Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Oct 30, 2014
    90
    Overall Race The Sun is a fantastic endless runner style game, a genre which I’m usually not a fan of. It’s incredibly addictive and really taps in to that ‘one more go’ mentality.
  2. Oct 26, 2014
    90
    A wonderful game that really tests your gaming skills.
  3. Power Unlimited
    Jul 24, 2015
    88
    Race the Sun is a randomly generated thrill ride that keeps pushing you harder and gets better every time you play. [Aug 2015, p.082]
  4. Oct 24, 2014
    85
    Race The Sun absolutely nails what it sets out to do, and it’s a game you will play in short bursts every day. While the initial feel of the game might be a slight grind thanks to the bare-bones ship, your perspective will change a few hours into the game as you start unlocking more things and as your score starts making its way up on the leaderboards.
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    80
    Every day is a new challenge, and with a bit of practice with the ship’s handling and familiarization with the set pieces that make up the world, maybe you can give the sun a run for its money.
  6. May 11, 2015
    72
    A good pick-up-and-play game, but it gets old very fast.
  7. May 29, 2015
    70
    It's a different endless runner, since the context is way less ethereal than what you're used to. If you like the genre, you should try this one.
  8. Nov 6, 2014
    70
    This is an incredibly humble game, both in gameplay and presentation, but one that is tense, satisfying, and totally hypnotic.
  9. 40
    It does what it promises in offering a fast runner-style game, and it's nice that the developers went as far as to offer completely new level layouts each day, but ultimately this is as shallow as the likes of Doodle Jump or Temple Run, and costs an order of magnitude more money.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 89
  2. Negative: 18 out of 89
  1. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    This game is like an endless runner in 3D. Object is to avoid obstacles as long as you can. Really good in short bursts as the levels changeThis game is like an endless runner in 3D. Object is to avoid obstacles as long as you can. Really good in short bursts as the levels change daily. Gets a little deeper with powerups and special abilities but this isn't something you will play for hours. Progress though a set of challenges. I think this game is more at home on the Vita with its quick play and the sticks seem more responsive and tuned on Vita than PS4. Vita version takes a bit to load but runs smooth with a very noticeable hit in detail. Can get frustrating and sometimes you get screwed by the environment in unavoidable no out paths unless you have a jump left. Very addicting Full Review »
  2. May 8, 2015
    6
    Pretty basic fast past runner that offers little from what was on the PS2.

    It's not a bad game, and I'm glad to have got it via PS+ rather
    Pretty basic fast past runner that offers little from what was on the PS2.

    It's not a bad game, and I'm glad to have got it via PS+ rather than actually paying for it. I would pay £1.99 or so for a game this basic, but cant help but feel it would be more fun on a handheld / Android than the PS4.

    If its free to download, do it, it's a few hours enjoyment
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2014
    7
    I like what Race the Sun set out to do, and I think it achieves it wonderfully. There hasn't been a fast-runner game I've been pleased with inI like what Race the Sun set out to do, and I think it achieves it wonderfully. There hasn't been a fast-runner game I've been pleased with in quite some time, but the mechanic here is perfect. You fly your ship through a very Star Fox (via SNES) geometrically correct world in an attempt to finish the level without losing your solar fuel. You do this while the environment collapses and forms new obstacles in front of you, giving a very cinematic feel to the game as the world rushes past. Its a great test of reflexes, but hard to take in large doses. I love the daily level updates, shows a great initiative on the developers behalf. Grab it if you like fast-paced racing titles (Split Second, Space Harrier), you won't go wrong. 7/10 Full Review »