Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Mar 27, 2017
    90
    Not since Mark of the Ninja have I played a stealth game that felt so impactful, lingering in my thoughts long after I put the controller down.
  2. Apr 11, 2017
    85
    Rain World asks players to get to know its world over dozens and dozens of lives, to figure out each area one at a time, learning to time jumps and hurl spears to earn their right to survive in a ceaselessly hostile environment. It’s a gorgeous jaunt through an alien world full of horrors, like Another World crossed with the open map of a Metroidvania title. With its incredible art design, tight controls, and extremely deep set of gameplay mechanics, this is a truly special platforming experience that anyone with a high tolerance for constant failure owes it to themselves to try out.
  3. Mar 27, 2017
    80
    Think Limbo, but more haunting and with better controls, and you'll have a basic idea of what Rain World is about.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 7, 2017
    70
    Rain World may not be the most forgiving adventure, but stick with it through its trickier times, and when it all comes together it’s capable of producing some genuinely brilliant moments. [June 2017, p76]
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 29, 2017
    70
    A visually stunning and often satisfying game, but one with more than its fair share of irritating moments. Put up with its nonsense and you'll be rewarded. [May 2017, p.89]
  6. 65
    The bountiful promise of Rain World’s grim world and the assortment of cunning creatures which inhabit it are summarily undone by fiddly controls and an overwhelmingly punishing level of difficulty. Underneath it all there’s an assuredly decent effort here; it’s just a shame that all but the most masochistically inclined will ever summon the requisite determination to plumb its intimidating depths.
  7. Mar 27, 2017
    63
    Rain World is a maddening thing, because of quite how special it could have been. Beautiful environments, incredible animations and enticingly hazy mechanics are fantastic, but the sheer cruelty of how it’s pieced out to the player transcends challenge and becomes an unwanted trial.
  8. Apr 14, 2017
    60
    Rain World's unique look, atmosphere, and world are intriguing, as are some of the ideas behind its unusual style of gameplay. However, there's a lot to the game's mechanics and execution that aren't implemented well. If you spend a little time with Rain World, you'll find the wonder and fascination that you had at the start of the game quickly melting into total frustration.
  9. Mar 29, 2017
    60
    By the end of my time with Rain World, I no longer found the Slugcat cute or endearing. He was a cruel joke, a mistake the entire world worked tirelessly to correct. A prey animal destined to melt in the jaws of a monsoon. Perhaps with time and tolerance, more dedicated gamers than me will finish this title. Some other kind souls will find the patience to guide this missing link and their kin to salvation. Make no mistake, this is a beautiful world. Just know that it is also a merciless one.
  10. Mar 27, 2017
    60
    Rain World has massive world that can be pretty easy to get lost in and enables some real survival adrenaline rushes. Unfortunately, these positive aspects – alongside its exquisite art direction – are at odds with some of the less satisfying aspects: the slightly awkward controls, the overwhelming feeling of almost too much freedom, and the fairly constant threat of losing large chunks of progress take away from the experience. The end result is complicated: it's a game we bounced off quite a lot but one we still greatly appreciate. The game does something new with the genre and it does it well for the most part, making the game worth at the very least giving a look.
  11. Apr 4, 2017
    58
    Rain World will probably establish a cult following, which is great because it deserves a fan base for its thoughtful ideas. Unfortunately, too many factors get in the way of what very well could've been one of 2017's most interesting indies.
  12. 50
    Rain World is a sluggish platformer with copious instant death situations and infrequent checkpoints. These factors all add up to a game which isn’t fun or easy and seems to actively frustrate any understanding of whats going on. Whilst the art style and interesting setting can pull you in, that alone isn’t enough to keep you coming back for more punishment.
  13. Mar 31, 2017
    50
    In Rain World, the spectre of failure, often caused by events you can't control, lingers heavily. It quickly drives home the point that you're a foreigner in a ruined land where anyone larger than you wants to eat you. Its stunningly detailed backgrounds and few rewarding gameplay opportunities are vastly outweighed by its platforming imperfections and hibernation mechanic, which makes little sense in its connection to accessing new areas. Oftentimes, the frustrations resulting from failure devolve into apathy, which is a wholly unfortunate outcome for a game that gives off a deceptively promising first impression.
  14. Mar 30, 2017
    50
    Developer Videocult took a brave chance with Rain World. They've stripped it of almost all the traditional video game tropes, leaving just an aggressively difficult 2D survival platformer. Purists may find a lot to love here but in my eyes, it's simply an interesting concept that fails at being an enjoyable video game.
  15. Mar 28, 2017
    50
    Rain World is sloppy, clunky platformer. It's a game of fumbling controls, arbitrary deaths, and tedious repetition. Why should I bother figuring out what all those twee little glyphs mean? Why should I devote dozens of hours to figuring out what spitting up one kind of plant might do in a specific situation when the controls can't even be bothered to feel consistent?
  16. 50
    There are definitely some cool ideas in Rain World, but the moment-to-moment gameplay is far too unsatisfying to wholeheartedly recommend.
  17. Mar 29, 2017
    40
    What’s most unforgiveable is how imprecise slugcat is to control. We know there’s the whole slug side of things to consider, but he’s a lot heavier than he looks in the videos and because of the procedural animation he often doesn’t respond as quickly as you need him to. Add in the boredom and repetition from having to constantly hibernate and the game proves to be very aptly named: it’s dull, miserable, and makes you want to stay inside and do something else instead.
  18. Mar 28, 2017
    40
    Sadly, despite its pretty aesthetic, Rain World is a confusing and sluggish platformer that failed to give me any reason for what I was doing and just left me feeling bored and bewildered.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Apr 5, 2017
    5
    About 4 hrs playtime. Expected game to be good, was as impartial as possible.

