Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jan 4, 2021
    70
    Despite some early mistrust due to the game’s agricultural aspects, I ended up enjoying my time with Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin — at least the first two-thirds of it. It wasn’t breaking any new ground gameplay-wise, with combat that was just enjoyable enough to make up for its repetitive nature. The narrative was decent, though those looking for a deep storytelling may dislike the aimless self-motivation the game requires of its players. The farming aspects are so simply integrated that they only added to the overall experience, never detracted. What did take away from my enjoyment in the end, however, was the sudden and severe prolonging of the game, just when the credit roll started to feel inevitable. It’s a solid and certainly unique game that can be quite enjoyable when approached with the right expectations.
  2. Dec 4, 2020
    70
    Sakuna of Rice and Ruin narrates a wonderful fairytale of Japanese mythology, which is unfortunately plagued by pacing problems that arise from the intense repetition of exploration.
  3. Nov 20, 2020
    70
    An experiment that ultimately presents itself as solid overall, but which perhaps would have best expressed its potential in a more contained format.
  4. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    Some accomplished character work and a narrative full of heart, sits next to a deep and detailed rice-farming mechanic that will have you sinking hours in trying to get the perfect crop. However, fiddly combat and shallow platforming take their toll. If you’re anything like me, you’ll get lost in the farming, and let the other parts lie fallow.
  5. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    In the evenings you can spend time with your new human family to chat and eat a meal using the food that you’ve gathered and grown yourself. Watching Sakuna slowly mature and start to care about more than just herself is a truly heart-warming journey. Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin is an absolutely wonderful blend of farming simulator and action RPG. Whether you’re fighting off hordes of demons or trying to find the best way to manage your crop, there is constantly something new to learn and discover in this charmingly unique adventure.
  6. Nov 23, 2020
    61
    When it comes to farming and ist various phases, Sakuna shows off some good ideas, but these are thwarted by monotonous fights and clumsy micro management.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Nov 17, 2020
    10
    Most undervalued farm simulation game!

    You definitely need to try this game

    I did it for 6 hours Without knowing the time is passing
  2. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    Juego precioso, y con una gran banda sonora y jugabilidad
    Ademas de una edición coleccionista soberbia
  3. Nov 12, 2020
    10
    Honestly, it wasn't a game that I expected.
    But it was unexpectedly fun.
    The action wasn't bad either. The story is very interesting. The
    Honestly, it wasn't a game that I expected.
    But it was unexpectedly fun.
    The action wasn't bad either.
    The story is very interesting.
    The game system and ideas are great.
    Full Review »