Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2017
    85
    Ride 2 has the ambition to appeal to as wide audience of motorbike fans as possible, so it offers loads of contents (tracks, bikes, competitions) and is very flexible in terms of customizing your experience. It’s the best bike racing game of this generation. [13/2016, p.62]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 9, 2016
    81
    Ride 2 tries to be the Gran Turismo of motorbikes. The real world tracks are good, but the original tracks are dull and the too fast reset after falling rewards reckless driving in multiplayer. [Nov 2016]
  3. Mar 7, 2017
    80
    Despite the similarities, Ride 2 is not as user friendly as Microsoft’s annual racing games. This means players are going to have to really work to ride with the best, and that’s an uphill battle they may not want to fight on your recreational time.
  4. Oct 20, 2016
    80
    Simply a must for motorcycle lovers. Ride 2 is better than the prequel in every area. There are still some flaws, but the experience is enjoyable and fun.
  5. Oct 13, 2016
    80
    An encyclopedia of motorcycling, fun to play and developed with passion. The best choice for motorcycle enthusiasts.
  6. Oct 7, 2016
    80
    An excellent videogame that is outstanding in the driving genre. It features very polished gameplay mechanics and a enormous amount of content. Besides, it has improved greatly its visuals, even though the online mode is still very traditional.
  7. Feb 22, 2017
    78
    Ride 2 is definitely a game for racing fans, designed from the ground up with customization and realism as the foundational pillars. It’s hard to recommend if you aren’t a fan of the genre, but I would consider it a must have enthusiasts.
  8. Nov 15, 2016
    75
    In short, Ride 2 is an experience that hardcore bike fans are going to get the most out of. The game is fun enough on its own merit without the impressive library of licenses and tracks, but for those not really into the sport I would imagine the barriers to entry are too high. Ride 2 manages to improve on last year’s release, but still struggles to shift itself above a niche racer for fans of the sport.
  9. Oct 19, 2016
    75
    Better than its predecessor in almost every way, though long loading times and dated graphics still keep the game from reaching top marks.
  10. Oct 16, 2016
    75
    Ride 2 is far from perfect, it has flaws with both the visuals and, more importantly, the AI. However, the AI isn't always bad and it doesn't stop the game from being enjoyable. What helps the game is that it has such a huge roster of bikes, extensive customization options and a variety of tracks and race types to experience.
  11. Oct 13, 2016
    75
    This sequel to the first Ride game offers more bikes, tracks, options and game modes, but lacks the graphical performance found in the best racing games out there.
  12. Oct 7, 2016
    75
    Milestone shows its passion for racing in Ride 2, a game that is quite big in terms of motorbikes or circuits, but the graphics are quite poor for the genre and even the current hardware.
  13. Oct 10, 2016
    72
    In every way better than the first game, but it still feels a bit generic. It's the only game of it's kind for motorcycle enthusiasts, however.
  14. Oct 10, 2016
    72
    Ride 2 has much more content in every possible aspect. However, Milestone has forgotten that the sequels are also to correct and bring something new.
  15. Mar 7, 2017
    70
    For people such as myself who fall in the middle, the title acts as a nice distraction to pick up and play everyone once in awhile. The racing element is bogged down with all the minutiae and it’s hard to get really into everything without becoming frustrated. Too much detail in the wrong area can cause even the nicest ride to become bumpy and unpleasant.
  16. Feb 20, 2017
    70
    Ride 2 doesn’t do everything it could have to become the premiere motorcycle racing game on the market, but it comes far closer than the original. The racing action is more intense than before, but the core game is still held back by a bit by long load times. The online play remains solid, so anyone who enjoyed the original’s online play will find more of that to enjoy here. Anyone who felt that the first game was a world of unfulfilled potential will find more to like here. The core action is far better and there is more to enjoy than before. It’s a well-crafted game and well-worth buying for anyone who enjoys fast-paced sim racing and has a passion for motorycles.
  17. Oct 22, 2016
    70
    Ride 2 is a clear step forward for Milestone, but there are still many things to be improved. In any case, there aren't too many bike racers, and Ride 2 is a good game and a good option.
  18. Oct 16, 2016
    70
    Ride 2 is the classic “more of the same” title, adding more tracks and more bikes to the previous game of the series, but failing to correct all its serious flaws. A nice game for people who loves bikes and never had the chance to play the first Ride, but surely not a must have masterpiece in racing games history.
  19. Oct 13, 2016
    70
    Ride 2 is a step forward compared to its predecessor, if nothing else for the greatest number of game modes and models. The maturity of the brand, however, is still far away, and the guys at Milestone needs to work harder if they want to publish a new instalment of the series every year.
  20. Nov 3, 2016
    65
    Ride 2 is like the first iteration of the game, a good motorbike game with loads of content that's spoiled by technical issues and an unmissable lack of global polish.
  21. Feb 23, 2017
    60
    There's an audience out there who is really going to appreciate what Ride 2 offers. While it's not the fanciest, I can't think of another motorcycle racer giving me as much control over my own experience as this. But the fact of the matter is Ride 2 wants a lot of time from you, and scarcely offers tangible rewards for the effort.
  22. Dec 9, 2016
    60
    If you are a fan of motorbikes and want to experience the speed and rush from two-wheel-motorsport you have to be aware of two things. 1) You won’t be able to get by Milestone, who basically has an iron grip on the genre. 2) You get plenty of content and outdated visuals.
  23. Nov 9, 2016
    60
    Ride 2 sadly is not the racegame that it could have been. The amount of content is superb, with lots of tracks and bikes to choose from. However, its technical problems impedes Ride 2 from being the great racegame that it could have been.
  24. Oct 23, 2016
    60
    RIDE 2 is a game for motorcycle enthusiasts without question. However, it's a game that is lacking in excitement for the material it covers. There's a great amount of content and production values, but not a whole lot of hook to the gameplay to keep you drawn in. While die-hard motorcycle racing enthusiasts may find some enjoyment, few else will be enticed.
  25. Oct 12, 2016
    60
    Ride 2 aims to be the two-wheeled equivalent of Gran Turismo, but makes too many mistakes that leave it trailing behind the pack.
  26. Feb 24, 2017
    40
    On paper, then, Ride 2 is an exciting proposition that bundles the promises of aspirational game design with the raw power and fun associated with motorbikes. Unfortunately, those promises are broken and the resulting game falls flat. Unless you're so enamoured with two-wheeled machines that you simply can't help but pick yourself up a copy, you should wait for a new contender to try its hand at delivering a biking game of this scope.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 44
  2. Negative: 15 out of 44
  1. Oct 10, 2016
    9
    For motorcycle enthousiasts, there is not much to complain about ride 2. It might not be the most beautiful game and the presentation could beFor motorcycle enthousiasts, there is not much to complain about ride 2. It might not be the most beautiful game and the presentation could be a bit more spectacular. But when it comes down to riding, bike and track selection, this is just pure fun. To me, the most important improvement over its predecessor are the greatly improved load times. For all car arcade racers: It is a motorcycle game and a semi-simulation. Don't expect to go around corners like in ridge racer or you will be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2017
    8
    I'm a hardcore fan of racing games and a real life biker. I owned the previous game and I'v been playing this one for months now.

