Prey Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 864 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve intoYou awaken aboard Talos I, a space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032. You are the key subject in an experiment meant to change humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you delve into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you have to survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Prey - The Game Awards 2016 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. May 7, 2017
    91
    Prey means deep space and deep gameplay. A huge space station hides thousands of game mechanics and dynamics ready to be explored by the solitary player. Its warfare is not infinite nor predestined, but makes up part of a bigger picture, a bigger game, where gameplay means much more than gunplay.
  2. May 9, 2017
    90
    Prey is a highly sophisticated game with respect to its gameplay, level design and narrative. Although its graphical and artificial intelligence problems are easy to notice, we've had a great sci-fi experience.
  3. May 8, 2017
    88
    In the end Prey ends up being much more than a mosaic: thanks to its narrative and to the mobility of a gameplay that constantly evolves over over twenty hours of the main adventure, the game leaves a trace that ends up being unique.
  4. May 8, 2017
    80
    Taken together, Prey is a brilliant but flawed descent into a world of science gone wrong, driven by a well told, cerebrally satisfying story which makes up for the mechanical inconsistencies of the experience. Comparing Prey to Bioshock only reveals the relative cracks which explains why the former doesn’t quite live up to the expectations set by the latter, so it’s instead best to enjoy Prey as its own thing, forgiving its flaws to marvel at the results of Arkane’s intelligent approach to game design.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 24, 2017
    80
    While not the masterpiece it could have been, this imaginative, immersive sim provides an impressive, dense sandbox with plenty of exciting toys to play with. [July 2016, p.93]
  6. May 12, 2017
    80
    Prey’s curious alternate-history universe, intriguing sidequests, hidden threats, and detailed environmental storytelling make Talos I a joy to explore. The unsettling sense of paranoia that comes from knowing any object could turn out to be a hidden enemy gives even the quiet moments a palpable tension. All of that picks up the slack for combat and stealth that doesn’t feel fresh enough to sustain it throughout what can be a long game.
  7. May 11, 2017
    50
    The game is dour and oblivious that its destination is more interesting and vital than the journey.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 158
  1. Feb 17, 2018
    10
    I was hesitating about getting this game because I don't really like being scared and also since the demo didn't really grab my attention, butI was hesitating about getting this game because I don't really like being scared and also since the demo didn't really grab my attention, but ultimately I caved in and picked it up after a ridiculous discount (why not?). Aaaand I loved. Loved it so much so that I have an enormous void inside after finishing it. Even though I played Dishonored, Bioshocks, Deus Exs and other immersive sims, this one was the most enjoyable due to the setting and art direction (I'm a huge sci-fi fan and adore titles like Dead Space). I think I went through every single email and note this time and fully immersed myself.
    The sad and unfortunate truth is that despite Prey has a terrific story, unique "open" world and flexible mechanics + a sort of an open ending, I don't think it sold well which might impact any potential sequels or DLC. But I hope I'm wrong on this one.
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2017
    10
    Hands down one of the best games I've ever played. Very immersive. Rewards exploration. Very much a dead space vibe, but better. Story isHands down one of the best games I've ever played. Very immersive. Rewards exploration. Very much a dead space vibe, but better. Story is crazy & keeps me wondering. I have the game maxed out & running 1440p. On a 1080 I'm usually between 115-144fps. Can't really think of any negatives so far. I'm about 15 hours in so far. Also, the sound & music in this game is incredible. Expand
  3. May 5, 2017
    10
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.
    Arkane
    Game runs smooth as butter on PC. Even on mid end hardware. Rating it a 10 to average out the 0's
    My actual score would be a 9.

    Arkane nails the atmosphere here. If you are looking for a creepy yet interesting environment you will enjoy prey. The game, especially on harder difficulty focuses on the survival aspects, you'll need to search every nook and cranny for items and crafting materials to progress. Enemy variety does seem a little low. But the game still manages to keep you on edge with it's great sound design. You can hear every creak and spew of steam in the ominous space station as you explore.

    The game has a progression system. You can upgrade abilities via skill points as well as upgrade weapons and other things.
    Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2018
    9
    Just started playing this game and find it very enjoyable. It has elements of several different games and allows different play styles.Just started playing this game and find it very enjoyable. It has elements of several different games and allows different play styles. Learning curve in the beginning is needed, if you just try to run and gun you will not like this game. Stealth is an excellent way to play. Good RPG elements, enjoyable enemies. All round solid game Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2018
    8
    This is a good game. Prey has a lot going for it, Sci Fi Thriller, well written and thought out. IT is a worthy buy for anyone who likes aThis is a good game. Prey has a lot going for it, Sci Fi Thriller, well written and thought out. IT is a worthy buy for anyone who likes a good story. It looks good, play good and has a good OST and Audio design.
    The stamina meter feels not neccessary at all and there are some platforming issues in FPS which are not so smooth. The upgrade system is good and again well designed. The game is long with plenty to do and can be very surprising at time with outer space sections and side missions that i actually wanted to do.
    I was overall happy and surprised at how good this game was. But as i played i got more and more furstrated with the games achilles heel, this game and its god damn loading screens, loading screens and loading screen.s The space station is split into sections levels essentially and you load into each one, which takes way to long , and then there is another mini load screen after the main load screen. When you get to the end game this is a nonsense as your travelling to and fro between these frequently and it ruins the immersion, flow and end game completely, it becomes a chore and slog just to get to the end and quite simply i was glad it was over at the end. Those load screens and the game design which made them essential are a huge flaw in this game.
    A Great game ruined by poor design.
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2017
    6
    This game really isn't particularly consistent except where its consistently derivative. It is borrowing the story telling styles of HalfThis game really isn't particularly consistent except where its consistently derivative. It is borrowing the story telling styles of Half Life and Bioshock and Portal, and although on the whole I can at least objectively say there is an effort to be more creative and clever in the story department than we've seen in the Dishonored series, it suffers personally to me because the narrative style is an unpleasant mash of Arkane's story telling trying to act like someone else, and I'm not fond of Arkane's story telling. On PS4 the graphics are weak. There is no sense of dynamic lighting, the background textures are almost polygonal, and the character design is too derivative of Dishonored, and the look of 19th century whale punk cartoonishness doesn't quite fit the narrative, and is a piece of what's driving me away from the narrative. The game play just isn't sufficient to overcome that, because it's floaty and simple and really just relies on simple surprise tactics you overcome simply by assuming every inanimate object is a Dark Souls Mimic chest, and that gets tiring. If you were looking for a space opera homage game or desperately wanted Half-life 3, this game isn't going to satisfy that. Its just OK. Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2017
    0
    Prey save bug deleted my 11 hours gameplay progression .. Couldn't be arsed to try it again .. when you are a multi million dollar publisherPrey save bug deleted my 11 hours gameplay progression .. Couldn't be arsed to try it again .. when you are a multi million dollar publisher and charging AAA prices for a AA game, this kind of **** is unacceptable ...

    Also, this is a blatant bioshock copy with no new features apart from your slow ass character and **** story ... seriously Bethesda .... screw you guys
    Expand

See all 158 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 18, 2017
    In part 1 of our 2017 preview, we look at the 20 most-anticipated videogame sequels and remakes of the year ahead.