    PROS: -Gorgeous artwork with a consistent design to keep
    About 4 hrs playtime. Expected game to be good, was as impartial as possible.

    PROS:

    -Gorgeous artwork with a consistent design to keep the game world feeling alive and immersive.

    -Violent and dangerous enemies make the player feel helpless as the bottom of the food totem. Combat exists but is mostly futile.

    -Unique controls for Slugcat that make the player constantly adapt to how his slinky little body moves in tandem with the environment he's navigating.

    -Sprawling MetroidVania world that brings to life the challenge of the game, alongside a sense of being a small creature in a much larger post-apocalyptic world. The player has a map that fills itself out as they explore and discover, making navigating areas easier after making a second pass.

    -Brilliant music. Understands tension and relaxation very well.

    -Basically no railroading. The world is your oyster after finishing the tutorial.

    -Time limits keep the running tense and an omnipresent threat over the player that if the fauna won't kill you, the rain will.

    All in all, a beautifully crafted world that clearly took some heart and soul in crafting, and genuinely does its best to keep the player immersed. Interesting theme and design choices that always want to be in the limelight.

    Unfortunately, this is where the fun stuff ends.

    CONS:

    -Despite my praise of the lack of railroading, there is such a thing as getting your player properly acquainted. The game does the bare minimum of tutorialization for the player and leaves them stranded with only half the information they need to survive. Information is obscure at best, unknowable at worst. The game confuses itself into thinking "show, don't tell" means "do nothing to teach."

    -My appraisal of Slugcat's movements also have their negatives. More emphasis is put in the SLUG part of Slugcat, so he often moves around with this wiggly goopiness that makes the pixel perfect platforming in later areas an active nightmare to micro-manage. Coupled with his below average speed and a pitiful jump height, you'd be forgiven for being confused as to why this species has not gone the way of the dodo yet.

    -Save points are few and far between. In a game as difficult as this where anything can happen, players will often feel themselves losing patience as they die repeatedly, not know wither they were inches from a save-point or close to finding one of the flowers to reset the clock.

    -The rain's time limit coupled with the scarcity of save points means that instead of being a system to punish negligent players for staying outside too long, it is a harrowing race against time every day, making a brisk jog into a ragged and unenjoyable sprint to beat the buzzer.

    -Save points have a required food cost, meaning the player will have to waste additional time gorging themselves on fruit and gnats (or whatever the flying creatures are), which are intensely hard to catch given Slugcat's aforementioned maneuverability issues. It always feels like things are actively stacked in trying to run the player out of time.