    What I
    I'm a hardcore fan of racing games and a real life biker. I owned the previous game and I'v been playing this one for months now.

    What I like:
    - First player mode mechanics are much more engaging, since now you have to earn medals to unblock other events in different categories.
    - There is much more content for single player, Including special international events and championships. So there is a lot more incentive to play for many hours.
    - Crashes look cool at last! They look realistic and really cool for the first time ever!
    - Loading times have really improved.
    - Bikes look cool (still not brilliant, could improve a lot for a ps4 game) and handling is brilliant.
    - The rider animations and physics are the best in a bikes game so far. It's incredible how cool it feels. If you are morbike fan you will love it. I own one of the Ducatis you can pick in this game and I love it!

    What I dont like:
    - The AI is very annoying. This is the worse issue in this game for me. They smack into you constantly when arriving to tight corners and force you to replay over and over.
    - In the main UI for the game, the small map indicator where you can preview corners, is pretty bad. It needs to be positioned somewhere else and it needs to be zoomed out cos I can never see the corners coming up. I have to end up memorizing the tracks.
    - Some powerful bikes, like the panigale 1299, are extremely sensitive to wheelies. Even with antiwheelie to the max, its almost imposible to accelerate in 1st and 2nd gear. It's a bit too much and ends up being quite fustrating in my opinion.
    - Customizing the bike is something really cool, but by now its got a bit dated, it would be cool if you had options to more expensive and efective performance pieces. I'm sure it would improve the core gamepay and improve incentives to complete races.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2017
    9
    This game is gorgeous. Awesome. Gran Turismo for motorbikes, except this looks much better. When you are watching a video of the race you justThis game is gorgeous. Awesome. Gran Turismo for motorbikes, except this looks much better. When you are watching a video of the race you just finished, it actually looks better than Milestone's promo pictures! Virtual bikes have never been this glorious before. Even Valentino Rossi the Game, Milestones jewel, an official Moto GP simulator, cannot beat Ride 2. Many may not agree, but I like the spirit of Ride 2 more.

    The game has enough difficulty options, everyone can learn to ride it. Physics feel believable enough. For me it was a little bit more difficult than virtual car racing in the beginning, took about an hour to learn basic driving in easy mode, but you will propably be faster, I'm an old fart.

    If you love bikes, you will love Ride 2. Gorgeous vehicles, awesome road sceneries, true to life race tracks. Ride 1 was somewhat unfinished, the sequel is finished and polished **** A1 game. Riding feels fast and furious. Of course when you sit staring at a monitor... it can't be anything like riding a bike physically, oh why I wrote that boring no-brainer. But when you are doomed inside, there's -15 celsius outside, and the summer is just a far-off dream, Ride 2 can save your mental health.

    I recommend this game.
    Full Review »