

    By the time I finally beat the game (110+ hours in - went for the platinum trophy, which can be obtained in a single playthrough with some planning), I was both overjoyed (because this easily toppled both my contenders to my favorite game) and sad (because the journey was over and I would never be able to experience it again for the first time).

    It's not a game for everyone. The pacing is slow, there's a LOT of dialogue and it's a turn-based RPG / dungeon crawler, which are indeed somewhat niche genres. However, if that sounds like something you'd enjoy, by all means play this game. It's one of the most amazing stories I've ever experienced.

    Upon finishing the game, I immediately picked up Persona 5 Strikers - which, despite being a significantly different game, is a great opportunity to get some more time with the characters and the world of Persona 5 that will definitely grow on you.
    Expand
  71. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    Lo descubrí por casualidad, me lo regalaron y no conocía la saga Persona.
    Sin duda es uno de los mejores juegos de la generación, con una gran história, personajes, combates y unos diseños muy buenos.
    Si te gustan los JRPG es un imprescindible.
  72. Aug 19, 2021
    10
    Persona 5 have flaws, of course, but this game is a masterpiece and in my opinion the best video game of all time and I doubt it can be another video game that can take this place. Just play it, there are no words to express the feeling this game gives you.
  73. Jun 22, 2020
    8
    The original Persona 5 was a damn good game and Royal just adds a ton of improvements to it. Mechanical improvements, overall Quality of Life changes, Palace reworks and so on. One complaint i have is that if you played the base game you can clearly see what parts belong to the base game and what parts are from royal. The story flows pretty much the same until the third semester (which isThe original Persona 5 was a damn good game and Royal just adds a ton of improvements to it. Mechanical improvements, overall Quality of Life changes, Palace reworks and so on. One complaint i have is that if you played the base game you can clearly see what parts belong to the base game and what parts are from royal. The story flows pretty much the same until the third semester (which is the best part of the game by far by the way) so when you have moments that involve characters from royal it feels like an afterthought in way. I would have really liked it if the story incorporated the new content more naturally into the original story. But I gotta say i'm quite excited for the next Persona game since the writing on the new parts was quite the step up, overall I feel like the game is an 8.5 so i'll give it an 8, it would be a 9 or even 10 if the story was meshed up better in my opinion. Also maybe the 60$ price tag is a little too much ? Since the base game is already for about 20$ and you can probably watch the remaining 20 hours on youtube or something. I would personally but this game on 30$ or 40$. Expand
  74. Sep 9, 2020
    10
    Persona 5 Royal takes a couple of those annoying little things you had in the original P5 and makes them enjoyable, with an extension to the story and its wide selection characters.
  75. Jun 23, 2020
    8
    Still mechanically and functionally sound to this day. While this version is essentially 80% identical to the original Persona 5, for a new player this isn't a bad thing at all. It adds just enough new things for older players to go through a playthrough with fun, however after putting 200+ hours into OG Persona 5, this game was incredibly tedious to deal with in the story as I had to skipStill mechanically and functionally sound to this day. While this version is essentially 80% identical to the original Persona 5, for a new player this isn't a bad thing at all. It adds just enough new things for older players to go through a playthrough with fun, however after putting 200+ hours into OG Persona 5, this game was incredibly tedious to deal with in the story as I had to skip all the cutscenes. They are not worth rewatching for the very minor changes that are made to some of them. That said, the additional semester was all fresh and was just as good as the other Palaces were when I first played the original game. Expand
  76. Jun 26, 2020
    8
    Persona 5 Royal is worth a new msrp price due to it's added content. However some of the addition's (such as the mini-game of darts) could've been put in the original. The best new mechanical aspect of the game is the "showtime" attacks. Based on the initial trailer I thought each individual character had their own super attack, but it was just snippets of the showtime attacks. The addedPersona 5 Royal is worth a new msrp price due to it's added content. However some of the addition's (such as the mini-game of darts) could've been put in the original. The best new mechanical aspect of the game is the "showtime" attacks. Based on the initial trailer I thought each individual character had their own super attack, but it was just snippets of the showtime attacks. The added content gives the game a longer playtime. Despite claims that it's exactly the same as the original...it's actually the opposite. Yes, the flow of the game is the same as the original, but the overall experience is very different.

