Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 25, 2021
    85
    Out of its comfort zone, Runeterra's world shines in this well-crafted and smart RPG, that feels just like a first step in a journey that is going to bring League of Legends up to new shores.
  2. Nov 30, 2021
    80
    Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a deep turn-based RPG that lets us experience Runeterra from a whole new perspective and gives its characters room to grow.
  3. Nov 26, 2021
    80
    Ruined King: A League of Legends Story isn't reinventing the wheel, that's for sure. However, its solid game systems make it quite a recommendable RPG, especially for LoL fans. They will be able to appreciate the reinterpretation of their favorite universe by Airship Syndicate and Joe Madureira. And while we regret a somewhat conventional writing that sometimes lacks subtlety, we appreciate being able to immerse ourselves in the alleys of Bilgewater and the Dark Isles in the company of charismatic champions.
  4. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a story-driven, turn based role-playing game (RPG). It features fan favorite champions, innovative turn-based combat and beautiful art direction.
  5. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    Another captivating RPG by Joe Madureira and friends, this time in the League of Legends realm. Gorgeous and demanding, Ruined King needs just a little bit of tuning to become an unmissable one.
  6. Nov 22, 2021
    80
    It is clear that Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a work of love, combining a well-written narrative, engaging characters, and a world worth exploring and experiencing. The combat elements add to a familiar formula, and the turn-based elements are not that hard for anyone to wrap their heads around. Save for a few yet annoying bugs and glitches, it is hard not to see Ruined King: A League of Legends Story as a bonafide breakout hit for Riot Forge and Airship Syndicate.
  7. Nov 30, 2021
    75
    I'm hoping that the sequel will get developed. I hope it's equally pleasant and full of ideas, but more focused. Right now, Ruined King seems like a small game that was supposed to be big or a big game that turned out surprisingly small. Whatever the case, it's still a good and great-looking RPG.
  8. 70
    Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is not one to miss. This game will surprise you with its exciting dungeons, dynamic boss battles, one-of-a-kind combat mechanics, and charming characters.
  9. Nov 22, 2021
    70
    Without revolutionizing the genre, Ruined King: A League of Legends Story does everything it sets out to do very well. In this way, it will satisfy both MOBA fans and those looking for a complete and content-laden turn-based RPG.
  10. Nov 22, 2021
    55
    Ruined King: A League of Legends Story is a competent narrative adventure for fans of the base game, but it barely scrapes by as a standalone game for newcomers to the series. The turn-based combat mechanics are refreshing, and the story elements are there. Still, the number of outdated gameplay components and flagrant unpolish that make progression borderline impossible ultimately makes this an engaging spectacle than an enjoyable playable experience.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 9 out of 25
  1. Nov 18, 2021
    9
    Great game from a talented studio! It has everything I love about old school turn based RPGs with an added “Combat Lane” mechanic that makesGreat game from a talented studio! It has everything I love about old school turn based RPGs with an added “Combat Lane” mechanic that makes the battles feel unique. Hopefully Airship Syndicate gets the opportunity to make more games in the world of League of Legends, they did an awesome job with this one. Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2021
    10
    I loooove iiiit! A good game for RPG lovers. A MUST play for league lovers!!
  3. Nov 21, 2021
    10
    Must play for RPG lovers. I would probably love it more if I were a league of legends player.