    -Death comes with not only the pain of having your progress halted (reset food and maps to their status at the beginning of the day), but actively regresses the player's progress, with a horrid karma system arbitrarily locking the player out of new areas until they have survived X amount of days in a row. Karma is not only reset but depleted upon death, with the exception of finding and consuming a yellow flower.

    -Swimming controls do not rise above the usual brand of horrible that they are in every other video game in existence.

    -Certain enemies hide themselves in ways that are nearly invisible to the player.

    -In my opinion, the worst design choice of all. Randomized enemy spawns each day, often making the game not a test of skill, but of luck. Many times the player will find themselves in a compromising situation in which the enemy not only impedes their progress, but makes it genuinely impossible for the player to progress. This of course means the player will die and will then have their progress taken away, and the player will come out with nothing to show, because randomized spawns mean the player has no chance to learn how to overcome since the thing that killed them will be somewhere else next time. Difficult games should be like obstacle courses, and should give the player the chance to learn and familiarize themselves with the best method for coming out on top. That opportunity is actively denied to the player. Sometimes enemies can even fall into view from offscreen (due to the lack of parrallax scrolling or view expansion) and kill the player mid-flight. Very poorly thought out.

    All in all, a game with a lot going for it that comes away with too many annoyances to recommend. Perhaps if there were a patch I could give it my solid approval, but for now I'd say pick up HyperLight for a relatively similar experience.
    5.5 / 10
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 7, 2017
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I hate this game....I hate this game so much....lol naw not really, not literally. Here's what happened: I saw the game, the art style, the premise, and thought, "WOW that looks super cool mann far outt!!"....lol...bought the game for $20, played it for 40 minutes, died 5 times, quit, looked up videos and articles explaining the game and how to play it and do well, since the game has no tutorial or narration. I then hopped back in and played a total of 2 hours knowing the game mechanics. I became utterly put out, deleted the game off my ps4, and highly regret spending the $20 dollars as I am a value fanatic and can get a TON of game time for that price. Why did I do this? Well the art style and the premise are literally the ONLY things I enjoyed about the game, 2 things I knew before even starting the game. Controls are SOOOO much garbage. Game play mechanics are highly questionable to say the least. No narration, no tutorial, no cut scenes. This game is like hyper light drifter but with only 25% of what that game has going for it. The sound design is not even very good, which is surprising since I use some awesome $140 headphones. Biggest downside is the controls. Mannn....I can play just about any sack of garbage if the controls are good, but I literally could not take the frustration of these nonfunctional controls, especially when jumping into a tunnel that is next to another tunnel or hiding spot. So basically this game is dark souls SNES cat edition, but instead of a cool warrior you're like an 8-bit cat....meow. Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2017
    5
    Gave my playtime effort a total of roughly 8 HOURS, review is based off of impressions of that timeframe:

    -WONDERFUL beginning world, and
    Gave my playtime effort a total of roughly 8 HOURS, review is based off of impressions of that timeframe:

    -WONDERFUL beginning world, and explorability

    -Controls are fine, until slouching into a pipe to escape enemies pursuing but CLUNCKY when turning corners in said pipe. DO NOT attempt jumping in pipe to gain momentum as character stays still until letting go of joystick and reassert pressure in direction.

    -Annoying death mechanics: death from 1-hit from some random enemies (often); death during heavy rain 100% (rain is cool at first, but annoying soon after), randomization of enemy placement as I had died countless times entering a new screen and immediately dying in the pipe from another creature eating me within a single frame.

    -Save areas few and far between (which is a nice explorability fast run method), but method to save appears broken sometimes as required food meter is met but does not hibernate, food save system is HIGHLY not preferred, and food locations are randomized

    -ANNOYING and FRUSTRATING RANKING SYSTEM - PLEASE do away with this mechanic

    -Music is wonderful once enemies become near, and chase is on

    Overall 5/10: for great visuals, music, and lovely enemy animations but dislike for controls, save system, pointless ranking system, and randomization of enemy placement during each day cycle run
    Full Review »