    After stating the above, I cannot rate the game anymore than a 8. The reason is quite simple as to why...and it centers around DLC. The velvet room becomes a focus in Royal for it's challenge battles. However, once the 1st tier is complete...it becomes clear you can't advance to a different tier without buying DLC to do so. The DLC in question cost the equivalent of the game itself. Initially, I thought that you would have to buy the challenge battle DLC for Minato, and P4's protaganist, which would've been the right way to go. Aside from those two battles, the other battles are equivalent to tier 1's battles...basic. No one should have to pay for them, much less $59.99 to do so. Whoever made that decision (Atlus, and or Sega) should re-evaluate their business practices.
    Expand
  77. Sep 27, 2020
    10
    This game is masterpiece I can’t believe that it’s my first persona game ever wish I knew about these games before
  78. Jun 29, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you were a fan of the original Persona 5, then this game is definitely for you! The plot doesn’t change much up until the new 3rd semester, but there are a lot of new minor additions and expansions that make this game experience much better. The only reason I didn’t rate this a perfect 10 out of 10 is because of the “animated” ending. I don’t understand why the final boss is a taxi driver in the end and also if you were like me and romanced the new character, she isn’t there on the last day and acts like she doesn’t know you in the ending which was a little weird considering how much screen time she got with extra scenes throughout the game. Other than the questionable animated ending, this game was perfect. Expand
  79. Jun 29, 2020
    7
    a good RPG and one of the best in the series. must play for JRPG fans you won't regret it!
  80. Apr 2, 2021
    10
    Hands down my favourite PS exclusive (I've played them all) phenomenal game from start to finish with terrific writing & uniquely brilliant characters.
  81. May 20, 2021
    10
    Dammmmmnnn this game so goooooooooodd. Just buytyyyy ittttttt, you have no regrets.
  82. Aug 25, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ATLUS took a game that was a masterpiece, and somehow managed to make it better. In short - the new characters, Kasumi/Sumire and Maruki (more on them later) are good additions. Their backstories are tragic and really well done, and the twists they bring to the story are great. The additions to the gameplay are excellent, the grappling hook adds a really cool new element to palace exploration, and using powered up Baton passes and Technical damage is really satisfying after you put in the work playing darts and billiards. Disaster Shadows are a fun addition too. Will Seeds and their SP regeneration really helped me as someone who likes to run through palaces in one go. The soundtrack additions are unbelievably good, specially the ones from Maruki's palace, and giving Mementos new music was a welcome decision too, made exploration a lot better. As for the true endings, a part of me liked vanilla Persona 5's true ending more than this one, I really liked Joker's trip back to his hometown turning into a roadtrip with the PTs, but I get the symbolism with this one too.

    I don't really have much to say about Sumire, she's kind of cool but not really the most interesting character in the game, specially during her time as Kasumi. She does come into her own after the actual events of her past are explored in detail, but it's too close to the end of the game. She suffers from a lack of screen time, similar to what happened with Haru in the vanilla Persona 5, her story was really well done but by the time it was explored in depth it was way too late in the game. Speaking of Haru, the poor girl still didn't get the screentime she deserves.

    Maruki is a brilliant character in every sense. His confidant was great and as a villain with a lot of character depth he had me completely torn, you could see that he really just wanted to remove all the suffering from the world and see everyone happy, so he was completely different from almost all the other villains of the game/series. It was hard tearing all the members of the Phantom Thieves away from his reality, a reality they were so happy in and a reality that had everything they wished for. His palace, and the story leading up to stealing his heart, is the best in the game, with Sae's palace being a close second. Going through the 3rd semester and his palace was a very emotional affair. New character wise Maruki more than made up for Sumire being a little underwhelming.

    The thing Persona 5 Royal does best is it's handling of Akechi. I never liked him, I've never considered him a member of the Phantom Thieves, despite the fact that he saved them and sacrificed himself in Shido's palace. I didn't like his phony Ace Detective getup. I didn't like the fact that after his death the PTs were going, "yeah, he was a victim too, he was used by adults just like us" and shifting all the blame onto Shido, with next to none on the person who actually carried out the killings. But by having him embrace who he was (a murderer and a villain) when he returned for the final palace, the game made me do a complete 180 on my opinion of him. He added a much welcome edge to the Phantom Thieves, and some of his dialogues and actions were absolute gold. His confidant was pretty good too. I went into the game determined not to fall for any Akechi redemption arc, but by the end of the game I had really started to like him. Granted, I still thought it was weird the way the Phantom Thieves reacted to Akechi's death upon arrival in the original reality, with sadness and grief. I mean that is literally the person who assassinated Futaba's mom, Haru's dad and tried to do the same to Joker, with plans to pick off the rest of the team one on by one too.

    All in all, if you put aside the small and ultimately inconsequential flaws, the game has absolutely everything one would look for in a modern JRPG. It will go down as one of the all time greats, and I cannot recommend it enough.
    Expand
  83. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    Para mi este juego probablemente sea el mejor que he jugado en lo que llevamos de año y probablemente sea el mejor jrpg que se haya hecho en toda la historia de los videojuegos, me ha encantado, lo he disfrutado muchisimo 10/10
  84. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    Really good upgrade to the original game, wonderfully done and worth every penny!
  85. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    I Love this Game :-)

