User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 314
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2015
    6
    The game is very fun to look at and the sound effects are good. As far as multiplayer goes, it's pretty decent. Except that it's only multiplayer. Sure, there are quite a few fun game modes in this Call of Duty parody, but it can get boring after hours of playing. When you first play the game, you'll get instantly wrecked by anything that you come across, and you should expect your KDThe game is very fun to look at and the sound effects are good. As far as multiplayer goes, it's pretty decent. Except that it's only multiplayer. Sure, there are quite a few fun game modes in this Call of Duty parody, but it can get boring after hours of playing. When you first play the game, you'll get instantly wrecked by anything that you come across, and you should expect your KD ratio to be quite abysmal. But after putting a few hours in, you'll be an unstoppable force on the garden battlefield. I guess that's what I love and hate about this game. For a multiplayer game, it is far too easy once you get the hang of it. This is the first game that I have ever gotten a fifteen player kill streak in. I didn't even think that was possible unless your were cheating or just really pro. But it seems that all it takes is a little practice, a few ability unlocks, and a lot of noobs. So I wouldn't exactly call it a fair game. The character customization is cute, and I like that you can unlock different characters as well, but if ranks were a factor in the lobby matchmaking, then that would make it more enjoyable and challenging. I find little pleasure in killing the same person ten or more times because they are less equipped than me, but if you do, then knock yourself out. Literally. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2015
    6
    I had it for free on PS Store, it's funny to play with some friends for a few hours, but i would never pay more than 10€ for PvZ GW. Don't buy it without viewing some gameplay videos.
  3. Oct 6, 2015
    6
    This is a very fun and entertaining game. The downfall is that it needs work. The servers are very unstable. You will not be able to connect or experience severe lag half the time. Very disappointing, put some work into your product to make it actually playable.
  4. Feb 26, 2016
    7
    Plants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare has put an interesting spin on shooters around the world. This game is very unique and enjoyable. The awesome cartoon-like graphics are very entertaining and definitely make you want to play the game a lot more. This is especially good if you have children. The only downside is like most shooters, it gets very boring after a while.
  5. Jun 2, 2020
    7
    PLANTS VS ZOMBIES: GARDEN WARFARE
    .................................................................................
  6. Feb 28, 2020
    7
    Plants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare is a fantastic multiplayer with amazing variety of modes customization sadly a lack of single player really makes this game go down sometimes. The multiplayer works amazing and it’s so much fun, the modes are all great. Also the customization has so much variety, so are the maps so much fun. Sadly the lack of single player really makes the game go down, noPlants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare is a fantastic multiplayer with amazing variety of modes customization sadly a lack of single player really makes this game go down sometimes. The multiplayer works amazing and it’s so much fun, the modes are all great. Also the customization has so much variety, so are the maps so much fun. Sadly the lack of single player really makes the game go down, no adventure mode not even any single player modes. Also the way to get costumes is of course micro transactions but it’s fine nothing crazy but still. Planets Of Zombies Garden Warfare is a perfect multiplayer but the lack of single player really saddens me so much. (Good 3/5) Give It A Try! Expand
  7. May 14, 2020
    7
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  8. Jan 12, 2021
    7
    Fun, multiplayer game. Single Mode is non-existent. No pay to win dlc or microtransactions makes the game very pleasing and the classes which you can upgrade and customsize makes you keep making progress.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 29, 2014
    40
    There's just too much wrong at the grass roots level. [Nov 2014, p.92]
  2. Sep 21, 2014
    83
    As good as the Xbox One release, Garden Warfare is very funny and entertaining but it's not a tough competitor for Call of Duty or Battlefield.
  3. Play UK
    Sep 18, 2014
    71
    It's crying out for a larger selection of maps and a few more top-tier game modes, but Garden Warfare remains highly entertaining all the same. [Issue#248, p.64]