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaäaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  86. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    This game takes everything from the original and improves upon it. Persona 5 was my favorite game until this game came out. The new characters (Kasumi and Maruki) are a great tie into this game. The original game already had what I considered to be a masterpiece of a soundtrack. This game cranks it up to 11 by introducing new tracks. I may consider some to be better than the originals. IThis game takes everything from the original and improves upon it. Persona 5 was my favorite game until this game came out. The new characters (Kasumi and Maruki) are a great tie into this game. The original game already had what I considered to be a masterpiece of a soundtrack. This game cranks it up to 11 by introducing new tracks. I may consider some to be better than the originals. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to get into Persona or has already played the series prior. Expand
  87. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    I have never played a game that makes you feel like you're actually there with the characters like this game did, living normal teenage days, hanging out with people, studying it all makes you more and more emotionally attached to the characters. every choice you make you have second thoughts because you want the best for them. 10/10 game would recommend to anyone who could play the 100+I have never played a game that makes you feel like you're actually there with the characters like this game did, living normal teenage days, hanging out with people, studying it all makes you more and more emotionally attached to the characters. every choice you make you have second thoughts because you want the best for them. 10/10 game would recommend to anyone who could play the 100+ hours needed to beat it because its definitely worth it Expand
  88. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    This game is best for people who have never played the original Persona5. It enhances the game in terms of both gameplay and story, also makes the first experience much better compared to the original game. However, If you already own the vanilla P5 and know about the story, the full game price tag might seem a bit too much. Still, this is the superior version, thus deserves the score it has.
  89. Jul 27, 2020
    10
    This was my first persona game and I LOVED IT! if you're a fan of games with great stories, characters and soundtrack then this is for you, it starts off slow tho but stick with it trust me its worth it.
  90. Aug 7, 2020
    10
    Made a great game even better, this has tons of content to go through so make sure you set time for this game cuz it will take you a while, which imo is an awesome thing as this game will keep you occupied for a while to justify its price tag.
  91. Aug 9, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All around fantastic game, keeps a vibrant and exciting energy throughout. Amazing story and gameplay. Beyond a masterpiece Expand
  92. Aug 18, 2020
    10
    For me - it's a perfect JRPG. It has everything I love - plot, social interactions, cool gameplay, perfect music.
  93. Sep 3, 2020
    9
    I havent played the original game. Amazing story, well written dialogs, decent gameplay, very good attention to details
  94. Sep 12, 2020
    10
    Became a huge fan of Persona after playing P5. Played P5R and I'm still a huge fan. The game is great and definitely worth picking up.
  95. Jan 9, 2021
    10
    Para los hablantes en español esto fue más que un regalo, excelente juego buena jugabilidad historias nuevas añadidas y el tan anciano idioma español si no lo han jugado deben el chanse
  96. Oct 23, 2020
    7
    The extremely tedious life sim aspect of the game that takes abut 60% of your game time hurts an otherwise really cool looking and playing game with a flawed but still enjoyable story with some pretty good themes

    Constant messages, pointless repeating dialogue , repetition of going to the same places to upgrade your stats and an endless mandatory mementos makes the game too long for
    The extremely tedious life sim aspect of the game that takes abut 60% of your game time hurts an otherwise really cool looking and playing game with a flawed but still enjoyable story with some pretty good themes

    Constant messages, pointless repeating dialogue , repetition of going to the same places to upgrade your stats and an endless mandatory mementos makes the game too long for it's own good . Persona 5 to me would have been a much better and more replayable game if it was 30-40 hours shorter
    Expand
  97. Jul 26, 2021
    10
    I love everything about this game , it's really a masterpiece and it really helped me going through a really difficult time in my life , i love the phantom thieves so much specially Makoto , oh and the fact that you can't hang out with Makoto until you have a level 3 knowledge is soooo hilarious
  98. Jan 9, 2021
    10
    el mejor juego de ps4, la campaña normal dura 150 hrs mas las vueltas que daras para sacar todos los finales
  99. Nov 15, 2020
    10
    its simple really if persona 5 was a 10/10 game then persona 5 royal is a 11/10 game
  100. Nov 25, 2020
    10
    I'll never forger this 175 hours journey.
    Thanks Atlus, P5R will be my life game.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 71 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Jun 10, 2020
    100
    Persona 5 Royal allows players to experience the story they already love in a new way without losing any of the beauty from the original game. New and old characters get their chance to shine through and steal your heart, even the ones you never expected to. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and maybe you’ll even feel a sense of justice for the infamous Phantom Thieves in the end. But one thing you won’t feel is regret in picking up Persona 5 Royal, as it’s truly the best Persona title, if not one of the best video games, I’ve ever experienced to date.
  2. May 20, 2020
    100
    This is not more of the same, this is not an optional add-on to the original game. This, my friends, is the perfect experience, down to the last letter, down to the last minute. Persona 5 Royal is a Japanese crown jewel.
  3. Apr 30, 2020
    85
    All of the new additions and content mean that Persona 5 Royal is a clear upgrade to the original. New players should seek this version without hesitation, although vets may find starting the game over from scratch to be too big an ask. Either way, there’s no doubt that Persona 5 Royal sits proudly on the throne of Peak Persona… or at least it will until Atlus decides they can do even more with it.